Individual Title landed vs strata title landed, What is your preference?

TSPAChamp
post May 16 2023, 12:46 PM, updated 3y ago

1,159 posts

Hey folks, if you have a choice, which type of property would choose and why? There are pros and cons for each.
post May 16 2023, 12:51 PM

559 posts

strata title landed for peace of mind.
neighbor issue is too complicated sometime to be handle...
i will have eyesore if neighbor want to renovate to some acquired taste design..

but like you said, pro and cons for both.

Aaron212
post May 16 2023, 01:17 PM

1,773 posts

Individual freehold

All unit looking the same is so boring

Got extra money wanna extend out or do a balcony also cannot

Buy with so much money but cant do shit to ur exterior

Saying going for strate solve ur neighbour problem that is just unlucky

Even strate also got neighbour problems 1

When u old n pokai no pay security fees also no issues

But for strata need pay until enter coffin
mingyew
post May 16 2023, 01:33 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ May 16 2023, 12:51 PM)
strata title landed for peace of mind.
neighbor issue is too complicated sometime to be handle...
i will have eyesore if neighbor want to renovate to some acquired taste design..

but like you said, pro and cons for both.
Neighbour issue is worse at strata landed...
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 16 2023, 01:52 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

strata title having all same facade houses, and better maintenance landscape.

Anyway, the neighbor issue still exists in strata titles. It's just that strata titles are newer, so the house prices are much higher compared to 30-year-old individual landed properties. Therefore, the buyers may belong to a more richer group and civilized.

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: May 16 2023, 01:52 PM
post May 16 2023, 02:16 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ May 16 2023, 01:33 PM)
Neighbour issue is worse at strata landed...
yes..i tend to agree as well.
but it wont be as bad with individual title which no one is governing at all right???
vicky.max
post May 16 2023, 02:35 PM

168 posts

Individual title anytime.

I don't see any problem if my neighbour wants to extend however they like as long as it's within the stipulated guidelines of local council authorities.

Apart from that, I am also free to add on awnings, extend a part of my house, change the gates etc. to my own liking whenever I want.

Can't imagine myself kowtowing to the demands and rules of JMB in telling me what and what should not be done onto my house. Can't imagine the gateless concept as well in certain strata-landed houses (especially those who are having small kids - damn!)
Boldnut
post May 16 2023, 02:45 PM

2,209 posts

individual title freehold.

that piece of land is wholy mine.
Ckmwpy0370
post May 16 2023, 02:59 PM

3,821 posts

strata title more homogeneous outlook, more clean whereas for individual title can do freely. If one neighbors change front outlook, indirectly effect the front outlook of neighbors; heterogeneous outlook
bigman
post May 16 2023, 03:13 PM

4,226 posts

Definitely individual title especially when you bought end lot or corner....
nihility
post May 16 2023, 03:26 PM

1,601 posts

Individual free hold.

There is one time bomb for those who opted for the Strata title landed. The owners / buyers may not be aware, that the maintenance fees they are paying is not sustainable & heavily subsidized by the developers. When the developer finished developing the final phase, handed the responsibility back to MC & pack their belonging , the owners will start crying paying the maintenance.

Street lighting bills, landscaping / gardening, water features, etc = all these requires a lot $$$ to maintain. With landed units density so low vs high rise, be ready to fork out more $$ in future.

This post has been edited by nihility: May 17 2023, 09:24 AM
yiwen93
post May 16 2023, 03:30 PM

78 posts

There was a saying:

Landed strata title, if future any leaking issues there's still management to gao tim everything for you, but for individual title, you have to gao dim yourself and need to fork out quite a lot of money to fix the problems.

Myself staying at old landed kampung house, individual title, recently faced leaking issues, and yes need quite large amount money to fix it, was thinking if strata title will give me a peace of mind for that? Also Strata title will have facilities to use?

What you all think?
mingyew
post May 16 2023, 03:58 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ May 16 2023, 02:16 PM)
yes..i tend to agree as well.
but it wont be as bad with individual title which no one is governing at all right???
If the lansi neighbour is jmb good friends, he can keep complaining you and you need to attend his complaint, more complicated.
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 16 2023, 04:30 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(yiwen93 @ May 16 2023, 03:30 PM)
There was a saying:

Landed strata title, if future any leaking issues there's still management to gao tim everything for you, but for individual title, you have to gao dim yourself and need to fork out quite a lot of money to fix the problems.

Myself staying at old landed kampung house, individual title, recently faced leaking issues, and yes need quite large amount money to fix it, was thinking if strata title will give me a peace of mind for that? Also Strata title will have facilities to use?

What you all think?
Even strata title landed, leaking problem belong to the house owner, you still need fork out money to fix it.
nihility
post May 16 2023, 04:30 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(yiwen93 @ May 16 2023, 03:30 PM)
There was a saying:

What you all think?
MC gao tim ? it must be a sweet dream....you just wait for it to happen.

MC won't gao tim if leak is not under the common property. Similarly for the high rise, if the leak happened at your unit & affected the floor below, your unit need to bear all the cost to make good the leakage.
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 16 2023, 04:34 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

just a curious, for starta leasehold landed, the land lease renewal fees will higher? Since the road, public area belong to the owner community, not under government?
TSPAChamp
post May 16 2023, 05:49 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 16 2023, 04:34 PM)
just a curious, for starta leasehold landed, the land lease renewal fees will higher? Since the road, public area belong to the owner community, not under government?
Yes, the whole MC will have to apply for renewal when the time comes. This is a ticking time bomb for leasehold strata high rise developments. Now there is none yet where lease expired. Just wait.... but freehold different.
TSPAChamp
post May 16 2023, 05:53 PM

1,159 posts

Personally i prefer strata landed because JMB/MC control the landscaping, roads and security. And yes JMB/MC can sue owners to pay maintenance. When times are bad, such as the covid 19 MCO, many individual title housing taman cannot sustain security anymore and have to abandon because many refuse to pay. For me security is a must. Therefore landed strata can ensure that security is always there. Later on can upgrade fencing to electric fencing and installl CCTV just like a condo. Thus much safer. Nowadays at night nobody want to go walking in their individual title taman because of security reasons. But in a strata landed, can be much safer. Plus neighbours cannot simply throw bulk rubbish at any empty land in the taman.
bigman
post May 16 2023, 05:54 PM

4,226 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ May 16 2023, 05:49 PM)
Yes, the whole MC will have to apply for renewal when the time comes. This is a ticking time bomb for leasehold strata high rise developments. Now there is none yet where lease expired. Just wait.... but freehold different.
If government want to take over your freehold land or house for infrastructures development… you also have to surrender it…
TSPAChamp
post May 16 2023, 05:56 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(bigman @ May 16 2023, 05:54 PM)
If government want to take over your freehold land or house for infrastructures development… you also have to surrender it…
Of course, but that is like lightning strike.... very unlucky. But leasehold expiry is a sure thing

0.0144sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:58 AM