394 posts

This is what dog sledding at noon looks like in Svalbard

smallbug
post Dec 15 2023, 05:40 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 15 2023, 03:11 AM)
still got appetite eating lunch in the dark like that? biggrin.gif
saigetsu
post Dec 15 2023, 06:15 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 13 2023, 11:44 PM)
I have arrived

[attachmentid=11486967]
That is north er than perlis sia.
fongsk26
post Dec 15 2023, 07:05 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 15 2023, 03:11 AM)

They use huskies?
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 15 2023, 03:10 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Dec 15 2023, 06:15 AM)
That is north er than perlis sia.
Yes. So north until Northern lights is called Southern lights here because need to look south to see it
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 15 2023, 03:55 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Dec 15 2023, 05:40 AM)
still got appetite eating lunch in the dark like that?  biggrin.gif
Breakfast, lunch, dinner still total darkness outside. First time have lunch at 1pm with total darkness outside
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 15 2023, 04:21 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(fongsk26 @ Dec 15 2023, 07:05 AM)
They use huskies?
Some are huskies, but most are not
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 15 2023, 04:24 PM

394 posts

Polar bear so lonely

fongsk26
post Dec 15 2023, 05:24 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 15 2023, 04:24 PM)
Polar bear so lonely

Human mascot, right? Approach maybe a young lady donning itโ€ฆ๐Ÿค—
Anyway, as tourist, it is nice to strike a chat with the locals over a drink or two. Can get a lot of tips and information about local lives and peculiarities.
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 16 2023, 02:15 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(fongsk26 @ Dec 15 2023, 05:24 PM)
Human mascot, right?  Approach maybe a young lady donning itโ€ฆ๐Ÿค—
Anyway, as tourist, it is nice to strike a chat with the locals over a drink or two.  Can get a lot of tips and information about local lives and peculiarities.
Nope, not a human mascot. Most people in Svalbard are not very local, including the workers here. The only local I met is the Norwegian tour guide living in Svalbard for 10 years but is originally from Oslo.
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 16 2023, 03:06 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 14 2023, 03:28 AM)
Dinner in Svalbard

[attachmentid=11486968]

[attachmentid=11486969]
Nobody can guess what dish is that?
PATAR
post Dec 16 2023, 03:38 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 16 2023, 02:15 AM)
Nope, not a human mascot. Most people in Svalbard are not very local, including the workers here. The only local I met is the Norwegian tour guide living in Svalbard for 10 years but is originally from Oslo.
Svalbard is known as a place where nobody is born and almost nobody dies. Expecting mothers are flown to mainland to give birth. There are no homes for the elderly. When you retire you move somewhere else. It's a place where you either work or study.
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 16 2023, 03:55 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(PATAR @ Dec 16 2023, 03:38 AM)
Svalbard is known as a place where nobody is born and almost nobody dies. Expecting mothers are flown to mainland to give birth. There are no homes for the elderly. When you retire you move somewhere else. It's a place where you either work or study.
Whole city only 2k people. It's a harsh environment. I haven't had a drop of sunlight in Svalbard at all in my 2 days there. Can cover the city centre on foot in like 5-10 mins
fongsk26
post Dec 16 2023, 05:57 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(PATAR @ Dec 16 2023, 03:38 AM)
Interesting. So there are practically no crematorium/graves there then. Eye opener knowledge for me. I learn something new today. Thanks. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
fongsk26
post Dec 16 2023, 05:59 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Dec 16 2023, 03:55 AM)
Whole city only 2k people. It's a harsh environment. I haven't had a drop of sunlight in Svalbard at all in my 2 days there. Can cover the city centre on foot in like 5-10 mins
I wonder what is the suicide rate there? I read somewhere Finland has high suicide rate because they have sunless days.
hksgmy
post Dec 16 2023, 06:19 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Imagine youโ€™re a pious Muslim during Ramadan in a place like thisโ€ฆ. how would you be able to sahur or iftar properly ah?
christ14
post Dec 16 2023, 06:31 AM

1,567 posts

howd you cope with no daylight TS
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 16 2023, 01:09 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Dec 16 2023, 06:31 AM)
howd you cope with no daylight TS
It's strange but not too bad since a few days only. I have not seen any daylight in the sky for more than 72 hours. Breakfast, lunch, dinner all dark outside
SUSasx26365
post Dec 16 2023, 01:11 PM

27 posts

Dun get your toe frozen until kena potong
TSmystalyzer
post Dec 16 2023, 01:15 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(asx26365 @ Dec 16 2023, 01:11 PM)
Dun get your toe frozen until kena potong
6 inches of snow. Very hard to walk properly