U Mobile Broadband : U Home 5G. Is this good?

TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:10 PM, updated 3y ago

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

hello all.

Need help.

Anyone using U Home 5G?

Trying to get an internet plan for 1 month. Need unlimited data, dcent speed and unlimited hotspot.
Was looking at Hotlink Prepaid or Umobile prepaid. But both have FUP limits.

Stumbled upon U Home 5G.

Just want to check with existing users if really is unlimited data without FUP.

What device that you are using? I don't have a 5G phone. Only 4G phone.
I wonder what is the highest speed that you can get on 4G phone.
Specifically, I may use on either iphone 6 plus or Huawei Mate 10 Pro.
Or should I be looking at buying a 5G modem wifi router. Or maybe just buy a cheap 5G phone to do hotspot.

Appreciate /K's help on this.

Thank you in advance.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:11 PM

364 posts

if not wrong umobile also 1000gb fup

The Plan is a data service only (with base data of 1000GB) (“FUP Limit”) which provides access to the Internet and related services. The Service is subject to 4G and 5G network availability and your own device capability. The Service is only available at selected coverage areas. You can check if your area is within the Service coverage area by visiting u.com.my/.

https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/support/te...dband/u-home-5g

last time i use unifi air also the experience a bit hit or miss, sometimes can be very fast sometimes can slow like turtle depends on the time of day

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:12 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

if can get fiber, get fiber.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:11 AM)
thank, just saw that in FAQ for U Home 5G.
Does anyone knows what is the speed after exceed 1000GB?
HumanExtinction

364 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM)
The Plan is subject to our Fair Usage Policy (“FUP”) as defined in the Terms of Service of our Postpaid Service. Upon reaching the FUP Limit, the speed will be reduced to 512kbps. There is no quota limit for browsing on reduced speed.

PJng

12,049 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 03:11 PM)
https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/support/te...dband/u-home-5g
last time i use unifi air also the experience a bit hit or miss, sometimes can be very fast sometimes can slow like turtle depends on the time of day
1000GB, all my home device don even reach 500GB per month
jmas
post Jun 23 2023, 03:14 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

not any 5G plan
but this is home broadband, meaning you will need to get a 5G modem
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:17 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM)
I reach icon_rolleyes.gif
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:18 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:12 AM)
if can get fiber, get fiber.
its for my house in hometown. Not there all the time. Plan to terminate after 1 month usage and then only resubscribe when I go to that house.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:18 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:13 AM)
The Plan is subject to our Fair Usage Policy (“FUP”) as defined in the Terms of Service of our Postpaid Service. Upon reaching the FUP Limit, the speed will be reduced to 512kbps. There is no quota limit for browsing on reduced speed.
thanks!
knwong
post Jun 23 2023, 03:19 PM

3,562 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 23 2023, 03:14 PM)
not any 5G plan
Insert old 4G modem also can right? Just 4G speed
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:20 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 23 2023, 01:13 AM)
That's what i am thinking too. I don't think my usage will be more than 1000GB for 3 weeks. Plan is to use for watching youtube, netflix, WFH and regular browsing.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:20 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:17 AM)
wow. How many people in your home that use the internet?
Do you download movies a lot or do video streaming a lot?

TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:21 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 23 2023, 01:14 AM)
not any 5G plan
The website says you can use your mobile phones. Just no voice or sms services.

TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:22 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 23 2023, 01:19 AM)
I think so too.

Trying to find out if anyone using this plan can share the speed on 4G or 5G.
yongku99
post Jun 23 2023, 03:22 PM

83 posts

Is this the better alternative for the old Digi Infinite 150?

But good 5G modem probably still expensive. Those crazy Nightgear modem is in thousand of ringgit nowadays. Reminds of my M1 and M2 when it's still under 1k.

This post has been edited by yongku99: Jun 23 2023, 03:25 PM
jmas
post Jun 23 2023, 03:23 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 23 2023, 03:19 PM)
ensure your connected device is either 4G LTE capable device or 5G-ready device

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:21 PM)
The website says you can use your mobile phones. Just no voice or sms services.
I see I see, previously I've seen most plan dont allow put into phone
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:23 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(yongku99 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:22 AM)
Is this the better alternative for the old Digi Infinite 150?
what is the specifications for the DiGi Infinite 150?

this U Home 5G does not have voice and sms. Just data.
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:25 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:18 PM)
its for my house in hometown. Not there all the time. Plan to terminate after 1 month usage and then only resubscribe when I go to that house.
home broadband package usually came with a contract, unless you take package without modem la.
yongku99
post Jun 23 2023, 03:26 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:23 PM)
what is the specifications for the DiGi Infinite 150?

this U Home 5G does not have voice and sms. Just data.
Sounds similar but old Digi Infinite is 4G.
PJng

12,049 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 03:17 PM)
Dunno why app on my phone very stupid one

Keep this error
TStester1979

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 23 2023, 01:23 AM)
yeah. that was correct. most plans are like that because those plans are actually mobile plans.

It looks like this is different because classified as broadband plan. No hotspot limit.

At RM68, can get 5G speed if your area has coverage and 1000GB FUP. I think this might be the best choice for me.
Just trying to see if any real users can share the speed that they experience.
And I only plan to use for 1 month and then terminate, Wonder if anyone has any experience/thoughts on this. The website says no contract. Just have to play 1 month in advance.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:27 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:20 PM)
wow. How many people in your home that use the internet?
Do you download movies a lot or do video streaming a lot?
4 ppl in my house

only me do the heavy downloading, my family only stream movies and browse social media
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:27 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:25 AM)
home broadband package usually came with a contract, unless you take package without modem la.
that's correct but this plan is different.
no contract. they don't offer plan with modem. Have to get your own device.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:28 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 23 2023, 03:26 PM)
Dunno why app on my phone very stupid one

Keep this error
try download and reinstall the app? and also sign out and sign in again

last time me also kena this, unifi app is garbage
JonSpark
post Jun 23 2023, 03:29 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Will wait for better alternative
HumanExtinction

364 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 23 2023, 03:23 PM)
actually can put in phone and use, if want hotspot then another story
TStester1979

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:27 AM)
4 ppl in my house

only me do the heavy downloading, my family only stream movies and browse social media
ok.
Then, I think I should be fine. Only 2 or 3 people will be watching/streaming movies but not all the time.
No downloading for me.
zerorating

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:27 PM)
that's correct but this plan is different.
no contract. they don't offer plan with modem. Have to get your own device.
now the question is your hometown got coverage or not.
i have seen less than 2mbps speed quite often despite full network bar. this is celcom btw.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:30 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:26 PM)
yeah. that was correct. most plans are like that because those plans are actually mobile plans.

It looks like this is different because classified as broadband plan. No hotspot limit.

At RM68, can get 5G speed if your area has coverage and 1000GB FUP. I think this might be the best choice for me.
Just trying to see if any real users can share the speed that they experience.
And I only plan to use for 1 month and then terminate, Wonder if anyone has any experience/thoughts on this. The website says no contract. Just have to play 1 month in advance.
why not buy a prepaid card and test it and see if you can get good speed?
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:31 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:29 AM)
actually can put in phone and use, if want hotspot then another story
can use hotspot. hope is unlimited. I will definitely ask before I sign up next month.

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 23 2023, 03:32 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:33 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:29 AM)
now the question is your hometown got coverage or not.
i have seen less than 2mbps speed quite often despite full network bar. this is celcom btw.
yeah, i heard that too.
I think that is a chance i have to risk.
I checked on their website, my address have 5G coverage.
PJng
post Jun 23 2023, 03:33 PM

12,049 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 03:28 PM)
try download and reinstall the app? and also sign out and sign in again

last time me also kena this, unifi app is garbage
Everytime this error i need delete install back
Lazy now, have been do many time
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:34 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:30 AM)
why not buy a prepaid card and test it and see if you can get good speed?
well, getting prepaid card is a good idea.
But I might as well just use that money towards this plan for RM68 and try it out.
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:34 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:33 PM)
yeah, i heard that too.
I think that is a chance i have to risk.
I checked on their website, my address have 5G coverage.
hahaha that dnb coverage map is a joke la.
they put area got under coverage but havent install their tower yet.

see below, tasik got so called coverage, housing area nearby dont have. so fishes got priority than human users?

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jun 23 2023, 03:38 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 03:38 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

very good plan indoor. 1000gb legal hotspot. uncap speed on all.

rm68. can use on legal 5g modem... is pretty rare. hope others telco does that too. legal modem will be cheaper vs those has mod modem.

rip yes58, i150(not support 5g), gx68, p99, unifi air 79 (not support 5G)

This post has been edited by alexchew_2020: Jun 23 2023, 03:39 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:39 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:34 AM)
hahaha that dnb coverage map is a joke la.
they put area got under coverage but havent install their tower yet.
oh, I just assumed that the coverage map in Umobile website is what they have right now.
But if no 5G, can at least get high 4G speed.

fastest prepaid right now is 18Mbps on Hotlink RM60. Of course they have unlimited speed but only certain hours/day.
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:40 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:39 PM)
oh, I just assumed that the coverage map in Umobile website is what they have right now.
But if no 5G, can at least get high 4G speed.

fastest prepaid right now is 18Mbps on Hotlink RM60. Of course they have unlimited speed but only certain hours/day.
hope you are lucky enough to have high speed celular service lol.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:43 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:38 AM)
very good plan indoor. 1000gb legal hotspot. uncap speed on all.

rm68. can use on legal 5g modem... is pretty rare. hope others telco does that too. legal modem will be cheaper vs those has mod modem.

rip yes58, i150(not support 5g), gx68, p99, unifi air 79 (not support 5G)
do you know which modem/wifi router that is affordable for the U Home 5G?
The modem reccommended on umobile website are >RM1000 for 5G
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:43 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:40 AM)
hope you are lucky enough to have high speed celular service lol.
I'll just have to risk it.
As long as can get > 18Mbps, that is better than any prepaid plan available in the market now.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 03:44 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:43 PM)
not sure about this but i think u can try 4g router and it should work too

4g router are mostly cheaper but i do recommend huawei router. Last time i pair with unifi air really have good experience.

u can try carousell and buy second hand since u not going to use long anyway. after that just sell it back.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jun 23 2023, 03:45 PM
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:50 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

I'll just have to risk it.
As long as can get > 18Mbps, that is better than any prepaid plan available in the market now.
where's your kampung anyway?
if we talk small village, 5mbps already a godsend. last time i went homestay somewhere near to baling, i get 400kbps.
anyway, adjust your expectation.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jun 23 2023, 03:54 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 03:53 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

oem brand cheaper... the one rm8xx abit better performance on 4g n 5g, the rm4xx~5xx performance on 4g is meh, 5g max 300mbps bottom neck.

as is oem so it not as power as it is.

else huawei h112 5g, that day see some let go 2nd rm8xx~9xx. if now got umo legal plan. probably will increase back price brows.gif brows.gif
Iceman74
post Jun 23 2023, 03:53 PM

1,407 posts

better buy a prepaid to test it out first.. if the speed like kura kura.. u cry

last time i test on my office, all show good signal but once indoor.. only celcom and Maxis really can use.. the rest vomit blood

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jun 23 2023, 03:56 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 03:50 PM)
if we talk small village, 5mbps already a godsend. last time i went homestay somewhere near to baling, i get 400kbps.
mobile internet.. signal and the tower performance still very hard to said or judge..every location is different. it still better buy prepaid to test it out if unsure..

if poor signal of coz speed will drop badly too
if good signal speed cant goes up, 99% tower is congested.

TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 23 2023, 01:50 AM)
one of the towns in kedah. not convenient to share exact location but definitely not small kampung. my area there have 4G LTE for the major service providers.
Just not sure for Umobile.
Steponlego
post Jun 23 2023, 03:57 PM

938 posts

my experience living few years using mobile internet as my main internet connection with digi i150, you will need to invest in a good modem. these days, i don't know what good 5G modem/router available. back then huawei was the best for 4G. need to make sure the data band is compatible and such.

1000GB FUP will be more than enough for regular internet browsing, streaming and occasionally download games. forget about competitive online games, because ping will be high.
Avex
post Jun 23 2023, 03:57 PM

570 posts

wondering will the ip keep changing

This post has been edited by Avex: Jun 23 2023, 03:57 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:58 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 01:44 AM)
not sure about this but i think u can try 4g router and it should work too

4g router are mostly cheaper but i do recommend huawei router. Last time i pair with unifi air really have good experience.

u can try carousell and buy second hand since u not going to use long anyway. after that just sell it back.
hmmmm. If I am going to buy a modem, I'll probably buy 5G. At least in future can still use. If 4G modem, I think I will just use my old phones
zerorating
post Jun 23 2023, 03:58 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM)
one of the towns in kedah. not convenient to share exact location but definitely not small kampung. my area there have 4G LTE for the major service providers.
town area probably fine, but yeah better be safe than sorry.
i will get myself rm10 prepaid first,subscribe to daily internet package, do a speedtest, if okay then commit to higher internet package.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 03:59 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:53 AM)
oem brand cheaper... the one rm8xx abit better performance on 4g n 5g, the rm4xx~5xx performance on 4g is meh, 5g max 300mbps bottom neck.

as is oem so it not as power as it is.

else huawei h112 5g, that day see some let go 2nd rm8xx~9xx. if now got umo legal plan. probably will increase back price  brows.gif  brows.gif
wow! very expensive.

Does anyone know which 5G phone is cheapest? Would the cheap 5G phone perform similar with these 5G modem?
Boy96
post Jun 23 2023, 03:59 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Topup rm30 for 2TB
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:00 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:53 AM)
better buy a prepaid to test it out first.. if the speed like kura kura.. u cry

last time i test on my office, all show good signal but once indoor.. only celcom and Maxis really can use.. the rest vomit blood
haha.
Thanks for the advise.
But as I mentioned, if I am going to spend money on prepaid, might as well just get the actual plan for RM68. Should be no contract for this plan. So I can terminate after 1st month.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:01 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jun 23 2023, 01:57 AM)
my experience living few years using mobile internet as my main internet connection with digi i150, you will need to invest in a good modem. these days, i don't know what good 5G modem/router available. back then huawei was the best for 4G. need to make sure the data band is compatible and such.

1000GB FUP will be more than enough for regular internet browsing, streaming and occasionally download games.  forget about competitive online games, because ping will be high.
thanks for your feedback. will take into consideration to get a modem. but will try with my old phones first.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:02 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 23 2023, 01:57 AM)
wondering will the ip keep changing
what's the issue with dynamic IP?
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:03 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 23 2023, 01:59 AM)

Topup rm30 for 2TB
oh nice!
Thanks for this. Will ask them when I get the sim card.
RM30 for extra 1000GB is nice.

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 23 2023, 04:05 PM
Iceman74
post Jun 23 2023, 04:05 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:00 PM)
haha.
Thanks for the advise.
But as I mentioned, if I am going to spend money on prepaid, might as well just get the actual plan for RM68. Should be no contract for this plan. So I can terminate after 1st month.
it up to u, some telco no contract, some telco got
me lazy go register every time if not work out, if u have time to register each time if not working out, then be my guest
If not, u will be staring at the package for whole 1 month not able to use it laugh.gif

there are area also pattern keluar.. some telco work ok during daytime but at night... no eye see
depending on your peak time among all your neighbours

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Jun 23 2023, 04:08 PM
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 04:06 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:01 PM)
thanks for your feedback. will take into consideration to get a modem. but will try with my old phones first.
modem vs hp..

signal does play some main features too to get good speed n stable connection. if your indoor signal strong. hp probably will be stronger and depends on which modem u invest into it.

for my personal experience on my area. hp signal is weak vs modem. in hp only 2 bar. modem able to get full bar. if sim in hp signal is unstable and internet line will often disconnected. no issue is sim inside modem.

depends on your area. if for future use, better get 5G modem. 4g modem still decent to use for placed dont have 5G yet.

cheap hp, can try get poco f3, f4. decent chipset and get decent speed to. if can root it, is better.
MR_alien
post Jun 23 2023, 04:08 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM)
hardly can reach that per month

few things to consider
1. if u can get fiber, get fiber...the hardware is included
2. make sure your house is covered by U-mobile, their coverage very limited
3. 5G router/modem is not cheap, this one u have to buy yourself

if you're ok on no.2 and 3, your speed should win a lot of fiber out there
ayamxxx
post Jun 23 2023, 04:15 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:20 PM)
That's what i am thinking too. I don't think my usage will be more than 1000GB for 3 weeks. Plan is to use for watching youtube, netflix, WFH and regular browsing.
if use PS5, yes u can. some games got 160 GB, average 60 GB.
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 04:16 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 04:15 PM)
Everyday download new game meh impossible what
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 04:19 PM

526 posts

Which 5g phone cheapest? Should be cheaper than the router they recommend, if 1700 for router then too expensive already.
ayamxxx

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:16 PM)
Everyday download new game meh impossible what
free games monthly, if rajin, can finish games within days, then remove and download new games. inb4 utilize PS Plus Premium package
ayamxxx

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:19 PM)
Which 5g phone cheapest? Should be cheaper than the router they recommend, if 1700 for router then too expensive already.
POKO F4 GT
Steponlego
post Jun 23 2023, 04:21 PM

938 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:01 PM)
your phone will be.... toasted. maybe need to have like a PC fan blowing some air on the phone if you're planning to have the internet on 24/7.
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 04:23 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 04:19 PM)
POKO F4 GT
Cheapest la. Buy 8 gen 1 phone for 5g router meh
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 23 2023, 04:23 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

pr0n farm detected
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 04:24 PM

526 posts

Used Poco M3 pro 5g around 300. 68 a month like this might be good enough for ppl in area no fibre infra
NautilusBW
post Jun 23 2023, 04:26 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:19 PM)
Samsung A14 5G = RM 900++
ayamxxx
post Jun 23 2023, 04:26 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:24 PM)
Used Poco M3 pro 5g around 300. 68 a month like this might be good enough for ppl in area no fibre infra
why not those hacked modems as sold many in Shopee?
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 04:28 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 04:26 PM)
why not those hacked modems as sold many in Shopee?
Cause no 5g. Those all 4g LTE only
ayamxxx
post Jun 23 2023, 04:28 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:23 PM)
Cheapest la. Buy 8 gen 1 phone for 5g router meh
rm550 used on FB marketplace.
alucard89
post Jun 23 2023, 04:30 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:24 PM)
Nice price, highly doubt can get similar price for 5g router modems

Just need to add smart plug to turn on/off charging based on the battery
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 04:37 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 04:28 PM)
rm550 used on FB marketplace.
Pm link see
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 04:51 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 23 2023, 04:23 PM)
pr0n farm detected
brows.gif brows.gif
Zi-Tech
post Jun 23 2023, 04:55 PM

Eh, pangkat sudah tukar ka
774 posts

if exceeded, can buy pass add another 1TB just 30ringgit hence 98ringgit for 2TB...
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:55 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jun 23 2023, 02:05 AM)
it up to u, some telco no contract, some telco got
me lazy go register every time if not work out, if u have time to register each time if not working out, then be my guest
If not, u will be staring at the package for whole 1 month not able to use it  laugh.gif

there are area also pattern keluar.. some telco work ok during daytime but at night... no eye see
depending on your peak time among all your neighbours
thumbsup.gif
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:58 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jun 23 2023, 02:06 AM)
modem vs hp..

signal does play some main features too to get good speed n stable connection.  if your indoor signal strong. hp probably will be stronger and depends on which modem u invest into it.

for my personal experience on my area. hp signal is weak vs modem. in hp only 2 bar. modem able to get full bar. if sim in hp signal is unstable and internet line will often disconnected. no issue is sim inside modem.

depends on your area. if for future use, better get 5G modem. 4g modem still decent to use for placed dont have 5G yet.

cheap hp, can try get poco f3, f4. decent chipset and get decent speed to. if can root it, is better.
thanks for the advise. i wish to have standalone modem instead of phone.

I will research poco f3 and f4.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 04:59 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 23 2023, 02:08 AM)
hardly can reach that per month

few things to consider
1. if u can get fiber, get fiber...the hardware is included
2. make sure your house is covered by U-mobile, their coverage very limited
3. 5G router/modem is not cheap, this one u have to buy yourself

if you're ok on no.2 and 3, your speed should win a lot of fiber out there
thanks for your comments.

1. all fiber have minimum 12 months contract. i dont want contract.
2 confirmed covered
3. yeah. expensive. considering using cheap 5G phone or my old phones but 4G.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:02 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 02:15 AM)
that's a lot of data.

I dont have PS5. Side topic, I don't plan to get PS5 or Xbox. I am more of a PC guy.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:05 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 02:19 AM)
yeah. On Lazada and Shoppee, the modems they reccommend are about 1700. sweat.gif
Avex
post Jun 23 2023, 05:08 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 04:02 PM)
what's the issue with dynamic IP?
problem with whether 4g or 5g, you are dealing with burst data, i tested U mobile for 6 months, the stability is a joke, sometimes your connection can hang, page doesn't load, download fails, ip changes frequently. You better put it at the clearest with the least wall obstacle area, if not it will be slow. if no luck streaming also no syiok. your best bet to have 5g modem, if not buy a cheap 5g phone hook it to your old laptop or system unit. use that as modem and your wifi as your router. if you use those external modem be aware of provider every few days has some sort of refresh. suddenly no line, that few hours later there is line. U Mobile is actually worst than Yes5G. A trick to do if you are using mobile phone or modem with sim, change your dns to google.

This post has been edited by Avex: Jun 23 2023, 05:15 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:08 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jun 23 2023, 02:06 AM)
modem vs hp..

signal does play some main features too to get good speed n stable connection.  if your indoor signal strong. hp probably will be stronger and depends on which modem u invest into it.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 02:19 AM)
POKO F4 GT
found Poco F4 GT for around RM2000

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 23 2023, 05:08 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:09 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jun 23 2023, 02:21 AM)
your phone will be.... toasted. maybe need to have like a PC fan blowing some air on the phone if you're planning to have the internet on 24/7.
Hmmm... Thanks for the thought.

Old phones. Risk that I am willing to take.
Plus will be in room with AC on at least 18 hours a day.
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 05:10 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(NautilusBW @ Jun 23 2023, 04:26 PM)
Poco xiaomi can get 500+ better deal
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:12 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 02:24 AM)
found Poco M3 pro 5G 128GB/6GB for about 1180

QUOTE(NautilusBW @ Jun 23 2023, 02:26 AM)
this better or Poco M3 pro better?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:14 PM

1,030 posts

Quantum 5G modem H188 going for under RM700.

Unisoc IVY510 chipset.

Supports N1/N3/N8/N28/N41/N77/N78/N79 5G bands

Can try this one.

TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:15 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 23 2023, 03:08 AM)
problem with whether 4g or 5g, you are dealing with burst data, i tested U mobile for 6 months, the stability is a joke, sometimes your connection can hang, page doesn't load, download fails, ip changes frequently. You better put it at the clearest with the least wall obstacle area, if not it will be slow. if no luck streaming also no syiok. your best bet to have 5g modem, if not buy a cheap 5g phone hook it to your old laptop or system unit. use that as modem and your wifi as your router. if you use those external modem be aware of provider every few days has some sort of refresh. suddenly no line, that few hours later there is line. U Mobile is actually worst than Yes5G
hmmm... sounds like issues with stability rather than dynamic IP.

But I get your concern. Thanks for sharing.
GiganticBird
post Jun 23 2023, 05:17 PM

99 posts

everyday download 4k porn ni

me highest 500gb + only
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:18 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 03:14 AM)
Quantum 5G modem H188 going for under RM700.

Unisoc IVY510 chipset.

Supports N1/N3/N8/N28/N41/N77/N78/N79 5G bands

Can try this one.

eerrmmm.....where to buy? can put the link here? i need to research.
Can't find it in Shopee or Lazada

but I need a standalone router connected to the modem to get the maximized speed? ........ maybe this is not a good choice

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 23 2023, 05:22 PM
Avex
post Jun 23 2023, 05:18 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:15 PM)
hmmm... sounds like issues with stability rather than dynamic IP.

But I get your concern. Thanks for sharing.
you have to be aware if you use those modem from shitpee or lapsapda, better generate imei and change frequently, service provider these days quick to ban

This post has been edited by Avex: Jun 23 2023, 05:18 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:21 PM

1,030 posts

The reason why 1TB quota was imposed is to prevent people like you running cyber cafes, porn downloading farms and illegal file hosting.

Most average working class bachelor/single users won't even hit 300GB despite streaming video every day, occasionally buy digital games and download apps.

Very affordable plan for moderate users especially if you're a bachelor living on your own and travels around Malaysia frequently so that you won't be tied down by contracts.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:22 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:18 PM)
eerrmmm.....where to buy? can put the link here? i need to research.
Can't find it in Shopee or Lazada
https://tinyurl.com/pf53sbs6
Iceman74
post Jun 23 2023, 05:23 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:09 PM)
Hmmm... Thanks for the thought.

Old phones. Risk that I am willing to take.
Plus will be in room with AC on at least 18 hours a day.
If you ok with 4G hp, why not stick with 4G speed.. no need buy any extra device until u certain can help improve the signal and long term.

so far, i try using my Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 as hotspot whenever we staying in vacation home .. normally staying there 2 or 3 nights hotspot always on.. so far ok jer.
Speed wise, manageable for my families and do some office work
but in highland lar and put at near balcony
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:24 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 23 2023, 03:18 AM)
you have to be aware if you use those modem from shitpee or lapsapda, better generate imei and change frequently, service provider these days quick to ban
why have to do that?
for Umobile U Home 5G plan, the service is to be used with modems with wifi. I think you may have misunderstood with other companies which does not allow mobile plans with data to be on modems, have to be on phones only with hotspot.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:25 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 23 2023, 05:18 PM)
Why ban if within 1TB FUP?

People were doing well even with 300GB using Maxis Home WiFi which costs way more than this.

New ones now can not only modify IMEI but also preselect band settings.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 05:25 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:21 PM)
The reason why 1TB quota was imposed is to prevent people like you running cyber cafes, porn downloading farms and illegal file hosting.

Most average working class bachelor/single users won't even hit 300GB despite streaming video every day, occasionally buy digital games and download apps.

Very affordable plan for moderate users especially if you're a bachelor living on your own and travels around Malaysia frequently so that you won't be tied down by contracts.
you really topkek, can straight make assumptions ppl are running cyber cafes, downloading porn and do illegal file hosting.

in case you miss my previous comments, i have 4 ppl in my family and some of them work from home. Sometimes i feel like wasting my time to reply your bodo comment
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 05:28 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:12 PM)
Where you find so expensive. Launch price also not so expensive
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:29 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

HumanExtinction

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 03:21 AM)

its not like I am supporting anyone but let him be la. He pay, he use to his liking. to each his own.

side note. nowadays, i feel like we users are subjected to the whims and likes of big corporations. to me, if want to give unlimited data, just do it properly. FUP and quota is just another way for them to squeeze money for users. If not true unlimited, just publish "terang terang", no need put fine prints in terms and conditions or FAQ, have to dig dig dig to find info.

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 23 2023, 05:42 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:30 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:24 PM)
why have to do that?
for Umobile U Home 5G plan, the service is to be used with modems with wifi. I think you may have misunderstood with other companies which does not allow mobile plans with data to be on modems, have to be on phones only with hotspot.
True this plan by Umobile allows use in any device as long as you stick to the 1TB FUP to avoid throttling.

Also have you all heard of the GX43 Prepaid plan by Umobile?

RM43 gives you unlimited 12Mbps and also fully hotspot-able, but safer if you use it in your phone. Very convenient for those who travel a lot and needs a hotspot for your PC/tablets.

They silently launch this plan to kill the competition.

Giler Unlimited GX43
https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/support/fa...mited-gx38-gx43
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 05:31 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:29 PM)
[HumanExtinction]
its not like I am supporting anyone but let him be la. He pay, he use to his liking. to each his own.

side note. nowadays, i feel like we users are subjected to the whims and likes of big corporations. to me, if want to give unlimited data, just do it properly. FUP and quota is just another way for them to squeeze money for users. If not true unlimited, just publish "terang terang", no need put fine prints in terms and conditions or FAQ, have to dig dig dig to find info.
he always try to act smart but in the end look like a bodo

just like his username suggest, bobo
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:34 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 05:25 PM)
you really topkek, can straight make assumptions ppl are running cyber cafes, downloading porn and do illegal file hosting.

in case you miss my previous comments, i have 4 ppl in my family and some of them work from home. Sometimes i feel like wasting my time to reply your bodo comment
Very obvious you're not using this with normal activities.

Myself working adult hardly even touch more than 300GB monthly on my fibre fixed connection at home. 1TB not enough?

Work from home? Ask your company to subsidize your home fibre connection la. You stream web conferencing in full 4K resolution?

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:36 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 05:31 PM)
he always try to act smart but in the end look like a bodo

just like his username suggest, bobo
No need to guess. See also I know you are attempting abnormal internet activity at home. Very few people can reach more than 500GB monthly unless your turn your home into some SOHO running a studio or illegal remote data centre.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 05:37 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:34 PM)
Very obvious you're not using this with normal activities.

Myself working adult hardly even touch more than 300GB monthly on my fibre fixed connection at home. 1TB not enough?

Work from home? Ask your company to subsidize your home fibre connection la. You stream web conferencing in full 4K resolution?
u seriously are bodo as fuck, just mean you dont touch more than 300gb doesnt mean everyone else wont touch more than 300gb? the world spin around u is it? i pay for unlimited data, of course i use it to my heart content. need to ask for your permission to use how many data?

im a pc gamer and of course downloading and updating games are part of my daily lives, do u even know the amount of data updates take these days?

my brother company do subsidize my internet fees, and again why u so kepo?

please stop embarrassed youself la pls bobo

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jun 23 2023, 05:39 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:38 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 03:22 AM)
wow RM700

thanks for the link.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:39 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Jun 23 2023, 05:08 PM)
problem with whether 4g or 5g, you are dealing with burst data, i tested U mobile for 6 months, the stability is a joke, sometimes your connection can hang, page doesn't load, download fails, ip changes frequently. You better put it at the clearest with the least wall obstacle area, if not it will be slow. if no luck streaming also no syiok. your best bet to have 5g modem, if not buy a cheap 5g phone hook it to your old laptop or system unit. use that as modem and your wifi as your router. if you use those external modem be aware of provider every few days has some sort of refresh. suddenly no line, that few hours later there is line. U Mobile is actually worst than Yes5G. A trick to do if you are using mobile phone or modem with sim, change your dns to google.
Depends really on your area's traffic congestion.

Many areas in KV and Penang the mobile data lines are so congested they're barely suitable for plans like this. If you live in high rise residence like condo/apartments at higher floors, your signal on average only 1-2 max so these type of wireless fibre plans are totally not suitable.
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:39 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:23 AM)
If you ok with 4G hp, why not stick with 4G speed.. no need buy any extra device until u certain can help improve the signal and long term.
so far, i try using my Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 as hotspot whenever we staying in vacation home .. normally staying there 2 or 3 nights hotspot always on.. so far ok jer.
Speed wise, manageable for my families and do some office work
but in highland lar and put at near balcony
yeah. that is currently my plan. Gonna put into my old phones and try. iphone 7 plus and Huawei Mate 10 pro.
But researching alternative now so that if really need to go with other alternative, I already have a short list rather than doing research and rush then.
WhiskeyTango777
post Jun 23 2023, 05:40 PM

30 posts

Better than maxis wireless broadband 300gb fup looo
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:41 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 03:28 AM)
Where you find so expensive. Launch price also not so expensive
haha. sorry.
found in amazon. i guess 3rd party markup.
what is the reasonable price for new poco M3 pro?
digilife
post Jun 23 2023, 05:41 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

just use it on a 4G router & you are good to go

btw, its rm68/mth now, promo rate, normal rm78

This post has been edited by digilife: Jun 23 2023, 05:42 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:43 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 05:37 PM)
u seriously are bodo as fuck, just mean you dont touch more than 300gb doesnt mean everyone else wont touch more than 300gb? the world spin around u is it? i pay for unlimited data, of course i use it to my heart content. need to ask for your permission to use how many data?

im a pc gamer and of course downloading and updating games are part of my daily lives, do u even know the amount of data updates take these days?

my brother company do subsidize my internet fees, and again why u so kepo?

please stop embarrassed youself la pls

You want to use it to your heart content? Pay more la for your home studio, porn download farm or NAS torrenting.

The one complaining and bragging with your TB traffic was you with the original screenshot. Very unreasonable person.

You go buffet unlimited serving means you can bring a big bag pour every food tray on the table and tarpao home all for yourself? shakehead.gif

HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 05:46 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:43 PM)
You want to use it to your heart content? Pay more la for your home studio, porn download farm or NAS torrenting.

The one complaining and bragging with your TB traffic was you with the original screenshot. Very unreasonable person.

You go buffet unlimited serving means you can bring a big bag pour every food tray on the table and tarpao home all for yourself? shakehead.gif
hahahaha my god u really bodo af

i pay 370 a month for a fking overpriced 800mbps

what makes you think i dont have the right to brag my download traffic

ur buffet metaphor is god damn topkek, really shows how bodo u are
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:47 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 03:30 AM)
True this plan by Umobile allows use in any device as long as you stick to the 1TB FUP to avoid throttling.

Also have you all heard of the GX43 Prepaid plan by Umobile?

RM43 gives you unlimited 12Mbps and also fully hotspot-able, but safer if you use it in your phone. Very convenient for those who travel a lot and needs a hotspot for your PC/tablets.

They silently launch this plan to kill the competition.

Giler Unlimited GX43
https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/support/fa...mited-gx38-gx43
i think not very good for more than occasional hotspot usage. only 6GB max. This rules out using legally on modem. But unlimited data on your phone.

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:48 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 05:46 PM)
hahahaha my god u really bodo af

i pay 370 a month for a fking overpriced 800mbps

what makes you think i dont have the right to brag my download traffic

ur buffet metaphor is god damn topkek, really shows how bodo u are
You pay 370 for a Unifi and you want to compare your downloading activities with a cheap 68 wireless plan?

mega_shok.gif
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 05:49 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:47 PM)
i think not very good for more than occasional hotspot usage. only 6GB max. This rules out using legally on modem. But unlimited data on your phone.

Read carefully

6GB with uncap/unlimited speed, after 6GB capped at 12Mbps within FUP.

DiGi Unlimited 40 only unlimited 6Mbps with only 10GB hotspot quota.

This GX43 is DOUBLE THE SPEED and FULLY HOTSPOTABLE

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Jun 23 2023, 05:51 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:50 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 23 2023, 03:41 AM)
just use it on a 4G router & you are good to go

btw, its rm68/mth now, promo rate, normal rm78
yeah. hope they keep the promo until end july. That's when I plan to get one.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 05:51 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:48 PM)
You pay 370 for a Unifi and you want to compare your downloading activities with a cheap 68 wireless plan?

mega_shok.gif
sigh, its really hard to talk to a mentally retarded ppl

since when i compare my downloading activities with a cheap 68 wireless plan? i only reply to pjng that i can reach 1000gb of data used since he said he did not use more than 500gb per month. time to take ur medicine.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jun 23 2023, 05:52 PM
TStester1979
post Jun 23 2023, 05:52 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 03:49 AM)
Read carefully

6GB with uncap/unlimited speed, after 6GB capped at 12Mbps within FUP.

DiGi Unlimited 40 only unlimited 6Mbps with only 10GB hotspot quota.

This GX43 is DOUBLE THE SPEED and FULLY HOTSPOTABLE
thanks. was reading the GX38
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 05:59 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:36 PM)
No need to guess. See also I know you are attempting abnormal internet activity at home. Very few people can reach more than 500GB monthly unless your turn your home into some SOHO running a studio or illegal remote data centre.
also if u think normal ppl wont reach 1000gb, why umobile provide another add ons rm30 to pay for another 1000gb for a total 2000gb?

bodo bobo, think the world spin around him

If you need more than 1,000GB in a month, U Mobile is also offering a U Home 5G Add-on that provides an additional 1,000GB of high-speed quota that’s valid until the next billing cycle. According to U Mobile, this U Home 5G Add-on costs RM30 and this is incredibly good value for money for data-heavy users. With the current introductory promo (RM68/month), this means you can get a 5G wireless broadband plan with a whopping 2000GB of data for only RM98/month.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Jun 23 2023, 06:00 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 06:00 PM

1,030 posts

Plan Internet Tanpa Perlu Modified Modem-Umobile GX43 Memang Gila

Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 06:50 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:43 PM)

Buffet not internet. Pay for buffet means pay for whatever you yourself eat at the specific time doesn't mean you can stay there whole day 24h and just eat or tapau back whole family hamka eat. Unlimited internet is not I force you to offer, you offer, I pay for it, I use unlimited what's the problem? Don't want ppl use don't advertise as unlimited la simple what. Really dumb analogy
Gargamel_gibson
post Jun 23 2023, 06:54 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 05:36 PM)
500gb is what abnormal usage hello. 4K Netflix already 7gb per hour stream, that's one account. 4 people is almost 30gb per hour already. You count la watch how long will reach 500gb. You live in what kampung era oh 500gb one month very few people reach.
ayamxxx
post Jun 23 2023, 07:01 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 04:37 PM)
Pm link see
Done
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 07:09 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:29 PM)
HumanExtinction

poco f4 la when on monthly sales rm899 only..get sd870 decent specs ald... good wifi for hotspot too... not sure still got old stock or not on OS store.
alexchew_2020
post Jun 23 2023, 07:13 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:38 PM)
wow RM700

thanks for the link.
dont get the quantom one..that one laoya abit... get the rm8xx~9xx model... that one is better chipset...

the quantom one bottom neck speed 300mbps+ 5g only, 4g u will cry...

This post has been edited by alexchew_2020: Jun 23 2023, 07:13 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Jun 23 2023, 09:26 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM)
To view cell towers at your locations. .......

(Note the cell tower's range for Internet data = usually around 1,000m in urban areas.) - https://opencellid.org/#zoom=16&lat=3.07197&lon=101.61368

https://mcc-mnc-list.com/list - to ID which celco is the cell tower via its MNC number
UM = 18; Celcom = 13 & 19; Maxis = 12 & 17 & 3 & 503; Digi = 16; TM UF = 11 & 14 & 1 & 153; YES = 15 & 152;
10 = XOX/Maxis/Digi/Celcom

https://www.cellmapper.net/map - enter celco/malaysia and location (need to disable ad-blocker)

https://www.cellmapper.net/map?MCC=502&MNC=...torColours=true
- shows U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower locations.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 09:46 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 06:50 PM)
Buffet not internet. Pay for buffet means pay for whatever you yourself eat at the specific time doesn't mean you can stay there whole day 24h and just eat or tapau back whole family hamka eat. Unlimited internet is not I force you to offer, you offer, I pay for it, I use unlimited what's the problem? Don't want ppl use don't advertise as unlimited la simple what. Really dumb analogy
Wireless broadband can never be compared with fibre and treated equally in every way. Even it it claims to be truly unlimited or with unthrottled speed it fluctuates very noticeably during peak hours or if your area is extremely congested.

Just because 5G claims it can do gigabit speeds, means a single account can be used as a WAN line for an entire office. It cannot handle many concurrent connections like your fixed fibre would.

With fibre you can download a large file and split it into 8-16 connections and the download will still finish, but not with mobile lines.

It has to deal with lots of network restrictions such as network slicing from DNB, then radio resources with time/time/phase for the limited slots at the base station, backhaul as such.

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 23 2023, 06:54 PM)
500gb is what abnormal usage hello. 4K Netflix already 7gb per hour stream, that's one account. 4 people is almost 30gb per hour already. You count la watch how long will reach 500gb. You live in what kampung era oh 500gb one month very few people reach.
Do 4 people watch 4k videos concurrently at the same time? All day long? That's madness.

Just like Netflix providers are becoming more aware about abuse sharing, each account is meant to be personally restricted to just one user. Don't get any extra ideas of trying to sell a 5G line hook it up on a wireless router and share with all the neighbors around you. Kiamsap and ikan kering la like that.

You remember Netflix how it started to restrict account sharing by restricting each account to only a single device? The same is expected of each mobile data SIM they're going to restrict simultaneous connection to at most 4 for each account to prevent abuse.

If you got 4 heavy users in your family watching 4k videos non stop all day, or whatever you're not telling it's best recommended that you maintain 4 separate U Home 5G accounts for each of them. RM68 cheap only what.

I'm not jumping into a sinking ship though staying with my highly reliable fibre line at home. If the service gets highly popular your area will see extreme traffic congestion soon with the nearby base station. It'll surely become very unbearable to use. They never guarantee anything or minimum guaranteed speed with their service.

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Jun 23 2023, 09:46 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 09:48 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Jun 23 2023, 07:13 PM)
dont get the quantom one..that one  laoya abit... get the rm8xx~9xx model... that one is better chipset...

Umobile uses ZTE equipment for their 4G base stations, so anything ZTE or Unisoc chipset will work fine with their 4G networks.

The problem arises when you try to connect with 5G which the network belongs to DNB. They are using Ericsson equipment. Very unfriendly with China based chipsets unless your equipment is SD based.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 09:52 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 09:46 PM)
Wireless broadband can never be compared with fibre and treated equally in every way. Even it it claims to be truly unlimited or with unthrottled speed it fluctuates very noticeably during peak hours or if your area is extremely congested.

Just because 5G claims it can do gigabit speeds, means a single account can be used as a WAN line for an entire office. It cannot handle many concurrent connections like your fixed fibre would.

With fibre you can download a large file and split it into 8-16 connections and the download will still finish, but not with mobile lines.

It has to deal with lots of network restrictions such as network slicing from DNB, then radio resources with time/time/phase for the limited slots at the base station, backhaul as such.
Do 4 people watch 4k videos concurrently at the same time? All day long? That's madness.

Just like Netflix providers are becoming more aware about abuse sharing, each account is meant to be personally restricted to just one user. Don't get any extra ideas of trying to sell a 5G line hook it up on a wireless router and share with all the neighbors around you. Kiamsap and ikan kering la like that.

You remember Netflix how it started to restrict account sharing by restricting each account to only a single device? The same is expected of each mobile data SIM they're going to restrict simultaneous connection to at most 4 for each account to prevent abuse.

If you got 4 heavy users in your family watching 4k videos non stop all day, or whatever you're not telling it's best recommended that you maintain 4 separate U Home 5G accounts for each of them. RM68 cheap only what.

I'm not jumping into a sinking ship though staying with my highly reliable fibre line at home. If the service gets highly popular your area will see extreme traffic congestion soon with the nearby base station. It'll surely become very unbearable to use. They never guarantee anything or minimum guaranteed speed with their service.
my fking god, u really are dumb as a rock. ppl talk east u talk west doh.gif

since when are we comparing with wireless broadband with fibre? we are talking about if telco offering us unlimited data or 1000gb FUP, we have the right to use all of it. Everyone knows that wireless broadband is of course not going to be as stable or as fast as fibre.

also u keep spin to a different topic, we are talking about data usage. not about "Wireless broadband can never be compared with fibre and treated equally in every way"

u got comprehension problem is it?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 09:56 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Jun 23 2023, 09:52 PM)
my fking god, u really are dumb as a rock. ppl talk east u talk west  doh.gif

since when are we comparing with wireless broadband with fibre? we are talking about if telco offering us unlimited data or 1000gb FUP, we have the right to use all of it. Everyone knows that wireless broadband is of course not going to be as stable or as fast as fibre.

also u keep spin to a different topic, we are talking about data usage. not about "Wireless broadband can never be compared with fibre and treated equally in every way"

u got comprehension problem is it?
Have you started using it?

Don't forget to report its consistency and reliability of your downloads when you do over the next 6 months. thumbsup.gif

See you can easily pull terabytes of data through it as you would with your fibre line.
HumanExtinction
post Jun 23 2023, 09:59 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jun 23 2023, 09:56 PM)
Have you started using it?

Don't forget to report its consistency and reliability of your downloads when you do over the next 6 months.  thumbsup.gif

See you can easily pull terabytes of data through it as you would with your fibre line.
please go see a doctor, i heavily suspect u have comprehension problem
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 23 2023, 10:08 PM

1,030 posts

dont get the quantom one..that one  laoya abit... get the rm8xx~9xx model... that one is better chipset...

The 900+ one comes with Mediatek chipset which has better compatibility with Ericsson e-Nodes.

Just avoid Huawei Balong, Unisoc, ZTE chipset based modems with Ericsson they just don't like them. To be safe the most compatible chipsets would be Qualcomm SD ones with Ericsson.

Only hope is to wait for the 2nd 5G network preferably on Huawei equipment, then only it'll be more compatible with China chipsets.
TStester1979
post Jun 24 2023, 02:47 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 23 2023, 07:26 AM)
To view cell towers at your locations. .......

(Note the cell tower's range for Internet data = usually around 1,000m in urban areas.) - https://opencellid.org/#zoom=16&lat=3.07197&lon=101.61368

https://mcc-mnc-list.com/list - to ID which celco is the cell tower via its MNC number
UM = 18; Celcom = 13 & 19; Maxis = 12 & 17 & 3 & 503; Digi = 16; TM UF = 11 & 14 & 1 & 153; YES = 15 & 152;
10 = XOX/Maxis/Digi/Celcom

https://www.cellmapper.net/map - enter celco/malaysia and location (need to disable ad-blocker)

https://www.cellmapper.net/map?MCC=502&MNC=...torColours=true
- shows U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower locations.
thanks for the links!!!!

CRAP. only 1 cell tower within 10.km and 2 towers if 1.2km radius
NautilusBW
post Jun 24 2023, 04:17 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 23 2023, 05:12 PM)
No idea, been using the Samsung A14 a while, quite fluid and smooth. Got it from Maxis with points.

weehoi
post Jun 25 2023, 02:24 AM

265 posts

5G is the best infrastructure ever happened to me and also MRT.

Am only paying RM25 for unlimited data and never again signing up for 2 years fiber contract and pay RM150 per month for home internet fiber + mobile data.

I remember Telekom used to rape me RM27.30 monthly for years on fixed line subscription ( never made any calls ) because need a land line to use Screamyx.

Now I'm only paying RM25 which is cheaper than the RM27.30 fixed line from 2005 and we've come a really long way in telco tech and economic improvements.

Will seriously consider this U Home offer if Yes messed up the current RM30 - RM5 rebate prepaid plan.

This post has been edited by weehoi: Jun 25 2023, 03:02 AM
TStester1979
post Jun 25 2023, 02:42 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(weehoi @ Jun 24 2023, 12:24 PM)
5G is the best infrastructure ever happened to me and also MRT.

Am only paying RM25 for unlimited data and never again signing up for 2 years fiber contract and pay RM150 per month for home internet fiber + mobile data.

I remember Telekom used to rape me RM27.30 monthly for years on fixed line subscription ( never made any calls ) because need a land line to use Streamyx.

Now I'm only paying RM25 which is cheaper than the RM27.30 fixed line from 2005 and we've come a really long way in telco tech and economic improvements.

Will seriously consider this U Home offer if Yes messed up the current RM30 - RM5 rebate prepaid plan.
thumbsup.gif

only reason for me to get a cable at home is for the low and stable ping. No matter what, wireless broadband/internet is still lacking in terms of good ping.
weehoi
post Jun 25 2023, 02:58 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 25 2023, 02:42 AM)
thumbsup.gif

only reason for me to get a cable at home is for the low and stable ping. No matter what, wireless broadband/internet is still lacking in terms of good ping.
Don’t get me wrong, I’d still very much prefer to use fiber for those reasons you’ve just mentioned if telco offer me contract free fiber and unlimited mobile data for RM25 but that won’t happen brows.gif

This post has been edited by weehoi: Jun 25 2023, 03:07 AM
TStester1979
post Jun 25 2023, 03:13 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(weehoi @ Jun 24 2023, 12:58 PM)
Don’t get me wrong, I’d still very much prefer to use fiber for those reasons you’ve just mentioned if telco offer me contract free fiber and unlimited mobile data for RM25 but that won’t happen  brows.gif
I get what you mean.
Due to ping, I will pay.
Oltromen Ripot
post Jun 25 2023, 07:37 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

FUP was introduced as counter-measure against those abusing a shared service to the effect of detrimentally affecting AND DENYING other users of their also-paid share.

Just because your paid, it does not become your exlusive property.

--

4 users viewing streaming 4K at same time? Possible.

4 users concurrently stream 4K almost non-stop 24hrs? Less posssible.

4 users concurrently stream 4K almost non-stop 24hrs, consistently, every day? Impossible.

petrofsky77
post Jul 26 2023, 04:35 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

So anyone here already using the plan? If you're on 5G sim router, which brand and model did you get? And how's the speed like in your area? BTW, bolehkah langganan ini dibenarkan melanun di lautan berombak?
KUROsaki23
post Aug 28 2023, 07:36 PM

330 posts

currently using unifi air, if i sub this uhome plan, and put the sim in unifi air router will it work? no 5g no prob for me
SUSeds2
post Aug 28 2023, 07:54 PM

101 posts

soonwai
post Sep 6 2023, 11:11 PM

11,459 posts

Mine is like the inverse of yours. LOL. Lots of uploading in July.

Download quite close to my SNMP monitor. Upload seems off.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 6 2023, 11:17 PM
redev
post Sep 11 2023, 08:56 AM

19 posts

any good recommend others than U home?

I am always travelling in between west and east of Malaysia.
Last time contract with celcom fibre in condo, unfortunely it is unable to move another location during contract period.

So I decided to looks for 5g/4g broadband with free contract instead of fibre 24 months contract.

Less data needed here, most likely connecting my robot cleaner and streaming movie during weekend.

previously trying U Mobile but it is unable to put it in 4g Modem, hotspot sharing with device is unable, only happens on mobile phone.

Hope you guys can solve me this case, the most important can workable in protable modem will be fine to me.

Much appreciate.
peja5081
post Nov 28 2023, 08:27 PM

291 posts

Umobile prepaid can't use on modem? How are we supposed to test 5g?
Irresistible
post Dec 29 2023, 03:29 AM

3,278 posts

any review ?
lemon5969
post Dec 29 2023, 08:02 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 6 2023, 11:11 PM)
Mine is like the inverse of yours. LOL. Lots of uploading in July.

Download quite close to my SNMP monitor. Upload seems off.
Hi, could i know what package is it? That good. Reach 1000gb still not kena fup throttle
ahrasis
post Jan 25 2024, 05:57 PM

47 posts

Does it have public IP?
zhixie
post Apr 28 2024, 12:41 AM

278 posts

mean if this 5g quantum modem connect to 4g/5g for these three telco, it will had problem?u mobile is ok is it?

also how about huawei H818 modem, is it well compatible with all telco for 4g usage?
yoyoi
post Apr 28 2024, 01:32 AM

34 posts

I'm using Yes 5G Flexi. rm58 per month. unlimited 5G and no data capped. so far so good. speed around 700-900mbps. pair with TP-Link X50-5G modem
Vincent9696
post Apr 29 2024, 11:32 AM

983 posts

QUOTE(yoyoi @ Apr 28 2024, 01:32 AM)
I'm using Yes 5G Flexi. rm58 per month. unlimited 5G and no data capped. so far so good. speed around 700-900mbps. pair with TP-Link X50-5G modem
how much is the modem?> many modem said got 5G but it looks like no have 5G supported
yoyoi
post Apr 29 2024, 11:51 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Apr 29 2024, 11:32 AM)
how much is the modem?> many modem said got 5G but it looks like no have 5G supported
800+ after shopee rebate. this one confirm got 5g

Harold2009
post May 24 2024, 06:24 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 23 2023, 03:13 PM)
My mom alone watching netflix 4K with Dolby Atmos Audio on home theater easily surpass 100 GB/ day. Fiber is not a good choice in my place due cable sabotage, natural disasters, tree falls causes damages, cable snapped off due big trucks passing by due the cable too low on federal road etc, tm at last give up to repair, They offer me to terminate the service even still had contact without any penalties.
ayamxxx
post May 24 2024, 08:06 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Harold2009 @ May 24 2024, 06:24 AM)
My mom alone watching netflix 4K with Dolby Atmos Audio on home theater easily surpass 100 GB/ day. Fiber is not a good choice in my place due cable sabotage, natural disasters, tree falls causes damages, cable snapped off due big trucks passing by due the cable too low on federal road etc, tm at last give up to repair, They offer me to terminate the service even still had contact without any penalties.
Use fiber from 2019 up until now, only offline for 2-3 days, cz thunderstorm make the router k.o. Complaint to Unifi on Thursday night, Saturday morning they come to my house for replacement under warranty. Reliable free for fiber

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 24 2024, 08:07 AM
travelyew
post Jul 19 2024, 03:51 PM

241 posts

Seems 2 different modems offered, anyone know which one better?
MR_alien
post Jul 19 2024, 04:41 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Jul 19 2024, 03:51 PM)
Seems 2 different modems offered, anyone know which one better?
MC888S
yvliew
post Sep 5 2024, 10:50 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

any cap speed. for U, YES 5G home ?
soulz69
post Sep 5 2024, 11:13 AM

:: LoveHate ::
1,973 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Sep 5 2024, 10:50 AM)
any cap speed. for U, YES 5G home ?
for uhome 5G no speed cap. only FUP is 1TB.

This post has been edited by soulz69: Sep 5 2024, 11:14 AM
Zaryl
post Sep 5 2024, 11:39 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 19 2024, 04:41 PM)
MC888S
Don't. Just DON'T.
in fact, don't get ANY of the 2 free routers provided by umobile. You gonna bonded with 2 years contract. If cancel early, need to pay termination fee around RM700 like that (actual cost of router).

i had the MC888s. It SUCKS. Not reliable, although can achieve quite fast speeds at certain time.
but the thing is, it is PRONE to AUTO REBOOT. very frequently.

I suggest you just get the sim card only (no contract) and buy 5G router on shopee/lazada.

Here's are some recommendation:

Gteniq IQ20X55 (uses Qualcomm Snapdragon X55 chipset) - RM800 <- i am using this now
TP Link X50 (SD X60) - RM900
Yeaycomm (if can still find it, mostly are out of stock, uses MediaTEK chipset) - RM600
Zyxel NR5103E (mediaTEK) - RM600
Nokia Fast Mile 3 (Qualcomm IPQ 8072A chipset) - RM600

avoid ZTE MC888s or Kaon FA7801 (the free routers).

MC888s is using UniSOC Ivy 510 Makulu chipset. Totally a very low tiered, pathetic chipset.
Easily can get hot, even i put extra 12" table fan direct at it also, still auto reboot + in aircond room. doh.gif

not sure what Kaon's chipset though, but i suspect it is also uses a lowly UniSOC yawn.gif
MR_alien
post Sep 5 2024, 11:42 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 5 2024, 11:39 AM)
Don't. Just DON'T.
in fact, don't get ANY of the 2 free routers provided by umobile. You gonna bonded with 2 years contract. If cancel early, need to pay termination fee around RM700 like that (actual cost of router).

i had the MC888s. It SUCKS. Not reliable, although can achieve quite fast speeds at certain time.
I suggest you just get the sim card only (no contract) and buy 5G router on shopee/lazada.

Gteniq IQ20X55 (uses Qualcomm Snapdragon X55 chipset) - RM800 <- i am using this now
Yeaycomm (if can still find it, mostly are out of stock, uses MediaTEK chipset) - RM600

MC888s is using UniSOC Ivy 510 Makulu chipset. Totally a very low tiered, pathetic chipset.
Easily can get hot, even i put extra 12" table fan direct at it also, still auto reboot + in aircond room.  doh.gif

not sure what Kaon's chipset though, but i suspect it is also uses a lowly UniSOC  yawn.gif
not everyone has that amount of ready cash to buy a router that expensive these days
it's not like those 2-300 unifi router

for me i have no problem with the MC888S
last week for a few days, i did experience the auto reboot problem...the internet would stop working
and if i login right away, i can see it went from 5G to limited services thn it reboot
but it went away after few days
i experience the whole thing in like 3 days if not wrong thn it didn't happened anymore
Sunshape
post Sep 5 2024, 11:44 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 5 2024, 11:39 AM)
Don't. Just DON'T.

Easily can get hot, even i put extra 12" table fan direct at it also, still auto reboot + in aircond room.  doh.gif

not sure what Kaon's chipset though, but i suspect it is also uses a lowly UniSOC  yawn.gif
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 5 2024, 11:42 AM)
not everyone has that amount of ready cash to buy a router that expensive these days
it's not like those 2-300 unifi router

for me i have no problem with the MC888S
last week for a few days, i did experience the auto reboot problem...the internet would stop working
and if i login right away, i can see it went from 5G to limited services thn it reboot
but it went away after few days
i experience the whole thing in like 3 days if not wrong thn it didn't happened anymore
yea, budget issue.

Anyone wanna sell off his umobile 5g modem cheap2 to me?
DValentine
post Sep 5 2024, 11:47 AM

773 posts

buy cheapo prepaid sim and check yourself the coverage and speed at your area

if satisfied u baru proceed to sign up

vaksin
post Oct 21 2024, 01:38 PM

685 posts

this pakej now ok not? performance ok?
SUSClowninja
post Oct 21 2024, 01:49 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Oct 21 2024, 01:38 PM)
this pakej now ok not? performance ok?
if you are curious how good the coverage and speed, it's subjective.

some places are good, some dont. But my personal experience, it works as labeled from the website, no contract, straight up internet on the go, unlimited, no FUP, hotspot allowed with no limited quota/speed. Just do whatever you want as heart desire.
vaksin
post Oct 21 2024, 02:18 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Clowninja @ Oct 21 2024, 01:49 PM)
if you are curious how good the coverage and speed, it's subjective.

some places are good, some dont. But my personal experience, it works as labeled from the website, no contract, straight up internet on the go, unlimited, no FUP, hotspot allowed with no limited quota/speed. Just do whatever you want as heart desire.
i see ok thanks... considering to change from maxis braodband...
other maybe time broadband...
lonely66
post Oct 21 2024, 02:56 PM

593 posts

anyone using this modem DWR-X2000 ?
mybukumuka
post Nov 26 2024, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(lonely66 @ Oct 21 2024, 02:56 PM)

anyone using this modem DWR-X2000 ?
I borrowed this one from my friend to test my 5G speed (using his U Home 5G sim card) at my apt in Ampang. It cannot lock the band and it selects 4GLTE/5G automatically.
It is always blinking green and blue, sometimes yellow. It may not be stable. My 4GLTE smartphone is much more stable. The 5G RSRP reading is -95 to -96dBm.
so, yeah stick to 4GLTE at the moment.
unless you stay very near the 5G DNB tower, you may get a better signal. of course subject to other factors as well.

akecema
post Nov 26 2024, 11:03 AM

436 posts

use YES 5G
ayamxxx
post Nov 26 2024, 11:34 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(akecema @ Nov 26 2024, 11:03 AM)
use YES 5G
better don't, poorer now vs 1 year ago
akecema
post Nov 26 2024, 11:40 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 26 2024, 11:34 AM)
better don't, poorer now vs  1 year ago
4g, yes ke laut
but 5g ok
JLA
post Nov 26 2024, 11:52 AM

2,788 posts

why poor people always poor
take plan with contract with free low end modem
then end up have to buy another good 5G modem

celcomdigi have budget prepaid plan rm14 9 days 2000gb
but some still complain speed capped 100mbps
lonely66
post Nov 26 2024, 12:04 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mybukumuka @ Nov 26 2024, 10:48 AM)
I borrowed this one from my friend to test my 5G speed (using his U Home 5G sim card) at my apt in Ampang. It cannot lock the band and it selects 4GLTE/5G automatically.
It is always blinking green and blue, sometimes yellow. It may not be stable. My 4GLTE smartphone is much more stable. The 5G RSRP reading is -95 to -96dBm.
so, yeah stick to 4GLTE at the moment.
unless you stay very near the 5G DNB tower, you may get a better signal. of course subject to other factors as well.

read from the user review from shopee, macam umobile cant really use ...

now im still using my 5g hp to hotspot ...

This post has been edited by lonely66: Nov 26 2024, 12:05 PM
MR_alien
post Nov 26 2024, 12:28 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(lonely66 @ Nov 26 2024, 12:04 PM)

read from the user review from shopee, macam umobile cant really use ...

now im still using my 5g hp to hotspot ...
meaning the router is locked
all unlocked 5G router out there are the same, it should be able to run no matter which sim card u plug in
ayamxxx
post Nov 26 2024, 02:13 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(akecema @ Nov 26 2024, 11:40 AM)
4g, yes ke laut
but 5g ok
That was the plan. But unfortunately since 2 months ago, it drop the connection many times like the 5G is crowded. Ended with 4G but 1-2 bar only. Complaint many times but told resolved via apps, but problem still persist back
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 18 2024, 05:08 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 26 2024, 02:13 PM)
That was the plan. But unfortunately since 2 months ago, it drop the connection many times like the 5G is crowded. Ended with 4G but 1-2 bar only. Complaint many times but told resolved via apps, but problem still persist back
time to complaint to MCMC
trust me, it works. last time my area meksis buat hal, after lipot to mcmc less than 1 week settled

https://aduan.mcmc.gov.my/#/public/login

0.0442sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:19 AM