Travel All About Hong Kong, Info moved to Facebook Page now!!

fraulein
post May 2 2009, 01:54 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(vpire @ May 1 2009, 11:57 PM)
Metropark wanchai got ppl infected with swine flu
Front page of the Star today. And I'm going on 20th May, hope everything is ok... ohmy.gif
fraulein
post May 3 2009, 10:39 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Regist @ May 2 2009, 03:29 PM)
which hotel you staying and how long at HK?
4D3N.
It's complicated.
First night on cruise, second at Regal airport, 3rd maybe at REgal Kowloon/Riverside or Regal Oriental.
Travel agent yet to confirm with us.

Added on May 3, 2009, 10:40 am
QUOTE(pauline_pc @ May 3 2009, 12:14 AM)
not sure about the situation. but i just bring along mask and the flu medicine " tamilflu". and worst is get the injection before we fly
Can get what kind of injection? I thought the vaccine is yet to be developed?

This post has been edited by fraulein: May 3 2009, 10:40 AM
fraulein
post May 3 2009, 05:11 PM

510 posts

Just cross our fingers and hope everything will be all right. Putting these aside, I hope some one can advise me on my HK trip plan. I have read most of the post, while skipping some cause too longgg.

Our trip is 4D3N (half guided tour half free & easy), arriving on a Wednesday. Below is the itinerary given by the tour agency:

Day 1
Arrive at HKIA and will board Starcruise Aquarius for 1 day 1 night.

Day 2
Check into Regal Airport. Free & easy.

Day 3
Guided tour to Victoria Peak, Repulse Bay, Golden Bauhinia Sq, Chinese Ginseng Shop and Jewellery City. Check into either Regal Kowloon, Regal Riverside, or Regal Oriental Hotel

Day 4
Free until air flight at around 2 pm.

These are the only info we got, all will be confirmed only after 11th May.

My questions are:

1. Is it better to skip the guided tour at Day 3 and go on our own. Will we be required to give tips again to HK guide eventhough we had already paid the tipping here? Seen some people complaining about being forced to buy expensive key chains + tips by HK tour guides in Virtualtourist.com

2. On day 3, which hotel will be a better choice? Hopefully it's clean and within walking distance (as near as possible) to MTR.

3. I haven't seen ppl mentioning the factory outlets here (maybe I missed out). I'm thinking of going to Esprit FO @ Hankow St., Dickson Warehouse & Joyce. Are they worth to go? Any other factory outlet I should miss? I found the list of FO at link link

4. Other places we would like to go is Madame Tussaud Waxhouse, Ngong Ping, Peak & Avenue of Stars. How do I squeeze them with the factory outlets into my itinerary (judging by the recommended hotel)?

5. Recommended nice shopping places for cheaper clothings? Chung Tung Citygate? Planning to go shopping center if we have the time.

6. The rest, we hope for walk walk and eat eat. Since we're on budget, any affordable Char Chan Teng, dim sum, bakeries to recommend that's near these places?

7. Thinking of getting one good meal at Bubba Gump, cause friends said it's way better than Malaysia's. How to get to a Bubba Gump restaurant?

8. The airport transfer were already included in the tour, so is it still worth it to buy Octopus Card 220HKD to go to above places I mentioned?

9. We shouldn't need money for food on the first day cause on cruise, so how much should 1 person bring for the rest of the meals and transport? We're targetting RM500 per person excluding shopping. Is it ok?

Really hope for suggestions on the above, cause I'm still very blurred about the geography of HK, even after reading previous posts.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by fraulein: May 3 2009, 05:28 PM
fraulein
post May 5 2009, 08:36 PM

510 posts

Thanks northasian for the replies. Will take note of these. thumbup.gif

Anyway, just got a call from the agency to postpone the trip to 2/9/09. Too bad... cause my 'emotions' were already prepared for Hong Kong.
Hope still can make it for the summer sales!

This post has been edited by fraulein: May 5 2009, 08:38 PM
fraulein
post May 7 2009, 10:54 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Regist @ May 5 2009, 11:29 PM)
u cancel it? such a turn off lol
Not cancel, just postpone to Sept, since the travel agent gave us an option. We don't mind going HK in this month but parents already calling non stop and nag why we wanna go there now bla bla bla... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(northasian @ May 6 2009, 01:48 PM)
huh? how come the the trip is postponed by the agency but not yourself?! and it's postponed to that late?!
yep, one planning for visiting HK should read more news and make a rather objective judgment than being panic and guessing.
It's a free trip from the agency, so we don't have a choice on the date.... 4 months to go until my HK trip doh.gif

This post has been edited by fraulein: May 7 2009, 10:58 PM
fraulein
post Jul 18 2009, 10:41 AM

510 posts

Just went to Tung Chung Citygate's official website. Seems like they don't have outlet like Bossini and G2000. Where can I find these outlets? Heard Bossini and G2000 is very cheap there, true?

Also I wonder how big is Tung Chung, just to estimate the time I'll spend there ? Comparable to 1 Utama new wing + old wing?

This post has been edited by fraulein: Jul 18 2009, 10:45 AM
fraulein
post Aug 23 2009, 12:32 AM

510 posts

Ngong Ping Cable Car will be closed for 6 weeks for maintenance. Hence I'll skip going to the village and in that case seemed to be quite impratical going all the way to Tung Chung Citygate to shop. Need advise from you all on where to find a shopping place that will have Esprit and other fashion/sports factory outlet? hmm.gif
fraulein
post Aug 23 2009, 05:14 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Aug 23 2009, 02:19 PM)
I went to Esprit outlet near Harbour City. Pretty huge. Well stocked but a little disappointed that although items are discounted, they were not that cheap.

Additionally, only a small section was catered for guys clothing.
Small section for guys only? That means lots of ladies wear loh... sounds like good news for me rclxms.gif Thanks, I'll check that place, since I'm going to Canton Road too.
fraulein
post Aug 24 2009, 08:52 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 24 2009, 10:19 AM)
NP village is just a walk-thru for me.  Main attraction is the Big Buddha.  You may still "bus" your way up to NP if you want to see the Big Buddha.  I took one-way NP360 up, after the Big Buddha/Wisdom Path, bus to Tai O Fishing Village and bus back to Tung Chung. 

Here's the list of outlet and factory shops:
http://www.hongkongextras.com/_outlet_shops.html

When you are in HK, grab the free newspaper, available in the morning at many MTR station exits.  Check for adverstisement on warehouse sale.  I bought my Raebok from the warehouse sale at New World Centre, near Avenue of Star, TST.
But without the NP360, feel like less shiok going there. I'll grab more info on taking bus all the way to NP first.

Free newspaper? That's really useful. I'll keep a watch for the warehouse sale advertisement. Thanks!
fraulein
post Aug 30 2009, 05:55 PM

510 posts

Finally I've drafted out the itinerary. We had no choice but to stay at Regal Riverside in Shatin cause it was given by the agency. I'm still thinking whether to omit out Tung Chung or not cause faraway but seemed to have the most factory outlets we're interested in. Some of the instruction on how to get there, was cut and paste from some website, please let me know if I got them wrong.

Day 1
Star Cruise

Day 2
Check into hotel
Take shuttle bus to KCR Shatin
Sha Tin→ Kowloon Tong→ Mong Kok→ Jordan 25 minutes

Breakfast/Brunch at Australia Dairy Co
Take MTR Jordan to MTR TST/Walk to Hong Kong Museum? 3 minutes
Walk to Silvercord to shop

MTR TST - MTR Central 6 minutes
Take Peak Tram to The Peak
Exit J2. Turn right, through Chater Garden, cross Queen's Road Central and make way up Garden Road. Pass the Bank of China Tower and Citibank Plaza on left and St John's Cathedral on right before arriving at the terminus, which is left.
Visit Peak Tram Historical Gallery, Peak Tower, Sky Terrace, Madame Tassaud
Dinner at The Peak

MTR Central - MTR TST 6 minutes
Go Avenue of Stars

What's to get for supper around Avenue of Stars?

Tsim Sha Tsui→ Mong Kok→ Kowloon Tong→ Sha Tin 25 minutes
Back to Shatin

Day 3
Take shuttle bus to KCR Shatin
Sha Tin→ Kowloon Tong→ Prince Edward→ Lai King→ Tung Chung 49 minutes
Shopping at Tung Chung

Tung Chung→ Lai King→ Mong Kok 32 minutes
Shop at Langham
Exit C3 MTR Mongkok to B2 of Langham

Shop at Ladies Market, Sai Yeong Choi St, Fa Yuen St. Can I fit in Temple St? Is it far from those places?

Day 4
Shop at HKIA before departure.

I'm really craving for Fei Jie Snacks and Keung Kee Roast Pigeon. How should I fit them in the itinerary?

Thanks... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by fraulein: Aug 30 2009, 08:14 PM
fraulein
post Aug 30 2009, 08:20 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 30 2009, 06:22 PM)
Thanks. I'll take the ferry to AOS then.

This post has been edited by fraulein: Aug 30 2009, 08:36 PM
fraulein
post Aug 31 2009, 11:23 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 30 2009, 11:31 PM)
@fraulein

You'r welcome.

There's an observatory deck @ 43rd floor, Bank of China Building.  It's free, you may consider a quick stop there when you walk towards Garden Road.

By the way, I didn't go to the Sky Terrace, IMO, not worth to pay HKD20 just to get on top of the roof to see the view.   I did the circuit walk @ Lugard Road and get to see the HK view, as far as Tsing Ma Bridge and the outlying islands.
I'm thinking of buying the Madame T 3 in 1 combo HKD190 (Peak Tram ticket, Sky Terrace and Madame T's entrance). If I opt for 2 in 1 (leaving out sky terrace) it'll be HKD15 less per person. hmm.gif Ok, skip it!

This post has been edited by fraulein: Aug 31 2009, 11:24 AM
fraulein
post Sep 6 2009, 08:14 PM

510 posts

Just got back from HK yesterday night. We underestimated Sai Yeung Choi, Tung Choi, Fa Yuen & Temple St and decided to 'conquer' them in one day. Ended up with really sore feet.

Ami Tsun, we were late (totally occupied with Esprit till late evening) when we reached peak. Tried to walk Lugard Path but despite some joggers coming from the opposite direction from time to time, I was too freaked out by the darkness and the trees that we turned back halfway. Especially now is 7th month in Chinese calendar. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fraulein: Sep 6 2009, 08:20 PM
fraulein
post Sep 7 2009, 01:58 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Sep 7 2009, 12:16 AM)
@fraulein

Sounds like you had a great time shopping..  Holiday so fast over liao huh?

Ya, lots of joggers at Lugard, and some of them do a few rounds there.  Did you manage to see nice scenery from there?
Yeah.. Bosini, Esprit and H&M are great! Holiday is over, tomorrow will be another normal working day cry.gif
Didn't make it to the scenery deck but still caught some nice night view on the way.
fraulein
post Oct 17 2009, 09:06 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Oct 15 2009, 11:21 AM)
That "free shuttle" bus is for shuttling to/from Airport Express train station nia, which means you'll need to take the Airport Express, ie the express train.  That also servicing major hotels nia la..

Arrive HKIA, walk out from arrival hall, turn to your right, the bus stops are there.  Take bus A21, HKD 33 to Dragon Hostel, alight at the no. 6th stop - Mongkok MTR station.  Check dragon hostel website for map and direction.  You may call up DH to fetch you from the bus stop.
Ami Tsun, did you ever noticed a counter B01 (next to Octopus card counter) that offers shuttle services to major hotels? We took the shuttle bus from there to Marco Polo Hotel (even though we're not actually staying at Marco Polo tongue.gif ) We didn't pay a cent for it but then it might because it's included in our package.

Now my friend is asking me whether it's free or need to pay. Any idea?

0.0694sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:27 PM