Bank FD Collateral for Credit Card Approval, Or pledged fd

TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:57 AM, updated 3y ago

1,837 posts

HSBC Visa Platinum Card
Our best cash rebate card for the whole family.

Instant Shell and Caltex discounts

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/cards/credi...rnmore-target-a

DBS BANK and OCBC bank DO NOT ALLOW THIS FD......

https://www.sc.com/sg/credit-cards/simply-cash-credit-card

Standard chartered bank sg not allow

https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/cards...-card.page#tab2

But UOB bank sg allow
HSBC bank sg allow

Citibank not allow

Min. income S$30,000 (local/PR) or
S$42,000 (foreigner) a year

https://www.uob.com.sg/personal/cards/cashback/one-card.page

UOB one card

Fuel up at Shell and Caltex, and receive a discount of up to 17% instantly.

https://www.hsbc.com.sg/credit-cards/products/visa-platinum/

Who can apply?

To apply, you must:

be at least 21 years of age
have a minimum annual income of SGD30,000 (Singaporeans and Permanent Residents)

For self-employed and commission-based Singaporeans or Permanent Residents, a minimum annual income of SGD40,000 is required

For foreigners residing in Singapore, a minimum annual income of SGD40,000 is required.

If you do not meet the above income requirements, a minimum Fixed Deposit Collateral of SGD10,000 is required.

To qualify for HSBC Premier, a Total Relationship Balance of at least S$200,000 in deposits, investments and/or insurance is required.

If the Total Relationship Balance falls below S$200,000, and no other qualifying HSBC Premier account is maintained outside of Singapore, a monthly service fee of S$50 will be charged.

Who can apply?
To apply for an HSBC TravelOne card, you must be aged 21 or above and have a minimum annual income of:

SGD30,000, if you're a Singaporean or Permanent Resident

SGD40,000, if you're a self-employed or commission-based Singaporean or Permanent Resident

SGD40,000, if you're a foreigner residing in Singapore

If you do not meet these income requirements, a minimum fixed deposit collateral of SGD10,000 will apply.

A pledged asset is an asset that is used by a lender to secure a debt or loan and can include cash, stocks, bonds, and other equity or securities. A pledged asset is collateral held by a lender in return for lending funds.

Pledged assets can reduce the down payment that is typically required for a loan as well as reduces the interest rate charged.

Malaysian banks usually do not explicitly state on their official websites that they accept a minimum Fixed Deposit Collateral of RM XxXx for a 100% credit card approval, right?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 5 2023, 03:01 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 02:05 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 8 2023, 02:04 AM)
wat a joke

singkie need tried so hard to get a HSBC cc meh ?
I mean for foreigners

Some of my friends salary is 5000sgd also failed to get
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 02:11 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jun 8 2023, 02:05 AM)
Quite many local offer fd pledge credit card.
Like maybank ,cimb bank,public bank?

Really the fd is tied with the credit card?

Cannot withdraw the fd unless the card is cancel?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 08:34 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Jun 8 2023, 08:28 AM)
My experience with Maybank, I can withdraw the Pledge FD after using the card for few years and good payment record.
How many years you used the card?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 08:35 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(NEP1971 @ Jun 8 2023, 08:33 AM)
In sg, no amex no talk please

That’s basic
Is it minimum must become premier banking customer (have at least 250K sgd ) ?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 09:13 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Jun 8 2023, 09:09 AM)
plat cards nowadays macam sampah card ad. no need high high income they also offer liao

better just get preferred / world card.. don't have to queue when go bank and oversea buy stuff also get cashback 99
don't have to queue when go bank

Really?

Which bank offer this?

Show world credit card no need que?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 10:10 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Jun 8 2023, 09:23 AM)
preferred no need queue

world card oversea free cashback

How many percent per month and maximum cap?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:01 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 10:59 AM)
this card is not difficult lah, the just give me even i dont have deposit account with them...
Singapore one or malaysia one?

Are you singapore pr?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:02 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 11:13 AM)
he is referring to this, but i getting this is due to its "4 mpd on up to S$2,000 of online spend per month"

https://milelion.com/2023/03/24/review-dbs-...ans-world-card/
You can get woman card?
I thought you are man?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:05 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Jun 8 2023, 11:18 AM)
Citibank not sell off to UOB liao ??
Singapore and hk no

Singapore's United Overseas Bank (UOB) has agreed to acquire Citigroup's consumer banking operations in four Asian countries, namely

Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, and the Philippines.

The transaction was announced in January 2022 and is expected to be completed in phases, subject to regulatory approvals.

There were no reports of UOB acquiring Citibank's consumer banking operations in

Hong Kong SAR or Singapore.

Citi Completes Sale of India Consumer Banking to Axis Bank Limited
March 01, 2023
Seven Total Divestitures Completed as Part of Citi's Strategy Refresh

NEW YORK - Citi announced today it has completed the sale of its India consumer business to Axis Bank Limited (Axis). The sale, which Citi and Axis first announced in March 2022, includes credit cards, retail banking, wealth management and consumer loans, as well as the

Transfer of approximately 3,200 Citi employees.

The transaction is expected to result in a regulatory capital benefit of US$1.4 billion.

Citi's institutional client businesses in India are excluded from the sale and Citi remains focused on serving institutional clients in India and globally.

Citi also announced today the completion of the sale of its retail banking and consumer credit card businesses in Vietnam to UOB Group. Since announcing intentions to exit consumer banking across 14 markets in Asia, Europe, the Middle East and Mexico as part of its strategic refresh,

Citi has signed sales agreements in nine markets and has now closed sales in seven markets including

Australia, Bahrain,

Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam,

in addition to India.

The firm previously announced wind-downs of Citi’s consumer business in China and Korea, and the wind-down of Citi’s overall presence in Russia is in progress.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jun 8 2023, 01:10 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:36 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Jun 8 2023, 01:04 PM)
My card still under my pledged 5k fd as collateral to maybank.
Use for 10 yrs ad
the interest very low leh
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:36 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 01:33 PM)
check the link i share  brows.gif
Don’t let the name fool you. The gender-neutral DBS Woman’s World Card is a must-have option; an easy 96,000 miles per year with just S$2,000 monthly spend

UOB bank sg one only for female
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:38 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 01:36 PM)
singapore lah, no need to be PR, just need to have EP...
Kesian S pass cannot?

Luckily hsbc bank sg and uob bank sg allow put fd 10,000 sgd
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 01:46 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 01:42 PM)
dont know about S pass...

i first come in already EP... and getting the first CC on second year

first year was rejected, so i go apply the cashline after that apply CC, then only got the CC
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/loans/perso...wE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Is it this one?
So special

Eligibility requirements

Nationality Singaporean Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident
Age 21 – 70 years old

Income Minimum Annual Income S$20,000

TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 02:06 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jun 8 2023, 01:49 PM)
didn't know HSBC Vis platinum so hard to get in SG, lmao

at here, Annual Income 24K> can apply liao.

Mostly here pledge fd for infinite/elite card
Nowadays young people with clean record( no house and car loan)
Vety difficult to get normal credit card
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 02:07 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 02:06 PM)
not DBS, i get from OCBC
singapore CC is similar like Msia, you dont have credit profile, it will be hard for you to get CC.

DBS is more difficult to start with, so go for others bank, like Citibank, once you have 1 CC, it will be easy for you to apply DBS one.

https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banking/loans...yment-cash-loan
EasiCredit is a standby line of credit that lets you flexibly choose your repayment amount.

Ok,i understand now.

This is like built a credit score payment record for you right?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 02:42 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jun 8 2023, 02:15 PM)
that's why a lot of youngster bankruptcy at young age due to using future money too much.

best is save some money first, buy a car with 50% DP (that time apply cc with the same bank you apply loan) normally they will approve it.

Or get a home loan (which normally they will give you FFL CC), even it is approve but you didn't sign it. Like I apply loan from 2 banks, MBB & another bank (forgot which).
MBB upgraded my 2 cards from plat to premier, while another bank also send me their cc (which I already canceled)
FFL CC ?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 03:50 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jun 8 2023, 02:58 PM)
free for life cc
no need pay service tax rm25 for lifelong?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 03:51 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jun 8 2023, 02:58 PM)
yes.
nothing good from HSBC, usually sign up for point, free gift...

my mandate card only 2~3 cards, but i got like 20+ different CC from different bank...
You just keep for collection?
You call hotline to cancel the card?
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 8 2023, 05:44 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Efalex @ Jun 8 2023, 04:04 PM)
I'm waiting for bank to launch "Forever Alone" card..
Single only applied?

0.0234sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:51 AM