U Home 5G

Zaryl
post Jul 17 2023, 11:45 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Guys, this package can be used effectively in ZTE MU5120 portable 5G router ya?
10,000 mAH, ~16 hours battery operation & can use as 18W powerbank as well.

~RM1.6k at shopeepee/Lazatda

Because i’m frequent outstation to penang and KL.

So it has true unlimited? Or will have FUP of 1TB?
Difference between the umobile rm68 postpaid package?

I am quite impressed with 5G speed. So far i got YES 5G Power 35 used at at my office although didn’t have 5G coverage yet. 100GB data quota, hotspot quota takes from main data quota.

Then i have unifi 5G postpaid 65 used in my ipad pro M1 12.9 5G. 60GB data quota + hotspot quota 10GB only though.
If use hotspot with my laptop, that 10GB is definitely not enough for work doh.gif

I’m more of a future proof guy. Don’t mind spending some money to use for years to come.

Appreciate your inputs guys. icon_rolleyes.gif
Zaryl
post Jul 18 2023, 09:01 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jul 18 2023, 08:52 AM)
The modem looks like a good mate to U Home 5G unlimited package.  Is it capable of lock band ?  If it can then you should get better 5G speed.

It's also ok if not, just not as optimised.
yes can lock.
May i ask, U Home 5G is using which band that can offer best 5G speed?

Zaryl
post Jul 21 2023, 10:50 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(yop da great @ Jul 21 2023, 10:22 AM)
I just recently got my U home 5G sim card. This is my test result:
5G: 600mbps dl; 30-100mbps ul
4G+: 10-20mbps dl; 10-15mbps ul

This is tested indoor. About 500m from tower (line of sight except when going indoor where my modem is blocked by 1 brick wall).

I am happy with the 5G performance. What worries me is that I'm using 20-30gb daily on the first few days since I'm working from home. Afraid that 1TB allocation is not enough.
assuming you use max 30GB per day.
10 days = ~300GB
30 days = ~900GB.

ok la the 1000GB allocation is enough for your needs what?

if not, need to topup rm30 for additional 1000GB. icon_rolleyes.gif
Zaryl
post Jul 24 2023, 10:39 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

ZTE MU5210

Tested for a week now.
Bought at Shopee for RM1.6k. Search for sing4g shop.
Size is almost the same as my iphone 8 plus. Not that heavy, ~240gram and can function as 18W PD powerbank too.
When battery reaches 10%, it will shutdown the powerbank function.
Can lock to Band 77,78 as per recommendation, but i just use Auto mode only.
10,000mAH, can last about ~16 hours of operation, depending on how many devices & users connected. Max 32 users on 2.4ghz, 32 users on 5Ghz, totalling to 64 users.
So far no overheat or 5G speed drop due to heat issue. Just warm only.

Didn’t really use more than 4 hours so i can’t really say about the long lasting battery life.
When used after 4 hours on my 4 devices (2 iphones, ipad & windows laptop), battery life shown on screen was about 74%.

But from what i read on the manual, it’s NOT recommended to use the USBC charger while operating ala fixed 5G router type like those big towering routers.
It will degrade battery life.

Average 5G speed i get is as below at Jitra Kedah:

DL: 500Mbps
UL: 70Mbps

Average 4G speed when i go places where no 5G coverage

DL: 30Mbps
UL: 10Mbps

I believe this portable 5G router is just what i really need for travelling to KL, Penang for work purpose.
Just need to check for umobile 5G coverage on map then it’s good to go.

Will write a proper thorough review on Review Section when i have the time. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Zaryl: Jul 24 2023, 12:20 PM
Zaryl
post Jul 27 2023, 10:50 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(waja7968 @ Jul 27 2023, 09:39 AM)
Let it run! Has 1-year warranty to claim incase break down. If it can run for 3 years, I think it is also time to buy new one with newer technologies, e.g. WIFI 7 or LIFI.
The one I bought from Taobao, run every day 16 hours. I shut down daily to get rid of radio wave at night for good sleep.

Btw, most chips are designed to operate below 100 Celsius without any issues. The drawback is throttling will happened if operation temperature exceeds 80 Celsius depending on the firmware implementation.
Do you use 5G solely as main internet source for your house? Or got fiber fixed line?

If you shut down the 5G router at night before sleep, then your CCTVs will not work? And other IoTs in your house?
Zaryl
post May 24 2024, 02:25 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

hi sifus,

just took umobile 5g together with the ZTE MC888s router black color(contract for 2 years) yesterday.

so far been testing almost a day, and the nearest 5G tower is just behind my house, about ~100m, direct LoS.

but average speedtest i get is <150Mbps DL, 20Mbps UL at my parents' house in Klang area.

i checked the speedtest pattern,

afternoon - got ~130Mbps
evening - ~25Mbps
midnight - ~35Mbps

latency wise, ~30-50ms. sad.gif

this is very unacceptable. But i could easily get ~500Mbps at my home in Jitra kedah or Penang though via ZTE MU5120 5G portable router ( i have another U5G simcard). doh.gif

all settings are by default, except i changed the wifi password of course.
so I was thinking to buy another 5G router on shopee.

so Zyxel 3UK NR5103E v2 comes to mind. This one using Qualcomm or Mediatek chip ya?
Saw TPLink X50 5G but the price is kinda steep. rclxub.gif

Didn't want to terminate to pay the penalty obviously. So i just continue using this package like normal.

i shall make the ZTE MC888s as a spare router in case i could use this better at other places using my another U5G simcard.
Zaryl
post May 24 2024, 10:02 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 24 2024, 02:32 AM)
yeah thats the problem with 5g and wireless networks in general. promised speed is never accurate.

when 5g was new maybe you can get the minimum 200mbps touted by the isps, my now it is very congested, especially in an area like klang .

when i first tried at my home in 2022, i could easily get 1gbps.

now i am lucky if can hit 200mbps at night, and about 80 in the day.

it is faster if i switch to my maxis 4g connection lol. you should try that too

im just happy i did not cancel my gigabit fibre for this farce
Actually my parents' house has unifi 100Mbps. But it's kinda slow because a lot of devices are using it and my little nephews are here too. Playing roblox, ML and what not makes the overall internet speed slower.

hence I took the decision to get myself a 5G simcard and router.

I gave the ZTE MU5210 to my wife as she frequent outstations for work.

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 24 2024, 05:46 AM)
You can use your phone with the sim I think... then you can test if it's the router that's causing the problem. I'm surprised you get such speed when you're less than 100m away from the tower.

I find it perform best when not placed beside a wall. Try another location near windows. My office is located behind a 5g tower, less than 20m away,  more if you calculate the tower is probably 50m height. If I placed 801s tower in the cabinet, 6m away from main door, I get less than 200mbps. I moved it to one of the desk, 2m away from main door, not besides any walls, I get 500mbps most of the time. This is with celcom though. I did tried um in the same location, 400mbps... not that far.
Tried different placement and voila, i think I finally got it.
This time i put the ZTE MC888s router LITERALLY ON THE WINDOW itself. Perhaps windows somewhat amplified the signal and act as a natural signal booster?

and the speedtest difference is night & day!

But i worry the router will get fried real quick soon, seeing the window faced sunlight and the room is kinda hot.
Gotta put a fan there for improvised cooling laugh.gif

Speedtest before

Speedtest after

Circled is the 5G tower just behind my house, about ~100m or so

But i wonder if i do get the Zyxcel NR5103E v2 or similar powerful 5G router, i would get >~300Mbps ya?

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 24 2024, 06:47 PM
Zaryl
post May 24 2024, 03:18 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 24 2024, 10:47 AM)
There is no need to place it next to the window itself... why you cant place it next to a wall is because 5G has much much poorer wall penetration(concrete) than 4G. Hence when you placed it at a corner, you basically blocked the signal from reaching the router. You just need place it a few feet away, next to a windows or door where 5G signal would have no problem penetrating the materials.
Ok now that the 5G speed problem was resolved after correct placement, now i faced another problem:

ZTE MC888s will keep on DC on certain time and WiFi SSID will reappear after 1-2 minutes.
the DC frequency sometimes vary; sometime it will DC after an hour, then sometime few hours.

I already put a 16” Khind table fan set at speed 2 and aim straight at it.
I guess the router overheats and it forced itself to auto restart?

But the speed still fast, although now it’s only average at ~150Mbps after auto restart. Before this ~230-280Mbps easy.

So, it’s time for me to make that Zyxel NR5103E v2 5G router purchase then? Cooling is good, never auto restart? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 24 2024, 03:19 PM
Zaryl
post May 24 2024, 09:38 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 24 2024, 09:00 PM)
what color is your zte?
QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 24 2024, 09:04 PM)
i doubt it's because of overheating. i already opened the casing and pointed a casing fan direct to the heat plate. no go. could be hardware issue. i never use wifi but still it will dc and reboot. major problem we are having now.
Black color one.

Software version: V1.0.0B02
Hardware version: HW1.0

after getting the router, i immediately disable auto update and never bother to check for update manually.

all settings are by default.

5G signal strength: -85dB
5G bar: Full 5 bars
Zaryl
post May 25 2024, 02:50 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 24 2024, 04:06 PM)
No... no problem... the problem lies with the wifi... just turn off the wifi, attached your old router set to AP mode... works like charm.

I dont know what ZTE did with the WiFI... it will hang at the same time everyday. For me, the 801s from Celcom will auto hang every morning at 8am. I tried many things like cooler, restart everyday, but nothing helps. One day I brought my router and turn off the wifi for better coverage. To my surprise, it never hang anymore ever since I attached my own wifi router.

Im using the 888s the same way. Been few days since I last restart the device.
if i do TURN OFF the WiFi and let say, i just use a direct LAN cable directly to my laptop or pc, the router won't restart anymore?

or rather, if i just simply connect to my PS4 Pro LAN port, router won't DC and restart yes?

if so, i will go to nearest pc shop tomorrow and get a ~5 meter LAN cable to run laugh.gif

Tried 3 round of Battlefield 5 multiplayer game. Using WiFi, the speed is not bad and i surprisingly i got NAT 2 connection, which is very good. i can play 2 out of 3 rounds. 1 round took like ~30mins, so 2 rounds around 1 hour.

Round 3 I was DC due to the router restarted itself as usual. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 25 2024, 02:51 AM
Zaryl
post May 25 2024, 10:35 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 25 2024, 08:28 AM)
Did you set it to auto reboot? From my experience, the router didn't auto restart, just hang. One of the light will turn red. You still able to access the router but internet wouldn't work. Only a reboot of the router would fix the problem.

Try to search for this auto reboot function in the router and turn it off. You might have set it without realizing.
nope didn't set it.

in the Advanced Setting, the Awake feature is turn off.
but i'm not sure if there are other similar settings that i might didn't find.

in my case, the router will lose the WiFi LED indicator, then after 1-2 minutes, it will appear, and i can connect again to the internet.

but you mentioned a solution to "turn off the Wifi and connect to another old router as AP", you never experienced auto-reboot/hang at all?

PS - tried to put WiFi coverage settings to Medium range as it used 50% power. See whether no more hangs/WiFI auto restart after this

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 25 2024, 10:41 AM
Zaryl
post May 26 2024, 11:48 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 26 2024, 02:51 AM)
yeah why not. using zte 2:50 in the morning..
any auto DC so far?

btw i've made up a few auto DC patterns:

First time online: ~10 hours (placement before at windows 23/5)
2nd: ~6 hours (after placement at windows 24/5)
3rd: ~8 hours (236am-1050am 25/5)
4th: ~12 hours (1050am-1102pm 25/5)
5th: ~2 hours (1102pm-1250am 25/5)
6th: ~12 hours (1250am-1140am 26/5)

Time to find my old router and try to make setup like andrekua2 pointed out before.

ZTE MC888s 5G (turn off WiFi) -> old router acts as AP & broadcast WiFi -> devices

hopefully won't have anymore auto DC. rclxub.gif

Zaryl
post May 26 2024, 01:15 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 25 2024, 12:02 PM)
You can see my image up there... uptime 91hours...
Why not you setup a table and turn off wifi... use lan and see got dc or not
could you please advise on how to make the old router act as AP?

I have a DLink DVG F245 Unifi router.

so far i connected from ZTE MC888s LAN port 1 to DVG WAN port, unfortunately no internet.
Already turned off WiFi in ZTE.
Set DVG to AP mode (inside got AP, AP+MESH & MESH modes)
Set default DVG router IP address to 192.168.0.2 instead of 1 at the back.

What are the settings for a typical routers to act as AP ya?

I tried disabling DHCP in DVG but still no internet.
then i saw PPPoE settings, my username & password still uses the unifi one.

should i change this?
But I didn't have the full details though.

When i read at umobile FB group, they say everything is done automatic. rclxub.gif
Zaryl
post May 27 2024, 01:37 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 26 2024, 05:11 PM)
Just connect to the LAN port on Dlink... no need connect WAN
thanks.

did the experiment yesterday around 630pm and unfortunately, the ZTE 5G router still auto reboot, causing my Dlink DVG AP router to cease function for some time before it could function again.

this time, ZTE with Wifi function switched OFF -> DLink DVG F245 AP Router method could only lasted about ~6 hours before auto reboot this time.

So my hypotheses are:

1. ZTE MC888s is unreliable, couldn't last for at least 24 hours before auto reboot. Average around ~8 hours before it will auto reboot
2. something is wrong with the nearby 5G tower
3. 5G line is not very stable recently

I vouched for hypotheses #3, but this could be case-by-case basis though.

So the only solution is to try getting yet another reliable 5G router. In umobile FB group, many recommended Nokia Fastmile 5G router.

Appreciate if you & others could recommend me a very good, reliable, will not auto reboot 5G router. My budget is <RM800.

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 27 2024, 01:38 AM
Zaryl
post May 28 2024, 09:54 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(John00 @ May 28 2024, 08:37 PM)
Reporting in, my ZTE MC888s so far has 17 days uptime already.
How to check for DC ya?
nice!

for uptime, could you please show us the Detailed Info page? scroll to bottom and you can see the timer.

it's right at the bottom of the main page when you entered admin website.

i'm having the same router as yours too, but it keeps on auto rebooting on certain times.

longest uptime it has was 12 hours.
shortest was 2 minutes. laugh.gif
Zaryl
post May 30 2024, 12:26 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ May 30 2024, 02:49 AM)
I got a silly question, is the 5G router placed in an area that is hot (no AC) or confined space?

I ask because both my TPLink nx510v and x50-5G will have such issue when it is in a very hot area. High humidity and right behind the wall facing west sun. Basically it is overheating. The manual says operating temp is up to 40C… given the weather these days and the heat generated by the router itself I am pretty sure it is beyond 40C already.

Solution is just buy a 120mm fan plugged into USB charger and put the router on it.
i placed literally at the windows itself.
the room is quite hot without AC and fan it's ~32C.

but i reckon the router operating will be around ~36-37C (not exceeding 40C). Didn't have the digital thermometer/thermal reader gun to test though.

i am contemplating to buy the Nokia FastMile 3 5G router, seeing that many good reviews from people in Umobile local FB community.

This post has been edited by Zaryl: May 30 2024, 12:26 PM
Zaryl
post May 30 2024, 08:43 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(John00 @ May 30 2024, 08:39 PM)
Interesting, mine only shows this, maybe it did reboot without me noticing
Not sure if I saw it wrong or misinterpreted, maybe it was just 17 hours lol.
But here it is showing 65 hours?

not bad man! cool2.gif

your uptime is around 2.7 days (65hours) without auto rebooting.

mine the longest was about 14 hours yesterday LOL
Zaryl
post May 31 2024, 02:35 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 30 2024, 11:33 PM)
guess my nr5103e has better uptime than other brand router?
if not due to the power outage, the uptime can be much longer...lol

yours lagi power bro! cool2.gif

your router is the one with the EE logo or the 3 UK?
Zaryl
post Jun 1 2024, 06:39 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(imzate03 @ Jun 1 2024, 06:27 PM)
my experience here. i am using gten1q modem. also am facing  internet disconnects especially in the evenings and early mornings. i think the problem is with umobile. got to live with it
yes i do think that is the case.

well, i could live with this limitations. because my parents' house still got the 100Mbps unifi i can rely on should Umobile 5G went down on certain times.

but I can't wait to test at my home in jitra. Hopefully the 5G signal there is stable and not too congested compare to klang here.
Zaryl
post Jun 1 2024, 11:13 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jun 1 2024, 11:10 PM)
UMobile gives different routers to different people?

What are the current models they have and can we request for our preferred model?
AFAIK, there are only 2 models given:

ZTE MC888s
Kaon AX1500

Nope. they will give based on availability.

we cannot choose which model we prefer.

0.0609sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:03 PM