QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 14 2023, 08:40 PM)
Never seen them in the same roomSinkiebaru, Kayacrab and bengm
Work SG, retire MY is the best plan, agree?
Aug 14 2023, 09:49 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Aug 14 2023, 09:53 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,019 posts Joined: Sep 2018 |
Aug 14 2023, 10:02 PM
432 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 03:52 PM) Well.....personally looking at the situation in Malaysia, I don't think it's trajectory gonna change anytime in the future, barring any gamechanger. It doesn't matter which party is in power, the trend will not change. Give you my honest realistic feedback, since I've worked in both countries:So, do you think that building a life in Malaysia is still the best option for most people and for their children? Or is going overseas the better option? For me both have their pros and cons but I can share with you what I see to be pros and cons. Pros of staying in Malaysia: - Low cost of living - Familiar environment - More laid back compared to fighting it out overseas - Familiar food - Familar culture Cons of Malaysia - Weak currency - Economy is falling further and further behind every year and doesn't look to be recovering - Education is quite lacking Pros of migrating - Higher earning with stronger exchange rate - Better education - More developed industries for the aspiring person Cons of migrating - Most of the developed world has insane housing and living costs which minimize or negate any advantage in earning power increase - Stressful as you are a migrant - Not familiar food Hence, I think, the best is to work in Singapore then retire in Malaysia. Earn SGD then retire in Malaysia to spend it. It is better than working in Australia, US, Europe, Japan, Korea, Taiwan which is probably a struggle to earn enough to have a high quality of living. It is also better than working in Malaysia and struggling with the weak currency as well Do you agree? 1) After yesterday's state elections, you can already see Malaysia's future in the next GE, and up to 2050. You pandai-pandai read all the analysis ya. 2) What do you think Malaysia's education system is like today? Do you think it's good? Is it in the Top 10 ranking in the world? You decide your children's future. 3) Going overseas means where? Is it easy for you to get work visa sponsorship? Do you want to migrate for good? Give up your citizenship? Pros of staying in Malaysia: - Low cost of living => Are you sure? Who do you think has a lower cost of living? A Malaysian earning RM15,000 or a Singaporean earning SGD15,000? - Familiar environment => How old are you? Do you feel Malaysia gives you the same familiar feeling compared to when you were growing up? - More laid back compared to fighting it out overseas => How do you objectively compare this? - Familiar food => Fair point, but learn to masak sendiri. - Familar culture => Fair point, but culture comes from within. Cons of Malaysia - Weak currency => Tahu, takpe. Just look at Malaysia's currency in 2003 vs. 2023. 20 years. How much has it depreciated on a long-term basis. - Economy is falling further and further behind every year and doesn't look to be recovering => Can you come up with a realistic plan to save Malaysia's economy? If you can't, you think corrupted politicians can? Tak boleh pakai one. - Education is quite lacking => Education in Malaysia is designed the push more divide between races & religion. Pros of migrating - Higher earning with stronger exchange rate => Which countries? Will those countries welcome you with open arms? What value can you bring to their nation? - Better education => Even some African countries have similar education levels vs. Malaysia, so yes, overseas education is getting better and better. - More developed industries for the aspiring person => You can aspire, but does those nations aspire to have you as their citizen? Cons of migrating - Most of the developed world has insane housing and living costs which minimize or negate any advantage in earning power increase => Migrate as an expat. Get your company to cover your housing rental. Quickly apply PR & citizenship status to enjoy better housing benefits & lower tax rates. - Stressful as you are a migrant => So you don't feel stressed in Malaysia? Everyday you smiling from morning to night? - Not familiar food => You're an adult. Learn to cook your familiar food. Hence, I think, the best is to work in Singapore then retire in Malaysia. Earn SGD then retire in Malaysia to spend it. It is better than working in Australia, US, Europe, Japan, Korea, Taiwan which is probably a struggle to earn enough to have a high quality of living. => Do you think Malaysia is still going to be a good place to retire in 2050 or whenever you plan to retire? I work in Singapore. I plan to retire in Taiwan, even-though I'm Malaysian and it's more expensive there. Why? Cause I still think Taiwan is better for retirement, as long as China does fight with US via Taiwan as a proxy. It is also better than working in Malaysia and struggling with the weak currency as well. => One final argument here. If you had converted all your MYR to SGD each time you saved your money in a Malaysian bank under FD, your money would have earned more appreciation vs. doing a part-time job in Malaysia. Malaysia Boleh! |
Aug 14 2023, 10:13 PM
1,757 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 03:52 PM) Well.....personally looking at the situation in Malaysia, I don't think it's trajectory gonna change anytime in the future, barring any gamechanger. It doesn't matter which party is in power, the trend will not change. I agree. But some singaporean cant tahan stay here and got back there after few months. Rindu SingaporeSo, do you think that building a life in Malaysia is still the best option for most people and for their children? Or is going overseas the better option? For me both have their pros and cons but I can share with you what I see to be pros and cons. Pros of staying in Malaysia: - Low cost of living - Familiar environment - More laid back compared to fighting it out overseas - Familiar food - Familar culture Cons of Malaysia - Weak currency - Economy is falling further and further behind every year and doesn't look to be recovering - Education is quite lacking Pros of migrating - Higher earning with stronger exchange rate - Better education - More developed industries for the aspiring person Cons of migrating - Most of the developed world has insane housing and living costs which minimize or negate any advantage in earning power increase - Stressful as you are a migrant - Not familiar food Hence, I think, the best is to work in Singapore then retire in Malaysia. Earn SGD then retire in Malaysia to spend it. It is better than working in Australia, US, Europe, Japan, Korea, Taiwan which is probably a struggle to earn enough to have a high quality of living. It is also better than working in Malaysia and struggling with the weak currency as well Do you agree? |
Aug 14 2023, 10:26 PM
1,924 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Yokohama, JP |
Aug 14 2023, 10:51 PM
27 posts Joined: Sep 2018 |
QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Aug 14 2023, 10:02 PM) Give you my honest realistic feedback, since I've worked in both countries: I'm a sinkiebaru so I definitely know life in SG very well. I said pros is low cost of living. Which is true, even though the earning is low as well. For someone earning USD, EUR, GBP or SGD of course the cost of living in Malaysia is low. I'll add one more point to this. That Malaysia cost of living is really one of the lowest in the world with relatively good infrastructure. Lots of foreigners would absolutely agree with this. You could go look up numbeo, or some other site that does comparisons between cities. 1) After yesterday's state elections, you can already see Malaysia's future in the next GE, and up to 2050. You pandai-pandai read all the analysis ya. 2) What do you think Malaysia's education system is like today? Do you think it's good? Is it in the Top 10 ranking in the world? You decide your children's future. 3) Going overseas means where? Is it easy for you to get work visa sponsorship? Do you want to migrate for good? Give up your citizenship? Pros of staying in Malaysia: - Low cost of living => Are you sure? Who do you think has a lower cost of living? A Malaysian earning RM15,000 or a Singaporean earning SGD15,000? - Familiar environment => How old are you? Do you feel Malaysia gives you the same familiar feeling compared to when you were growing up? - More laid back compared to fighting it out overseas => How do you objectively compare this? - Familiar food => Fair point, but learn to masak sendiri. - Familar culture => Fair point, but culture comes from within. Cons of Malaysia - Weak currency => Tahu, takpe. Just look at Malaysia's currency in 2003 vs. 2023. 20 years. How much has it depreciated on a long-term basis. - Economy is falling further and further behind every year and doesn't look to be recovering => Can you come up with a realistic plan to save Malaysia's economy? If you can't, you think corrupted politicians can? Tak boleh pakai one. - Education is quite lacking => Education in Malaysia is designed the push more divide between races & religion. Pros of migrating - Higher earning with stronger exchange rate => Which countries? Will those countries welcome you with open arms? What value can you bring to their nation? - Better education => Even some African countries have similar education levels vs. Malaysia, so yes, overseas education is getting better and better. - More developed industries for the aspiring person => You can aspire, but does those nations aspire to have you as their citizen? Cons of migrating - Most of the developed world has insane housing and living costs which minimize or negate any advantage in earning power increase => Migrate as an expat. Get your company to cover your housing rental. Quickly apply PR & citizenship status to enjoy better housing benefits & lower tax rates. - Stressful as you are a migrant => So you don't feel stressed in Malaysia? Everyday you smiling from morning to night? - Not familiar food => You're an adult. Learn to cook your familiar food. Hence, I think, the best is to work in Singapore then retire in Malaysia. Earn SGD then retire in Malaysia to spend it. It is better than working in Australia, US, Europe, Japan, Korea, Taiwan which is probably a struggle to earn enough to have a high quality of living. => Do you think Malaysia is still going to be a good place to retire in 2050 or whenever you plan to retire? I work in Singapore. I plan to retire in Taiwan, even-though I'm Malaysian and it's more expensive there. Why? Cause I still think Taiwan is better for retirement, as long as China does fight with US via Taiwan as a proxy. It is also better than working in Malaysia and struggling with the weak currency as well. => One final argument here. If you had converted all your MYR to SGD each time you saved your money in a Malaysian bank under FD, your money would have earned more appreciation vs. doing a part-time job in Malaysia. Malaysia Boleh! Malaysians complain about cost of living but at least most people manage to own a home, and have a car. This is something people in many cities find unattainable, especially in developed countries. What is better, so seemingly earn a big income ( after converting to RM) but still struggling to have a roof over your head, or to earn less but able to have your own home? I find it so odd that you think Malaysia won't be a good place to retire by 2050 but your alternative is Taiwan. That's so odd, I think Malaysia has a better chance of being around than Taiwan in 2050. But that's just my opinion. This post has been edited by sinkiebaru: Aug 14 2023, 10:52 PM |
Aug 14 2023, 10:54 PM
Aug 14 2023, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 10:51 PM) I'm a sinkiebaru so I definitely know life in SG very well. I said pros is low cost of living. Which is true, even though the earning is low as well. For someone earning USD, EUR, GBP or SGD of course the cost of living in Malaysia is low. I'll add one more point to this. That Malaysia cost of living is really one of the lowest in the world with relatively good infrastructure. Lots of foreigners would absolutely agree with this. You could go look up numbeo, or some other site that does comparisons between cities. Commuting between two countries to enjoy currency savings is not a low cost of living. You are sacrificing / paying with quality of life, unless you can work remotely from MY 24/7, then it's a special advantage.Malaysians complain about cost of living but at least most people manage to own a home, and have a car. This is something people in many cities find unattainable, especially in developed countries. What is better, so seemingly earn a big income ( after converting to RM) but still struggling to have a roof over your head, or to earn less but able to have your own home? I find it so odd that you think Malaysia won't be a good place to retire by 2050 but your alternative is Taiwan. That's so odd, I think Malaysia has a better chance of being around than Taiwan in 2050. But that's just my opinion. Foreigners working in Malaysia enjoying their lifestyle are usually under expat terms. Not really apple-to-apply. How do you say most people in Malaysian manage to own a home, and have a car? What's the statistics behind this? Bringing all your wealth earned from overseas back to Malaysia doesn't discount the long-term disabilities that you get living in Malaysia, where non-Bumi(s) are treated like 2nd & 3rd class citizens. Retirement in 2050: 1) Malaysia = Still plagued by Race & Religion Warfare. 2) Taiwan = Peaceful country, but made a proxy between US/China wars. Let's just say, if China goes to war with Taiwan, WW3 / Asia-Pacific War will most likely happen. Neither Malaysia or Taiwan will be the same during wartime. |
Aug 14 2023, 11:00 PM
3,678 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(fadzly @ Aug 14 2023, 10:13 PM) I agree. But some singaporean cant tahan stay here and got back there after few months. Rindu Singapore nothing wrong with that.... especially if already retired or company allows. say every 5 months go back 1 month. Ok rite? opportunity to visit friends and family. reminded me of student life can go back during semester break. |
Aug 14 2023, 11:10 PM
2,725 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 10:51 PM) I'm a sinkiebaru so I definitely know life in SG very well. I said pros is low cost of living. Which is true, even though the earning is low as well. For someone earning USD, EUR, GBP or SGD of course the cost of living in Malaysia is low. I'll add one more point to this. That Malaysia cost of living is really one of the lowest in the world with relatively good infrastructure. Lots of foreigners would absolutely agree with this. You could go look up numbeo, or some other site that does comparisons between cities. Can a Singaporean even stay in Malaysia for a prolonged period of time?Malaysians complain about cost of living but at least most people manage to own a home, and have a car. This is something people in many cities find unattainable, especially in developed countries. What is better, so seemingly earn a big income ( after converting to RM) but still struggling to have a roof over your head, or to earn less but able to have your own home? I find it so odd that you think Malaysia won't be a good place to retire by 2050 but your alternative is Taiwan. That's so odd, I think Malaysia has a better chance of being around than Taiwan in 2050. But that's just my opinion. Perhaps if you leave and enter the country every 30 days this is possible. But I foresee a lot of issue here. Unless you somehow get a long term pass or via the malaysia my second home program. |
Aug 14 2023, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Aug 14 2023, 10:58 PM) Commuting between two countries to enjoy currency savings is not a low cost of living. You are sacrificing / paying with quality of life, unless you can work remotely from MY 24/7, then it's a special advantage. I don't care about 2nd/3rd class citizen nonsense. I'm not even a Malaysian citizen. No benefits will be accorded to me. As a foreigner, the only thing I need is a valid visa.Foreigners working in Malaysia enjoying their lifestyle are usually under expat terms. Not really apple-to-apply. How do you say most people in Malaysian manage to own a home, and have a car? What's the statistics behind this? Bringing all your wealth earned from overseas back to Malaysia doesn't discount the long-term disabilities that you get living in Malaysia, where non-Bumi(s) are treated like 2nd & 3rd class citizens. Retirement in 2050: 1) Malaysia = Still plagued by Race & Religion Warfare. 2) Taiwan = Peaceful country, but made a proxy between US/China wars. Let's just say, if China goes to war with Taiwan, WW3 / Asia-Pacific War will most likely happen. Neither Malaysia or Taiwan will be the same during wartime. Home ownership. You can get an apartment for rm300-400k in Klang Valley. Even at rm200k there are options. In Singapore. If you are not a PR, SGD1M will barely get you a shoebox apartment. NYC/SF, you can barely get anything for 1M USD. The same with Vancouver. Similar issues in London. And Taipei, and HK, and Seoul, and Shanghai. You get the point. In KL you can rent a room for under rm1k, an apartment for 1.5k or less. What's the rent in those cities I mentioned above? |
Aug 14 2023, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(LegendLee @ Aug 14 2023, 11:10 PM) Can a Singaporean even stay in Malaysia for a prolonged period of time? My spouse is Malaysian.Perhaps if you leave and enter the country every 30 days this is possible. But I foresee a lot of issue here. Unless you somehow get a long term pass or via the malaysia my second home program. |
Aug 14 2023, 11:22 PM
2,725 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 11:12 PM) Things may not be as simple.1. Have you actually tried applying for the Spouse Visa for Malaysia ? The amount of red tapes is not for the faint hearted. 2. I believe your wife is a Singapore PR ? After you all retire and start living back in Malaysia, good luck trying to renew the REP tied to her PR. |
Aug 14 2023, 11:31 PM
19 posts Joined: May 2011 |
sinkie stay sinkie forever la
Aug 14 2023, 11:38 PM
1,042 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
pm lee endorse your plan
when young give your brain power and tax money to majulah singapore when old and sick return home and burden malaysia's health care system |
Aug 15 2023, 04:56 AM
QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 11:11 PM) I don't care about 2nd/3rd class citizen nonsense. I'm not even a Malaysian citizen. No benefits will be accorded to me. As a foreigner, the only thing I need is a valid visa. Have you seen the type of areas / neighborhoods you can get an apartment in Klang Valley for RM200k to 400k?Home ownership. You can get an apartment for rm300-400k in Klang Valley. Even at rm200k there are options. In Singapore. If you are not a PR, SGD1M will barely get you a shoebox apartment. NYC/SF, you can barely get anything for 1M USD. The same with Vancouver. Similar issues in London. And Taipei, and HK, and Seoul, and Shanghai. You get the point. In KL you can rent a room for under rm1k, an apartment for 1.5k or less. What's the rent in those cities I mentioned above? Besides, when I retire, I don't plan to stay in Taipei or capital cities. Kampung lifestyle for me. |
Aug 15 2023, 05:40 AM
1,836 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ Aug 14 2023, 03:58 PM) Rather live in China instead. (Being a chinese) China Youth Jobless Rate Hits Record 20.8% in Challenge for PolicymakersNot like Malaysia is bad, but just... Sudahlah no need mention. Makan, medical, life, semua not ok nowadays. If back then around the 80-90s still ok la, got hope. 2023 and further, later mati tepi jalan also tatau for what reason. Racism ke, too puteh ke, too local ke, too high profile ke, or you face problem. Youth jobless rate is four times overall surveyed jobless rate More young graduates expected to enter workforce in summer 2 biggest problem Youth unemployment is a more pressing issue than the aging population,” says Keju Jin, an associate professor at the London School of Economics and author of The New China Playbook. “The 1.1% annual reduction in the labor force doesn’t compare to the fact that the most productive and highly-educated generation cannot find jobs. By Bloomberg News 2023年6月15日 China’s youth jobless rate edged up to a fresh record in May as the economy’s recovery slowed, adding to challenges for policymakers as new graduates join the workforce. The unemployment rate among those aged between 16 and 24 reached 20.8%, up from 20.4% in April, according to data published by the National Bureau of Statistics on Thursday. That’s four times the overall surveyed jobless rate, which was unchanged at 5.2%. Read More: China’s Aging Population Is a Major Concern. But Its Youth May Be an Even Bigger Problem Youth unemployment has stayed elevated since early 2022 as Covid disruptions and a property slump added to already existing structural problems in the labor market. Many companies are reluctant to hire in the face of a lackluster recovery, while cash-strapped local governments are also trying to reduce costs. Summer is usually when the jobless rate climbs as tens of millions of graduates flood the market. Lu’s experience underscores a twin economic challenge that China is facing—an aging population and young people unable to find work who are expected to care for them. By 2035, around 400 million Chinese people will be aged 60 and over, or some 30% of the population. Last year, deaths outnumbered births for the first time since 1961, further graying the nation’s demographic balance. Terrible !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 15 2023, 05:42 AM |
Aug 15 2023, 05:43 AM
1,836 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(LegendLee @ Aug 14 2023, 11:22 PM) Things may not be as simple. At the time his wife retired,cannot renew REP?1. Have you actually tried applying for the Spouse Visa for Malaysia ? The amount of red tapes is not for the faint hearted. 2. I believe your wife is a Singapore PR ? After you all retire and start living back in Malaysia, good luck trying to renew the REP tied to her PR. |
Aug 15 2023, 05:53 AM
QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Aug 15 2023, 04:56 AM) Have you seen the type of areas / neighborhoods you can get an apartment in Klang Valley for RM200k to 400k? Here are a few:Besides, when I retire, I don't plan to stay in Taipei or capital cities. Kampung lifestyle for me. https://www.iproperty.com.my/property/daman...sale-105489312/ https://www.iproperty.com.my/property/banda...sale-102636410/ https://www.iproperty.com.my/property/banda...sale-103104625/ https://www.iproperty.com.my/property/seri-...sale-105627395/ https://www.iproperty.com.my/property/suban...sale-103463579/ https://www.iproperty.com.my/property/jalan...sale-105625400/ Some actually quite decent, at least there are options. For the average Taipei person, what hope is there to own even a studio? Same with other major cities. If you go kampung, it can also be done in Malaysia. Can even get a landed for rm400k or less. And pretty decent towns as well. Like Taiping or Ipoh or Sungai Petani, Batu Pahat, Kluang etc. Btw, on the race and religion Warfare thing. Just turn off the news, and go live your regular life. Does it affect you if you just try to live a normal life as a retiree? So what does what you see on the news bother you for? If you don't like the PuAS stuff, just stick to places where they aren't around, like Selangor or Penang or Perak or Johor. This post has been edited by sinkiebaru: Aug 15 2023, 06:01 AM |
Aug 15 2023, 06:18 AM
246 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Pretty much true in many sense. Set those difficult terms aside and running this in a straightforward way, China is facing a braindrain situation right now on their over-pampered, 90s - 00s generation, where quite a lot of them are either half-bucket educated, lazy, had no aims in life, literally the "flick" finger get few hundred K to do whatever dreamy business they like, so on, so forth. Things might not very obvious in a sense, but at where they came, employment is crazily competitive, to the point even if there's 10k positions, you're not competing with just 20k people, but 100k people. In Malaysia, at most 100 position open, 200-300 competitors. There, talents is so much that if you no cable, you die. (same to coming overseas. No cable die. Study good skol, no cable die. Get a good position, no cable die. Everything is about cable. Power cable, high speed cable, powderful cable, strong cable, and so on) But again, one of the main reason for this is because when more people learned about education, their brain changed. If back then, you need 100 people to farm, after educated, it still takes 100 people to farm. But the problem is, half of those that was supposed to farm now dream about sitting in office hate the sun, so they fakap, because hard to get a job, and the farm fked, because this 50 people now look down on farm jobs. Education without stability is a big bomb, honestly. Even I dun dare to simply open several takeaways although I had enough financial power to open 10-20 outlets in a flash. Not because I dun have manpower. But because I dun have confidence on those monkeys I trained. It take years to build and train a head (monkey) Chef. But all it takes is a few sohai stuff, and very possibly, a bitch to fked the person up. Its easy to build and start something, but to make it last, its much harder than trying to make a tofu firmer. |
| Change to: | 0.0270sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:05 AM |