Australia Visa, Need Advice

ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 01:52 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Sep 1 2023, 01:13 PM)
First, it's ETA not visa. Visa is 200 aud and need to take picture etc. ETA only $20 and USED TO BE instant for Malaysian, becasue it's supposed to be like the white card you fill in to Singapore. Singapore still instant without supporting docs, but guess why Msia need now? Jokers abuse the visa free policy for Msia to jump aeroplane and be bangla, so now everyone else suffer.

Family members or not no difference. It's your age profile. Your parents got approved because they old so Aus gov assume they are less risky of overstaying aka jump aeroplane. If you 20s-40s Aus gov would need proof that you will come back to Malaysia and not jump aeroplane. Don't simply say things when you don't understand.
This.

Last I applied ETA it took 2 months but that was in late 2021- 2022 when AU borders opened up.

Now I'm unsure. Keeping check in this thread also.

I'm gonna apply my ETA tomorrow. Need to travel in November. Just apply and wait.
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 01:53 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 12:47 PM)
Sorry to ask, but I thought Malaysians are entitled to ETA?

I’m still on my Malaysian passport but because I’m an Australian PR, visas don’t apply to me, so I tumpang tanya, thanks
What visa you holding when applying to migrate AU?
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 01:58 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 01:56 PM)
None. I applied for skilled independent visa as. Malaysian citizen, Singaporean PR (hence needed police cheeks and clearances from both countries). Mine was the old 175, if I’m not mistaken.
You practice in Australia?

Then wife follow as partner visa?
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 01:58 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 1 2023, 01:58 PM)
My friends got theirs recently after 1 to 3 days after submitting their documents.
That's good. Much faster than months.

Hope ts not too stressed about it. Looking forward to hearing positive news.
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 07:43 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 02:15 PM)
I have a licence as a recognised specialist in Australia and coupled with my PR status, that allows me to run my practice on a part time basis whenever I’m back in Sydney every alternate month. My main practice is still in Singapore.
Awesome! First time apply first time got it ya?
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 08:30 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 07:44 PM)
Yes. It’s points based. Very transparent
How many? thumbup.gif

Surely very high
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 08:39 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 08:36 PM)
Can’t remember… it was nearly what, 15 years ago. I’ve just been renewing the RRV initially once every 5 years, but now yearly
Oh I was assuming you applied it last few years back when you came to this forum .. so the plan was 15 years in making la? haha

Eastern Suburb defo not first time migrator would choose but means careful planning notworthy.gif

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 08:37 PM)
Are you keen to apply as well, or are you already a PR?
Ya, planning to apply. sweat.gif
ClericKilla
post Sep 1 2023, 08:45 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 08:42 PM)
Haha. Yeah. I’m a slow burn fuse kind of guy. I asked /k for an opinion on what Porsche to buy and took nearly 3 years to report back that I finally bought it… selowpuki, I believe is a term that is brandished here ever so often…
ok la, at least plan early now enjoy.. hopefully i can do the same as well. sweat.gif

all from the same dealer? brows.gif

ClericKilla
post Sep 2 2023, 05:44 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Sep 2 2023, 12:32 AM)
i applied for ETA and got an email to ask me fill up form and attach more docs. i submitted shit tons of docs though - my bank statement, investment/FD, accommodation reservation, concert tics, mortgage loan agreement.. i hadn’t bought flight tics that time since they also recommended not to buy before getting your visa approved

got approved in 3 days. going to sydney for taylor swift next year

just bought flight tics during matta fair sale.. 2.9k return burn wallet sia
This ETA application changed again, I just completed my submission.

Last year was much simpler but this time website is at least clearer.

I have only submitted 14/60 documents with one document each from every section except finances I can provide more details.

sweat.gif

Going through this ETA process is like applying for visa.. sweat.gif
ClericKilla
post Sep 5 2023, 04:48 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Sep 2 2023, 05:47 PM)
i think i submitted more than 20 docs lol… mostly for the financial section, where i submitted 6 months bank and FD statements even though they said they just needed 3.. i was like screw this, might as well submit more just to prove that i’ll be coming back. i also submitted my employment offer letter, house loan etc. quite troublesome but might as well. i wasnt gonna pay extra again
Just to update TS also.

Applied on Saturday
Approved on Tuesday.

The process more streamlined but the documents they asked haha a lot.
ClericKilla
post Sep 5 2023, 10:39 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 5 2023, 09:15 PM)
Congratulations bro. With the ease you obtained your ETA, it looks very likely that your PR application is going to be a shoo-in as well. All the very best and keep us updated please.

Long way to go. Thank you for kind wishes.
ClericKilla
post Sep 5 2023, 10:47 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Sep 5 2023, 05:50 PM)
Getting ETA is easier this year compared to last year. A few tricks make life easier -
1) apply as a family group. Grandma, pa, ma and a 21yrs old child. All got within an hour except for the child need more documentation - submitted employment letter and parents’ financial statements (kid just started working, so not much savings to show). What they wanna see is you can cover your trips or expenses while travelling. Since apply as a family group, assumptions will be you are going with them.
2) the child went 1st time last year (20 year old, student then). Maybe record is there, not flight risks. Hence this year going again just to maintain a clean record.
3) friend’s kid, 22 years old just graduated. Applied for own self with own financial statements- rejected.
The Aus immigration also placed their own officers in KLIA. So don’t think just because got ETA, you won’t get kick out of the flight. Years of observations have honed their skills in picking up “suspicious” characters.
AU have their own officer in KLIA, if that's the case then most country would send their officer? lol?

If there are high chance of getting send back then it would be at the border clearing immigration lah not in KLIA.

KLIA? If no ETA you probably get rejected before your bag checks in. 😂

In your 3 points you maintained having good financial records - yes all of us know that.

ClericKilla
post Sep 5 2023, 11:34 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Sep 5 2023, 11:02 PM)
Next time you are at the KLiA boarding gate, keep your eyes wide open. You should see 1-2 immigration officers there. They do turn away those with ETA.
QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Sep 5 2023, 11:24 PM)
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-08-10/mala...lumpur/11402360
Just went during May this year. Saw two officers at KLIA boarding gate. People applied online, fraud such as putting in money to beautify the bank account, fake employer letters and etc.
So how do you know its the australian border force when u went in may? are they plained clothes?

if they stopped u - what do you think they will ask? your financial records? do people print that out?
ClericKilla
post Sep 6 2023, 12:22 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Sep 5 2023, 11:41 PM)
Plain clothes officers. I have no idea what they will ask cause never got stop but I am not surprised they could be observing people who are sitting at the boarding gate while waiting to board. Maybe they pick on those people whose body language are giving out some funny vibes?. They are there all the time, any flights going out of KLIA to Australia
I see you must have flown often to aus, so u've observed multiple occasions they are looking at body language? sweat.gif

ClericKilla
post Sep 6 2023, 02:47 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Sep 6 2023, 12:55 AM)
Yep it's true. I went to Australia in 2017. Work trip with 2 others. There's aus officer right at the boarding gate in KLIA.

Mind you we're boarding SIA business class and the company we're working with is big MNC. Still kena question. When touch down at Australia side, kena question again.
QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 6 2023, 02:37 AM)
The flight I boarded bound for Bali (The flight will fly to Australia after stopping at Bali) has two blonde officers wearing full black uniform with the name "Border Force". They actually look at your behavior. Got this guy randomly stopped and questioned, then subsequently denied boarding. He was planning to go backpack and his dressing quite sloppy with Japanese slippers.

I think key is to make yourself look presentable.
Seems like a random character assessment. Interesting to know, i am not aware of the surrounding sweat.gif sweat.gif
ClericKilla
post Sep 6 2023, 01:32 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 6 2023, 08:44 AM)
Quite sad to think that the 2nd most powerful passport in ASEAN is treated like this ....
Malaysian passport has too many red flags in AU, a lot fruit pickers and never return.. a lot of work to expedite them

QUOTE(hirano @ Sep 6 2023, 12:07 PM)
Look presentable also kena. The one who went with me was senior manager level lagi. we all chinese, malay, indian (1 malaysia). I wore t-shirt, jeans, sneakers.
thanks for highlighting nauticat99 and hirano.

will keep an eye out. thumbsup.gif

0.0203sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:27 AM