Play Badminton until collapse

sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 09:28 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix_KL @ Jun 30 2023, 08:45 AM)
can't even eat healthy but want to exercise healthy.

Nutritionist: 95% of Malaysian Adults Don’t Eat Enough Vegetables
https://codeblue.galencentre.org/2022/04/21...ugh-vegetables/
So very true, especially for working adults, you won't get much vege unless you go for mixed rice and even then a lot of mixed rice places just give you lots of rice like no tomorrow sweat.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 09:48 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 09:36 AM)
vege save lives?
hahaha

inbe4 all vegeterians people are very healthy no heart attack.
Nope, but aren't we talking about balanced diet here? Balanced diet needs a lot more fibre than we normally consume eating out which veges and fruits have. To many, "I do sports thus I can eat anything" is like a mantra but EVEN if you do sports but you eat more than the calories you burn, you'll not lose weight and worse yet, if you don't watch what you eat.

Not much into fitness stuff (and definitely not vegetarian/vegan lifestyle) but I do believe a balanced diet helps a lot in reducing heart attacks.
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 09:56 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 09:49 AM)
very true
i do sports alot and i believe in balance diet.
and whatever we put into the mouth must be always in moderation.
I'm just doing enough sports to keep within BMI... and M'sia just recommended new BMI target (if not mistaken at 21) to be even lower so back to workouts and re-planning my meals =.=

sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 10:11 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 10:01 AM)
thats awesome
keep it up.

with my recent leg injury, im going a bit slower for the past few weeks.
hopefully by next month i'll be back to my normal routine.
Kinda coincident I think I stressed my knees during one of my sprints... now both knees felt like falling off even when I walk normally. Just gotten some knee support sleeves so as I can work on reducing my BMI. BTW how did you find time between working out and riding? biggrin.gif

On another note, someone here mentioned a workout watch to monitor heart rate is quite useful, previously I never knew there's a max (which should be only around 10 secs to 1 min) and even pushing to anaerobic heart rate zone (zone 4) is only recommended for twice a week. Having a good workout watch help uneducated ppl like me to be aware of the dangers of over-workouts biggrin.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 10:34 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 10:25 AM)
I'm having plantar faciatis issue on my right foot.  still looking for the cure.
on weekdays I work out after work, at night
When i go to office work, i'll reach home usually at around 6pm to 6:15pm.  prepare simple light dinner for family.  then take my dog for her daily walk.  then at around 8pm I'll go for run (Monday, Wednesday).  my area is hilly area, i'll be running up slopes most of the time.  So I'll just do a solid 30 to 45 minutes run without stopping.  That will be around 3.5KM to 4KM plus.

On Tuesdays and Thursday, I play squash after work.

Friday is my rest day

Saturday morning I'll go for easy road cycling in my area (hilly area)....will do around 15KM plus.

Sunday morning I'll go for my MTB cycling, usually from 7:30am until 11am.
Wow, very VERY active lifestyle and thanks for sharing. I doubt I can do that (knee already tells me I shouldn't run that much at my age). Just settling at brisk walks and controlling food intakes. Thinking about taking up bicycling (easier on the knees) but so much hate on cyclists nowadays made me think twice.
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 10:35 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Julie Ting @ Jun 30 2023, 10:13 AM)
use rule of 220 minus age is your max heart rate
Yeah... learnt that from the sports watch thingy. Wasn't even aware of this previously biggrin.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 10:46 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Julie Ting @ Jun 30 2023, 10:38 AM)
try maintain at max HR for 10 seconds first, and then 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s.
First time I did that was at max for around 12 mins... didn't realize I nearly killed myself sweat.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 11:12 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 10:52 AM)
mind me asking how old are you?

knee pain, i used to have this many many years ago.
due to the sports i play mostly hard on the knees - squash, futsal.

one of the main reason is body weight.  and then shoes.
i reduced my weight to my ideal body weight (that was about 8KG) and i started using a good running shoes.
no more knee pain now.

cycling, if you do not want to cycle on the road.
you can do what i do....mountain biking.  just ride on those crosscountry type of trail.  Not asking you do to downhill and enduro trail rides (which includes jumps and drops, etc).  Just a good cycling on a  long off road trail is good enough - we call this cross country ride.
Mid 40s. Yes, was having high BMI but brought myself down by 7 kgs so far but knees stopped supporting me. Perhaps I'll need better shoes as well biggrin.gif I believe part of my meniscus portruded out and thus everytime it was "touched", I lose strength on the knee.

Good idea to go off road cycling (sorry I tend to differentiate between cycling-bicycles vs riding-motorcycles), wonder why I haven't thought of that yet biggrin.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 11:13 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 10:59 AM)
when i squash, my average HR is about 145 bpm.  and average max at around 180bpm.
but whenever i play with former pro or state players, i will max at around 188bpm, they can really push me to this level, lol.  if i remember correctly my record was 190bpm.
mtb time.  average at around 130bpm.  Max at around 170bpm.
You have a sportsman body... I think I might just die like those uncles playing badminton if I maintain max heartbeat sweat.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 11:30 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 11:20 AM)
You're giving me inspiration to continue with my workouts biggrin.gif After my knee injury I bought the Decathlon R900 supports. Was thinking of going for chirophractor or tit tar if it continues. I don't run anymore, just walk nowadays.

This post has been edited by sikongma: Jun 30 2023, 11:30 AM
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 11:31 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Jun 30 2023, 11:30 AM)
Walao push limit kawkaw. Heart and mind so power one. Not for normal human being. Coffeedude=saitama?
LOL on the Saitama comment biggrin.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 11:43 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Julie Ting @ Jun 30 2023, 11:37 AM)
you have torn meniscus? Dr recommend to operate or rehab? you lose strength because of nerve hitting the meniscus splinter. you can get the meniscus smoothen
Note sure if it's torn but I think it's deformed(?) and hitting a nerve. There's not really pain just that sensitive nerve being "touched" making it hard to walk properly.
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 12:01 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Julie Ting @ Jun 30 2023, 11:58 AM)
what did Dr say? any x-ray ?
Haven't see Dr. yet... maybe I should? sweat.gif
sikongma
post Jun 30 2023, 12:11 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Julie Ting @ Jun 30 2023, 12:08 PM)
I had torn meniscus and operated. I don't know how bad is your knee, reading sub reddit forummers comments, surgery is not recommended in US, and therapy is.
What's the symptom of your torn meniscus? So far my symptom is that if I press on the inner side of the knee (between the 2 knees) there's a spot that's ultra sensitive... almost like the feeling you use that hammer to tap on the knee to get a reaction feeling... I suspect it's some sort of swelling.

0.0162sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:53 PM