Unreal Tournament 3 Beta Demo, A New Way of Processor and GPU Benching?
TSbaok
Oct 18 2007, 08:09 PM, updated 19y ago
Everdying
Oct 18 2007, 08:13 PM
Two is One and One is None.
cool, my gfx card isnt even listed on there  but i'll be pretty dumb to play the game at 1600x1200 if any competitions.
TSbaok
Oct 18 2007, 08:15 PM
I just booked 7900GTO from albirri.. erm.. have to re-think now.. but takut kena accuse ffk  note that AMD X2 6400+ at 3.2GHz is not a match for E6550 at 2.33GHz so when Penryn is out, i dont know how much is the gap  err.. anyone want to sell thier X1950XTX This post has been edited by baok: Oct 18 2007, 08:21 PM
lee82gx
Oct 18 2007, 08:29 PM
take it with a pinch of salt...still beta demo. Does seem pretty right if u ask me, except hard to believe the 79xx series doing so poor.
If there ever was one, a Crysis beta benchmark will be even more confusing.
TSbaok
Oct 18 2007, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 18 2007, 08:29 PM) take it with a pinch of salt...still beta demo. Does seem pretty right if u ask me, except hard to believe the 79xx series doing so poor. If there ever was one, a Crysis beta benchmark will be even more confusing. yeah.. you're right.. i confuse a bit on 7900 performance.. so poor.. i'll wait for crysis benchies.. then i'll choose my next-gen card..
toughnut
Oct 19 2007, 07:39 AM
nvidia driver not yet optimized for UT3? cuz doesnt seem right, 2600xt beating 7900gtx and 8600gts? that sound new to me...
khaidani
Oct 19 2007, 03:46 PM
that was a lie..definitely a lie
8tvt
Oct 19 2007, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(baok @ Oct 18 2007, 08:15 PM) I just booked 7900GTO from albirri.. erm.. have to re-think now.. but takut kena accuse ffk  note that AMD X2 6400+ at 3.2GHz is not a match for E6550 at 2.33GHz so when Penryn is out, i dont know how much is the gap  err.. anyone want to sell thier X1950XTX  thanks for the first link.. as expected.. amd cpu is no more better for next gaming experience.. sicked waiting for phenom.. better switch to darkside oc kaw² or wait for penryn..
linkinstreet
Oct 19 2007, 05:02 PM
Red Bull Addict
This depends on what the software optimised really. I do feel that some game prefer ATi while others will be better on nvidia. that's why game mag usually use multiple games to benchmark Graphic Cards
t3chn0m4nc3r
Oct 19 2007, 05:23 PM
UT is always nVidia optimized...  since UT2k4... and this shows how bad AMD is compared to Intel... and the AMD fanboys juz dunno when to give up...
lee82gx
Oct 19 2007, 07:19 PM
only in low-res is the game CPU-bound, that is because in low-res, your GPU is under lower load, and can handle ALL the data your CPU is feeding it. In such a case, the more your CPU can feed the more FPS you get. In hi-res, the situation is reversed. If Anandtech dare to do a CPU comparison at 1600x1200, you will not see such a difference.
intothefantasy
Oct 19 2007, 07:28 PM
ultra win gtx with differents of 0.7 wow....
n305er
Oct 19 2007, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Oct 19 2007, 05:23 PM) UT is always nVidia optimized...  since UT2k4... and this shows how bad AMD is compared to Intel... and the AMD fanboys juz dunno when to give up...  Any game with the label "The way it's meant to be played" would prefer Nvidia since they uses more of Nvidia's tools and test labs.
Hornet
Oct 19 2007, 07:44 PM
Not surprising for the CPU benchmark result...
X.E.D
Oct 19 2007, 08:06 PM
Sidenote: UT 3 also has *another* video ad. Besides nVidia, there's a Core 2 Xtreme ad too. Ahem?
Still, the 7900 is pretty weak compared to the X1900 series from the start. Shader power was lacking, it can't do HDR+AA, and it's quite hot (GTX). Plays all Unreal 3 games lousier than an 2600XT = the new lawlz.
ben_panced
Oct 19 2007, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 19 2007, 08:06 PM) Sidenote: UT 3 also has *another* video ad. Besides nVidia, there's a Core 2 Xtreme ad too. Ahem? face it, the core microarchitecture is better than k8 QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 19 2007, 08:06 PM) Still, the 7900 is pretty weak compared to the X1900 series from the start. Shader power was lacking, it can't do HDR+AA, and it's quite hot (GTX). yup that's true, the x19 series definitely is the most powerful last gen gpu in terms of shader, but i dun agree with ur statement about the gtx temp being hotter than x1900xt and yes x1950pro is cool, but xt is another story... my previous x1950xt can heat up my room and every gaming session turns into sauna session as well
TSbaok
Oct 20 2007, 04:14 AM
QUOTE(khaidani @ Oct 19 2007, 03:46 PM) that was a lie..definitely a lie  err.. what do u mean by that??  Added on October 20, 2007, 4:16 amQUOTE(ben_panced @ Oct 19 2007, 09:34 PM) face it, the core microarchitecture is better than k8 yup that's true, the x19 series definitely is the most powerful last gen gpu in terms of shader, but i dun agree with ur statement about the gtx temp being hotter than x1900xt and yes x1950pro is cool, but xt is another story... my previous x1950xt can heat up my room and every gaming session turns into sauna session as well   i know 7900GTX is cooler than X1900XTX, but turn your room into sauna?? This post has been edited by baok: Oct 20 2007, 04:16 AM
choyster
Oct 20 2007, 04:30 AM
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Oct 19 2007, 09:34 PM) face it, the core microarchitecture is better than k8 yup that's true, the x19 series definitely is the most powerful last gen gpu in terms of shader, but i dun agree with ur statement about the gtx temp being hotter than x1900xt and yes x1950pro is cool, but xt is another story... my previous x1950xt can heat up my room and every gaming session turns into sauna session as well  got or not
ben_panced
Oct 20 2007, 05:17 AM
QUOTE(baok @ Oct 20 2007, 04:14 AM) yup, my room is small and dun have enuff airflow, so when my is in 1950xt full load, hot air coming out from the exhaust can heat up my room until about 38-40c  but, luckily i dun have this prob with my 8800gts
khaidani
Oct 20 2007, 08:27 AM
ok wat..u r like having a free spa..hehe anyway..i see that almost all unreal games are friendly with every gc available in market,from low end to high end..with playable framerate.. I remember last time i play unreal 2004 smoothly with geforce 2 reso 800*600,everything is low setting but still got some beautiful effect such as water reflection n etc.. so I do think this upcoming unreal also will be doing the same way..good thing to all unreal fan(no matter rich or poor  ) This post has been edited by khaidani: Oct 20 2007, 08:28 AM