Buying a Garden Unit

TSiamstevensng
post Aug 20 2023, 06:57 PM, updated 3y ago

Looking at a couple New Projects in Subang /Ara Damansara area, wondering if sifus here have any sharings on owning a Garden Unit. If the garden area is not fully covered, am I allowed to install a canopy to cover them??
vinceleo
post Aug 21 2023, 06:55 AM

1,023 posts

Canopy can only be install if all garden owners agreed to install as its within strata regulation, when canopy install another headache will be the cleanliness of the canopy roof

QUOTE(iamstevensng @ Aug 20 2023, 06:57 PM)
Looking at a couple New Projects in Subang /Ara Damansara area, wondering if sifus here have any sharings on owning a Garden Unit. If the garden area is not fully covered, am I allowed to install a canopy to cover them??
em_on
post Aug 21 2023, 07:56 AM

On My Way
612 posts

state your budget for people to recommend as choice could be from RM 700K - 1 Mils onwards
elimi8z
post Aug 21 2023, 08:38 AM

940 posts

Garden unit owners must be prepared for daily surprise droppings from heaven
Cavatzu
post Aug 21 2023, 09:32 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(elimi8z @ Aug 21 2023, 08:38 AM)
Garden unit owners must be prepared for daily surprise droppings from heaven
Dunno why but people feel the need to throw out stuff like used cigarettes, condoms, tampons, diapers from their window. How lovely!
Aaron212
post Aug 21 2023, 09:36 AM

1,773 posts

I would be more worried of the noise daily from common areas n facilities

Hope they provide thick good quality windows and sliding doors to filter 100% of the noise
TSiamstevensng
post Aug 21 2023, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 21 2023, 09:32 AM)
Dunno why but people feel the need to throw out stuff like used cigarettes, condoms, tampons, diapers from their window. How lovely!
This the main worry! I am trying to weigh if the pros of having more garden space and direct access to common Garden area + Pool area outweighs the cons. rclxub.gif

Also wondering if the cheapest condo is 800k+, if people would be more civilised unsure.gif
TSiamstevensng
post Aug 21 2023, 12:00 PM

QUOTE(em_on @ Aug 21 2023, 07:56 AM)
state your budget for people to recommend as choice could be from RM 700K - 1 Mils onwards
My budget is around that range. nod.gif
PAChamp
post Aug 21 2023, 12:57 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(iamstevensng @ Aug 21 2023, 11:58 AM)
This the main worry! I am trying to weigh if the pros of having more garden space and direct access to common Garden area + Pool area outweighs the cons.  rclxub.gif

Also wondering if the cheapest condo is 800k+, if people would be more civilised  unsure.gif
Unfortunately the civility of folks is not dependant on the price of the condo. The condo I am currently staying is just above the garden unit and i can see all sorts of stuff falling or being thrown onto the garden unit canopy which is just outside my balcony. Water thrown onto canopy is normal, ciggys also very common. Kids toys also thrown from height causing holes in the canopy. Good luck to you.
Cavatzu
post Aug 21 2023, 02:28 PM

2,834 posts

This the main worry! I am trying to weigh if the pros of having more garden space and direct access to common Garden area + Pool area outweighs the cons.  rclxub.gif

Also wondering if the cheapest condo is 800k+, if people would be more civilised  unsure.gif
The same problem will persist but what gets thrown into your garden will change - from unsanitary things to wine corks, cigar butts, pet toys etc. Still a marked improvement la.
TSiamstevensng
post Aug 21 2023, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 21 2023, 02:28 PM)
The same problem will persist but what gets thrown into your garden will change - from unsanitary things to wine corks, cigar butts, pet toys etc. Still a marked improvement la.
Thanks for the feedback! notworthy.gif really needed it as I couldn't find much information online, by any chance are you staying/ or have experienced staying at a Garden unit as well?
TSiamstevensng
post Aug 21 2023, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 21 2023, 12:57 PM)
Unfortunately the civility of folks is not dependant on the price of the condo. The condo I am currently staying is just above the garden unit and i can see all sorts of stuff falling or being thrown onto the garden unit canopy which is just outside my balcony. Water thrown onto canopy is normal, ciggys also very common. Kids toys also thrown from height causing holes in the canopy. Good luck to you.
This sounds like a red flag to me icon_question.gif icon_question.gif bye.gif
Cavatzu
post Aug 21 2023, 05:02 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(iamstevensng @ Aug 21 2023, 04:54 PM)
Thanks for the feedback!  notworthy.gif really needed it as I couldn't find much information online, by any chance are you staying/ or have experienced staying at a Garden unit as well?
Don’t wanna scare you off completely la. It probably won’t be that bad. You need to figure out the demographics of where you’re buying and if it’s probable that the residents will be so uncivilised. I would be wary if it’s investor/Airbnb heavy.
bennomin
post Aug 21 2023, 07:37 PM

628 posts

My concerns is the overlooking issues. But it may vary on developments…some developer address very well by placing landscape barriers/ buffer to somewhat ensure the garden owners privacy. Some development has really severe overlooking problem where residents walk pass your unit to access to the facilities. So do consider on which part of the unit is located…some garden unit are located at the rather quiet part of the podium.

Just my 2 cents.
em_on
post Aug 21 2023, 08:40 PM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(bennomin @ Aug 21 2023, 07:37 PM)
My concerns is the overlooking issues. But it may vary on developments…some developer address very well by placing landscape barriers/ buffer to somewhat ensure the garden owners privacy. Some development has really severe overlooking problem where residents walk pass your unit to access to the facilities. So do consider on which part of the unit is located…some garden unit are located at the rather quiet part of the podium.

Just my 2 cents.
overlooking issue - still could install curtain / one way mirror film /one way window glass.
more concern is the residents keep walking pass the unit and noisy at the facilities deck
TSiamstevensng
post Aug 21 2023, 08:41 PM

QUOTE(bennomin @ Aug 21 2023, 07:37 PM)

Just my 2 cents.
Yeap, agreed. Of the few that I surveyed, majority of them are elevated from the common garden/sidewalk and have some sort of landscape in front of the garden area, so that's a good sign. thumbup.gif
bennomin
post Aug 21 2023, 09:06 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Aug 21 2023, 08:40 PM)
overlooking issue - still could install curtain / one way mirror film /one way window glass.
more concern is the residents keep walking pass the unit and noisy at the facilities deck
But then you would have to close your curtain all the time…switching indoor light during day time.

0.0167sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:19 AM