U Home 5G

techiecat P
post Dec 28 2023, 01:55 PM

Probation

Hello, I am looking for a 5G modem and plan, would it be better to go for:

1) YES 5G (Upfront RM299, lock in 1 yr, RM99/mth and then change to RM 58)

OR

2) Buy separate modem on lazada (pls recommend cheap and good one) and go with UMobile RM68/mthly?

Living in condo, KL, middle floor.

Appreciate advice, ty.
techiecat P
post Dec 28 2023, 07:42 PM

Probation

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 28 2023, 04:49 PM)
Whatever it is, check both telco coverage 1st at your place. Like in my case i went with Umobile Home 5G bcoz they have better 5G/4G coverage at my place. YES 5G was all over the place, sometimes no connection at all.
If u go for YES and ur place in the end only having 4G signal most of the time, u will be going through YES 4G quota of 100GB so fast..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

But if both telco have same quality of connection, i would say YES package seems more tempting atm. Tho take note i read somewhere some users has complains having bad latency during gaming using YES.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Thank you! Yes both have coverage in my area cos it's very near to central KL area. It also has full 5G in my hometown of Johor, I know cos I am a UM user for their postpaid line and the speed is DAMN good on my phone, like 350-450 mbps.

YES package i read the max speed of the device is capped at 120 Mbps and also it throttles the speed of other telcos' SIM cards.

Also it seems it's a pretty crappy cheap china model whose price has been marked up significantly so I would prefer to be able to find a 5g router that will work nicely with any SIM.

techiecat P
post Jan 1 2024, 02:02 PM

Probation

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 1 2024, 09:04 AM)
I have been using both umobile 5G and YES 5G sim since 5-6 months ago, at my areas they are the same coz both telco share the same communication towers from DNB. 

The key difference I noticed is that with YES I can download torrent file, without the need of VPN.  Umobile cannot download torrent.
I see... Thank you.

I live literally opposite a 5G fitted "tower" and get about 650 Mbps on my Samsung A phone. The tower is like... 150m from my face rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

I just ordered the Zyxel NR5103E and will be getting the SIM soon. Now wondering which one to get. YES is cheaper and no FUP but I read that people said telco can cap the speed on routers other than theirs? Is this true?

I actually don't torrent a lot -- but I play MP games so ping is quite important. Anything under 20 is okay lah. I also use streaming services and am a heavy user of Youtube, Netflix, Disney Plus. I have VPN anyway if I need to torrent anything.

I DO have a TP Link Archer AX 20 though, which I plan to use as an AP, though I'm not sure if it will help much (will it?) I can try and share results.

Would you know if I can configure Nord VPN to the Zyxel NR5103E router itself? Because I cannot use it with my Archer AX 20...
techiecat P
post Jan 1 2024, 02:08 PM

Probation

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Dec 31 2023, 09:23 PM)
5G connection is not very stable.

Now during festive season peak hours speeds can drop below 100Mbps even with full bar signal strength.

High congestion now.

Don't do normal speedtest, the results are fake.

Try using sites which allow you to download files directly from it like OVH file download test site. Use a download manager to test with no more than 4 connections.
My bf his unifi FTTH yesterday terus kaput in the evening, before new year. Kelam kabut trying to find out if unifi was down, and yes it was in some states lol. Took a couple of hours to get back up.

I think 100 Mbps is STILL better than having to deal with frequent downtimes and congestion from FTTH providers, especially unisuck. And I've been with UMobile 5G for over a year and I am super pleased with it. In fact, I used it way more at home than my own Time fiber because that one even tho 300 Mbps, ping high la, slow la, can't even load my Netflix or Youtube. Really pek chek with it, so I believe this switch to 5G is gonna be a MAJOR QOL upgrade rclxm9.gif
techiecat P
post Jan 1 2024, 04:57 PM

Probation

Gais I just got the Zyxel 3UK (well it is not ori Zyxel for sure) and there seems to be some issues. I bought from a Shopee seller with the guarantee that if not ori can refund. But anyway I don't really care much if ori, u get what u pay for and as long as it works I'm ok.

Currently testing the unit to check its capabilities with my UMobile SIM (normal postpaid cellular).

Problems:

1. Cannot lock on to 5g-NSA ONLY. Only have these options below. What is the point of the 3UK router if it auto switches and I cannot lock to pure 5G??? I have chosen B28 and N78 cos I have no choice. Is this device broken or modified or something?

2. I speedtested and normal Ookla was 450 Mbps. However Cloudflare only gave 258 Mbps (which is maybe considered "true" speed). But on my Samsuck A phone, I could previously get 650 Mbps from the same SIM card. So I effectively lost about 200 Mbps.

Please note that I am right beside a 5G tower. Like maybe less than 100m away. So it's not the tower. Is it possible that speed will reduce during afternoon? My 650Mbps speed was at 3 am lol.

Cloudflare result:

Ookla result:

This is how close I am:

3. I have reason to believe the device given to me is not new. I found scratch marks in the SIM as well as reset slot. Furthermore when I tried to login admin, the default password was denied so I had to hard reset the device. Before the unit was sent to me, the seller said they were "testing" the device before sending. I know this is one way sellers try to hide that it's not a new unit, but I'm not sure if all these things that I noticed make the case that it is a returned unit. I AM still paying full normal market price even if it is OEM lor.

4. Why are my stats so low? RSRP -54? Shouldnt it be -80? Especially considering I am right beside the tower????? Are the other stats ok?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, SIFUS! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

0.0175sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:50 AM