U Home 5G

mlamlam
post Jun 25 2023, 08:59 PM

652 posts

Yes 5G 24 months total expenses = (99*6+149*18)*1.06=3472.56

UMobil = 68*24*1.06 + Cheapest 5G modem recommended (1699)= 3428.92

ends up similar , instead of their network routing, Yes has 120Mbps max speed but no FUP, low upfront cost (no need buy the 5G modem) but umobile U has max speed but 1TB FUP (33GB per day . )

mlamlam
post Jun 25 2023, 10:59 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jun 25 2023, 09:27 PM)
What modem do Yes give, and what's the cost of that modem? I don't think they give out expensive 1.5k modem.
they limit the speed to 120Mbps, give u expensive one also no use...
mlamlam
post Jun 29 2023, 12:21 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jun 29 2023, 10:04 AM)
I got 450Mbps on Yes5G that also signal is crap. Ping is 19.
Yes that one broadband not speed locked 120Mbps?
mlamlam
post Jun 29 2023, 08:04 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jun 29 2023, 04:55 PM)
No lock
wondering if speed no limit then why Yes always mention their wireless broadband speed is 120Mbps...
mlamlam
post Jul 4 2023, 05:23 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(angelic88 @ Jul 3 2023, 03:43 PM)
I am thinking about replacing unifi 100mbps to Umobile 5g , since high chance to have higher speed for less.

1. I tested the line on iPhone , seem 5g only work outdoor / open window. Do you all place the modem indoor or using outdoor external antenna ?

2. Seem my housing area have max speed around 300+mbps , but at some area (near kl) I manage to get 1gbps, so 5g is cell tower speed dependent on max speed ?
I tried with my Samsung A53 with Yes 5G, speed test from the phone around 500-700Mbps, when share using USB tethering speed become 300-400Mbps around due to USB 2.0 speed limitation.

I placed my phone in my upper living room, 5G signal strength depends the distance between your home to the DNB tower..
mlamlam
post Jul 7 2023, 11:22 AM

652 posts

One more question on this U Home 5G, does it provide public IP or private IP?
mlamlam
post Dec 8 2023, 09:58 PM

652 posts

just able to grab the modem with extra discount from lazada...
will move from M broadband to 5G broadband after contract ends next year
mlamlam
post Dec 9 2023, 08:37 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Dec 9 2023, 06:16 PM)
good buy! - but u will keep the modem until next year?

suggest to test the NR5103e unit if has any problem.
sure will test first then keep it, thanks.
mlamlam
post Dec 9 2023, 11:08 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(ch1ck3n @ Dec 9 2023, 08:52 PM)
How did u get the rm 100 voucher for lazada boss?
Grab it at 12pm or 8pm daily and check out first come first get
mlamlam
post Dec 10 2023, 11:22 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 8 2023, 09:58 PM)

just able to grab the modem with extra discount from lazada...
will move from M broadband to 5G broadband after contract ends next year
received the goods

tested with 5G YTL sim, speed can be 300Mbps on LAN 1, LAN 2 is 100Mbps port speed, don't know why
just plug your switch to LAN 1 and good

phone tested with Maxis 5G with 500Mbps ++, going to buy some external antenna stuff and try again later

signal strength tested in the router is -95dBm, phone is -101dBm but even faster, probably phone is qualcomm chipset
mlamlam
post Dec 12 2023, 04:14 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 10 2023, 11:22 PM)
received the goods

tested with 5G YTL sim, speed can be 300Mbps on LAN 1, LAN 2 is 100Mbps port speed, don't know why

phone tested with Maxis 5G with 500Mbps ++, going to buy some external antenna stuff and try again later

signal strength tested in the router is -95dBm, phone is -101dBm but even faster, probably phone is qualcomm chipset
Further test on Yes 5G Network...
beh tahan its oversea connection speed, especially taobao and some china apps, very slow browsing on PC
speedtest with its Yes server no problem..

now testing on Maxis 5G network for a few days....
mlamlam
post Dec 14 2023, 07:35 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Dec 10 2023, 11:22 PM)
received the goods

it seems that making the 5G router to be a IP pass through mode is more stable.

so my network is
so 5G router just act as a 5G device
routing is done in AC86u
wifi is done on Mi with MESH...

ping and connection is more stable.

mlamlam
post Dec 15 2023, 12:32 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(ch1ck3n @ Dec 15 2023, 10:18 AM)
i tried following this style, but my Xiaomi Router 3 Pro cant transmit the internet when my zyxel goes into IP passthru mode.
My AC86U no problem, can get the Maxis private IP which is starting with 10.x.x.x
mlamlam
post Dec 21 2023, 11:18 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 21 2023, 12:29 AM)
[attachmentid=11487457]

Mine says hi. AC86U really is the best bargain ever. Still going strong after all these years.
Asus router is very good to use except for Mesh
mlamlam
post Dec 22 2023, 10:12 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Dec 22 2023, 12:21 PM)
I use Asus Aimesh for my parents’ place and they work great though. Full speed of my subscribed speed (300mbps) in all corners.
AC86U as main and two AC68U as nodes.
My one is China Set, much cheaper than local but work great for Router, keep disconnecting from the node if work as Mesh...
not sure why, finally I changed to use Mi AX6000 and work great

I bought Deco XE75 last month and try so call 6E, the coverage is not full bar (4 of 5 bar ) and very less configuration available in Deco App compared with Asus Web one, so I give it to my sister and I keep to use Mi AX6000
mlamlam
post Mar 16 2024, 12:56 AM

652 posts

Staying too high signal also no good, the direction of the 5G antenna may not towards to the sky and signal will be weak when staying at high level.
mlamlam
post May 8 2024, 11:13 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 6 2024, 12:53 PM)
if wifi speed thn 2 solutions

1. wired wifi repeater that guarantee speed due to the cable
2. if can opt between 2.4ghz and 5ghz...always opt for 2.4ghz because 2.4ghz goes through wall better....5ghz is better speed but they don't do walls very good
TPLink Deco always combine 2.4 & 5 G SSID into same one...
only can split if your one support 6Ghz...

so I give this away to my family and use back my Xiaomi AX router as Mesh Switch...
mlamlam
post May 19 2024, 10:17 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(ChenKaiWen @ May 18 2024, 07:09 AM)
If you’re talking about fibre,
1) Promised speed most of the time
2) Lower latency compared to wireless
3) Not susceptible to weather
4) Public IP

That’s just a few reasons I can think of.
only Unifi of 300Mbps plan or above provide public IP
Maxis needs pay extra 10.6
the others only provide private IP

it is one of the most big concern for me to consider 5G because fibre also provide me private IP and it's download speed most of the time exceed 300Mbos which is faster than my current fibre,

some more I don't play any online game , a bit lower latency does not mean anything to me

also Unifi does not provide same upload speed as well....

my home country provided 1000Mbps dl and ul speed, public IP and only cost RM55 per month
mlamlam
post Jun 24 2024, 12:03 PM

652 posts

the maxis routing to china like SHXT, more unstable than TM unifi... contract expiring within one month, will change to use 5G..

1 5 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.209.173
2 324 ms 198 ms 613 ms 10.208.198.229
3 84 ms 30 ms 82 ms 10.208.196.85
4 90 ms 25 ms 24 ms 172.18.82.85
5 31 ms 82 ms 27 ms 10.208.64.97
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 96 ms 83 ms 23 ms 172.22.163.141
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 225 ms 82 ms 84 ms 172.22.144.142
10 57 ms 34 ms 82 ms ae-4.r00.kslrml02.my.bb.gin.ntt.net [203.78.193.237]
11 93 ms 82 ms 82 ms ae-5.r23.kslrml02.my.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.231]
12 90 ms * 101 ms ae-8.r23.sngpsi07.sg.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.168]