6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Books to recommend for investment?, Investment book

DanielW
post Sep 10 2009, 09:46 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Sep 8 2009, 02:22 PM)
guys, im just 19 years old and want to learn the theories on stock investing first. I have no idea reading those terms on stock markets website.. yeah 0% knowledge,, Which book should i get?
"Investment for dummies:" ??
I suggest that u get ALL the books listed in my blog. They have been a great help to me :-)
my1ststep
post Jan 27 2010, 09:38 PM

47 posts

Hey All,

I guess it is time to stay at sideline now. At the main time, we should improve our trading skill now before we can make bigger money.
Any suggestion on good investment/trading book? I'll recommend the Trading for a living by Alexander Elder.
Please share your bible here...

thumbup.gif Looking forward.
rockerbabe
post Feb 23 2010, 04:57 PM

18 posts

the Intelligent Investor - Benjamin Graham...

Warren Buffett's sifu in value investing
Kamen Rider
post Feb 25 2010, 11:41 AM

554 posts

Yes Books from Benjamin Graham, Peter Lynch and Phillip Fisher

The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing. A Book of Practical Counsel (Revised Edition)
By Benjamin Graham

Security Analysis: The Classic 1934 Edition
By Benjamin Graham

One Up On Wall Street : How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market
By Peter Lynch

Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits
By Philip A. Fisher

http://www.amazon.com/Uncommon-Profits-Wri...6883118-0044702

http://www.amazon.com/Intelligent-Investor...pd_bxgy_b_img_b

yquin1985
post Mar 4 2010, 12:36 AM

243 posts

+1 to moody5....
sohkeong
post Mar 4 2010, 12:50 AM

Proud Owner Of Acer 4736G
1,164 posts

i went to popular book store on monday to find some books on investment.. i do consider a few best seller such as Warren buffet books , T. Kiyosaki books and etc...

but in the end , i found taht all the theories in there seems not so suitable / applicable in KLSE (maybe darn good in Dow jones)..

finally i found a book that really good for newbies by Ho Kok Mun.. try to find around there... i forgot the name of the book d..it is called earn from share market even during bearish / falling market"
goofy2009
post Mar 19 2010, 08:26 PM

Thank you

This post has been edited by goofy2009: Mar 19 2010, 10:47 PM
Aggroboy
post Mar 23 2010, 09:24 AM

637 posts

Is there a recommended book for teaching noobs like me how to analyze financial data? I'm still sketchy on terms like NTA, PER, sector PER weighting, EBITDA etc...

Thanks ya biggrin.gif

SUSPrince_Hamsap
post Mar 23 2010, 09:29 AM

Nightmare of Solomon
542 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Mar 23 2010, 09:24 AM)
Is there a recommended book for teaching noobs like me how to analyze financial data? I'm still sketchy on terms like NTA, PER, sector PER weighting, EBITDA etc...

Thanks ya biggrin.gif
I rekomen 'Investments' published by Financial Times, quite a comprehensive 'general' reference for newbies. You can't go wrong with anything published by FT. cool2.gif
noiseemunkee
post Nov 23 2010, 04:21 PM

454 posts

anybody here has a copy of Neoh Kean Soon : stock market in singapore and malaysia?

do you know how to get the copy now ?

Added on November 23, 2010, 7:31 pmLooking for Stock Market Investment In Malaysia and Singapore for sale.

Can nego the price if available.

This post has been edited by noiseemunkee: Nov 23 2010, 07:31 PM
alfredfx
post Nov 23 2010, 10:53 PM

715 posts

pm me i am thinking to give a courrse
lightseeker
post Nov 24 2010, 12:14 AM

29 posts

I start from a investment dingbat to I guess pretty good today.

For a start you can try:
The Warren Buffett Way - Robert Hagstrom

Since you have financial background you probably don't need Mary Buffett's. SO can skip that.

Then the classics:
Common Stock Uncommon Profits - Phil Fisher
The Intelligent Investor - Benjamin Graham
Security Analysis - Benjamin Graham

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Fool Investor
Ginzo
post Nov 24 2010, 10:26 AM

15 posts

Books on Buffett are a good start, his average annual return was 21% for 40 years 1965-2005), also known as the greatest investor in the history

Elementary Level:
1) "Buffettology" by Marry Buffett-Emphasize on Expanding Value, written by former Warren Buffett's daughter-in-law
2) Rule 1 by Phil Town- Emphasize on Margin of Safety and Buffett's Quotation "The first rule of Investing is don't lose money; the second rule is don't forget rule #1 , contain both Fundamental and Technical Analysis.
3) The Warren Buffett Way by Robert Hagstrom- The easiest biography of Warren Buffett

Intermediate level
1) Snow Ball- This is not an ordinary biography, it is the only authorized biography by Buffett
2) The Essay of Warren Buffett- A collection of warren Buffett's letter to the shareholders in a readable format, which of course is written by warren Buffett himself,if you have time, reading the original version is a plus
3)Even Buffett isn't perfect- Point out a few misconception on Buffett, but this is quite advance reading for those who don't know Buffett.

Advance Level
1) The Intelligent Investor- "The best investing book ever written" said by Buffett, written by Benjamin Graham. This is where you get the concept "Margin of safety"
2) Security Analysis- Written by Benjamin Graham, Focus more on how to apply the concept "margin of safety" on both bonds and stocks by analyzing balance sheet and income statement.
3) Common Stock and Uncommon Profit by Philip Fisher, Focus on Expanding Value, and a few key question to throw at management team.

IMO, Rule 1 and Buffettology are enough to give you a good start in value/growth investing.

Other books on value/growth investing include Peter Lynch's (Average Annual Return of 29.2% return for 13yr), Joel Greenblatt "Magic Formula"(Average Annual Return of 50% for 10yr), and Jim Crammer "Mad Money"(Average Annual return of 24% for 14yr).

moody5
post Nov 24 2010, 12:23 PM

296 posts

Read the books by Jesse Livermore or related to him if you are interested to be a Trader.

Tittle:
Reminiscences of a Stock Operator
How To Trade In Stocks
Molotov Cocktail
post Nov 24 2010, 08:07 PM

371 posts

can someone recommend book on how to read and company's financial statement and how to use the data to our own advantage and detecting if there is possible fraud in the statement
the snowball
post Nov 24 2010, 09:25 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Nov 24 2010, 08:07 PM)
can someone recommend book on how to read and company's financial statement and how to use the data to our own advantage and detecting if there is possible fraud in the statement
Try the art of short selling : http://www.amazon.com/Art-Short-Selling-Ma...k/dp/0471146323

Teaches you how to do fundamentally driven short selling, which basically talk about how to detect fraudulent or overvalued companies. If a stock is something that can be shorted, it also means that the stock is something that you should avoid.Not sure whether the book is still available though as it is quite old, but, it is certainly one of the best fundamental analysis book I have ever read.

Perhaps, a certain level of accounting knowledge is required to read this book. To get a sample of whether the book is too hard for you, listen to this short selling lecture by the author here : http://www.simoleonsense.com/video-on-the-...-short-selling/ . Don't forget to download the notes that goes with the lecture.

This post has been edited by the snowball: Nov 24 2010, 09:27 PM
flight
post Dec 1 2010, 02:38 AM

1,567 posts

Phil Town Rule No. 1.
It's the easiest to read, and it teaches the most. Too bad its on the us market though.

PS: The snowball on warren buffett is a rubbish book. Warren Buffett himself doesnt like the book. It's more like an interpretation of Warren Buffett, rather than an autobiography. The views in there are all subject to the author's discretion.

This post has been edited by flight: Dec 1 2010, 02:41 AM
the snowball
post Dec 1 2010, 03:01 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(flight @ Dec 1 2010, 02:38 AM)

PS: The snowball on warren buffett is a rubbish book. Warren Buffett himself doesnt like the book. It's more like an interpretation of Warren Buffett, rather than an autobiography. The views in there are all subject to the author's discretion.
I think Snowball is rather well-written. It shows us that Buffett isn't perfect. Even if Buffett writes the book, it is also about how Buffett views himself right? As in how he himself interpret himself. The book is less on investing side, but, it surely gives us a glimpse on what makes Buffett and most likely, why mere mortals like us may never be like him. I am looking forward to Alice second book on Buffett which she is currently working on.

But, still, opinions are quite divided on the book. I am on the like side....
Traveler
post Dec 1 2010, 10:09 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

What investments professionals read or have in their library:

Text & Reference books (technical nature, some very technical and advanced level):
1. Investments - Bodie, Kane & Marcus
2. Options, Futures and Other Derivatives - John Hull
3. The Handbook of Fixed Income Securities - Frank Fabozzi
4. Credit Derivatives - Satyajit Das

For reading:
1. Traders, Guns & Money - Satyajit Das
2. Liar's Poker - Michael Lewis (a classic)
3. The Big Short - Michael Lewis (the global financial crisis 2007-2008)
4. The Vandal's Crown - Gregory Millman (George Soros and how he made US$2 billion profit in one day and defeated the Bank of England, how Bank Negara lost billions in currency speculation, etc - this book was quoted by Dr M during the height of the Asian Financial Crisis)
5. Barbarians at the Gate: The Fall of RJR Nabisco - Bryan Burrough & John Helyar (the takeover battle for RJR Nabisco, a classic)
6. Too Big To Fail - Andrew Ross Sorkin (the global financial crisis 2007-2008)
7. Den of Thieves - James Stewart (insider trading on Wall Street)
8. The Predator's Ball: The Inside Story of Drexel Burnham and the Rise of the Junk Bond Raiders - Connie Bruck (how Michael Milken started out and became infamous in the junk bond market, and his downfall)
9. Hard Drive: Bill Gates and the Making of the Microsoft Empire - James Wallace & Jim Erickson (a bit old, but insightful story of the early years of Microsoft and how they built their dominance)
10. House of Cards - William Cohan (the collapse of Bear Stearns over 10 days in 2008)

For those interested in technology and how the PC started:
1. Fire in the Valley: The Making of The Personal Computer - Paul Freiberger & Michael Swaine (was made into a TV movie which focused on Steve Jobs and Bill Gates)
sulifeisgreat
post Dec 3 2010, 09:44 PM

1,121 posts

I not a fan of buffet & kinda bias biggrin.gif

The Timeless Wisdom Of Jesse Livermore

Whyis stock investing hard? Take a step back to think, and you realize that stock trading is the intersection of many realms of knowledge.
Business. The economy. Finance. Innovation and technology. Government policy. The market. And don’t forget psychology. The more an investor knows about each of these fields, the more likely he or she will excel in the task of buying and selling stocks properly.

In the field of psychology alone, you have multiple topics to ponder. The psychology of the herd is important. So is the psychology of the self.
Jesse Livermore, whose life spanned the 19th and 20th centuries, didn’t get a master’s degree in macro economics or a Ph.D. in cognitive
behavior. But his experience, hard work, failures and successes across many bull and bear cycles make him one of the most respected stock and futures traders of all time.

Livermore grew up poor in Massachusetts. He found his calling after discovering he had a knack for numbers and for seeing price trends.
Trading firms called “bucket shops” across the country kicked him out after he amassed profits despite stringent house rules in margin.
He eventually became a powerful buyer and short-seller on Wall Street. Tragically, a self-inflicted bullet ended Livermore’s life on Nov. 28,
1940. But his book “How to Trade in Stocks”remains a gem. As the following quotes from the first chapter “The Challenge of Speculation,”
show, he defined genius in trading psychology.

Why not let Livermore’s wisdom help you?.“Profits take care of themselves, but losses never do. The speculator has to insure himself against considerable losses by taking the first small loss.” Your insurance policy: Sell a stock if it falls 8% from your purchase price. No questions, no exceptions. Nobody will care if you sold at a loss. The market surely won’t.

“Successful speculation is anything but a mere guess. To be consistently successful, an investor or speculator must have rules to guide him.”

.“Speculators in stock markets have lost money. But I believe it is a safe statement that the money lost by speculation alone is small compared
with the gigantic sums lost by so-called investors who have let their investments ride. From my viewpoint, the investors are the big gamblers. They make a bet, stay with it, and if it goes wrong, they lose it all.”

Livermore offers a few examples. On April 28, 1902, New Haven & Hartford Railroad sold at $255 a share. On Jan. 2, 1940, it traded at
$0.50. Chicago Northwestern went from $240 in January 1906 to “5/16, which is about $0.31 per share” on Jan. 2, 1940. Nearly 70 years later, some of America’s biggest banks took similar paths.

“A few thoughts should be kept uppermost in mind. One is: Never sell a stock, because it seems high priced. You may watch the stock go
from 10 to 50 and decide it is selling at too high a level. That is the time to determine what is to prevent it from starting at 50 and going to 150
under favorable earning conditions and good corporate management.” In a three-year rally from 2004 to 2007, Google GOOG didn’t stop at
200, 300, 400, 500, 600 or 700.

“One other point: It is foolhardy to make a second trade, if your first trade shows you a loss. Never average losses. Let that thought be written
indelibly upon your mind.” “It may surprise many to know that in my method of trading, when I see by my records that an upward trend is in progress, I become a buyer as soon as a stock makes a new high on its movement, after having had a normal reaction. The same applies
whenever I take the short side. Why? Because I am following the trend at the time. My records signal me to go ahead!” Jesse Livermore, “How to Trade in Stocks”

QUOTE(moody5 @ Nov 24 2010, 12:23 PM)
Read the books by Jesse Livermore or related to him if you are interested to be a Trader.

Tittle:
Reminiscences of a Stock Operator
How To Trade In Stocks

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0233sec    1.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:58 AM