Australia Visa, Need Advice

limeuu
post Apr 25 2024, 12:26 PM

12,290 posts

Note that they are often not caucasian....
limeuu
post Apr 25 2024, 12:48 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 25 2024, 12:37 PM)
I would think the visa should be pegged to your passport number, so as soon as you punch in the number into the check-in system, it should pick up your visa details.
The difference isn't between your ticket and ETA. It's between your ticketed name and your passport details.

All details must tally (number, dob, name, expiry date, place of issue) between the booking, presented passport and visa. Any information not tally, the system automatically rejects and a human must oversee and override.
limeuu
post Apr 25 2024, 12:57 PM

12,290 posts

I give you my experience last year. Because of my KF name being different from my passport and visa name, I have to check in at the airport. They changed my surname to reflect my passport, but failed to delete my given name. I got my boarding pass with name "Tan Ah kow, Ah Kow".

At boarding, the system flagged again, because my boarding pass name is different from my visa name. (They knew before hand as they saw our boarding passes and asked us to stand aside and wait). The boarding agent then referred to an "officer", whom I realised is a DIBP person. She looked at our passports, made a call, and then approved my boarding. We were the last to board.

Btw, she looks like from the subcontinent.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 25 2024, 01:07 PM
limeuu
post Apr 25 2024, 05:07 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 25 2024, 04:41 PM)
I can’t believe SQ would cock up something as simple as our names.

And yes, I also notice that there’s plenty of these heroes from the subcontinent working in the airport at Kingsford Smith… esp in security roles.
It's not SQ's fault.

They use the standard "given name": "middle name": "surname" format in all their interfaces.

So most people follow that with Ah Kow:blank: Tan in their KF registration or bookings, which I also did.

Then when I realised the problem with the Malaysia passport name system, I cannot change because then I cannot link my bookings with my KF account. In the past, boarding passes with a name like "Tan Ah Kow Ah Kow" will pass through all the hoops.

That stopped after reopening after Covid, and I started getting griefs. I presume DIBP decided to tighten up border control with Malaysians.

So the solution was to physically go to a KF counter, make an official change in KF membership name from Ah Kow: blank: Tan to GNU (given name unknown) Tan Ah Kow, . Then make sure my bookings are Tan Ah Kow, no given name.

Then everything is hunky dory.

Until someone decides to look at my IC, I suppose?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 25 2024, 05:08 PM
limeuu
post Apr 25 2024, 05:18 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 25 2024, 04:16 PM)
Our Malaysia passport is the culprit for many airline check in problems all over the world  laugh.gif
When UK and the EU starts their eVisa systems (coming soon), I expect the same issue to jam up Malaysians as well
limeuu
post Apr 26 2024, 01:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(vk_flyingfox @ Apr 26 2024, 12:48 PM)
I did not submit my employment letter, house mortgage loan document but i did submit my house pintu cukai from DBKL to prove that I own a house. And that house is currently rented out and I have submitted stamped tenancy agreement. but it was still rejected.
The most important information they want is whether you are at risk of jumping plane. That risk is low for someone who has a stable well paying job in Malaysia.

That's your main information you want to give them.

The other information that predicts low risk is if your are wealthy. That's where your bank accounts and savings and assets enter the picture.

Finally, the risk is low for the elderly.
limeuu
post Apr 26 2024, 07:50 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(vk_flyingfox @ Apr 26 2024, 06:26 PM)
Actually my company wanted me to go to our HQ in Melbourne to have training for a month. Due to my colleague visa application was rejected before using business visit a few month back, therefore the bosses asked me to apply under tourist and see if my visa can be approved. But it's still the same. Perhaps getting travel agency to apply for me now is a better choice. I heard people said if I apply under travel agency the chances it get approve is a lot higher.
Travel agencies are no more allowed to apply for ETA on behalf of clients.

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Apr 26 2024, 07:09 PM)
you intend to go for business training but wanna apply for tourist visa? that’s already wrong my friend. even if you got your visa, they will still stop you there and deport you if they find out you’re there for work.
It is ok to use a tourist visa, if it's for meetings etc, and no employment or remuneration are done.
limeuu
post Apr 26 2024, 11:43 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 26 2024, 10:20 PM)
In vk_flying fox's situation, I think the company should just apply for the right visa. If Australia allows meetings/trainings on tourist visa, then maybe a letter from the company stating the true purpose of travel will be useful?
Since it is for work related purposes, the employer should check with the High Commission which visa is required, and use that. The 400 visa looks about right.
limeuu
post Apr 28 2024, 08:40 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 28 2024, 08:19 PM)
Given what you said, I'm extremely lucky that my domestic helper from the Philippines didn't get her visa knocked back & in fact, got it approved within days of my application.

I wrote that wife and I are PRs, and we wanted her to come with us to see our home in Australia & to give her a good holiday!

Having said that, I did attach documentation to show that she has a valid employment contract with us in Singapore, and we definitely have enough funds to fund her stay with us in Australia.

So, I dunno... maybe people from the Philippines aren't as prone to jumping planes as Malaysians, so they are granted a visa with greater ease?
The Philippines are not eligible for 601, so by applying for the 600, due diligence has been done.

Those who are requested to submit documents, don't assume you will be rejected. Be honest and open about your reasons, and they will assess case by case.

@Sadly, submit all your documents, including an invite (or cover letter) by your brother. They are not unreasonable. Despite 3/4 being called for further documents, the majority will get the visa, I think the reject rate is less than 5% of all applications.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 28 2024, 08:40 PM
limeuu
post Jun 24 2024, 01:02 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(guangyeow @ Jun 24 2024, 09:27 AM)
Hi Guys, can i check if im travelling to Melb via a work visa, what will be the best way or type of visa that i should apply for my wife if she were to travel with me for the trup?
What kind of work visa?

If less than 3 months your wife can just use the tourist ETA.
limeuu
post Jun 24 2024, 01:26 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(guangyeow @ Jun 24 2024, 01:17 PM)
subclass 601 – Business Visitor Stream, ya ill be there for a 2 weeks and plan to have my wife fly in on the 3rd week. i'll probably spend 1 week there with my wife.
Business visitor stream should be 600. 601 is the tourist ETA which you wife should apply for.
limeuu
post Jun 24 2024, 01:45 PM

12,290 posts

Some people thinks "business" means work mah,

600 is the standard visitor visa if you are not eligible for ETA or eVisitor, and whether tourist or business or medical stream, the conditions are the same...no work allowed.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jun 24 2024, 04:42 PM
limeuu
post Jul 6 2024, 04:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(KyusukeFD3S @ Jul 6 2024, 03:41 PM)
Is it because I did not attach any doc in the section "Family Register and Composition Form", so when I click next, it prompt me not all the evidence has been provided, ask me provide the reason ?
That's in the ETA application?
limeuu
post Jul 8 2024, 05:14 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 8 2024, 10:30 AM)
seems like in this thread there are people getting their ETA approved in matter of days. talking to my friends they said they kena approval delay about 1-3 months from application date.

recently i have a company event next month and ill need to apply ETA. really damn mafan, i applied ETA ed now they asked for ImmiAccount + other documents

why cant we have the ImmiAccount done in first place?  sweat.gif
Because you cannot apply for the ETA (601) through the immiaccount.

3/4 of Malaysians will get flagged for more documents. Unfortunately, the ETA App does not allow submission of documents, hence you need to creat an immiaccount to submit. Make sure you use the link in the email, not attempt to reapply via the account.

In 2022 after Covid reopening, the backlog resulted in delays of up to 6 weeks. The processing time has shorten since, so most people will get their visa within a week.

If you are the lucky quarter who don't get flagged for documents, you get it within a few minutes.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 8 2024, 05:19 PM
limeuu
post Jul 8 2024, 05:15 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 8 2024, 11:06 AM)
so it was supposed to be a two step process? where only if ETA applicants hit a certain "criteria" only need to opt for ImmiAccount and docs?

or is this for first time applicants? where recurring ex-ETA approved can easily just "renew"?
You run the Russian roulette every time you apply.
limeuu
post Jul 12 2024, 11:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Jul 12 2024, 07:13 PM)

I recently got invited to a company event to Australia by end of August. (Company will cover all our expenses in Australia, my wife was invited too)

My wife and I applied for the ETA via mobile app and have received email stating our ETA could not be finalized at the moment and we were requested to submit additional documents via Immi account.

I have no problem submitting documents and financial proof but my wife is not working for many years already, so what kind of document can I prepare for her that shows I will be her sponsor?

Both of us are Malaysian citizen and is holding Singapore PR for years if that matters..

Thanks everyone.
"Working" isn't really the info they want.

1) enough money for trip: her bank account statement, your company sponsorship letter etc.

2) reason to return to "home" country (presumably Singapore?): house ownership, children in schools, etc.

You get the drift.

If you are the officer looking for answers to these two questions, what will you look for?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 12 2024, 11:04 PM
limeuu
post Jul 26 2024, 01:31 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(amandalim @ Jul 26 2024, 01:16 PM)
Quick question on ETA, after I submit my application through the app, I got an email asking me to submit further information through the ImmiAccount, but I couldn't retrieve my application using the "Import Application" link, it says my reference number could not be found.
Did anyone encounter the same issue? Should I just start a new application throught the ImmiAccount website?
After registering the immiaccount, go back to the email, click again the link, login and you will land at the 601 document submission site.

You cannot retrieve your 601 application at immiaccount because it has no access to the 601 visa.

I know, I know. Don't ask me why.
limeuu
post Jul 27 2024, 08:53 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Jul 26 2024, 10:24 PM)
I only paid aud20 , requested for additional documents, in which i submitted thru the eta link in immi account, but the processing fee is 0 and they didnt request for the aud190.
They will if you use the immiaccount to apply again for the 600 visa as quite a lot of people do.
limeuu
post Aug 3 2024, 11:38 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(LinkZ @ Aug 3 2024, 07:10 PM)
Friends,

I was checking my ETA details last night and was wondering if the first name and last name is normal and I am worried that we may be denied entering Australia due to this issue.
When I checked the ETA app, my full name is under the "Family name" column, I remembered this was not editable because it was entered automatically when we scanned our passport via our phone using the ETA mobile app.

However, when I checked my ETA grant letter, I noticed that there is no "Family name" and "First name" categorization, details as below,

Msia passport whole name is surname.

Because majority of people has no surname.

therefore whole name becomes surname.

hope that makes sense....
limeuu
post Aug 8 2024, 02:56 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(ctwl368 @ Aug 8 2024, 01:36 PM)
Hi all….
I wish i had found this forum earlier before i submitted my application.

On Aug 5th the i submitted my mom’s and my application in ETA. My mom’s visa was quick, like immediate. Mine i received an email asking me to provide more docs and also sibmit the form 1554. Did all that in the immi acc and submitted on Aug 6th at 7pm. I attached all the docs including my mom’s approved visa and also provided the info where i will visit and also will be visiting my bro as well. He lives in melb and is a PR. However, i forgot to put the duration i plan to stay there and i did not attach itinerary. That section i put my employment letter and i have worked cor his MNC for 20 years now. The status hasnt changed from received. My question is should i go back in and input the itinerary? And also how to do that? Is it edit?  Just worried that it has bedn 2 days and nothing yet. Btw i have visited au before but it was in 2018 and i checked yes for the previous eta question but i no longer have the number but i left it blank.

2nd question is my niece now wants to follow. So she would need to apply on her own using her eta app on her phone right? The thing is she just graduated from uni and does’t have a job yet. So we are currently preparing the documents as i suspect she wont get auto approval in eta.  Besides parents sponsor letter, parents financial statments,  sponsor letter from my brother, what else can she upload to demonstrate she will be coming back? She did visit australia in year 2016

Thanks in advance on your feedback/inputs
Itinerary not important. 2 days is too early, they usually take a few working days.

Niece just apply herself, but as a single female, may get a bit more "attention". Higher chance of rejection.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0209sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:39 AM