5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Chat Reliability of hybrid cars?

terradrive
post May 21 2023, 07:54 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

the only problem for hybrid is probably you need to pray after 10-12 years the wiring is good and don't cause problems that needs replacement, it is expensive iinm

but ktards probably want to change cars after this long anyways
Gen000
post May 21 2023, 08:00 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ May 21 2023, 07:49 PM)
i heard,.. hybrid cannot jump start the car like normal car,.. it'll fried the electronics,.. izit true ??
for toyota, there is a point for u to jump start

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 21 2023, 07:52 PM)
Why hybrid need to be jumpstart?

The 400v battery behind there replace ur typical 12v
The 12v battery is to power lights, speaker, the display system etc

And theres no alternator ady yo, cuz ur hybrid motor is the alternator
urs not toyota?

SUStatabun
post May 21 2023, 08:04 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 21 2023, 08:36 PM)
I still own Jazz Hybrid CBU 2012, 135k mileage. Normal service like any normal non hybrid car. Need a set of tyre when due, new absorber after 10 years of use, on 3rd 12v battery after nearly 12 years of use.  :thumbsup:  A lot less fuel 8,600 litre of fuels for 135,000km travelled.

Hybrid related problem near zero, just last month had to change the hybrid battery cooling fan. RM1k. That's it.  thumbup.gif  That's the only issue after 11++ years of use.

No regret because at that time (2012, RM100k price tag) this car came with 8 air bags, auto headlight, auto wiper, auto cruise, hill assist, climate control AC and many more extras while other car at that time - comes with virtually nothing extra. :thumbsup:
QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 21 2023, 08:42 PM)
I am using honda city hybrid idcd for 5 years now.
So far so good. No problem on hybrid system.
FC very good, average 21km/l in town driving.
Max range can go ~750-900km per full refuel. I only need isi minyak ONCE every 3 weeks.

Roadtax follow those normal petrol car. Yearly rm90 since it is a 1500cc car.

Money saved from needing to frequent refueling is kept in various investment drivers eg asb, th, Money market funds, etc.

Let the dividends compound yearly. Later that money can be used to replace hybrid battery after 9-11 years of ownership should it breakdown

Hybrid > all
Honda > al
from 2 real time users 🫡

Nareen
post May 21 2023, 08:05 PM

73 posts

toyata/honda is the king of hybrid system.... The Car Care Nut youtuber made a vid their reliability...
latte36
post May 21 2023, 08:11 PM

Lejen
2,748 posts

On a 10 year old prius c.

No issues with engine gearbox etc. Only absorber sudah soft but can replace.

The hybrid battery changed once when it was 7+ years. Right on the dot for warranty (warranty is 8). Didn't pay a cent.

Totally awesome car.
munak991
post May 21 2023, 08:13 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Gen000 @ May 21 2023, 08:00 PM)
for toyota, there is a point for u to jump start
urs not toyota?

Hmmmmmmmmm... Maybe it's the 400v battery drained nope haven't fully read the user manual
SUSCincai lar
post May 21 2023, 08:25 PM

113 posts

few years ago,.. saw someone cannot start prius,.. so said why not jump start,.. i got wire,.. he said hybrid cannot jump start,.. so called for car tow,..
Gen000
post May 21 2023, 08:27 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ May 21 2023, 08:25 PM)
few years ago,.. saw someone cannot start prius,.. so said why not jump start,..  i got wire,.. he said hybrid cannot jump start,.. so called for car tow,..
that stupid concept should be end here ...
vexus
post May 21 2023, 08:29 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

rm8k for battery replacement within 5yr to 8yr.

If 1 month you saving rm150 on petrol about 5 year = rm9k+ or more
incubus_skj

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

Driving Volvo S90 no problem free maintenance for 5 years, battery warranty 8 years

Is after the 8 years that you scared of. Resale jatuh longkang and battery replacement rm50k
dev/numb

691 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 21 2023, 07:26 PM)
the only hybrid that i'm interested is Prius, but UMW don't sell this anymore.
My aunty had a Prius for around 6yrs. In terms of reliability of hybrid and mechanical components, flawless. But one BIG downside is that they’re very low cars (aerodynamic efficiency for maximum range), and you end up scraping a lot of bumps if driven like a regular family sedan. Spec wise, the new Prius (according to US spec sheet) has even lower ride height then previous generations, so even worse. If it’s loaded with 4 people, you’ll be taking speed bumps so slow that cars behind you will start getting angry.
AthrunIJ
post May 21 2023, 08:32 PM

2,993 posts

OK je.

5 years Honda Jazz IDCD. No issue.

Standard maintenence

TSMegaCanonF
post May 21 2023, 08:42 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ May 21 2023, 07:48 PM)
Toyota or Honda hybrid no need think bro. Just buy no ragrets

8 years warranty. After that if need to change battery also around 6k i think
As usual, top up sikit buy Honda Civic RS ehev terus
That is what i worry the most. 8 yr point. Battery need to change. How costly is it n how is the resale value later.

But yea the eHEV really tempting. My fren got use hatchback RS he say can get 27km/l , for me its really impressive.

Given the fact that the oil subsidy may be revised in the future.. seems its not bad to invest in a hybrid car if given a chance.

Tempted for civic as well but the new gen civic is damn ugly (inside) , why honda cut corners liao that speedometer back to manual, really turn off. Maybe got some deals on 2nd hand civic ketam but i'm not rushing to buy now.
sparketh
post May 21 2023, 08:52 PM

233 posts

Prius the hybrid battery usually last about 130k to 150k km. inverter system last about 400k km. abs pump also has issues that Toyota Malaysia has no plans in addressing even though there is a recall in the US.
OldSchoolJoke
post May 21 2023, 08:58 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ May 21 2023, 08:29 PM)
Driving Volvo S90 no problem free maintenance for 5 years, battery warranty 8 years

Is after the 8 years that you scared of. Resale jatuh longkang and battery replacement rm50k
friend had a A6 hybrid,
battery kong, Audi quote RM70k to replace new
put aside for few years before replace with new.
pgsiemkia
post May 21 2023, 09:17 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ May 21 2023, 01:08 PM)
Anyone using hybrid cars? Like the Honda RS line .? Will the maintenance cost a bomb in the future? Any thoughts or regrets?

Thinking of getting one but not sure is it worth it to add another 20k+ for the RS (in this case the city)
I’m still using Honda Crz, haven’t changed batteries yet, no difference in battery life still see 5 bars. Power in Sport mode still fast. Dun believe every non-owner who give nonsense facts. Honda and Toyota hybrids have leas or jon existent problems. Bmw and Merc different story, buy expensive and later more expensive upkeep.

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: May 22 2023, 10:43 AM
cempedaklife
post May 21 2023, 09:29 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 21 2023, 07:42 PM)
I am using honda city hybrid idcd for 5 years now.
So far so good. No problem on hybrid system.
FC very good, average 21km/l in town driving.
Max range can go ~750-900km per full refuel. I only need isi minyak ONCE every 3 weeks.

Roadtax follow those normal petrol car. Yearly rm90 since it is a 1500cc car.

Money saved from needing to frequent refueling is kept in various investment drivers eg asb, th, Money market funds, etc.

Let the dividends compound yearly. Later that money can be used to replace hybrid battery after 9-11 years of ownership should it breakdown

Hybrid > all
Honda > al
You forgot the initial outlay of the extra 20k, which you could have put in investment from the very beginning, if you want to calculate this way. Lol
awol
post May 21 2023, 09:32 PM

916 posts

My hybrid 5 years free service.
Change all 4 tyres primacy 4 only.
imperialrealcs
post May 21 2023, 10:35 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

i know city hybrid gm6 need to jump start because it uses 12V battery as well to start the car. the hybrid battery is to power the car component like electric motor, aircond compressor etc.

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ May 21 2023, 08:25 PM)
few years ago,.. saw someone cannot start prius,.. so said why not jump start,..  i got wire,.. he said hybrid cannot jump start,.. so called for car tow,..
i remember doing research before last time and at least i can confirm prius c can jump start. i was considering prius c or city hybrid last time
fantasy1989
post May 21 2023, 10:37 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ May 21 2023, 01:32 PM)
Road tax for hybrid any revision from gov?
atleast till today no plan yet

but EV yes

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0209sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:16 AM