17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

[AMA] I immigrated to Australia early 2022, Ask me anything!

SUSNoComment222
post Jun 14 2023, 02:45 PM

310 posts

Are there any discrimination to the Malays? These should be allowed:
1. Mosques with loudspeakers
2. Halal eateries with stickers
3. Prayer times embedded in employer culture for 5 times a day?

Hope Aussie is understanding
Ramjade
post Jun 14 2023, 03:16 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Jun 14 2023, 02:45 PM)

I don't think you will get those. Halal eateries maybe. You have to adept to their culture and not they adept to yours.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 14 2023, 03:16 PM
AnimeSinceForever
post Jun 14 2023, 03:37 PM

1,060 posts

I think the level of concessions you can expect from Australians about this depends on whether you care about being seen as a "community hero" or "assimilated newcomer". hmm.gif

As an example Lebanese and Somalians in Australia seem to have successfully imposed a lot of parts of their culture in Australia, you will need to read up on modern Australia to discover what I'm talking about. icon_idea.gif

Halal eateries already exist in Australia too ... easiest would probably be McDonald's or KFC brows.gif

This post has been edited by AnimeSinceForever: Jun 14 2023, 04:35 PM
prophetjul
post Jun 15 2023, 09:43 AM

12,267 posts

Suggest you stay back in Malaysia. You have all those here. Why bother to migrate? biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Jun 15 2023, 10:28 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 15 2023, 09:43 AM)
Suggest you stay back in Malaysia. You have all those here. Why bother to migrate?  biggrin.gif
Want everything ma.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 06:28 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 13 2023, 07:03 PM)
What jobs are they doing do you know?
Personally I only know two cases (but I’ve heard more).

One’s a driving instructor who I engaged when I first arrived - he had a pretty grim view of the country and was a civil engineer. Upon hearing I’m an engineer too he shook his head and said I made the wrong decision and that I will never get an engineering job here. Kept complaining about how the government likes to take all his money and he still couldn’t save up enough deposit to buy a home in his 50s, but ironically he was operating on cash terms only.

The other’s a buddy of mine. Works as a field specialist with Schlumberger. Wife doesn’t work. He’s really struggling now that the cash rate has risen and is considering refinancing his home loan.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 06:29 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(askingquestion @ Jun 13 2023, 07:20 PM)
Isnt cost of living here in Aus cheaper (if you don't convert)?
Yes, but home ownership is expensive.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 06:34 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 13 2023, 07:24 PM)
Is it possible for me to keep my Malaysian citizenship and let my kids (I don't have any yet) to attend their school?

Reason is when I am retired, maybe retire in Malaysia to avoid the taxation in Australia.
I had a colleague who did that. He applied for PR for himself and his whole family, once granted, his wife and kids went off and settled in Australia while he continued working in Malaysia and eventually landed a job in the middle east. He’s not subjected to Australian tax laws as he’s not a tax resident.

Either you do something similar, or you send your kids here as international students. You’ll keep your Malaysian citizenship for both options. However, if you choose to work in Australia, you’ll be subjected to Australian tax laws.

This post has been edited by Salary: Jun 15 2023, 06:42 PM
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 06:38 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jun 13 2023, 07:51 PM)
u didnt include your work experience as in you still go through the "Skills Assessments" and summited 0 years of experience or you did not go through the Skills Assessments at all?
I still had to go through the skills assessment through EA. It’s a single process that assesses your qualifications and experience if I recall correctly. As I did not include my years of experience through my skills assessment with EA (and SkillSelect), they only assessed my qualification, as in my degree/masters, which is still a requirement.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 06:39 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 13 2023, 11:01 PM)
Wife made a life changing sacrifice so she taught our kid everything, tutors can’t beat that tongue.gif
Can’t beat a committed mother indeed flex.gif
askingquestion
post Jun 15 2023, 07:10 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 15 2023, 06:29 PM)
Yes, but home ownership is expensive.
Can give example of how much more expensive vs KL?

Because almost every country in the world would say their property are overpriced etc etc etc

This post has been edited by askingquestion: Jun 15 2023, 07:10 PM
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 07:27 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(wonglokat @ Jun 13 2023, 11:46 PM)
Informative AMA, TS. Some questions for tomorrow based on more recent posts

1. Picking up from that crisp response to the DINK question and Hansel's input, what other motivations for you to get up and leave if you were single?

2. You mentioned fitting in. Anyone who made it there would have passed the language language requirements so I'm pretty sure you have some traits in mind but didn't elaborate on. I mean AU, like MY, would be big enough for the common social traits on both ends.

3  SOL and your friends aside, do you have acquaintances or a relative of so-and-so not in medicine, accountancy, or engineering who lives comfortably? Low to mid M40 if they're in MY.

I'm thinking those who gave up and returned are simply ill-prepared in the funding department. Or I'm just missing the obvious.

1. Kids were a huge factor, which probably makes up around 70% - 80% of our motivation to move. Putting that aside, I would say poor political outlook and limited work-life balance, but both aren’t big factors at all. I don’t think Malaysia will fall anytime soon, definitely not in my lifetime, but if PAS does take over it’ll probably go downhill from there, but by then I’ll probably have more than enough money to not be affected by it and I don’t have any future generations to worry about either.

2. Having a good command of English will only help you get through the language barrier, but the bar isn’t set very high. Workplace etiquette, communication styles, hierarchical structures, etc. are something that most migrants will need to assimilate into, but Malaysians are generally okay if they’ve used predominantly English for business communication in their past work experiences and worked in MNCs where the working cultures are akin to their Western counterparts. It’s hard to explicitly list every differences, but one of the biggest differentiator is that Australians love taking the piss out of each other constantly, and you can’t do that in Malaysia without pissing off people. Also, it may be common to hang out with your colleagues outside of working hours for leisure activities, but it doesn’t really work that way here other than for a couple of beers and maybe the odd cycling session.

3. Unfortunately no, not within my circle of friends as they all migrated under skilled migration, so they’re all white collar professionals. I’ve heard of older folks migrating much, much earlier as a mechanic/baker/cook etc and have done well, but I’ve never personally met any yet.

Funding is only one factor. Homesickness and not being able to assimilate into the local society is the biggest driver I reckon. Being on holiday here and actually living here are completely different.
Ramjade
post Jun 15 2023, 07:41 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 15 2023, 06:34 PM)
I had a colleague who did that. He applied for PR for himself and his whole family, once granted, his wife and kids went off and settled in Australia while he continued working in Malaysia and eventually landed a job in the middle east. He’s not subjected to Australian tax laws as he’s not a tax resident.

Either you do something similar, or you send your kids here as international students. You’ll keep your Malaysian citizenship for both options. However, if you choose to work in Australia, you’ll be subjected to Australian tax laws.
Haiz. Btw any good and reliable accountant you can reocmmend? Might need one there to deal with their taxes if I decide to move.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 15 2023, 07:55 PM
wonglokat
post Jun 15 2023, 07:43 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ Jun 15 2023, 07:27 PM)

Thanks. Shouldn't be much of a hurdle then but let's get the funds ready in case situation gets nasty. I've just gotten a boost in the career so will continue growing the fund. Though if we're comparing/swinging dicks on occupation, then mine isn't exactly 'up' there.

I wish you well.
kenji1903
post Jun 15 2023, 08:03 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(askingquestion @ Jun 15 2023, 07:10 PM)
Can give example of how much more expensive vs KL?

Because almost every country in the world would say their property are overpriced etc etc etc
House is pretty much the same, but the cukai Pintu and cukai Tanah in Aussie is crazy high…

If you live in selangor, you practically don’t need to pay water bill… in Aussie, you pay very high water bill, high electricity bill plus there’s gas bill… heating is very expensive, e.g. my relatives in UK pay £300/month just for electricity

In Malaysia You can ask a Bangla or Pak Indon to paint your house, in Aussie you don’t have that option… anyone will quote you cut throat prices

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jun 15 2023, 09:31 PM
Tongkat Ali
post Jun 15 2023, 08:18 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 15 2023, 08:03 PM)
House is pretty much the same, but the cukai Pintu and cukai Tanah in Aussie is crazy high…

If you live in selangor, you practically don’t need to pay water bill… in Aussie, you pay very high water bill, however th electricity bill plus there’s gas bill… heating is very expensive, e.g. my relatives in UK pay £300/month just for electricity

In Malaysia You can ask a Bangla or Pak Indon to paint your house, in Aussie you don’t have that option… anyone will quote you cut throat prices
Thank you, i will stay in Malaysia forever then.

TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 10:02 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Jun 14 2023, 08:30 AM)
What most Malaysians would do in Malaysia after 5pm?

Depending on the age demographics...

Older folks - Restaurants, Shopping or at home watch tv
Family - Shopping center, Restaurants
Young adults/couples - drinking at cafe, kopi shop, mamak, see movie, pub bars clubs

Like I say earlier, most of these can be done in Australia, maybe not at the smaller cities, NT, SA or OLD where most shops close very early, but sure got some place that are still open till late....

Use to lepak at Southbank/Crown area and chinatown during the weekends in Melb back in the days as most other place close early or just visit the surburb pokies for a cheap or free drinks due to limited budget.
The only thing I see in the list that’s not available here after 5pm is shopping. Everything else is available at every major city - including Adelaide and Perth (not sure about Darwin). Nightlife in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane is actually quite decent.

Can’t compare with the likes of London and New York, but definitely does hold it’s ground against Malaysia.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 10:09 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Jun 14 2023, 09:12 AM)
Is Wise the best way to transfer money?

- MY Bank to WISE (MYR) - Pay bank fees transfer and wise fee take a small sum
  - Wise (MYR to AUD) - Pay wise fee
  - Wise AUD to AU bank - Pay wise fee

End up paying lot of misc fees

compare to traditional bank transfer

MY Bank to AU Bank Pay one time SWIFT&Forex Fee
There’s only a single fee involved, which is charged by Wise and is incredibly reasonable. Their exchange rates are market exchange rates, and even factoring in their fees, I can still get better rates than anywhere else in Malaysia. I’m not sure how you ended up with three separate fees as the first and third fee you mentioned don’t exist.

Using bank transfer is the worst - on top of fees, their exchange rates are horrible. The best option I had was to use HSBC Premier, but even then Wise still works out to be much cheaper. The savings adds up especially when transferring 7 figures.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 10:11 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 14 2023, 11:40 AM)
Don't look at fees. Look at final amount received. Eg cimb always promote the have zero fees but when use cimb to transfer, you find that you received less foreign currency per ringgit used.

I saw it myself with RM--> SGD. Hence didn't go though with the transfer.

Btw your concept is wrong.

You are not storing AUD in wise. You are using wise as transfer. It should look something like that.

MYR -> WISE -> AU bank account which is cheaper than MYR -> Malaysian banks -> AU bank account. You can always try Sunway money. They are way cheaper than Wise for SGD transfer. Not sure about AUD transfer (get more foreign currency with Sunway money Vs using WISE)
This is the way.

Yeah you might be able to get more using Sunway Money, it operates like Wise. I didn’t use them as I found out about them a little late and there were issues with registering and transferring just before I left the country.
TSSalary
post Jun 15 2023, 10:26 PM

668 posts

1. I’m not sure if there’s an explicit law that doesn’t allow it, but there’s noise regulations in place that would prevent loudspeakers from being used. Come to think of it, I’ve not heard any church bells ring as well.

2. Most halal eateries and grocery shops will display their halal status.

3. Muslim employees are allowed to pray 5 times a day, that’s not a problem. My office has a prayer room for this purpose and for some of my contractor’s office, if they don’t have a prayer room, they’ll use a smaller meeting room.

Aussies are a pretty tolerant bunch.

This post has been edited by Salary: Jun 15 2023, 10:27 PM

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:27 AM