LYN EV Drivers

TSBoy96
post Jun 19 2023, 04:33 AM, updated 3y ago

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

So as EV starts to grow in Malaysia, I think its the right time to start a thread on the car clubs section here. I have just took delivery of my EV and I know of other LYN FnF users who also drives an EV.

EV's officially sold in Malaysia

GWM : Ora Good Cat
BYD : Atto 3
BMW: iX, iX1, iX3, i4, i7
Hyundai: Kona, Ioniq 5
Kia: EV6
Volvo: XC40/C40
Mercedes: All the EQ series
Renault: Zoe
Mini: Cooper SE
Mazda: MX-30
Nissan: Leaf
Porsche: Taycan
Lotus: Eletre

EV Charging Essentials

We follow Europe spec, for AC charging we use Type 2 connector, DC Charging we use CCS2 connector. This applies to all EV's with the exception of the Nissan Leaf and Japan spec Tesla.

AC Charging

There are a few things you need to take note in regards of AC Charging

Level 1 - 3 pin plug supplied by manufacturer. Only use this in emergency or you are confident the wiring in your socket can withstand. Can pull up to 10amps or less than 2kW

Level 2 - This is the wallbox installed at home or public AC charger uses. There is 3 configurations. 1 Phase AC will output 3.7kW or 7kW depending on the ampere (16/32A), while for 3 Phase AC, it will output 11kW or 22kW. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO KNOW YOUR EV CAPABILITY. For cars like BYD Atto 3, Ora Good Cat and Nissan Leaf, they can only support single phase charging, so only max 7kW at 32 amps. So if you plug in to a charger that shows 11kW, your car will only charge at 3.7kW as it is pulling 16 amps through single phase rather than 3 phase. So if you have single phase car, best to find a charging station that shows 7kW or 22kW.

ESSENTIAL EV APPS IN MALAYSIA

1. Plugshare - Shows you all available chargers in the area, Green is slow AC charging, Orange is Fast DC Charging. This apps can be used to check-in when u are charging so others know how long u are planning to stay there, and you can rate your charging experience within the app

2. A Better Route Planner - Set your Initial Location and End location, this apps will suggest all the charging locations that you should stop by

3. Charging apps themselves - Must have is ChargEV, Setel, JomCharge, ChargeSini, Go-To U, ParkEasy, Flexi Parking.

Further guide on which apps can refer here https://soyacincau.com/2023/01/15/ev-buyers...wnload-install/

CHARGING PRICES

Home charging - Cheapest for EV owners. Follow TNB Tariff

Public DC charging - Average around RM1.20/kWh for 60kW , can go as high as RM4/minute at Shell Recharge Stations . Download the charging apps to see the prices..

[ TO BE CONTINUED ]

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jun 20 2023, 12:06 PM
TSBoy96
post Jun 19 2023, 04:33 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Reserved Post 1

LFP vs NCM Batteries

400v vs 800v architecture

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jun 19 2023, 05:06 AM
TSBoy96
post Jun 19 2023, 04:33 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Reserve Post 2

Charging Safely at home guide

From my wallbox installer, Alvin.

We just had another member (whom asked not to be named) with a blown fuse, and like many others this member has a house with single phase power.

The fuse size at the meter was only 32A.

The fuse blown after owner charging at 30A, and though without many things running the main switch suddenly tripped and the fuse was later found burnt out.

In this situation if the RCCB has tripped too, it wouldn't be able to be turned on. Many RCCB Type A magnetic types are not able to be switch to on position when there's no power, so don't bother.

TNB careline was called and replaced the 32A fuse.

Do note that if this situation happened to you, and your wire size is more than 25mm2 at the meter and from there to your DB, you can ask for a 60A fuse. If it's 35mm2 or greater, it's safe to ask for 100A fuse.

Any wire smaller than 25mm2, TNB will only give you 32A. Such as 16mm2.

It's for safety.

For those who faces similar situation, please do learn to use the "just enough" lean method to calculate your need of charging, and charge with as low power as possible that will not hamper your day to day need for range.

If you are parked most of the time anyway, consider using 8A or even 6A and leave the plug in your car whenever you are home.

Try not to charge at 32A, just because you can. It's the same as us not having our water heater at max power all the time.

Again, home charging is never about speed but safety and reliability, about knowing for sure how much battery you will have before you leave the house in the morning.

And BTW TNB careline is 15454 if you too blown your fuse.

P/S: it's a good idea to consider upgrading your house to three phase. Especially if you have an EV.

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jun 19 2023, 12:06 PM
jibpek
post Jun 19 2023, 05:22 AM

708 posts

Park until I get my own EV soon. Looking at Atto 3, if possible get Han
TSBoy96
post Jun 19 2023, 05:34 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(jibpek @ Jun 19 2023, 05:22 AM)
Han is not coming in, Seal is.
Pugbunny
post Jun 19 2023, 08:50 AM

717 posts

Getting an EV might be a huge jump from ICE especially if i dont have an spare ICE vehicle for alternative.

Next, considering Japanese hybrid car for next car purchase.
Hunakadoo
post Jun 19 2023, 12:39 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

Hi
Lord Suave
post Jun 19 2023, 01:46 PM

168 posts

Reverse Park in silent while awaiting arrival of my car too
Hunakadoo
post Jun 19 2023, 03:37 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(Lord Suave @ Jun 19 2023, 01:46 PM)
Reverse Park in silent while awaiting arrival of my car too
wat car biggrin.gif
boonhan
post Jun 19 2023, 05:04 PM

Reader
1,934 posts

Been waiting for this thread!
QUOTE(jibpek @ Jun 19 2023, 05:22 AM)
Han dont have RHD and it wasnt design with RHD design in mind.
Atto 3 is good for sure.
Lord Suave
post Jun 19 2023, 11:00 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jun 19 2023, 03:37 PM)
wat car biggrin.gif
paiseh laaa...
Hunakadoo
post Jun 20 2023, 11:56 AM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(Lord Suave @ Jun 19 2023, 11:00 PM)
paiseh laaa...
tot u wanna say porsche laa
SUSifourtos
post Jun 20 2023, 11:58 AM

2,256 posts

u literally miss all the best ev midel..

taycan
eletre
TSBoy96
post Jun 20 2023, 12:07 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jun 20 2023, 11:58 AM)
u literally miss all the best ev midel..

taycan
eletre
Added
Lord Suave
post Jun 20 2023, 02:19 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Jun 20 2023, 11:56 AM)
tot u wanna say porsche laa
hahaha... my tabung not that big ler, can afford to walk next door only
bee002
post Jun 23 2023, 11:00 AM

96 posts

parked.

keen to know more on EV, cause live in condo not convenient to own a EV now, any one can share regarding outside charge , as i know there are many charging app, and i heard some is free some is chargable , by kwh or by min .... confusing

This post has been edited by bee002: Jun 23 2023, 11:00 AM
myteam94
post Jun 28 2023, 11:04 AM

438 posts

Park for future car to own

now waiting for Omoda 5 EV and Smart #1/3

tested Good Cat and Atto 3

Cat - Size same as Ativa, hence not worth the change but like the overall car

atto 3 - slight big than ativa but waifu 100% hated the interior.. hahaha

already see Omoda 5 and she like it, so now waiting EV version Q42023.

if everything goes well, target to trade-in ativa next year.
TSBoy96
post Jun 30 2023, 11:59 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Tested the newly installed Kempower charger at KLIA Mcd Drive thru Petronas. Only manage to get 32kW charging speed despite the charger capable of 50kW.

Saw in FB later that night an Ioniq 5 charge there, able to get the full 50kW. But that is due to the Ioniq's 800v architecture..

At RM1.10/minute, its quite pricey if u dont get full speed. So only use this if you are desperate for a topup

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jul 1 2023, 12:00 AM
ronnie
post Jul 2 2023, 10:52 PM

Not enough stars
21,318 posts

Public chargers which charge by kWh is always better for cost effectiveness
-ArChAng3L-
post Jul 10 2023, 11:20 AM

525 posts

Anyone keen to know more about the BYD Atto 3 feel free to PM me.

I can try my best to arrange a test drive or viewing at a location of your preference, not necessarily at the showroom.

Dolphin is launching end of this month too, so if you're interested in that model, you can PM me too happy.gif

0.0512sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:52 AM