Gears of War, In stores 12th November 07!!!!!!

SilverCrimz
post Oct 21 2007, 10:00 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 21 2007, 09:33 PM)
What about the coop feature that Xbox360 users have?I heard that it's not implemented in the PC version..and then another rumor said that it might be implemented?Any confirmation on this?
Theres no cross playtform between the pc and xbox360 however co-op between pc users is there.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 5 2007, 01:11 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(JayYeong39 @ Nov 5 2007, 12:54 PM)
I think this game will be like Crysis, the hardware eater  cry.gif
not really, try running ut3 demo and see if it works for yours. If yes, then it should be fine.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 5 2007, 09:28 PM

864 posts

how much would the game retailed hmm.gif
im interested in pre ordering it
SilverCrimz
post Nov 6 2007, 11:37 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Nov 6 2007, 11:23 AM)
like i said b4,US is still in 5th november now.so we must wait till 2moro bcoz normally we owiz 4low their release time mostly.
even so, shops such as pcgame or tsb would have stated under their "Coming Soon" tab but its not shown making as if the game is non-existent. However, like you've said, i will wait till tommorow to see if theres any updates on our local shores.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 6 2007, 11:53 AM

864 posts

lol i get the feeling that it might be priced around the same as crysis =/
but i'll wait for the official pricing.
*cancels HGL pre-order*
SilverCrimz
post Nov 6 2007, 06:25 PM

864 posts

question, considering that most of us would most likely be using the LIVE silver membership and i've read that it only has achievements for the SP mode, would it be accounted the same for co-op mode?
SilverCrimz
post Nov 6 2007, 10:19 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(khaidani @ Nov 6 2007, 10:18 PM)
so..do we have to pay for silver profile?
Nope, it's free. Only the gold need to pay a subscription fee.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 6 2007, 10:35 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(gM | Mutsumi-san @ Nov 6 2007, 10:31 PM)
so what is there to offer for a gold profile anyway?
besides multiplayer achievements
and i quote from wiki
Differences between Gold and Silver Memberships

Games for Windows - Live Silver Membership Features

* Single gamertag
    * Common gamer profile
    * Common gamerscore
    * Single player achievements
    * Private chat via text and voice
    * Common friends list and online presence
    * PC only multiplayer including browsing a list of active PC games

Games for Windows - Live Gold Membership Features

* All Silver membership features
    * Multiplayer matchmaking with friends
    * TruSkill matchmaking
    * Multiplayer achievements
    * Cross-platform gameplay
whether is this 100% accurate is not for me to tell. Maybe those that owns a Xbox360 could give an in depth explanation regarding this.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 7 2007, 12:28 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 7 2007, 09:35 AM)
Good news!!! Gears of Wars PC is out already... So, we will be expecting the game will be in stores....

Yeah yeah, I know... Some of us r disappointed that Gears of Wars hav been out quite some time n still no stocks in M'sia yet... Can confirm it will be coming... Google around then u know what I'm talking about... tongue.gif
Pcgame.com has finally listed the game in their Coming Soon tab and its retailed for RM136 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SilverCrimz: Nov 7 2007, 12:28 PM
SilverCrimz
post Nov 7 2007, 04:49 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 7 2007, 03:06 PM)
Crap.... That sure sucks.... Just wanna see what they will offer for PC version... Maybe like C&C 3 Kane Edition.... LOLZ!!! But anyway, may buy this game for multiplayer...
Im getting also for the level editing stuffs tongue.gif

It seems theres some installation problems,

Link for ze fix

This post has been edited by SilverCrimz: Nov 7 2007, 06:05 PM
SilverCrimz
post Nov 7 2007, 10:10 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Nov 7 2007, 10:00 PM)
I went to the game shop in MV earlier..asked them if they've any news on GOW...

The fella said "Gears of Wars ar?Should be next year only come out wor"

I was like Wtf? I asked him "The release date was 5th of this month"

He then said not sure >_>
Go tsb la....go MV for wut lol
At least the staffs in either pcgame.com or tsb are well knowledge and you can never go wrong with them.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 9 2007, 10:37 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 9 2007, 08:57 AM)
There is MP of coz n there are servers available... To access them, u need an original GOW (which M'sia is darn slow) and also a Windows Live account (similar to Xbox Live but for PC only).. Then u r good to go....

GOW will not be supporting cross-platform gameplay unlike Shadowrun... One thing I noticed in the demo videos is that all the buttons for me are Xbox 360 buttons.... Clearly this game is a port from Xbox 360....
Thats cuz it oso supports the xbox360 controller cuz i've seen some trailers where the buttons actually showed keyboard keys on the screen. The reason being that some people prefer using the controller over the mouse+keyboard combo.

This post has been edited by SilverCrimz: Nov 9 2007, 10:38 AM
SilverCrimz
post Nov 10 2007, 11:52 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 10 2007, 10:24 PM)
thunderbolt pls state ur rig specs man....

coz i plan to plat same reso oso - 1680x1050.

only might be playing on dx10 smile.gif
I've read a review saying there isn't any significant difference between the dx9 and dx10 for this game and the only thing that improves visual quality is enabling AA.

We found no image quality differences inherent to enabling DX10 mode, but we did find a large performance drop on every video card. Simply put there is no reason to run this game in DX10 unless you have a powerful enough video card to handle 4X AA with this mode enabled. For the best performance run this game with DX10 "Off" and crank up the resolution with maximum in-game settings for a very fun, fast paced, action game.
Source
SilverCrimz
post Nov 12 2007, 12:20 PM

864 posts

So whos getting the original copy cuz im planning to as well so at least can join up for some co-op fragging or multiplayer fragging thumbup.gif
We should make a list on whos getting the original copy tongue.gif
SilverCrimz
post Nov 12 2007, 01:34 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 12 2007, 01:26 PM)
I also was planning to get the original copy as well.... Dunno whether my budget allow me or not.... Also must get Windows Live account... Huhuhuhu... cry.gif
Isn't windows live account = msn
well thats what it was stated when i checked the site.

This post has been edited by SilverCrimz: Nov 12 2007, 01:47 PM
SilverCrimz
post Nov 15 2007, 08:51 PM

864 posts

lol manage to call up tsb to get hold of the last copy thumbup.gif
but hopefully epic fixes the problems =/
SilverCrimz
post Nov 17 2007, 05:32 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Nov 17 2007, 04:13 PM)
I hate LIVE. They made my gaming life miserable...
I won't buy originals which needed or have integrate LIVE for online play after this. GoW will be my final one...

Gaming and online games used to be so simple... just click multiplayer and you are good to go... Microsoft ruined it for me... and I regret having gone original with this.
Is it really that bad sweat.gif
SilverCrimz
post Nov 18 2007, 11:08 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 18 2007, 01:52 AM)
Meh, from the hamachi forums, apparently GoW slaps a 30ms ping limit for LAN games ... i.e. if you're trying to use hamachi to simulate LAN, you need to be able to ping your friend under 30ms to play =_=;;

I tried the whole night but no success ... even tho my friend lives 15mins drive away, our pings were 45-50ms ...
Its unfortunate that the co-op mode only limits to two players. Anyways hows the multiplayer part of the game?
hopefully i can get an answer since almost everyone here bought the sparrow version whistling.gif
SilverCrimz
post Nov 19 2007, 05:59 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ Nov 19 2007, 03:05 PM)
Any low ping servers?
They're playing using hamachi.
SilverCrimz
post Nov 21 2007, 04:03 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Nov 20 2007, 06:15 PM)
w00t!.. finally got it and juz installed!..  rclxms.gif

Played for few minutes... dam.. the characters are so detailed!...  thumbup.gif
(Btw, im curious.. for those who played Crysis, its Crysis better gfx than any Unreal3.0 engine games?... considering Crysis's super heavy requirements  sweat.gif).

Laggish as most mentioned here oredi... i guess the game its not as optimised as COD4... which its kinda weird.. coz EPIC themselves basically makes the 3Dengine and yet other game devs has better optimisations  rolleyes.gif

Maybe its juz M$ Live crap its the culprit for those who mentioned earlier on tongue.gif

Anywayz, i was happy it runs great (maximum settings at 1680res) on my rig for todays standards  flex.gif

Cheers  biggrin.gif
Lets just say Epic did not optimized Gears enough for the pc if not, there should be visible difference on dx10 then dx9 but as reviews pointed, there isn't any.
btw, CoD4 isn't using unreal engine 3 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SilverCrimz: Nov 21 2007, 04:04 AM

0.0342sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:12 AM