7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Work SG, retire MY is the best plan, agree?

koja6049
post Aug 14 2023, 05:10 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Aug 14 2023, 05:06 PM)
wow, 500k is cheap... for inland...
there are even cheaper units, RM300k affordable housing, just that I don't qualify. Still alot of these sub-500k units around the island especially in bayan lepas area if you know where to find smile.gif
TSsinkiebaru
post Aug 14 2023, 05:14 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Koranshita @ Aug 14 2023, 05:08 PM)
u will complaint until u die since u already been pampered in singapore for long time
Grass is greener on the other side huh?

Maybe I buy bungalow then complain hard to maintain. Lol! Who knows?
TSsinkiebaru
post Aug 14 2023, 05:14 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Aug 14 2023, 04:16 PM)
No, work for SG company earn SGD, but stay in Msia WFH, only go in meeting few times is best job
I can possibly do the commute to SG thing from JB. I only need to go office 2-3 times a week. Only thing is my children's schooling. If they school here, then I will probably stay on in SG until they finish school.

This post has been edited by sinkiebaru: Aug 14 2023, 05:15 PM
SUSM4A1
post Aug 14 2023, 05:32 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(Lord_froz @ Aug 14 2023, 04:45 PM)
kampung site still cheaper meh. nasi lemak daun pisang sebungkus still seringgit in baling. makan nasi bungkus still below 5 ringgit..
Syukur
Mana mana ada Barang naik

Oh wai
differ
post Aug 14 2023, 05:35 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Aug 14 2023, 03:56 PM)
How many dupe account do you own...dang
This one is whose dupe? Hard to keep track nowadays
digilife
post Aug 14 2023, 05:37 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

No,

Work in MY

Retire in MY

Die in MY

If work in SG, everything kena fined & will have mental issues, die already also no land to get buried.
submergedx
post Aug 14 2023, 05:37 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 03:52 PM)
Well.....personally looking at the situation in Malaysia, I don't think it's trajectory gonna change anytime in the future, barring any gamechanger. It doesn't matter which party is in power, the trend will not change.

So, do you think that building a life in Malaysia is still the best option for most people and for their children? Or is going overseas the better option?

For me both have their pros and cons but I can share with you what I see to be pros and cons.
Pros of staying in Malaysia:

- Low cost of living
- Familiar environment
- More laid back compared to fighting it out overseas
- Familiar food
- Familar culture

Cons of Malaysia

- Weak currency
- Economy is falling further and further behind every year and doesn't look to be recovering
- Education is quite lacking
Pros of migrating

- Higher earning with stronger exchange rate
- Better education
- More developed industries for the aspiring person

Cons of migrating

- Most of the developed world has insane housing and living costs which minimize or negate any advantage in earning power increase
- Stressful as you are a migrant
- Not familiar food
Hence, I think, the best is to work in Singapore then retire in Malaysia. Earn SGD then retire in Malaysia to spend it. It is better than working in Australia, US, Europe, Japan, Korea, Taiwan which is probably a struggle to earn enough to have a high quality of living.

It is also better than working in Malaysia and struggling with the weak currency as well

Do you agree?
TLDR

Knnbuccb
post Aug 14 2023, 06:12 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Aug 14 2023, 04:37 PM)
Your forget :

1. Safety
2. No rnr
safety is huge factor

i drive in marehsia i feel fearful. if motobodo langgar me, i have to run away because idiots will think i sarahan

in SG no need so difficult.. just follow law everything nice...
Knnbuccb
post Aug 14 2023, 06:15 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 14 2023, 04:49 PM)
Still contemplating if I should retire in Malaysia after >10 years living in europe

Not sure I can adapt to the head and humidity in Malaysia

But convert GBP to MYR is very good
if no kids then come back je

if got kids then u gotta worry about their education and opportunities etc.
bengang15
post Aug 14 2023, 06:25 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 14 2023, 06:12 PM)
safety is huge factor

i drive in marehsia i feel fearful. if motobodo langgar me, i have to run away because idiots will think i sarahan

Kids too. I see 7-8 years old independently taking public transport. Incidently I don't like driving in Singapore. Very stressful. Lol
styrwr91
post Aug 14 2023, 06:31 PM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

According to /k, living and working in SG means wife cheating, lose job but still need to raise kid that is nt urs, become gambling addict, and murderer

Oh wai..
Taikor.Taikun
post Aug 14 2023, 06:46 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(bigduck @ Aug 14 2023, 04:41 PM)
if you manage to find such jobs

bear in mind SG employers could just hire from cheaper countries, and they can lowball you kao kao, pay you in RM only
Hiring Msian has more advantages over other countries. Put aside cultural similarities, Msian can stay in JB, go to SG office few days a week, few days a month. This enables company to pay lower, Msian saves rental n expenses in SG. If u’re existing staff, it’s like a payrise. My company has this policy even for Singaporean staff. My frens n neighbours have such jobs. Even Msia company also start to offer such arrangement already. Like company in KL or Semenyih but u only need to go few times a month, the rest WFH

QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 05:14 PM)
I can possibly do the commute to SG thing from JB. I only need to go office 2-3 times a week. Only thing is my children's schooling. If they school here, then I will probably stay on in SG until they finish school.
If have kids, better stay in SG. Childcare is in the office building or nearby building, very convenient

This post has been edited by Taikor.Taikun: Aug 14 2023, 06:58 PM
TSsinkiebaru
post Aug 14 2023, 06:52 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Aug 14 2023, 06:46 PM)
Hiring Msian has more advantages over other countries. Put aside cultural similarities, Msian can stay in JB, go to SG office few days a week, few days a month. This enables company to pay lower, Msian saves rental n expenses in SG. If u’re existing staff, it’s like a payrise. My company has this policy even for Singaporean staff. My frens n neighbours have such jobs. Even Msia company also start to offer such arrangement already
If have kids, better stay in SG. Childcare is in the office building or nearby building, very convenient
Childcare doesn't matter. Can be in Malaysia. But schooling.
takbodoh722
post Aug 14 2023, 08:15 PM

sinkieland not for everyone. not all employers take care of employees. but there are some that do. meritocracy means if you're good, then progression possible unlike white countries where skin colour is a factor. like all countries, there are also businesses who exploit workers so beware.

I know some who reach managers within a few years earning enough to be comfortable even in high cost sinkieland. I know also of some who didnt make it, had to return back to bolehland, no shame (no issue)

whether go or not, get job offer then decide. no offer = talk only. find out more about employer before decide. different people different experience.
MADReaLJL
post Aug 14 2023, 08:33 PM

4,050 posts

Sounds like life plan of any average kelantanese
SUSceo684
post Aug 14 2023, 08:36 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 14 2023, 06:12 PM)
safety is huge factor

In mareshia even cars anyhow pop out into your lane (no signal) whilst losing engine power to “overtake”

Plus nice hot day federal hwy, hog middle lane driving private car slower than a SBS bus (which is limited to 60)

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 14 2023, 08:38 PM
Capt. Marble
post Aug 14 2023, 08:37 PM

221 posts

Why even work? Get bantuan lah in Malaysia. The gov takes care of us.
9m2w
post Aug 14 2023, 08:39 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(sinkiebaru @ Aug 14 2023, 04:20 PM)
I am saying the economic and career development prospects in Malaysia are weak.
kayacrab any comments?

Why I don't see you guys in the same thread?
Knnbuccb
post Aug 14 2023, 08:40 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 14 2023, 08:39 PM)
kayacrab any comments?

Why I don't see you guys in the same thread?
Later IP detected same ....

Inb4 one personality can only manifest at one time

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Aug 14 2023, 08:40 PM
SUSM4A1
post Aug 14 2023, 08:43 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

if no kids ok

if got kids - NO

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top