Guitars Electric Guitar Beginner, What should I buy with RM800 budget???

TSradiancephil
post Oct 19 2007, 04:31 AM, updated 19y ago

316 posts

Guitar:
I just started learning acoustic guitar recently and I got hyped into playing the electric guitar already... The only songs I can play now is wonderwall and best I ever had.... I am planning to move on and get an electric guitar... But what should I buy with a budget for a guitar around RM500??? I kinda shortlisted to SX and Fender Squire... But what kind of guitar should I buy as I plan to play songs like those by My Chemical Romance and Fall Out Boy kinda music??? Please advise or give any suggestions... Thank you

Amp:
What I have in mind now is to either buy a cheap amp for around RM300 or try to plug the guitar into my comp via my Audigy 2 and play it output it on my Aego M speakers... Do you guys think that the comp idea is feasible??? I don't need it to sound really good, but just normal will do... Please help me on this matter... Thank you
bad melatonin
post Oct 19 2007, 05:06 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

try CK music store bro. they had tis promo once.... guitar(their own brand cratfman o smtg) + amp(voxamp) about RM500 if not mistaken. SX & Squire is good choice 4 entry level. With RM800 in ur pocket, there's plenty of thing u cud opt 4. Its up 2 u actually....sound of the guitar, amp, effects...(ur guitar hero might affect ur guitar likings oso) etc. Always trust ur ears. And for those type of band, i think they are more on d humbucker side of d guitar world.... try browse around ok...
my 2 cents...
TSradiancephil
post Oct 19 2007, 05:15 AM

316 posts

What simple software can I use to output the sound on my PC if I plug my guitar into the line-in???
SweetTooth
post Oct 19 2007, 05:20 AM

2,650 posts

you can get ibanez GIO's at about rm700ish, check DeadEye's thread for some low end guitars.

if you're thinking about rm500, best option would be SX in my opinion. there's even Stagg if you wanna go lower tongue.gif just make sure you have at least a humbucker in the bridge position and you'll do fine thumbup.gif
blacktrix
post Oct 19 2007, 08:22 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

And SX and A Microcube........ the Low Yat recommended spces for a low budget beginner.
Everdying
post Oct 19 2007, 09:34 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

im gonna get a SX strat soon maybe tongue.gif
TSradiancephil
post Oct 20 2007, 03:00 AM

316 posts

What do you guys think about Fender Squire??? How much would one cost??? Anyone seen a blue Squire around for sale??? Wo Fatt got???
sean392
post Oct 20 2007, 03:24 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 19 2007, 09:34 AM)
im gonna get a SX strat soon maybe tongue.gif
And when you're sick of it, you know who to look for . (me tongue.gif)

@TS
The recommended combo here is the SX Strat and the Roland Microcube.
I believe we already have a pinned thread about cheap guitars. Visit the pinned thread first next time.
quarantined
post Oct 20 2007, 01:27 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

You forgot about SX teles. smile.gif Anyway threadstarter you can get SX from Woh Fat, Squire and Roland Cube in Bentley. Test them out and see the difference.
enteryourusername
post Oct 20 2007, 02:11 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 19 2007, 08:22 AM)
And SX and A Microcube........ the Low Yat recommended spces for a low budget beginner.
luckily i read thru the whole thread. was about to post the same comment. tongue.gif
Everdying
post Oct 20 2007, 07:09 PM

30,735 posts

actually i prefer samick over SX for cheap guitars.
but if SX, i like the SRV copy tongue.gif
quarantined
post Oct 20 2007, 08:11 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Does Doremi or anywhere else stock the Samick TR1, TR2, TR3 or TR4? The one that looks like an SG..
Everdying
post Oct 20 2007, 08:15 PM

30,735 posts

theres a local seller on ebay.com.my who sells the TR-1.
TSradiancephil
post Oct 21 2007, 04:02 AM

316 posts

Where is Bentley?

SweetTooth
post Oct 21 2007, 04:42 AM

2,650 posts

did you even read my post in the other woh fatt thread?

Bentley Music
140 & 142, Jalan Bukit Bintang,
55100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Tel: (603) 2144 3333
Fax: (603) 2148 0129
Email: contactus@bentleymusic.com

read the stickies ffs
TSradiancephil
post Oct 21 2007, 04:43 AM

316 posts

Yeah, I read... But thats for Woh Fatt... Thanks anyway...
tropiccana
post Oct 22 2007, 09:41 PM

24 posts

i am beginner too! personally i not recommend fender squier california series as i own one and i brought it together with marshall amp 10watt. forgot wat series already. i brought from bently and total cost RM800 exactly! during that time, i would like to get sx strat but unfortunately no stock available, so i had test other brand's guitar at same standard (budget guitar) such ash cort and fina (sx no stock at that time) and squier california do provide better sound and action. maybe u can testing around all budget guitars and who knows? the amp are excellent and it cost exactly RM300! now i had change the pickups for my squier strat, now much more better.

try ask the seller setup the guitar for u when u decide to buy it as normally factory's setup are just crap X_X
zx7177
post Oct 22 2007, 10:05 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

QUOTE(tropiccana @ Oct 22 2007, 09:41 PM)
i am beginner too! personally i not recommend fender squier california series as i own one and i brought it together with marshall amp 10watt. forgot wat series already. i brought from bently and total cost RM800 exactly! during that time, i would like to get sx strat but unfortunately no stock available, so i had test other brand's guitar at same standard (budget guitar) such ash cort and fina (sx no stock at that time) and squier california do provide better sound and action. maybe u can testing around all budget guitars and who knows? the amp are excellent and it cost exactly RM300!  now i had change the pickups for my squier strat, now much more better.

try ask the seller setup the guitar for u when u decide to buy it as normally factory's setup are just crap X_X
marshall MG series ? heard its crap ...... sweat.gif
LovesReborn
post Oct 22 2007, 10:10 PM

1,739 posts

QUOTE(tropiccana @ Oct 22 2007, 09:41 PM)

what do you mean by set up??
i thought setting up means pluggin the cables or playing around with the tone and stuff? wrong?

i am new in el gtr, so, interested to know... hmm.gif
PhantomThief
post Oct 22 2007, 10:42 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

Setup includes things like the string set up, neck, bridge, pickups, etc. Electric guitars have a whole bunch of factors that can affect it's tone. With lower quality guitars, you usually get poorer quality factory setups, though that can often be remedied if you bring it to a guitar tech. The guitar tech can resolve problems like fret buzzing and stuff. But there will still be things that he can't change.

As for what guitar to choose, I always suggest you chip in a little more to get a decent guitar. For 500, your choices are rather limited, and most guitars in that range are rather poor. If you choose to continue with that budget, the best advice for you is to check absolutely everything before buying the guitar. And if possible, bring a friend who has more experience than you along.
Everdying
post Oct 22 2007, 11:30 PM

30,735 posts

lookie what i got...this is officially the cheapest brand new guitar i've ever bought...
i've got itchy hands that need to mess around with stuff tongue.gif

so yea, lefty trem like the namesake it tries to copy.

fender-style headstock, unlike the beak-style thats for the US market.

the neck is a nice shred friendly modern-C profile.
the fretboard meanwhile, being true to SX specs, has a much flatter 13.7" radius unlike the traditional 9.5".
the edges are slightly rounded, though i will go and round them out slightly more.
all these of cos plays a big part in the playability of the neck, and makes it easier for a gibson guy like me to adapt.
frets are also nicely dressed with no sharp ends.
lets just say this SX will put others in its range like Squier and Ibanez to shame, which i guess everyone already expects tongue.gif

as for parts, well doesnt bother me, they are cheap anyway.
the first thing i will definitely change on it is the thin-ass trem block followed by the pots.
Rossie
post Oct 23 2007, 07:02 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

How much did that cost you?
Looks great!
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 09:05 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Oct 23 2007, 07:02 AM)
How much did that cost you?
Looks great!
RM464 tongue.gif
blacktrix
post Oct 23 2007, 09:26 AM

13,063 posts

OMG............ I think I found my Impulse buy of the day!!!!!!! WOO HOO!!!
Would need to swap in new pickups though........
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 09:41 AM

30,735 posts

nah, no need for new pickups.
best option is to first swap the trem block followed by the pots.
that will make it sound much better.

of cos, once i feel like it, im going to get tham to refret them with medium jumbos...currently has thin vintage style frets.

the guitar is like a novelty anyway, like how many guitars you know with left handed trems? tongue.gif
and its actually routed for it, so you cant fit in a right handed one unless of cos you rout more.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 23 2007, 09:43 AM
blacktrix
post Oct 23 2007, 09:46 AM

13,063 posts

[ot]

In that case, I'd rather fix up my Crap Strat then..... It's the same color anyway.......
Hmmmmm....... still deciding on what pickups to swap. BTW, do you know of any place that can replace the trem and tuners also?

[/ot]

I tried out the Ibanez GIO SA in Bents and I actually like what I heard. Around 800+, but can get a discount. If you're looking for a cheaper Ibanez that plays well, this is it.
zeroglyph
post Oct 23 2007, 09:48 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

you could also check the garage sales thread for some 2nd hand guitar. sometimes there are some excellent guitar there. heck, i got the coolest guitar i can afford there too.
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 09:55 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 23 2007, 09:46 AM)
[ot]

In that case, I'd rather fix up my Crap Strat then..... It's the same color anyway.......
Hmmmmm....... still deciding on what pickups to swap. BTW, do you know of any place that can replace the trem and tuners also?

[/ot]

I tried out the Ibanez GIO SA in Bents and I actually like what I heard. Around 800+, but can get a discount. If you're looking for a cheaper Ibanez that plays well, this is it.
trems and tuners you can DIY.
but your crap strat doesnt have a lefty trem tongue.gif
blacktrix
post Oct 23 2007, 10:42 AM

13,063 posts

[OT] I mean, do you know where I can buy them? As in, what store sells them and also installs them? [/ot]
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 10:54 AM

30,735 posts

benwtfley, woh fatt.
but i wouldnt recommend any stores here for trems cos they never have what i want.
the only vintage style trem i would even consider putting in would be the wilkinson/gotoh VSVG, stewmac has it.

quarantined
post Oct 23 2007, 11:44 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

You got the SRV strat from WohFatt for 464RM?? Quite a deal..
Rossie
post Oct 23 2007, 02:46 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

WTF!!! That's freaking cheap!!!
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 02:53 PM

30,735 posts

20% off la...
go get gap-i-am-bentleys-fav-customer-ster get for u also can tongue.gif

list price is RM580.
anyway, i found couple ppl to do a nice solid brass trem block, RM120.
after that the pots, then saddles, and plain black pickguard tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 23 2007, 03:10 PM
quarantined
post Oct 23 2007, 04:02 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

I don't understand what a trem block is.. having all fixed bridge guitars. Care to explain a bit?
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 04:15 PM

30,735 posts

this is a trem tongue.gif

this is the block thats under the trem, ie. trem block tongue.gif

just changing that plays a very big part in how the guitar sounds.
cheap guitars usually come with very thin zinc alloy blocks.
US strats have stainless steel blocks.

its like comparing a very light weight guitar with a LP.
SweetTooth
post Oct 23 2007, 04:22 PM

2,650 posts

nice SoRrY strat there you have everdying, looks great and nice price. so how much would that strat be worth after all the modifications?
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 04:31 PM

30,735 posts

pretty obvious that it'll still be under rm1k.

the neck is good enough, beats ordering a mighty mite neck for just under RM400, and definitely better than the squiers i've tried.
and i still have a body to go hotrod.

i once checked on a mighty mite body and neck, add in good hardware etc but no pickups, came up to around rm1.8k.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 23 2007, 04:37 PM
SweetTooth
post Oct 23 2007, 04:40 PM

2,650 posts

lets get back on topic here.
TS, do you care much about how your guitar looks? as in superstrat shapes or V or warlocks or weird shapes or would you just want a guitar that kicks ass thumbup.gif
blacktrix's suggestion seems pretty good but its best that you test them out yourself to see if YOU like how it plays. good luck finding your guitar biggrin.gif
quarantined
post Oct 23 2007, 04:53 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Thanks for explaining, everdying. smile.gif Didn't know what is underneath the Strat bridges all along..
Rossie
post Oct 23 2007, 06:05 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Everdying just won this thread with his SX...
[/thread]
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 07:21 PM

30,735 posts

eh, but SX is a better beginners guitar than the squier.
the squier's 9.5" fretboard takes more getting used to than the much flatter 13.7" of the SX.
quality of parts-wise, both of them are pretty even, tho samick still beats them all tongue.gif

but then for beginners, give them good quality parts or bad ones also they most probably cant tell the difference...
so here, of cos playability counts for more, and thats where the SX wins.
aceejay
post Oct 23 2007, 07:30 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

owh yea..how bout bass guitar for noob ?
sx still the best or squire ? hmm.gif
price ?
Everdying
post Oct 23 2007, 07:43 PM

30,735 posts

bass? then you go bug bassraptor here tongue.gif
aceejay
post Oct 23 2007, 09:45 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

lol bassraptor tongue.gif haha
zeroglyph
post Oct 24 2007, 12:03 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 23 2007, 04:15 PM)

just changing that plays a very big part in how the guitar sounds.
cheap guitars usually come with very thin zinc alloy blocks.
US strats have stainless steel blocks.

its like comparing a very light weight guitar with a LP.
haha...now i know that a trem block can actually be removed. sweat.gif . i thought the thing is a part of the bridge (aka soldered together or something).
crazychris
post Oct 25 2007, 12:08 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

waiting for bassraptor to appear smile.gif

can visit him here
http://www.bassraptor.blogspot.com/

aceejay : an SX is ok for beginners
but it oso depends on ur budget

however i like squier
stil rmb wen i 1st saw a white squier 5 string jazz in bentley
smile.gif luv it

aceejay
post Oct 25 2007, 12:38 AM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

crazychris
post Oct 26 2007, 10:37 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

G&L Bass ....made in USA
tis wil be kinda pricey keke

TSradiancephil
post Oct 26 2007, 10:11 PM

316 posts

Anyone seen a blue squire strat for sale anywhere before??? I went to Bentley, CK Music and the music shop in Sg Wang, but none has a blue fender squire...

Help...
crazychris
post Oct 27 2007, 12:29 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

aceejay:

jz went to JS music play wit the L-2500
sounds gorgeous!!!
aceejay
post Oct 31 2007, 03:10 AM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

seriously ? goshh .. i want to test it my self man tongue.gif
apique
post Sep 2 2008, 12:07 AM

71 posts

you got what you need..
mushimushi88
post Sep 2 2008, 12:42 AM

293 posts

i do wonder myself..

sarcast
post Sep 7 2008, 12:47 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 23 2007, 07:43 PM)
bass? then you go bug bassraptor here tongue.gif
he just sold an SX bass b4(well.. also quite long edy tot)
I did ask him after that, i guess he is trying out other stuff
apique
post Sep 8 2008, 01:04 AM

71 posts

go for 2nd hand guitar i think
coz u myb can get a good stuff with affordable prices..
check it out at GS..
theres alot of cool stuff..
ianhooi
post Sep 8 2008, 02:20 AM

78 posts

if your parents arent paying for the guitar, if as in its your own money that you're using, i suggest you save till you get about 1.5k, cos cheap guitars some times are just so bad that its not funny.
mushimushi88
post Sep 8 2008, 08:19 AM

293 posts

some are and some are like a unpublished gem in the pile of dirt =)

kenetix
post Nov 22 2008, 06:17 PM

197 posts

you can get a pretty decent guitar for $800. Squires, les paul imitations, low end ibanez guitars.....don't let 'low end' put you down though. There are many cheap and good
guitars out there.

youtube has lots of resources for beginners too. I'd recommend learning pentatonic scales for beginner solo-ing for electric

raul88
post Nov 22 2008, 07:30 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

dude
800 bucks is a lot
if u a noob.better buy package or jumpstart or whatever
its more convenient..

-Torrz
post Nov 22 2008, 08:10 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Nov 22 2008, 07:30 PM)
dude
800 bucks is a lot
if u a noob.better buy package or jumpstart or whatever
its more convenient..
Yeah! And if you still got some cash left, jump to a good bass guitar.
o.d
post Nov 23 2008, 01:04 AM

208 posts

seems like mostly reccomend sx...

anybody know which sx will suit if i am to play rock/metal sound?

youngster told me that eg1k is a no-no sx and st57 is ok...anybody has more opinion?

Everdying
post Nov 23 2008, 04:56 PM

30,735 posts

i will recommend one guitar thats not an SX which i've tried and it actually feels pretty decent.

RM830 i think brand new at harmony in du, but usually u can get a 10% discount there.

workmanship on it is pretty ok.
definitely much better than the jay turser LP that was lying there, tho of cos that one was only RM400+.
quarantined
post Nov 23 2008, 07:23 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

This look way too cool for a budget guitar! 24 frets, original design, great color, Capariison-like inlay!
zeroglyph
post Nov 24 2008, 01:49 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Nov 23 2008, 07:23 PM)
This look way too cool for a budget guitar! 24 frets, original design, great color, Capariison-like inlay!
....but the pickup switch is somehow in a "not-very-reachable" position. hmm.gif

0.0285sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:48 PM