Highest density condo

TSngaisteve2
post Jul 14 2023, 07:43 AM, updated 3y ago

246 posts

I am trying to do research to compile which residential property has the highest density. My calculation is based on units per acre. More accurate is to use total rooms per acre, but I don't have much data. If anyone has, please provide. icon_rolleyes.gif

Although Razak City Residences has the highest total units but in terms of highest unit per acre it is Astrum Ampang

1. Razak City Residences, total units: 5748, acres: 22
2. OUG Parklane, total units: 4425, acres: 30.08
3. M Vertica, total units: 3600, acres: 11.25
4. Astrum Ampang, total units: 5225, acres: 6.23

Is there any property has a higher density than these three property?

Since OUG Parklane, I assume that all units are 3 rooms. For Razak City Residences, I use 2.5 for calculation as some unit 2 rooms, some 3 rooms.

This post has been edited by ngaisteve2: Jul 14 2023, 01:59 PM
MrBlackie33
post Jul 14 2023, 08:05 AM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

Southlink Bangsar

1400units within very small acre I think
forever1979
post Jul 14 2023, 08:06 AM

2,854 posts

density is not just looking at the number of units, more accurate is to look at the number of people staying.

if small units, the number of ppl is lower, like 1-2 person. 800-1000 sf is normally 4 person. M Vertica or Razak city maybe more high density
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 14 2023, 08:12 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Jul 14 2023, 08:06 AM)
density is not just looking at the number of units, more accurate is to look at the number of people staying.

if small units, the number of ppl is lower, like 1-2 person. 800-1000 sf is normally 4 person. M Vertica or Razak city maybe more high density
True also but quite hard to find out how many ppl are staying. A bigger unit can also 1-2 person stay.
bigbang90
post Jul 14 2023, 08:20 AM

63 posts

thanks for meaningful data. developers really stretching their profit margins.

d vine at central park damansara. 1400 units on 2.5 acres = 560 units per acre

This post has been edited by bigbang90: Jul 14 2023, 08:33 AM
weissPC
post Jul 14 2023, 09:00 AM

316 posts

Park, for future reference.
southadam
post Jul 14 2023, 09:03 AM

177 posts

Very good informative thread
C_ST
post Jul 14 2023, 09:41 AM

318 posts

Wow, good sharing.
Those without data keep bashing OUG Parklane & RC...

To some1 above, nowadays condo, small unit not neccesarily 1-2 pax, small unit in good location will be partitioned, so to the end same dense

Should also make a data on the similar plot of land instead of the project itself, i.e. projects using the ONLY one same road entrance or one way road, since these will also add up the densesity of the same road flow
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 14 2023, 10:27 AM

246 posts

If I have the data, I am planning to also compile a list of lowest density condo. There is one old condo, GCB Court. 180 units, 4 acres which means 45 units per acre. Such a big contrast compared with Astrum Ampang.
em_on
post Jul 14 2023, 10:36 AM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 14 2023, 10:27 AM)
If I have the data, I am planning to also compile a list of lowest density condo. There is one old condo, GCB Court. 180 units, 4 acres which means 45 units per acre. Such a big contrast compared with Astrum Ampang.
Desa Bistari, Damansara Heights, 3 floors and a total of 42 units.
quite aged tho'
cy91
post Jul 14 2023, 10:38 AM

1,296 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 14 2023, 10:27 AM)
Lowest density condo is called as landed or townhouse tongue.gif
yiwen93
post Jul 14 2023, 10:43 AM

78 posts

The D'series by Exsim @ Damansara Perdana.

Phase 1 (D'Quince) = 3.66acre with 1,310 units (358 units/acre)
Phase 2 (D'Vervain) = 2.78acre with 1,066 units (383 units/acre)
Phase 3 (D'Cosmos) = 2.03acre with 402 units (197 units/acre)
Phase 4 (D'Erica) = 3.01acre with 1,143 units (380 units/acre)
Phase 5 (D'Clover) = 3.27acre with 593 units (181 units/acre)
Phase 5 (D'Vine)RSKU = 2.54acre with 1,400 units (552 units/acre)
Phase 6 (D'Terra) = 3.74acre with 767 units (205 units/acre)
Phase 7 (D'Tessera) = 3.67acre with 671 units (183 units/acre)

And seems like the township is yet to be fully developed.. meaning they got future launches.. The entire township is 65 acre... Considered high dense?
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 14 2023, 10:53 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(bigbang90 @ Jul 14 2023, 08:20 AM)
thanks for meaningful data. developers really stretching their profit margins.

d vine at central park damansara. 1400 units on 2.5 acres = 560 units per acre
Property agent will show the beautiful side of the projects (example 70 storey, cooling, nice view). The higher the condo, the higher the density. Developer can build more units. The other con is parking. 20 floors of car park?

Another example is the facility. Property agent will tell you that this property got 70 facilities. Very good. What buyers might not know is the more facilities, the higher maintenance you need to pay later. First few years still ok. Facilities are still new and in good condition. Nightmares will come after 5 years when all those 70 facilities become koyak and old. To fix or change it, $$$ which is from the maintenance.
firef0x
post Jul 14 2023, 11:07 AM

215 posts

The lowest density condo in new kv development is Kaia Heights. 924 on 19.24acres.
IWannAAR
post Jul 14 2023, 12:38 PM

40 posts

TS, maybe can also include a "reference" range of what maybe considered as "normal/acceptable/comfortable" density?

it would be great if we also have data for the affordable housing series
AskarPerang
post Jul 14 2023, 01:01 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Astrum because small unit size. So number of units also more. Number of units not the correct method to judge.

It doesn’t matter actually what is your data at the first post here. Only matter is when people look at the project, automatic mindset is a high density project. Projects that suffer being label as Hong Kong Malaysia is:

1. M Vertica
2. Razak City
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 14 2023, 01:10 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(IWannAAR @ Jul 14 2023, 12:38 PM)
TS, maybe can also include a "reference" range of what maybe considered as "normal/acceptable/comfortable" density?

it would be great if we also have data for the affordable housing series
I don't have the data for all the properties. If I have, I can generate a statistic to get the average density range.

Usually those high density new property will be at the prime/hot areas.

This also means that if you are looking for medium / lower density property, it has to be further away from those prime/hot areas. Because those land are cheaper , developer can afford to build and sell lesser unit in a bigger land (lower density).

My post here is to create awareness to new buyer to also look into this density factory while searching for property besides other factors.
southadam
post Jul 14 2023, 01:15 PM

177 posts

Based on what others suggested, I think one of the KPI we can look at is

Number of Bedrooms per Acre.

This will give us a better picture whether is the projects really high dense in terms of population.

This post has been edited by southadam: Jul 14 2023, 01:17 PM
PAChamp
post Jul 14 2023, 01:15 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(C_ST @ Jul 14 2023, 09:41 AM)
Wow, good sharing.
Those without data keep bashing OUG Parklane & RC...

To some1 above, nowadays condo, small unit not neccesarily 1-2 pax, small unit in good location will be partitioned, so to the end same dense

Should also make a data on the similar plot of land instead of the project itself, i.e. projects using the ONLY one same road entrance or one way road, since these will also add up the densesity of the same road flow
Haha, i used to say OUG Parklane was crazy high dense. That was i bought another condo nearby. Now the density is crazy for TOD developments! So my advise now to newbie investors, don't buy high rise for capital appreciation - that is gone, however to buy for rental will also be affected by the sheer number of affordable high rise units being pumped out. Buy only for own stay!
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 14 2023, 01:38 PM

3,821 posts

The Henge Kepong
Total No. of Units: 1,472
Land Size: 6.14 acres

TSngaisteve2
post Jul 14 2023, 01:39 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(southadam @ Jul 14 2023, 01:15 PM)
Based on what others suggested, I think one of the KPI we can look at is

Number of Bedrooms per Acre.

This will give us a better picture whether is the projects really high dense in terms of population.
Any source to easily search for the total bedrooms for a property?
shaoching
post Jul 14 2023, 01:52 PM

708 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by shaoching: Jul 14 2023, 03:15 PM
em_on
post Jul 14 2023, 02:42 PM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Jul 14 2023, 01:15 PM)
Haha, i used to say OUG Parklane was crazy high dense. That was i bought another condo nearby. Now the density is crazy for TOD developments! So my advise now to newbie investors, don't buy high rise for capital appreciation - that is gone, however to buy for rental will also be affected by the sheer number of affordable high rise units being pumped out. Buy only for own stay!
Depends, if buy for own stay, landed is always convenient/comfy than high rise , i.e. in terms of ease of parking & waiting lift.
yiwen93
post Jul 14 2023, 02:49 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 14 2023, 01:39 PM)
Any source to easily search for the total bedrooms for a property?
No other way unless you could get their fact sheet, from the fact sheet you could see the total types of the entire project, from there you'll know.

another mafan way is to find their sales chart and calculate manually how many types in total they have calculate yourself, it will takes up lots of time.. but if there are agents willing to share you info will ease your burden haha
AskarPerang
post Jul 14 2023, 02:54 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 14 2023, 01:38 PM)
The Henge Kepong
Total No. of Units: 1,472
Land Size: 6.14 acres
This place will break OUG Parklane high density record?
6k+ units located side by side each other. Imagine that.

The Henge - 1472 units
Kepongmas - 1514 units
Mizumi - 1512 units
Residensi Metro - 1520 units

Total 6k+ units. All 3 bedders size.
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 14 2023, 04:02 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 14 2023, 02:54 PM)
This place will break OUG Parklane high density record?
6k+ units located side by side each other. Imagine that.

The Henge - 1472 units
Kepongmas - 1514 units
Mizumi - 1512 units
Residensi Metro - 1520 units

Total 6k+ units. All 3 bedders size.
possible
one more new unit M Zenya coming by Mah Sing again, on land size 4.88 acres
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 14 2023, 06:34 PM

662 posts

This Area was not high density i think, but a road is very congested due to left and right have many high rise. XD another measurement of high density is not only for the a project, but a area & the infrastructure can support the unit number of condo project has been approved.
Thasmita
post Jul 15 2023, 07:23 AM

758 posts

With such high density developments and extremely poor town planning and cheap cars and cheap fuel = nightmare traffic

Azury36
post Jul 15 2023, 08:16 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 14 2023, 10:53 AM)
Property agent will show the beautiful side of the projects (example 70 storey, cooling, nice view). The higher the condo, the higher the density. Developer can build more units. The other con is parking. 20 floors of car park?

Another example is the facility. Property agent will tell you that this property got 70 facilities. Very good. What buyers might not know is the more facilities, the higher maintenance you need to pay later. First few years still ok. Facilities are still new and in good condition. Nightmares will come after 5 years when all those 70 facilities become koyak and old. To fix or change it, $$$ which is from the maintenance.
Quite true, the demographic of residents is very important. If anyone aims to rent their property and minimum wants to stay then this could be disastrous in the near future

This post has been edited by Azury36: Jul 15 2023, 10:25 AM
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 15 2023, 09:47 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Jul 14 2023, 06:34 PM)

This Area was not high density i think, but a road is very congested due to left and right have many high rise. XD another measurement of high density is not only for the a project, but a area & the infrastructure can support the unit number of condo project has been approved.
What area is this?
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 15 2023, 11:25 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 15 2023, 09:47 AM)
What area is this?
Concrete Jungle Mont Kiara, Jalan Kiara 3
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 15 2023, 11:40 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Jul 15 2023, 11:25 AM)
Concrete Jungle Mont Kiara, Jalan Kiara 3
Wow atas area also this high density. I guess old property in that area must be affected la
AskarPerang
post Jul 18 2023, 03:14 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

From 388K.
Attracted 4-5 bidders.
Sold at 468K.

Good catch?

em_on
post Jul 18 2023, 03:57 PM

On My Way
612 posts

I was wondering how long need to wait for the lift during the peak period (i.e. morning rush) living in such high dense condo? 10-20 mins from lift to carpark?
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 18 2023, 04:06 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Jul 18 2023, 03:57 PM)
I was wondering how long need to wait for the lift during the peak period (i.e. morning rush) living in such high dense condo?  10-20 mins from lift to carpark?
Imagine the time n energy needed to walk down from 70th floor to the lobby if got fire sweat.gif
stephenking
post Jul 20 2023, 02:58 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 14 2023, 01:01 PM)
Astrum because small unit size. So number of units also more. Number of units not the correct method to judge.

It doesn’t matter actually what is your data at the first post here. Only matter is when people look at the project, automatic mindset is a high density project. Projects that suffer being label as Hong Kong Malaysia is:

1. M Vertica
2. Razak City
then what is the correct method to judge high density condo?
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 20 2023, 03:25 PM

662 posts

For real estate expert, plot ratio & unit per-acre can judge. For normal people, as long it look like little hong kong, then its high dense i think.

For some people, they will judge based on the coms of high dense, lift not enough lah, not privacy lah, jam from car park to entrance to main road lah.
cawan
post Jul 20 2023, 03:49 PM

404 posts

could OP add BSP 21 / Bandar Saujana Putra?
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 21 2023, 10:07 AM

662 posts

do everyone ever hear youth city nilai? At gembox one. every time pass through nilai from PLUS highway feel like it a little bit high density haha.

Edit: Southville city from plus highway also.

This post has been edited by Aldo-Kirosu: Jul 21 2023, 10:12 AM
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 21 2023, 10:57 AM

246 posts

southadam
post Jul 21 2023, 02:36 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 21 2023, 10:57 AM)

Wow. Really lack of sunlight and wind.
Worst > bad
#1 > #3 > #2
Bryant623
post Jul 21 2023, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(southadam @ Jul 21 2023, 02:36 PM)
Wow. Really lack of sunlight and wind.
Worst > bad
#1 > #3 > #2
I think #3 > #1 > #2. by look at it M Vertica really seems still ok biggrin.gif
Cavatzu
post Jul 22 2023, 01:32 AM

2,834 posts

I brought this up a while ago but Skyline Pudu had something like 2k+ units on 3 acres which works out to around 700+ units per acre which in my mind was awful.

They are building at these crazy densities under commercial HDA guidelines so like hotel rooms.

Under a typical residential title, there is no allowable density for greater than 400 units per acre. Food for thought….
cms
post Jul 22 2023, 02:53 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Jul 14 2023, 01:15 PM)
Yeaps esp in M'sia. Better pump it into EPF, shares , UT
nexona88
post Jul 22 2023, 08:58 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

Slowly
Many high rise project become like this...

Especially in CBD of KL & those TOD type...
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 22 2023, 10:36 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 22 2023, 08:58 AM)
Slowly
Many high rise project become like this...

Especially in CBD of KL & those TOD type...
Yeah but i am surprised that one of them is from Nilai sweat.gif
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 22 2023, 10:42 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jul 22 2023, 01:32 AM)
I brought this up a while ago but Skyline Pudu had something like 2k+ units on 3 acres which works out to around 700+ units per acre which in my mind was awful.

They are building at these crazy densities under commercial HDA guidelines so like hotel rooms.

Under a typical residential title, there is no allowable density for greater than 400 units per acre. Food for thought….
i think this one is 6.9 acres. So it is 322 units per acre.
Aldo-Kirosu
post Jul 23 2023, 12:37 PM

662 posts

All high density condo most easy to sell during launching / construction not yet up to 50%. Because by seeing scale model, (sometime developer launching a project example, Block AB, then they will hide the block CDE at scale model), so people will feel the project actually not as worst when the building fully done. Some purchaser start worry when the building was almost 50+% done. and then the sale start getting stuck. So the project like sxxline & Axtrum Xmpang for example some people still dont know how was the density by imagination.
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 23 2023, 01:29 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Jul 23 2023, 12:37 PM)
All high density condo most easy to sell during launching / construction not yet up to 50%. Because by seeing scale model, (sometime developer launching a project example, Block AB, then they will hide the block CDE at scale model), so people will feel the project actually not as worst when the building fully done. Some purchaser start worry when the building was almost 50+% done. and then the sale start getting stuck. So the project like sxxline & Axtrum Xmpang for example some people still dont know how was the density by imagination.
Another cunning strategy by the developer puke.gif
Aaron212
post Jul 23 2023, 01:31 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Jul 23 2023, 08:37 AM)
they disguised it as phase

so now pre pre launch soft soft launch phase 1

later hamkachan until phase 10 u also upcar liao

but property guru teach u to enter at phase 1 la

caz phase 1 also cheaper n u buy means on the spot u got paper gain adi caz later phases all naik price adi
Sonnet Porky
post Jul 23 2023, 11:50 PM

108 posts

Vertica looks surprisingly ok compared to the Nilai one and Razak City, those two have the Kowloon walled city feel where sunlight cannot reach the centre. But this is by comparison la, Vertica still looks very dense.
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 24 2023, 09:02 AM

3,821 posts

There are so many land in Nilai, y needs to build condo? moreover is high density.
subject to mindset mentality to maintain the environment else
will becomes another low cost flat environment
TSngaisteve2
post Jul 24 2023, 09:07 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 24 2023, 09:02 AM)
There are so many land in  Nilai, y needs to build condo? moreover is high density.
subject to mindset mentality  to maintain the environment else
will becomes another low cost  flat environment
i forsee that many 'luxury' service apartment will become low cost flat after 10-20 years? most property management company sucks
Aaron212
post Jul 24 2023, 09:05 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jul 24 2023, 05:02 AM)
There are so many land in  Nilai, y needs to build condo? moreover is high density.
subject to mindset mentality  to maintain the environment else
will becomes another low cost  flat environment
nilai now expensive also
AskarPerang
post Jul 24 2023, 09:43 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Cavatzu
post Jul 25 2023, 05:34 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve2 @ Jul 22 2023, 10:42 AM)
i think this one is 6.9 acres. So it is 322 units per acre.
Check again. I think this one was misleading as they counted the land the station bordering the station. The actual building should only sit on around 3 acres.
forever1979
post Jul 25 2023, 12:16 PM

2,854 posts

nilai one is ridiculous.

need so tall and so high dense neh ??

anyone know what is the sale rate there ?
Ckmwpy0370
post Jul 25 2023, 01:34 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jul 24 2023, 09:05 PM)
nilai now expensive also
if compare with Seremban or Seremban 2?
In Seremban, hardly can see any Condo

0.0398sec    1.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:08 AM