Discussion Manager Casualties, How many more?
qspn
Nov 6 2007, 02:47 PM
I think the newcastle board would give him more time. After all the club start much better than the past few seasons. I think Sanchez will be safe for a few more weeks because of last win over the royals. Perhaps Southgate would be next on the chopping block if they kept on with their current result. Whenever I see boro play their game lack direction and boring because they have a young manager with lack of experience. So if I were to put my money, it would be him. Another manager is favour to be on the sack is Billy Davies although his players is giving all their most there are not getting the right result. If I'm not mistaken his odds to get sack is like 5-1
zimhibikie
Nov 6 2007, 05:25 PM
I also believe and hope that Southgate will go, as sson as possible...
Belphegor
Nov 6 2007, 05:49 PM
McClaren will not quit his job even he couldn't get England to qualify for EURO 2008. SourceThis post has been edited by Belphegor: Nov 6 2007, 05:49 PM
alien2003
Nov 6 2007, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 6 2007, 05:49 PM) McClaren will not quit his job even he couldn't get England to qualify for EURO 2008. SourceThat's not up to him to decide whether he stay or leave. The FA will SACK him if England fail to qualify
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
Nov 6 2007, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(alien2003 @ Nov 6 2007, 06:30 PM) That's not up to him to decide whether he stay or leave. The FA will SACK him if England fail to qualify  so, this thread suppose to be club or country? i'll say McClown next
Samurai X
Nov 6 2007, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(alien2003 @ Nov 6 2007, 06:30 PM) That's not up to him to decide whether he stay or leave. The FA will SACK him if England fail to qualify  and their chances are depend heavily on the isreal vs croatia match. maybe he'll be the next one out!
alien2003
Nov 6 2007, 07:34 PM
Chris Hutchings joins list of coaches who fail to manage transitionQUOTE If any job in football needs a government health warning, it is the role of coach-turned-manager. For Sammy Lee and Chris Hutchings, the reward for years spent toiling in the background was a few months in the hot seat followed by dismissal. They are the latest examples of men who failed to make one of the toughest transitions in sport.
The late Ray Harford, who coached Blackburn Rovers to the Premier League title in 1995 while Kenny Dalglish was in charge, once described the step up from No 2 to No 1 at the same club as the toughest in football. "I warned the chairman [Jack Walker] before he appointed me that it never worked," Harford said. "He persuaded me - but I was always aware what could happen."
When David Batty and Graeme Le Saux started fighting during a Champions League match, his worst fears were realised and one of football's great coaches watched as the team he helped to build began to implode with him as the manager.
"The main problem for a coach when he becomes manager is his relationship with the players," Graham Taylor, the former England and Aston Villa manager, said yesterday. "One week the players see you as someone they can approach with ease.
"When a coach moves into the manager's role, that relationship changes dramatically. And it's not just the relationship between the manager and the players, there are all the other relationships in the club, from dealing with the chairman to the supporters, which alter significantly."
Bryan Robson, the Sheffield United manager who worked for England under Terry Venables in the mid-1990s, believes that coaches who are brave enough to take on the challenge of management underestimate the level of pressure and demands on their time that they will face.
"Coaching is the best job in football," Robson said. "You are out every day, working with the players, running sessions, developing their skills and helping get the best out of them. But as a manager you are facing endless demands on your time, more than you ever imagine when you are coaching. Whatever happens on the pitch, whatever the result, as the manager you are responsible."
Dr Chris Harwood, senior lecturer in sports psychology at Loughborough University, insists that the problem facing coaches who are promoted to managers is "power perception".
He said: "Due to the culture which exists in football clubs, coaches are often seen as lesser figures in the power hierarchy while the manager is seen to have a superior role. That can cause a barrier when the coach assumes the role of manager, he has to alter that perception while the players view him as not having the skill set to do the job.
"The coach might be very gifted, but the players' initial reaction can be, 'well, he only had the skills to be a coach yesterday, so why is he the manager today?' "
Chairmen undoubtedly view ambitious deputies as a cheap option. Promoting a devoted servant proves a lot less expensive than scouring Europe for high-profile replacements, but it will not have helped Hutchings and Lee that they followed very successful managers in Paul Jewell and Sam Allardyce, who had overachieved at Wigan and Bolton.
Frank Clark, of the League Managers Association, said: "Whoever took over from them would have faced a very tough time trying to match the success they enjoyed. But it was even harder for Chris and Sammy moving up from their coaching roles. It can take years to make an impact at a club - these two guys were given a few months."
Maybe Hutchings should have known better. He moved from the training ground to the manager's office once before, at Bradford City in 2000 when, once again, he took over from Jewell. That experience ended after a similarly short period of time. http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/foo...icle2814092.ece
farysa90
Nov 7 2007, 12:18 PM
mclaren really in trouble now. if not qualify for sure he will be sack. no need to argue
alien2003
Nov 26 2007, 11:12 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/t...nty/7112846.stmQUOTE Derby manager Billy Davies has left the Premier League strugglers after talks with chairman Adam Pearson.
The club are two points adrift at the foot of the table following a 2-0 defeat by Chelsea on Saturday.
"We have decided mutually in the best interest of both parties that to go our separate ways is the correct decision at this time," said Pearson.
Academy boss Kevin Thelwell takes charge for Saturday's match with fellow relegation battlers Sunderland.
Derby have just one win so far this season, which came against Newcastle, and have conceded 33 goals.
The side have struggled to come to terms with the top flight after Davies, who joined in June 2006, steered them to promotion via the play-offs last season.
"Billy Davies leaves Derby County with our best wishes and our genuine gratitude in achieving a magnificent promotion to the Premier League, where everyone connected with the club wanted to be," added Pearson.
"We wish Billy all the best for his future career and both parties will now move forward, which I am sure will lead to future success for Billy Davies and Derby County."
Davies had his fate sealed at a meeting on Monday with Pearson but did not help his cause with comments made after the loss to Chelsea as he hinted at frustration with the club's board.
He said: "It would be nice if I could have five minutes with him [Adam Pearson]. But I can't, he is a very busy man. I haven't spoken to him for two or three weeks."
Pearson has been working on attracting new investment to the club, while Davies has been trying to get backing to sign six new players in the January transfer window.
Pearson recently backed Davies but his patience appears to have been stretched by the Scot.
"About 10 days ago I asked him to come up with a list of players for the January transfer window," said Pearson.
"That was both a high investment list and a more reserved frugal list and Billy was going away to prepare a list of contacts. So it was a rather surprising outburst or statement."
Davies, who has become the fifth managerial casualty in the Premier League so far this season, put a question mark over his future back in May after steering Derby to promotion.
But he signed a contract extension until June 2010 after talks with the board and ex-chairman Peter Gadsby, although that was another controversial episode in his tenure at the club.
Davies did not shed any light on any row with the Derby board.
He said: "I would like to thank the staff, players, wonderful fans of Derby County and the board for what has been a very enjoyable time for me.
"What's quite ironic on the morning of me parting company with Derby is that I am going to the [BBC] East Midlands [Sports] awards tonight to pick up the coach of the year award.
"There have been lots of ups and downs but in the main I'm proud of what has been achieved at the club and I walk away very much with my head held high."
Thelwell, who joined Derby as the club's academy boss in July 2006, will be assisted by goalkeeping coach Alan Fettis and senior squad members Matt Oakley and Darren Moore.
After meeting Sunderland at the Stadium of Light, Derby travel to Old Trafford to face champions Manchester United before a home match with Middlesbrough.
Belphegor
Nov 26 2007, 11:16 PM
Mourinho Jol Hutchings Sammy Lee Davies Who's next?  IMO Southgate could be the next one.
zamarano
Nov 26 2007, 11:26 PM
only 1/3 of the season finish but 5 managers already lost their job clubs owner this day really impatient la
alien2003
Nov 26 2007, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(zamarano @ Nov 26 2007, 11:26 PM) only 1/3 of the season finish but 5 managers already lost their job clubs owner this day really impatient la  Can't really blame them. Nowdays results play an important role in determining whether the manager stay or go and 4 out of the 5 [Jol, Hutchings, Sammy, Davies] just can't get the results needed.
Belphegor
Nov 26 2007, 11:38 PM
Southgate sacked, McClaren goes back to Mid'boro.. Hahah.  Rafa Benitez also got chances to be one of them. Fall out with the owner of Liverpool. This post has been edited by Belphegor: Nov 26 2007, 11:39 PM
c_calvin
Nov 26 2007, 11:41 PM
yup and now they argue over the transfer fund..........
Belphegor
Dec 2 2007, 01:14 AM
Big Sam is moving. Lose to Blackburn.. 3-1
sinoffire
Dec 2 2007, 01:32 AM
surprisingly southgate was nv linked to any sacking news eventho boro's footie sux big time. big sam's magpies will be given more time to improve, it's not sheperd in charge anymore. fulham's might be in the list tho. RB eh?? see if they managed to qualify for UCL 2nd round anot la. RB talk samo, the board will kena him samo. it's just like playing wif fire going public on this kinda matter whereby u can settle it in the boardroom wif ur boss.
skylinelover
Dec 2 2007, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(alien2003 @ Nov 26 2007, 11:34 PM) Can't really blame them. Nowdays results play an important role in determining whether the manager stay or go and 4 out of the 5 [Jol, Hutchings, Sammy, Davies] just can't get the results needed. hahaha! say if this application still occur in the begining of 90s when SAF is still new in charge of united, do you think MU would be what they are now if he got sacked in 1990 and lost 2 nottingham forest in FA cup 3rd round?
RedSky21
Dec 5 2007, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(Belphegor @ Nov 26 2007, 11:16 PM) Mourinho Jol Hutchings Sammy Lee Davies Who's next?  IMO Southgate could be the next one. I say Big Sam....the thing is this guy started well but recently his form sucks....I think if Newcastle falls near the relegation zone by end of December...Big sam is OUT !
zexynova
Dec 6 2007, 09:04 AM

sam will be out la, duno why his tactics not working like last time.
nik0ns
Dec 6 2007, 09:11 AM
sam needs more time