tired after work, want to study something

Hanzeviera
post Aug 8 2023, 02:25 PM

14 posts

Act it dun matter pun whether you got 8 hours of sleep or not. Janji your sleep cycle is correct.
hanzyms
post Aug 8 2023, 02:28 PM

68 posts

Me before work also tired
SUS-Hidan-
post Aug 8 2023, 02:28 PM

37 posts

What is your current job? Why want to enter IT? Do u know how streneous IT line is? Do u know how fucked up programmers life is? You see the money but the jobs are really fucked up.

Doesn't your current job have career progression?
Mavik
post Aug 8 2023, 02:29 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(waka14 @ Aug 8 2023, 11:11 AM)
Hello /k!

I guess this topic is better geared towards the prev gen boomers/genX who admittedly went through a different type of Hell.

So after work, i reach home frustrated and unmotivated as always but I have taken steps to try and learn some programming...want to try my hand in IT by the mid of next year.

Issue is..i come home tired like setoberi, sure I can force myself to study (been doing that), but not very effective. What are your post-work trying to study tips?

Serious answers to help focus.

Thanks /k!
Turn off all distractions and then just focus on the content. Currently just started studying for some cloud certificates online. Not easy as I tend to procastinate things.
TSwaka14
post Aug 8 2023, 02:35 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 8 2023, 02:07 PM)
Agreed, that's what I'm trying to say.

To TS, programming not really suitable for you based on observing your reply. It's really hard-core technical and really needed passionate. Ever thought of changing direction to Project Manager role instead? There are free course and gov sponsorship to study on project management.
but needs alot of experience to become a project manager of any industry right no?

QUOTE(anakkk @ Aug 8 2023, 02:11 PM)
what is your profession then? 4.8k at 29 is quite good though
Trade officer to an embassy...thank you but life threw me a curveball that i need money to fix lel

QUOTE(-Hidan- @ Aug 8 2023, 02:28 PM)
What is your current job? Why want to enter IT? Do u know how streneous IT line is? Do u know how fucked up programmers life is? You see the money but the jobs are really fucked up.

Doesn't your current job have career progression?
If got career progression i wont be so bitter, got also very limited. The progression would be to join other embassies,trade department within this field. Vacancies are very far and few in between...worse yet thanks to our political climate, many are pulling back their funding. So if i stay here for another 2 years, probaby might get retreched or changed to a contract role.

Why? money lo...i mean im already miserable..might as well have money/career progression while im feeling that way VS to not having enough.

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 8 2023, 02:29 PM)
Turn off all distractions and then just focus on the content. Currently just started studying for some cloud certificates online. Not easy as I tend to procastinate things.
How is your progress so far? how many hours a day do you commit to your studies tho?
Good luck!
Mavik
post Aug 8 2023, 02:36 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(waka14 @ Aug 8 2023, 02:35 PM)
How is your progress so far? how many hours a day do you commit to your studies tho?
Good luck!
Normally my concentration goes about 45min stretches. So I try to aim for 3-4 45min stretches. Any longer and I get distracted or nothing goes into my head LOL.
Knnbuccb
post Aug 8 2023, 02:39 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Aug 8 2023, 12:04 PM)
I just quit my job & took a career break + study full-time instead.. lel
tried studying while working. after work, just too tired mentally/physically to study.

damn, how u manage to get past the mindset of "i should be earning mani now"
i wanna study but theres a lot of opportunity cot involve

anakkk
post Aug 8 2023, 02:40 PM

2,119 posts

trade officer to embassy should know a lot of big shot ma, can try ask them tulung
SUS-Hidan-
post Aug 8 2023, 02:50 PM

37 posts

I see... looks like between a rock and a hard place.

Not sure how hectic the job of a trade officer is, but if it can always clock out at 6pm then it should be quite a routine and not hectic one. Then need to find the strength and motivation to move forward.

In terms of self study, maybe u can try to enroll in courses that have some form of structure or certification. Maybe can try to ask around OUM if they have such course. Structure is good so that you can have a goal in mind when u study. That way u will try to fight through any tiredness because there is a goal.

If cannot OUM, can also try those online courses like udemy. Most important is that u self study with a focus and goal in mind.

And u should know that IT line is going to be gruesome. If u cannot study after work, u will face problems when u really do the actual IT work.
TSwaka14
post Aug 8 2023, 03:10 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Aug 8 2023, 02:40 PM)
trade officer to embassy should know a lot of big shot ma, can try ask them tulung
i used to think liddat, but very risky. most of them close to the Big boss...later they snitch on me. GG 24hr tendang keluar.
kerolzarmyfanboy
post Aug 8 2023, 03:11 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Aug 8 2023, 02:39 PM)
damn, how u manage to get past the mindset of "i should be earning mani now"
i wanna study but theres a lot of opportunity cot involve
for me it was more or less because "I could be earning mani but it would still be the same amount as it was before, nothing would change"
hence the do-or-die decision to just quit, focus full-time study & get a cert to increase my 'value'
TSwaka14
post Aug 8 2023, 03:13 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(-Hidan- @ Aug 8 2023, 02:50 PM)
I see... looks like between a rock and a hard place.

Not sure how hectic the job of a trade officer is, but if it can always clock out at 6pm then it should be quite a routine and not hectic one. Then need to find the strength and motivation to move forward.

In terms of self study, maybe u can try to enroll in courses that have some form of structure or certification.  Maybe can try to ask around OUM if they have such course. Structure is good so that you can have a goal in mind when u study. That way u will try to fight through any tiredness because there is a goal.

If cannot OUM, can also try those online courses like udemy. Most important is that u self study with a focus and goal in mind.

And u should know that IT line is going to be gruesome.  If u cannot study after work, u will face problems when u really do the actual IT work.
thats one way, thanks a bunch
reanimation_84
post Aug 8 2023, 03:17 PM

307 posts

Depends if you are mentally or physically tired. If physically you can sleep early, eat better and do exercises. Taking vitamin B can also help.

If its a mental thing, then you need to identify cause, toxic workplace, overworked and see if you can change the situation. Mental is more difficult to solve.
bereev
post Aug 8 2023, 03:18 PM

257 posts

go tempat beristirehat la
Knnbuccb
post Aug 8 2023, 03:29 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Aug 8 2023, 03:11 PM)
for me it was more or less because "I could be earning mani but it would still be the same amount as it was before, nothing would change"
hence the do-or-die decision to just quit, focus full-time study & get a cert to increase my 'value'
i see.
then mine is diff story
ayam wanna do it because its my dream
but not necessaily will pay higher, esp initially . im taking a huge paycut. later on then maybe can get higher pay.

but sometimes dreams arae bigger than mani alone.

This post has been edited by Knnbuccb: Aug 8 2023, 03:29 PM
TSwaka14
post Aug 8 2023, 03:30 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(reanimation_84 @ Aug 8 2023, 03:17 PM)
Depends if you are mentally or physically tired. If physically you can sleep early, eat better and do exercises. Taking vitamin B can also help.

If its a mental thing, then you need to identify cause, toxic workplace, overworked and see if you can change the situation. Mental is more difficult to solve.
mine is definitely mental. Generally fighting the feeling or hatred of my situation and constantly not enuff mani.
chinti
post Aug 8 2023, 03:40 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

im also doing programming after work
usually after work just makan dinner, watch netflix and rest a bit then 8-9pm baru start study until 11+ then read manga n tidur
Fanvil1534
post Aug 8 2023, 05:45 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(waka14 @ Aug 8 2023, 11:11 AM)
Hello /k!

I guess this topic is better geared towards the prev gen boomers/genX who admittedly went through a different type of Hell.

So after work, i reach home frustrated and unmotivated as always but I have taken steps to try and learn some programming...want to try my hand in IT by the mid of next year.

Issue is..i come home tired like setoberi, sure I can force myself to study (been doing that), but not very effective. What are your post-work trying to study tips?

Serious answers to help focus.

Thanks /k!
Take a 30min to an hour power nap before you start.
kamfoo
post Aug 9 2023, 12:18 AM

847 posts

Go massage

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0236sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:41 PM