Unreal Tournament 3 Beta Demo, A New Way of Processor and GPU Benching?

TSbaok
post Oct 18 2007, 08:09 PM, updated 19y ago

737 posts

source 1

Source 2

from both anandtech reviews.. Unreal Tournament 3 Beta Demo seems to refining the benchmark of both cpu and GPU..

I'm more impressed on GPU performance on this games as the x1950pro and X2600XT spanking 7900GTX for good!! and the cheaper 2600XT is on par with the more expensive 8600GTS sweat.gif

erm.. i'll coose my vga card very carefully after reading this smile.gif

This post has been edited by baok: Oct 18 2007, 08:14 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Everdying
post Oct 18 2007, 08:13 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

cool, my gfx card isnt even listed on there tongue.gif
but i'll be pretty dumb to play the game at 1600x1200 if any competitions.
TSbaok
post Oct 18 2007, 08:15 PM

737 posts

I just booked 7900GTO from albirri.. erm.. have to re-think now.. but takut kena accuse ffk tongue.gif

note that AMD X2 6400+ at 3.2GHz is not a match for E6550 at 2.33GHz shocking.gif

so when Penryn is out, i dont know how much is the gap sweat.gif

err.. anyone want to sell thier X1950XTX brows.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by baok: Oct 18 2007, 08:21 PM
lee82gx
post Oct 18 2007, 08:29 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

take it with a pinch of salt...still beta demo.
Does seem pretty right if u ask me, except hard to believe the 79xx series doing so poor.

If there ever was one, a Crysis beta benchmark will be even more confusing.
TSbaok
post Oct 18 2007, 11:03 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 18 2007, 08:29 PM)
take it with a pinch of salt...still beta demo.
Does seem pretty right if u ask me, except hard to believe the 79xx series doing so poor.

If there ever was one, a Crysis beta benchmark will be even more confusing.
yeah.. you're right.. i confuse a bit on 7900 performance.. so poor..

i'll wait for crysis benchies.. then i'll choose my next-gen card.. thumbup.gif
toughnut
post Oct 19 2007, 07:39 AM

3,239 posts

nvidia driver not yet optimized for UT3? cuz doesnt seem right, 2600xt beating 7900gtx and 8600gts? that sound new to me...
khaidani
post Oct 19 2007, 03:46 PM

385 posts

that was a lie..definitely a lie tongue.gif
8tvt
post Oct 19 2007, 04:58 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Oct 18 2007, 08:15 PM)
I just booked 7900GTO from albirri.. erm.. have to re-think now.. but takut kena accuse ffk tongue.gif

note that AMD X2 6400+ at 3.2GHz is not a match for E6550 at 2.33GHz shocking.gif

so when Penryn is out, i dont know how much is the gap sweat.gif

err.. anyone want to sell thier X1950XTX brows.gif icon_idea.gif
thanks for the first link..
as expected.. amd cpu is no more better for next gaming experience..
sicked waiting for phenom.. better switch to darkside oc kaw² or wait for penryn.. whistling.gif
linkinstreet
post Oct 19 2007, 05:02 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

This depends on what the software optimised really. I do feel that some game prefer ATi while others will be better on nvidia. that's why game mag usually use multiple games to benchmark Graphic Cards
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Oct 19 2007, 05:23 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

UT is always nVidia optimized... sad.gif since UT2k4...
and this shows how bad AMD is compared to Intel... and the AMD fanboys juz dunno when to give up... shakehead.gif
lee82gx
post Oct 19 2007, 07:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

only in low-res is the game CPU-bound, that is because in low-res, your GPU is under lower load, and can handle ALL the data your CPU is feeding it. In such a case, the more your CPU can feed the more FPS you get. In hi-res, the situation is reversed. If Anandtech dare to do a CPU comparison at 1600x1200, you will not see such a difference.

intothefantasy
post Oct 19 2007, 07:28 PM

1,561 posts

ultra win gtx with differents of 0.7 wow....
n305er
post Oct 19 2007, 07:37 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Oct 19 2007, 05:23 PM)
UT is always nVidia optimized... sad.gif  since UT2k4...
and this shows how bad AMD is compared to Intel... and the AMD fanboys juz dunno when to give up... shakehead.gif
Any game with the label "The way it's meant to be played" would prefer Nvidia since they uses more of Nvidia's tools and test labs.
Hornet
post Oct 19 2007, 07:44 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Not surprising for the CPU benchmark result...
X.E.D
post Oct 19 2007, 08:06 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Sidenote: UT 3 also has *another* video ad. Besides nVidia, there's a Core 2 Xtreme ad too. Ahem?

Still, the 7900 is pretty weak compared to the X1900 series from the start. Shader power was lacking, it can't do HDR+AA, and it's quite hot (GTX). Plays all Unreal 3 games lousier than an 2600XT = the new lawlz.
ben_panced
post Oct 19 2007, 09:34 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 19 2007, 08:06 PM)
Sidenote: UT 3 also has *another* video ad. Besides nVidia, there's a Core 2 Xtreme ad too. Ahem?
face it, the core microarchitecture is better than k8

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 19 2007, 08:06 PM)
Still, the 7900 is pretty weak compared to the X1900 series from the start. Shader power was lacking, it can't do HDR+AA, and it's quite hot (GTX).
yup that's true, the x19 series definitely is the most powerful last gen gpu in terms of shader, but i dun agree with ur statement about the gtx temp being hotter than x1900xt and yes x1950pro is cool, but xt is another story... my previous x1950xt can heat up my room and every gaming session turns into sauna session as well tongue.gif
TSbaok
post Oct 20 2007, 04:14 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(khaidani @ Oct 19 2007, 03:46 PM)
that was a lie..definitely a lie tongue.gif
err.. what do u mean by that?? hmm.gif

Added on October 20, 2007, 4:16 am
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Oct 19 2007, 09:34 PM)
yup that's true, the x19 series definitely is the most powerful last gen gpu in terms of shader, but i dun agree with ur statement about the gtx temp being hotter than x1900xt and yes x1950pro is cool, but xt is another story... my previous x1950xt can heat up my room and every gaming session turns into sauna session as well tongue.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif i know 7900GTX is cooler than X1900XTX, but turn your room into sauna?? shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by baok: Oct 20 2007, 04:16 AM
choyster
post Oct 20 2007, 04:30 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Oct 19 2007, 09:34 PM)
got or not
ben_panced
post Oct 20 2007, 05:17 AM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

sweat.gif
QUOTE(baok @ Oct 20 2007, 04:14 AM)
err.. what do u mean by that??  hmm.gif

Added on October 20, 2007, 4:16 am
shocking.gif  shocking.gif i know 7900GTX is cooler than X1900XTX, but turn your room into sauna??  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
yup, my room is small and dun have enuff airflow, so when my is in 1950xt full load, hot air coming out from the exhaust can heat up my room until about
38-40c sweat.gif but, luckily i dun have this prob with my 8800gts rclxms.gif

khaidani
post Oct 20 2007, 08:27 AM

385 posts

ok wat..u r like having a free spa..hehe

anyway..i see that almost all unreal games are friendly with every gc available in market,from low end to high end..with playable framerate..

I remember last time i play unreal 2004 smoothly with geforce 2 reso 800*600,everything is low setting but still got some beautiful effect such as water reflection n etc..

so I do think this upcoming unreal also will be doing the same way..good thing to all unreal fan(no matter rich or poor tongue.gif) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by khaidani: Oct 20 2007, 08:28 AM

0.0210sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:48 PM