How to choose materials for kitchen cabinet?

desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 09:40 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 20 2023, 09:11 AM)
No please don't use this. Can easily stain. Quartz is better
ayam actually think solid wood (good one) is pretty nice....

no need to scare it crack like marble or quartz
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 09:46 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 20 2023, 09:43 AM)
Solid wood you still need to maintain by adding some mineral oil if you didn't apply any paint on it. Also note that wood surfaces have grains in them and these collect dust and stains and not one professional kitchen uses wood for their counter tops.

SOS
I designed my own kitchen
they use stainless steel top you know

quartz and marble just look good...

for practicality, just make a concrete frame and tile it. virtually maintenance free
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 09:48 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 20 2023, 09:47 AM)
Yep as per my post on top of you.

Concrete is porus and will be dusty. Try visiting those gen z cafes with concrete everything. Run your hand through the surface and it's dusty as hell
that is why need to tile it lol
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 10:07 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 20 2023, 10:04 AM)
this, i feel like having a breakfast/bar counter with wood for my upcoming house

but man the amount of maintenance needed to do in future..

i wanted to use full steel for wet kitchen but my gf is like  shakehead.gif  lolol
full stainless steel if use good grade stainless steel actually look very nice

workmanship also important, polishing and welding
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 10:16 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 20 2023, 10:14 AM)
yeah but issue is she said it looks too much like commercial kitchen than a home kitchen haha

not something she wants. for me i wanted steel cause damn easy to clean and maintain

like this not sexy meh?
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 10:37 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 20 2023, 10:20 AM)
Stainless steel will fade over time (I donno the exact word) and there will be scratches (look closely at your car). Plus if you drop something on it, there will be a dent. I don't suggest this.
Some sort of coating due to oxidation

That and scratch mark can easily remove by polishing

After that look like new

Also don't use mirror finish surface, that one is scratch mark magnet

The drop that dent stainless steel top will very likely to crack your quartz top

This post has been edited by desmond2020: Jul 20 2023, 10:39 AM
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 10:40 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 20 2023, 10:23 AM)
yeah this is expected cause the shiny polish will be gone and replaced with scratches. not a biggie IMO, i treat them as wear and tear feel

i dont mind those, but main concern OFC is rust as usual
sexay, but my concept was completely different  laugh.gif

something like this, this is why she said like commercial kitchen and a hard no
This one can buy pre made one from market. Cheap and nasty

desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 10:44 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 20 2023, 10:42 AM)
yeah IKR? wobbles like jelly also lmao

using this as workbench at wet kitchen, works very well so far but unsightly
just tell your wife this will stand the test of the time

quartz and marble will get stained yo
desmond2020
post Jul 20 2023, 12:55 PM

908 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 20 2023, 12:51 PM)
My parents house using full Cengal wood, cost them 40K in the 80s..

Sink area need cement and tiles. Wood cannot last there.

Nowadays got alternative materials other than wood like aluminium and panels.
wow, that price can buy a house that time

richfaq spotted.

0.2953sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:46 PM