Michelin Starred Restaurants, And other good eats

icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 11:50 AM

21,457 posts

Michelin star rating in Asia is different from and lower than Europe. Advised not to have high expectation in Asia.

Due to limitations of ingredients and raw materials I.e halal in this country, advised to save money to eat outside the country.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 11:52 AM
SUSWahlberg
post Jul 27 2023, 11:52 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Jul 27 2023, 08:37 AM)
Yeah, some folks seem to think that getting the Star is license to raise prices or franchise. But quality drops when they scale up production.
It is somehow the profit maker to think of it
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 12:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 27 2023, 11:22 AM)
I remember those days I paid 600 sgd for 3 person for lunch with champagne  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Those were the days bro… those were the days.
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 12:01 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Jul 27 2023, 08:37 AM)
Yeah, some folks seem to think that getting the Star is license to raise prices or franchise. But quality drops when they scale up production.
Most if not all good restaurants in Europe have limited seating every day. They raise menu price rather than number of seating.

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jul 27 2023, 11:29 AM)
Meh most of the michelin food is pay for atmosphere, ambience and presentation only.
Quality of ingredients, method of preparation and chefs passion played major role. Ambience, service and presentation are part of dining experience. If the chef could charge euro >200 per pax, could you accept mamak stall experience?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 12:47 PM
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 12:07 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jul 27 2023, 11:29 AM)
Meh most of the michelin food is pay for atmosphere, ambience and presentation only.
Actually, the food and quality of ingredients on offer do make a difference. I’m not talking about the “Michelin starred” Hainanese chicken rice that saw lines of curious foodies after the news broke, but that of proper fine dining restaurants.

That’s what I was hoping to solicit feedback from the forum users about the Michelin fine dining scene in Malaysia… not the hawker or street food, which certainly wouldn’t need some Ang Moh to tell us what’s good or not.
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 12:18 PM

21,457 posts

One could bring a man out from kampung/bagan but hard to bring kampung/bagan out from a man. How ones eat is how one was brought up.

Most locals are accustomed to spicy, cheap ingredients, banjir meals and plastic plates, find alternative e.g bone china tableware unsettling and less desirable.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 12:53 PM
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 01:06 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jul 27 2023, 12:18 PM)
One could bring a man out from kampung/bagan but hard to bring kampung/bagan out from a man. How ones eat is how one was brought up.

Most locals are accustomed to spicy, cheap ingredients, banjir meals and plastic plates, find alternative e.g bone china tableware unsettling and less desirable.
I suppose they’ll find it pretentious and unnecessary. I mean, why the need for a charger plate, for example? But, I enjoy the ambience and the experience - after all, as the saying goes, you can’t take a cent of it with you. If not now then when?
gaijin
post Jul 27 2023, 01:17 PM

172 posts

Looking at TS pics , the price per pax seems dollar to dollar with malaysia .... so its a bargain to dine here

The most is RM1k here eg DC restaurant
icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 01:32 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 01:06 PM)
I suppose they’ll find it pretentious and unnecessary. I mean, why the need for a charger plate, for example? But, I enjoy the ambience and the experience - after all, as the saying goes, you can’t take a cent of it with you. If not now then when?
Tableware and cutlery are part of dining experience. Those find butter and margarine indifference are unlikely to appreciate finer things in life.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jul 27 2023, 07:39 PM
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 03:18 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gaijin @ Jul 27 2023, 01:17 PM)
Looking at TS pics , the price per pax seems dollar to dollar with malaysia .... so its a bargain to dine here

Yes, that’s what I was thinking. Dollar for dollar, without the conversion rate, it would be a good experience at an affordable price.

Where is this DC restaurant please?
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jul 27 2023, 03:40 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,756 posts

Since u earn SGD, do try Sushi Taka and Ushi..

Both are the most expensive restaurants in KL / Malaysia now

They are also Michelin Selected restaurants

This post has been edited by -PuPu^ZaPruD3r-: Jul 27 2023, 03:40 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 27 2023, 04:16 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 27 2023, 11:41 AM)
how much is akar per pax?
Around 500 or so?

QUOTE(gaijin @ Jul 27 2023, 01:17 PM)

I spent slightly more in DC. But yea 1k+ is the benchmark for the 1 stars.

Holocene
post Jul 27 2023, 07:18 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

https://youtube.com/@alexandertheguest
mesothelium
post Jul 27 2023, 07:39 PM

105 posts

Auntie Gaik Lean’s in Penang used to be my family’s go to but we’ve stopped for years after they started watering their recipes down and developing an attitude. The story I’ve heard from people who’ve been there post-Michelin is that it’s not improved the cooking or the experience.

We also tried Kebaya in the Seven Terraces hotel once. If you have a Malaysian or an Asian palate though, it might not satisfy. We thought it was too French-Peranakan fusion but without the endearing characteristics of either cuisine.

Our go-to for Penang-style Peranakan and Hainanese food is the Yeng Keng cafe, adjacent to the hotel with the same name, on Chulia Street. We like the spring rolls, the gulai tumis, and the yam duck. They even have bombe Alaska if you have a taste for kitschy 1980s desserts.

I also like Jawi House on Armenian Street. The kitchen is run by a formally trained chef and tries to be authentically Jawi Peranakan, a relatively unknown and unique Penang culture. His mom is a retired professor who wrote and taught about Jawi Peranakan culture so the space is also a museum of sorts.

In short, I think Penang is not the place to go for high-end restaurants. It’s more of a street food place. Nevertheless, you can still get a decent experience if you go for a curated list of upper-midrange places.
dickybird
post Jul 27 2023, 07:43 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(mesothelium @ Jul 27 2023, 07:39 PM)
Auntie Gaik Lean’s in Penang used to be my family’s go to but we’ve stopped for years after they started watering their recipes down and developing an attitude. The story I’ve heard from people who’ve been there post-Michelin is that it’s not improved the cooking or the experience.

We also tried Kebaya in the Seven Terraces hotel once. If you have a Malaysian or an Asian palate though, it might not satisfy. We thought it was too French-Peranakan fusion but without the endearing characteristics of either cuisine.

Our go-to for Penang-style Peranakan and Hainanese food is the Yeng Keng cafe, adjacent to the hotel with the same name, on Chulia Street. We like the spring rolls, the gulai tumis, and the yam duck. They even have bombe Alaska if you have a taste for kitschy 1980s desserts.

I also like Jawi House on Armenian Street. The kitchen is run by a formally trained chef and tries to be authentically Jawi Peranakan, a relatively unknown and unique Penang culture. His mom is a retired professor who wrote and taught about Jawi Peranakan culture so the space is also a museum of sorts.

In short, I think Penang is not the place to go for high-end restaurants. It’s more of a street food place. Nevertheless, you can still get a decent experience if you go for a curated list of upper-midrange places.
Thank you for the tips
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 08:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Thank you for sharing your personal experience! Much appreciated.

sagethesausage
post Jul 27 2023, 09:26 PM

657 posts

Now I feel like flying to Penang just to taste bombe Alaska

icemanfx
post Jul 27 2023, 10:22 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Jul 27 2023, 09:26 PM)
Now I feel like flying to Penang just to taste bombe Alaska
Bombe Alaska is on regular menu in lake club, kl.

mesothelium
post Jul 27 2023, 11:27 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 27 2023, 08:05 PM)
Thank you for sharing your personal experience! Much appreciated.
Oh! And in KL, I liked DC (Taman Tun Dr Ismail) and Nadodi (Jalan Ampang). Nadodi served me the single best thing I had ever eaten in Malaysia, but that was years ago under Chef Johnson Ebenezer, who has since moved on.
TShksgmy
post Jul 27 2023, 11:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mesothelium @ Jul 27 2023, 11:27 PM)
Oh! And in KL, I liked DC (Taman Tun Dr Ismail) and Nadodi (Jalan Ampang). Nadodi served me the single best thing I had ever eaten in Malaysia, but that was years ago under Chef Johnson Ebenezer, who has since moved on.
It’s great to have your input! Thanks so much!

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:07 AM