AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V3), Phenom... Here AMD goes

cyberloner
post Dec 6 2007, 11:48 PM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 6 2007, 11:39 PM)
I heard thats its useless to use AM2 Proc on an AM2+ motherboard in terms of over clocking.Is it true?? hmm.gif

Hard to find out. sweat.gif
who say so...
now is the overclocking era........ =P
cyberloner
post Dec 6 2007, 11:52 PM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 6 2007, 11:51 PM)
Well,all we need to do is sit back and relax,dont forget to fasten the seat belt. tongue.gif

Hope some will use this mobo and show us the performance. thumbup.gif
i'll show when i have AX78 in hand =P
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 12:04 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 6 2007, 11:59 PM)
Wow,new mobo from ABIT.Its 770.Well,whats the different between 770 and 790FX..?

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:01 am

The price for the mobo is  thumbup.gif
Hope the price for Sli board is sama as that. laugh.gif
http://www.amd.com/us-en/0,,3715_15337_15354_15358,00.html

cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 12:11 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 12:07 AM)
Seems that most of the 7 series chipset are Xfire rite? hmm.gif
Is there any Sli board for phenom that has been released in the market now?
i dun think so... chip also not out yet or won't be out....
how board coming out?
the feature i really wanna use is HyperTransport(tm) 3.0 Technology
-.-

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 7 2007, 12:13 AM
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 12:21 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 12:17 AM)
Hopefully It will out in the market sooner or later. icon_rolleyes.gif

What about todays games and applications,they dont really need quad-core to work it out rite?
future all software is fully multitasking and want more more cpu...........
all programmer is making software that support more more core....
even the codec encoding got support for it now and can see the quad core is doing better than dual core... save half of the time dual core task...
only not now... a lot games still use one core only...
so slow quad core doesn't even help in gaming yet....

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:23 am
QUOTE(ongbs @ Dec 7 2007, 12:21 AM)
orthos/prime really stress mobo especially PWM....and PSU
normally i won't prime it for 24hrs.

Just choose the hottest environment temp and prime for 2hrs.
2 hours doesn't really hot yet... need at least 5 6 hours then u see the temp stable at one temp .... hehe

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 7 2007, 12:23 AM
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 12:39 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 12:37 AM)
Then whats is the perfect hour to run orthos? 2,4,6,8, or 24 hours?
Any effect if run longer?
for me is 24 hours enough liao... pc for using not prime.. hehe
actually if u can more prime long time... u can increase the cpu overclock ability more higher....
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 01:16 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 12:47 AM)
I want to run 24 hours prime,but now im running 1.49v Vcore and 2.35V Vdimm.

Is it safe? With temporary Coolermaster Gemini 2. sweat.gif
using fan with that vcore sure bomb the cpu
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 02:04 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 7 2007, 01:48 AM)
bro cyberloner,

Is it safe to stress cpu with 1.36V for 24 hours? Is it true that if u prime ur cpu for quite period of time improves its overclockability? U have any sources on these matters?
true or not... in lowyat got someone cpu can clock to 3ghz before that only 2700....
forgot what nick in here... but he is still overclocking.......

ahh sempronic
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11329748
ask him u know

prime depent see your cpu temp on load only... any vcore doesn't matter....

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 7 2007, 02:05 AM
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 02:09 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 02:05 AM)
Bro,i think its ok you run prime 24 hours with 1.36,ive tested it with my old F2.More than 1.36V im not sure.
duh my F2 to get stable at 2700mhz is using 1.650 Vcore =P
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 02:27 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 02:17 AM)
1.650V with air cooling? great  thumbup.gif

Hope that F3 can do the same thing. biggrin.gif
nope F3 is hotter than F2 when increasing the vcore......damn dunno how is my electric bill this month.... keep torture for almost 1 week and still torture...
found out amd doesn't that slow for video encoding at all

http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2873

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 7 2007, 02:58 AM
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 03:47 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(StarNet @ Dec 7 2007, 03:16 AM)
any Abit AN52S overclockers here ??? is this board perform well in o/c ?
Cheap and overclockable board... EZ cmos is the one i like about this board....
sold a lot in my office and return less... GOOD board!
want better direct go AN9 32X guarantee satisfied
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 09:37 PM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(tapirus @ Dec 7 2007, 03:17 PM)
how small it is??i still can see...

NVM..i upload again..
yea great clock..... prime 24 hours see ... lol
cyberloner
post Dec 7 2007, 10:27 PM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Dec 7 2007, 09:00 PM)
HAhahhaa well said bro.......I will not gamble my hardware for orthos 24h...my system is Stabil.No issue what so ever..
But who use Prime anymore nowdays?? blink.gif
Old program single threaded...Orthos or OCCT is better...
prime is doing the better calc...
latest prime support quad core....
http://mersennewiki.org/index.php/GIMPS_clients
cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 12:03 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Dec 7 2007, 11:52 PM)

My 1st time OC  sweat.gif

After 26 Hour Orthos  biggrin.gif

OK ka??  hmm.gif
Perfect overclocking ... salute =)
cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 01:26 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(extreem @ Dec 8 2007, 01:19 AM)
dont worry lo...
vdimm2,2 is normal lo 4 high performance ram...
my TEAM ELITE using 2.1 vdimm 700mhz n 4-4-4-12
stable lo...
just make suke u get the correct voltage 4 ur part...

Added on December 8, 2007, 1:20 ambrisbane is more heat than windsor...so windsor more cooler than brisbane...just found out the right cooler 4 them...
like me..i just use evercool buffalo heatpipe n thermal take fan with it...
more efficient n some more cool
that is totally wrong... 90nm cpu is hot than 65nm cpu....
even 90nm cpu is using more power than 65nm cpu.....
please dun simply use the default temp and compare...
use your real finger touch... go touch the heatsink..... with same vcore......
brisbane is known as the safe electric cpu.....

Added on December 8, 2007, 1:26 am
QUOTE(extreem @ Dec 8 2007, 01:24 AM)
u all got f3 lo...
very syok ma ...
can oc kaw kaw...
like me just G1...waa...vry hard to oc...
need more vcore to oc higher...
and G1 not stable when reach 3ghz...
wanna buy my brisbane? 3600+ can go 3ghz =X

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 8 2007, 01:26 AM
cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 01:39 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(extreem @ Dec 8 2007, 01:30 AM)
that right...
the fact is brisbane is hotter than windsy...
soo dissapointed that X2 3800 oc can beat X2 4000 oc...
vry dissappointed winth X2 4000

Added on December 8, 2007, 1:31 ami try to hit fsb 300 but cant..why?
reach cpu limit...
cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 01:57 AM

1,560 posts

Handpicked brisbane 3600+ =P for sales

cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 02:09 AM

1,560 posts

QUOTE(dreaming @ Dec 8 2007, 02:06 AM)
Hi guy,

here is my oc testing on the windsor F3 bought from dblooi.

Spec:
Proc: AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ Windsor F3
Cooler: TTBTVX + SS FM121
Mobo: Biostar TA690G
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Tracer 667Mhz 2GB Kit
HD: Seagate 250GB SATAII HD
PSU: CoolerMaster Extreme Power 430W

Summary on my oc test:
[attachmentid=355594]

note: I'm using RAM frequency @ 533Mhz (set in bios) after found there is not much different between 750Mhz and 1000Mhz.

3000Mhz, 3-3-3-8, 750Mhz, SuperPI 1M --> 28.766s
[attachmentid=355576]

3000Mhz, 4-4-4-12, 1000Mhz, SuperPI 1M --> 28.203s
[attachmentid=355577]

3000Mhz, 3-3-3-8, 750Mhz, 3DMark06 CPU Score --> 2241
[attachmentid=355579]

3000Mhz, 4-4-4-12, 1000Mhz, 3DMark06 CPU Score --> 2263
[attachmentid=355580]

Referring to above screen shots, 1000Mhz of ram frequency give me 0.563s (28.766s-28.203s) faster than 750Mhz, and 22points (2263 points - 2241 points) in 3DMark06 CPU score... I don't know what's the SIGNIFICANT performance gain for 24/7 usage...  sweat.gif

Already tweaking for around 1 week, don't know how much will cost for next electricity bill...  sweat.gif
According to my testing, i need 1.552v to make this f3 stable to finish occt and dual superPI 32M @ 3400Mhz, temperature was reached 55 degree celscius, dare not to prime it...  sweat.gif

for 3500Mhz, i need to add the vcore to +0.50v, cpuz show 1.632v  rclxub.gif to boot into window. Only dare to run superPI 1M and screen shot it, not eyes see the temperature  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

I was tired playing with it ready and decided to set the proc and ram speed at 3000Mhz and 750Mhz for daily use. I don't want to stress too much on it coz i'm planning to use this setup for long time. Temperature was around 36 degree Celsius when running occt and dual superPi 32m with TTBTVX. Will prime it for at least > 8 hours when i'm free to make sure it is stable for daily use.  blush.gif

To TS: -pWs-,
Please add me into windsor F3 user list for:
AMD X2 3800+ Windsor F3 | dreaming | Biostar TA690G | Crucial Ballistix Tracer 667Mhz 2GB Kit | Thermaltake Big Typhoon

Screen shots for dual SuperPI 32M + cpuz, 3400Mhz, 4-4-4-12, 850Mhz
[attachmentid=355583]

Again, many thanks to dblooi for bringing this TOY to us icon_rolleyes.gif
tested prime?

cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 02:38 AM

1,560 posts

by my exp... OCCT doesn't test the cpu well...
my oc at 3.4 OCCT stable 15 hours without fail...
prime... 13 hours fail... 1 hours fail... 3 hours fail...
maybe my ram is causing trouble... drop down timing and prime again

make me crazy =X
for normal use is ok at 3.4 .. i just want prime success... sigh...

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 8 2007, 03:52 AM

cyberloner
post Dec 8 2007, 05:25 AM

1,560 posts

i do use my system for 24 hours...
i never shut down my pc ... =P
for actually using prime 1 2 hours is consider perfect for gaming actually... but not for me
own overclocking have its own need...
i want a stable clock that's all for my overclocking exp since athlon in socket 7
failure in prime will means something will crash for sure....... i dun want that happen.....

why i keep asking ppl can prime 24 hours?
not i want to show off mine...
i want compare the highest stable clock it can go... and no one here do that... so maybe i will go alone ....
if can go higher... i will use it 24 hours one =P

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Dec 8 2007, 05:43 AM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0393sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:10 PM