Bulge at front tyre

TSStormflyer
post Jun 15 2023, 10:36 AM, updated 3y ago

60 posts

Hi all, I just sent my Vios to the service center yesterday and found out that my front right tyre has a small bulge at the side (probably hit a divider or smtg). I'm thinking of replacing it but not sure which are the better options:

1) Replace the bulged tyre with the spare tyre (they're the same size if i didnt check wrongly) and continue using the car. The bulged tyre kept as spare.
- since I don't drive my car much (2 years+ in, about 12k mileage), was thinking if i can do this?

2) Replace the bulged tyre with the spare tyre, go change the bulged tyre and keep as spare.
- with this then i can utilize the spare tyre all all 4 of the wheels are same brand

3) Drive to tyre center and change the bulged tyre straight (spare remain as spare, not touching).

Of all 3 options, which one do you think is the better, safer option i should do? Not sure if just changing 1 front tyre is advisable? I checked the condition and thread of the other good tyre and it is still in good condition (can use maybe another 2 years?) Quite a noob in car so really appreciate the help of all the sifus here. notworthy.gif
geforce88
post Jun 15 2023, 10:45 AM

2,841 posts

if you're not on tight budget, option no.3 is the most viable.
slaveone
post Jun 15 2023, 10:48 AM

1,230 posts

if the spare is the same size, then get 1 new tyre to replace the bulged tyre.

swap the spare with the front left tyre and keep the front left tyre as spare
wkchia
post Jun 15 2023, 10:49 AM

647 posts

u can replace ur bulge tyre with ur space and get a 2nd hand tyre as spare. Provided ur spare and replacement 2nd hand tyre is in good condition.
kurangak
post Jun 15 2023, 10:50 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Stormflyer @ Jun 15 2023, 10:36 AM)
Hi all, I just sent my Vios to the service center yesterday and found out that my front right tyre has a small bulge at the side (probably hit a divider or smtg). I'm thinking of replacing it but not sure which are the better options:

1) Replace the bulged tyre with the spare tyre (they're the same size if i didnt check wrongly) and continue using the car. The bulged tyre kept as spare.
    - since I don't drive my car much (2 years+ in, about 12k mileage), was thinking if i can do this?

2) Replace the bulged tyre with the spare tyre, go change the bulged tyre and keep as spare.
    - with this then i can utilize the spare tyre all all 4 of the wheels are same brand

3) Drive to tyre center and change the bulged tyre straight (spare remain as spare, not touching).

Of all 3 options, which one do you think is the better, safer option i should do? Not sure if just changing 1 front tyre is advisable? I checked the condition and thread of the other good tyre and it is still in good condition (can use maybe another 2 years?) Quite a noob in car so really appreciate the help of all the sifus here.  notworthy.gif
Id do option 2
Saitama
post Jun 15 2023, 10:51 AM

307 posts

go option 1. use until time to change all 4 tyres but keep 1 as the spare n throw the bulge one away.
TSStormflyer
post Jun 15 2023, 10:58 AM

60 posts

Thanks for the advise all. Seems like everyone has different opinion of what to do with the situation haha.

QUOTE(slaveone @ Jun 15 2023, 10:48 AM)
if the spare is the same size, then get 1 new tyre to replace the bulged tyre.

swap the spare with the front left tyre and keep the front left tyre as spare
I actually never thought of this and it is actually a pretty good idea! Now both front tyres are new and can be changed at the same time when their thread runs out together.
more2teayap
post Jun 15 2023, 05:58 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

Of all 3 options, which one do you think is the better, safer option i should do? Not sure if just changing 1 front tyre is advisable? I checked the condition and thread of the other good tyre and it is still in good condition (can use maybe another 2 years?) Quite a noob in car so really appreciate the help of all the sifus here.  notworthy.gif
Factory Proxes R50? My Yaris' R50 also got a bulge on the side wall few months ago and went for option 2 as the spare is the same size, but i did not keep the bulge tyre. Now saving monies to change all 4 tyres, then keep 1 of the 4 as spare biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by more2teayap: Jun 15 2023, 06:00 PM
andrekua2
post Jun 16 2023, 08:18 AM

13,469 posts

Didnt you already swap with the spare? Why do you need a new spare tyre? Im pretty sure you can drive 10-20KM if you ever need to swap with the bulge tyre again and find a tyre shop.

I would just go on with it and wait until I need to change tyres again. Then swap all 5 with brand new.
mdziaf
post Jun 16 2023, 09:15 PM

93 posts

A buldge on the side of the tire means that there is a tear in the nylon ply of the carcass. Structurally the tire has a weak point and could fail while driving. I would recommend to change to the spare tire before driving further.

The buldged tire must be replaced.

You could do option 2. But i would recommend to rotate your tires a bit more frequently just to balance out the wear overall since your spare would have more tread compared to the other 3 tires.

0.0138sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:40 PM