Financial finances on owning multiple properties, Newbie here... come teach me pls..

TSinfiniti123
post May 8 2023, 09:53 AM, updated 3y ago

560 posts

Hello all. Appreciate if someone can educate me on this. Recently i have been listening to this property "youtuber" (we all know is who la), he talks about how he buys 4-5 houses per years, all are self sustaining etc etc and has double digit property portfolio. And a point which struck me was he puts 99% of his monthly income into buying more properties and installments.

So my question is, how does finances works from that point of view? is it so easy to keep getting loans and loans for multiple properties even if they are self sustaining? with 3rd property above only can loan 70%, was thinking about the liquidity problems of locking down the properties.

sorry i'm just a newbie in properties as only purchase one for own stay but not investment before. so it strike some interest in me.
victorian
post May 8 2023, 09:59 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,643 posts

As you mentioned, the properties are all self sustaining, I.e the rental can cover installment. Rinse and repeat until you get multiple properties.

How to qualify for more loans? Report your rental as your income.

How to overcome 70% for third property onwards? Find below market value/cashback project or just be loaded with cash.
vinceleo
post May 8 2023, 10:00 AM

1,023 posts

Great that you pop up this question before putting yourself into property investment journey, theoretically it's possible so long the property are rented out with tenancy agreement stamp then bank will offset the rental income against the installment commitment. Workaround option on LTV70 are either buying Below Market Value (BMV) property.

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 8 2023, 09:53 AM)
Hello all. Appreciate if someone can educate me on this. Recently i have been listening to this property "youtuber" (we all know is who la), he talks about how he buys 4-5 houses per years, all are self sustaining etc etc and has double digit property portfolio. And a point which struck me was he puts 99% of his monthly income into buying more properties and installments.

So my question is, how does finances works from that point of view? is it so easy to keep getting loans and loans for multiple properties even if they are self sustaining? with 3rd property above only can loan 70%, was thinking about the liquidity problems of locking down the properties.
sorry i'm just a newbie in properties as only purchase one for own stay but not investment before. so it strike some interest in me.
TSinfiniti123
post May 8 2023, 10:21 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(vinceleo @ May 8 2023, 10:00 AM)
Great that you pop up this question before putting yourself into property investment journey, theoretically it's possible so long the property are rented out with tenancy agreement stamp then bank will offset the rental income against the installment commitment. Workaround option on LTV70 are either buying Below Market Value (BMV) property.
ahh!! thank you! really answered my question crazily well!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
theochew
post May 8 2023, 10:30 AM

35 posts

1. Buy below market value - say you bought at xx% cheaper than market value, then the xx% from the loan is your cashback which u can use to cover your deposits, reno, etc etc
theochew
post May 8 2023, 10:31 AM

35 posts

2. rental higher than your installment - usually I reno nice nice, then rent by rooms
Thasmita
post May 8 2023, 10:42 AM

758 posts

Rule no
1. stay away from under con projects
2. Buy in mature areas
3. Do lots and lots of research
4. If you have very little capital - start off small.
5. Never buy on impulse
6. Have no attachment to the property - remember it’s only an investment
7. Exit I.e sell once full potential has been realised

Matchy
post May 8 2023, 12:13 PM

1,328 posts

with the raising interest rate, can it really cover the installment?
Tigerr
post May 8 2023, 12:26 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ May 8 2023, 12:13 PM)
with the raising interest rate, can it really cover the installment?
Interest rate raising, rental also need to be revised and rising as well.

PAChamp
post May 8 2023, 01:41 PM

1,159 posts

My advise is don't. No need to try to get rich this way. There are many pitfalls. For eg. what if you lose a few tenants at once, where you gonna get the money to pay for the instalment? But if you are already rich, then ok lo, got plenty of buffer to pay for instalment then go ahead.
remora
post May 8 2023, 02:29 PM

50 posts

The risk is obvious. When choosing property, just need to answer a simple question -- why would your potential tenant pay more in rental than the installment need to buy the property at 90% loan?

It could be because your target tenants are temporary like students, expatriates etc. Or if you target the the group who can't get loans for whatever reason.
Tigerr
post May 8 2023, 02:41 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ May 8 2023, 01:41 PM)
My advise is don't. No need to try to get rich this way. There are many pitfalls. For eg. what if you lose a few tenants at once, where you gonna get the money to pay for the instalment? But if you are already rich, then ok lo, got plenty of buffer to pay for instalment then go ahead.
if you have got the right property, you dont have to worry too much for increasing the rental. The market is behaved in such way, look at Singapore, interest up, rental up across almost the whole country..
remora
post May 8 2023, 03:40 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ May 8 2023, 02:41 PM)
if you have got the right property, you dont have to worry too much for increasing the rental. The market is behaved in such way, look at Singapore, interest up, rental up across almost the whole country..
Singapore market is different. One in 4 working adults is a foreigner on Work Permit, S pass or EP. They can't buy HDB property or had to pay 60% stamp duty for private property. Some Singaporeans just sell their HDB to buy a private condo then rent it out while they themselves becomes a renter for someone else's HDB. The property rental market is vibrant.
icemanfx
post May 8 2023, 04:24 PM

21,458 posts

Poorperly game is not newly invented or discovered. If half as easy as youtuber, guru snake oil seller claimed, every other da ma and da shu are already multiple poorperly landlord, where leave chance to strawberri gen.

there is a s@ck@r born every minute/day.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 8 2023, 04:27 PM
Tigerr
post May 8 2023, 04:27 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 8 2023, 04:24 PM)
Poorperly game is not newly invented or discovered. If half as easy as youtuber, guru snake oil seller claimed, every other da ma and da shu are already multiple poorperly landlord, where leave chance to strawberri gen.
snake oil seller also very rich by selling the snake oil but many da ma n da shu dont believe in it and hence even snake oil seller telling u, very few will actually follow. But u need to follow the real snake oil seller and not those "lao qian" or fake snake oil seller la.
icemanfx
post May 8 2023, 04:31 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ May 8 2023, 04:27 PM)
snake oil seller also very rich by selling the snake oil but many da ma n da shu dont believe in it and hence even snake oil seller telling u, very few will actually follow. But u need to follow the real snake oil seller and not those "lao qian" or fake snake oil seller la.
For certain some snake oil sellers are very rich e.g drive lamborghini, etc.
Tigerr
post May 8 2023, 04:40 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 8 2023, 04:31 PM)
For certain some snake oil sellers are very rich e.g drive lamborghini, etc.
he is a good and successful snake oil seller.
TSinfiniti123
post May 8 2023, 09:42 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 8 2023, 04:24 PM)

there is a s@ck@r born every minute/day.
oh absolutely! not stepping into property investment. just want to know people's view on this!!
Cavatzu
post May 9 2023, 05:55 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(infiniti123 @ May 8 2023, 09:42 PM)
oh absolutely! not stepping into property investment. just want to know people's view on this!!
There needs to be a hard hitting documentary on the number of people who got caught up in the entire property game of which there are many.

The anguish, the desperation and the sheer helplessness they have felt which may have led to some extreme acts as well. But we’re a proud society with vested interests so this will never come to light.
Aaron212
post May 9 2023, 08:37 AM

1,773 posts

Report rental income

When buying subsale ask seller markup so even 70% still wont die

Means income from youtube and affliate very gooding

0.0216sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:31 AM