16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Best Destination for A Level in Malaysia

chaoshero
post Oct 16 2008, 11:12 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(Lemonfish @ Oct 21 2007, 05:30 PM)
How about Help University College and Kolej Tunku Jaafar. If i am to do actuarial science in my University Level, which college have the best lecturer on subject like Further Mathematics, Economic and Accounting??
HELP of course. With 97% passing rate & in every 3 students, 1 get straight As. Overall on the average lecturers have more than 10 years experience. Best lecturers from Taylors like Ms. Aw for Maths, Ms. Ng Choo Kin for Chem & Francis Dun who produce 16 World Awards for Accounting & many more. In fact we do house most of those exprience lecturers who came from Taylors , KDU etc

Added on October 16, 2008, 11:26 pmHai I'm doing some social service here & it's free of charge...anyway I'm Econs lecturer from HELP A-Levels Dept. I'm helping my students to learn Econs via out-of-the-box way. Totally different from conventional class-textbook method.

It's more interactive & I set up an Economics blog....so any of u guys out there having Econs query do come in http://econsguide.blogspot.com to ask me Econs question. FOC guaranteed!!!

This post has been edited by chaoshero: Oct 16 2008, 11:26 PM
maxtek
post Oct 16 2008, 11:46 PM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(chaoshero @ Oct 16 2008, 11:12 PM)
HELP of course. With 97% passing rate & in every 3 students, 1 get straight As. Overall on the average lecturers have more than 10 years experience. Best lecturers from Taylors like Ms. Aw for Maths, Ms. Ng Choo Kin for Chem & Francis Dun who produce 16 World Awards for Accounting & many more. In fact we do house most of those exprience lecturers who came from Taylors , KDU etc

Added on October 16, 2008, 11:26 pmHai I'm doing some social service here & it's free of charge...anyway I'm Econs lecturer from HELP A-Levels Dept. I'm helping my students to learn Econs via out-of-the-box way. Totally different from conventional class-textbook method.

It's more interactive & I set up an Economics blog....so any of u guys out there having Econs query do come in http://econsguide.blogspot.com to ask me Econs question. FOC guaranteed!!!
I'd agree with him. But I'm from Taylors. So far their Furmats lecturers are "okay", not exceptional to say the least.
SUSloveuallso
post Oct 17 2008, 04:52 PM

213 posts

taylors is good, but its so fkin crowded. the library is even worse then the LRT, there's ppl everywhere. sunway is better, taylors is good cuz most scholars go there.
JustForFun
post Oct 18 2008, 01:49 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

For your information, Disted college has been a consistent scorer for General Paper ( Top In Malaysia ) and had just won the Pure Maths AS top in world last June. What's more ? If you're confident of yourself, Disted offers a one year course which helps you to access your dream faster, in a shorter time.
neorelated4
post Oct 18 2008, 02:23 PM

130 posts

I don't know if anyone has posted this already but.. here's some additional info on HELP A levels for 2009:

pay before 1st november 2008 and u pay this year's fees!! pay after that and prepare to spend few thousand ringgit more... wink.gif
CLF
post Oct 18 2008, 09:00 PM

1,354 posts

I'm finishing my Cambridge A Level at TARC.

I must say that for the amount of money you spend there, it's quite worth it. There're dedicated lecturers and good study environment.

For A Level Science subjects, the fee is about RM 8k++.
If your SPM is 8 A's and above, you'll be waived from the course fee.

For budget students, I think TARC is the place to go if you can't afford those high-end colleges. Of course, whether it works for you also depends on yourself, how you carry yourself studyin' especially those coming from other states.
Xp3rT
post Oct 20 2008, 04:19 PM

1,028 posts

Institute Science And Management Sabah~
jhong
post Oct 20 2008, 08:00 PM

685 posts

HELP is doing good since they have a good lecturers there.
audio0316
post Oct 20 2008, 09:05 PM

28 posts

I did A levels in HELP and it was a wonderful experience. Lecturers are good and the life there is good too. Convenient, except for the travel from the main block to kpd and wisma help lar...
cherriedpie
post Oct 20 2008, 09:57 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(neorelated4 @ Oct 18 2008, 02:23 PM)
I don't know if anyone has posted this already but.. here's some additional info on HELP A levels for 2009:

pay before 1st november 2008 and u pay this year's fees!! pay after that and prepare to spend few thousand ringgit more...  wink.gif
darn!!!111!!!

still having my trials now. =( =(

can apply without forecast? :3
thistle
post Oct 22 2008, 12:15 AM

321 posts

I was wondering, where are scholars sent to for pre-u?

And what about internationals (those who do not continue to 6th form in their international schools)?
SevsGirl85
post Mar 1 2009, 08:54 PM

Hi

I was thinking of taking A levels in July but I haven't found a proper collage that is also offering reasonable prices. I was looking at Methodist collage. Can anyone help me?
Synthesia
post Mar 2 2009, 02:50 PM

.:Love PhotoGraphy:.
642 posts

According to the votes.
Welcome to taylors smile.gif
The name itself tells you. 'Cambridge' A Levels
jjplaw
post Apr 2 2009, 12:16 PM

46 posts

I would like get some advice for my sister's education path.

She obtained 8As and 2Bs for her SPM. She seems to be interested to pursue her tertiary education in the biotechnology area.
As of now, she plans to do her A-level in Disted Stamford, Penang and do very well to get a scholarship to go overseas. doh.gif
If it was that easy... rclxub.gif If she doesnt get a scholarship, then she'll just apply to one of the local U.

My family is not that well to do. My dad is retiring this year. However, we did manage to save up some money for my sis education. Probably just enough for her A-level. In addition, she demands a car if she goes to Penang.

Due to influence from her friends (unfortunately most of them are from well to do families), she does not want to even consider other options. We thought of sending her to a private local U for foundation course. Below are some of her stupid reasons:
1. UTAR - too chinaman like (i dont even know what that means)
2. AIMST - in kampung area
3. Public U - STPM - I want to get away from home
4. Public U - Matric - I didnt apply

So I would like to get some advice on the following:
1) What other local colleges and universities are popular with courses and facilities for biotechnology?
2) What is the probability of getting a scholarship with a good A-Level result?
3) Anyone had completed A-level here? I heard there are two choices in A-level, AS and A2? Whats the diff? Are the syllabus similar to SPM/STPM?

Please advise. icon_question.gif
endrylim
post Apr 2 2009, 01:04 PM

96 posts

University Science Malaysia is accepting Alevels Students o...So its very very cheap n hopefully when the ranking goes up it'll be worthwhile o!
siew14
post Apr 2 2009, 03:18 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(jjplaw @ Apr 2 2009, 12:16 PM)

I would like get some advice for my sister's education path.

She obtained 8As and 2Bs for her SPM. She seems to be interested to pursue her tertiary education in the biotechnology area.
As of now, she plans to do her A-level in Disted Stamford, Penang and do very well to get a scholarship to go overseas.  doh.gif
If it was that easy... rclxub.gif If she doesnt get a scholarship, then she'll just apply to one of the local U.

My family is not that well to do. My dad is retiring this year. However, we did manage to save up some money for my sis education. Probably just enough for her A-level. In addition, she demands a car if she goes to Penang.

Due to influence from her friends (unfortunately most of them are from well to do families), she does not want to even consider other options. We thought of sending her to a private local U for foundation course. Below are some of her stupid reasons:
1. UTAR - too chinaman like (i dont even know what that means)
2. AIMST - in kampung area
3. Public U - STPM - I want to get away from home
4. Public U - Matric - I didnt apply

So I would like to get some advice on the following:
1) What other local colleges and universities are popular with courses and facilities for biotechnology?
2) What is the probability of getting a scholarship with a good A-Level result?
3) Anyone had completed A-level here? I heard there are two choices in A-level, AS and A2? Whats the diff? Are the syllabus similar to SPM/STPM?

Please advise.  icon_question.gif
walow eh.. chinaman???? yur sister got prob with them, and yur sis not cina????? macam sangat racist.. hahahah
anyway,

1) popular = expensive for most of the college /uni.. no idea for biotech.. IMU maybe?? lol
2) low... according to my pre-u lecturer in taylor's, it is much harder to get scholarship with a-lv result compare to SPM..
3) no idea...

actually tarc / utar is quite a good place to complete a-lv with low cost.

Added on April 2, 2009, 3:23 pmbtw.. just wana add on.. if yur sis really really 200% confirm she wana do biotech, go for ADP.. much faster..
i mean graduate faster with ADP..

ADP = american degree program

This post has been edited by siew14: Apr 2 2009, 03:23 PM
chungdavi
post Apr 2 2009, 05:17 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

AS and A2 is separated parts of whole A-Level syllabus......

I completed my A-Levels in TARC.....so, I'll talk about the situation in TARC......

The lecturers completed teaching the AS syllabus using half a year, then 1 year for A2 syllabus.....

You will take A-Level exams twice, for your whole course........

Normally it's like dividing the syllabus to 2 parts.......and let you complete the 1st part and go for exam 1st.....then you can concentrate your study on the 2nd part......

So, AS is the 1st part and A2 is the 2nd part.......

I'll take Biology as an example......this subject have 5 papers to take in total.....
You will take 3 papers for AS, and the remaining 2 papers for A2.......

The grades you get in AS exam, will combine with A2 exam later on........and get the final grade....

So, it's unlike STPM, which you do the exam only 1 time......1 shot have to revise the whole syllabus........

By the way, STPM and A-Level syllabus is similar......
How similar, I don't know, I never take STPM before.....

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Apr 2 2009, 05:19 PM
C-Note
post Apr 2 2009, 05:52 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

which college got the best science(phy,chem,bio,maths) lecturers?
genielo
post Apr 14 2009, 10:30 AM

hi,
i would like to get some advice from u all.Is tarc college good in cambrigde a level? thank you

chungdavi
post Apr 14 2009, 12:20 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(genielo @ Apr 14 2009, 10:30 AM)
hi,
i would like to get some advice from u all.Is tarc college good in cambrigde a level? thank you
Not bad.....and the fees is cheaper.....

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:37 PM