Steering Rack Lifespan and Failure Experiences

ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 05:54 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(OrangeGrove @ May 31 2023, 01:23 PM)
I would think that Toyota very unlikely to put in a detune 1.6 turbo in to their regular Corolla. The 1.6 G16E-GTS in the Yaris and Corolla is pure hardcore, built for rally specification and they are more of halo cars to boost their company's image.
The new 2L NA M20A-FKS Dynamic Force is good enough for 170hp for regular Corolla, but of course not so much as an enthusiast car.

The way Toyota build their engine line up is either very hardcore or very regular everyday use engine but nothing in between. I guess that is where Subaru and BMW come in to fill the gap. The Lexus IS350, RC350 with the 2GR come close as enthusiast cars but that is a different segment.

Toyota next best bet is the new 2.4 turbo T24A which is a much improved from the previous 2L Turbo 8AR which is pretty lazy..

Interesting time..
cannot expect anything advanced or new from UMW bread and butter models lah

UMW understands our market well, the reason people buy Toyota within the price range is for - Comfort, Reliability and RV, that's it, everything else is optional

and people who mostly buy those models (eg: Vios, Corolla) tend to service their cars outside once the warranty period is over, the dinosaur 1.5L and 1.8L NA engines are perfect for this case since almost every ah beng workshop under the tree is familiar with it

that being said, putting aside powertrain. UMW Toyota models nowadays are actually pretty well spec'ed especially when it comes to safety. I still prefer Toyota Safety Sense compared to Honda Sensing or Mazda iActive Sense. And for some reason Honda in SEA market is still keeping Lanewatch instead of regular BSM + RCTA like other markets.

my only gripe with UMW is their OEM infotainment and the way they integrate it into the dashboard aka CRT TV

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 31 2023, 06:04 PM
ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 06:22 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2023, 01:24 PM)
Yeap, engine and power wise, uncontested. Unchallenged means they can be complacent.

Bad for consumers.
the only brands that could give Honda a run for the money when it comes to engine power is VW, Hyundai/Kia, and any China brands using 1.6T. Toyota and Mazda don't have any small capacity turbo engines iinm

VW gave up with their locally assembled Golf R line. Same case for Hyundai and Kia, I blame the market and our exchange rate

that left us with only the upcoming China brands but I don't see people who could afford a Honda would consider any China brand. And their engine refinement leaves a lot to be desired still, when all China brands are focused on EVs now

in the end Honda will continue to reign in the C segment sedan market until its slowly consumed by SUV/crossovers

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 31 2023, 06:25 PM
ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 06:43 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2023, 06:34 PM)
No also.
Because their pricing and segments will be higher/different.

And if you go higher, there's the RS Hybrid which is pretty damn powerful and also the type R. (Too bad they didn't have the in between Sportier models like the manual hatchback and Si)

The main advantage for Honda in Malaysia is CKD.
VW had a good chance when they CKD the Golf 1.4 TSI

but they end up screwing the pricing and specs anyway

ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 07:17 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ May 31 2023, 06:55 PM)
The Golf 1.4 TSI EA211 is tuned differently from Jetta 1.4 TSI Twincharged EA111.

Less fun, not going to give Civic any pressure.
but I've heard the fuel economy on that is kinda insane. Almost hybrid levels if you just drive it casually
ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 07:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2023, 07:32 PM)
And so is the Civic 1.5T.
what's your real world average fuel economy in Kl traffic? 1 full tank can go how many KMs?

I'm still contemplating between Civic and Corolla Cross now
ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 08:10 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ May 31 2023, 08:04 PM)
Haven't you scare the hell out of SA during test drive?
ESP flashes? TC restrict the engine power corner exist?

No, then you are different group of consumers.

True FC, RV buyers will consider the Golf TSI and Civic, Corolla etc.
Enthusiastic buyer without 200k+ budget is forced to consider only Civic, dreaming to own Golf GTi or the likes one day.

Civic seems to sit between the sweet spot of value buy and passion buy.
For me now I just want something comfortable, practical, and handles decently with good fuel economy

Driving like an enthuasiast now scares me with the amount of cars and crazy motorcyclist on the roads. And its not like i visit Genting or Ulu Yam every weekends

Hence it's down to the Civic and Corolla Cross (hybrid) for me. If this is me in my single years I would've gone for Civic without a doubt, but with a family now the Corolla Cross is starting to tick the boxes

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 31 2023, 08:10 PM)
In traffic (mostly Melaka, a lot of full stops and traffic lights, in a way worse than KL ) 10-11KM/L
If no regards to FC then between 9-10

If smoother traffic or highways, you can have it to up between 15-22KM/L.
yes that's hybrid level of FC.

Please use KM/L or L/100km instead of the archaic full tank ya lol.
The above figures can mean between 350 to 600+ km in a tank, huge difference oh.
Got it. The traffic figure is what I'm concerned about mostly since I spend most of my time in KL anyways

Traffic is really crazy now even during weekends after MCO

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 31 2023, 08:15 PM
ZeneticX
post May 31 2023, 08:34 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ May 31 2023, 08:26 PM)
Top up more info. It is common to have high deviation FC for turbo, depends on how one drive.

My 2.0T PHEV mileage too can range from 250km-850km. FC from 20km/l combined usage to pity 5km/l if drive like maniac.

1.5L with 2 bar boost = squueze 3L of atmospheric air into 1.5L volume. O2 is same a 3L car, fuel is scale accordingly.

Turbo is very fuel efficient for low load, small throttle where the boost pressure is just enough to breakeven the pumping vacuum during intake stroke.

New 5th gen Prius Prime PHEV seems like a very good package, but gotta be expensive.

Corolla Cross has exact same power unit in some countries.
its gonna be enough for me if UMW would even bring in the normal HEV variant

2.0T PHEV? is that a 330e?

0.0223sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:29 AM