235 posts

always dyson

get the older version also can do

i had mine for 4 years and still run like a champ
TSPuteih
post May 2 2023, 01:39 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

I just came back from a mall, and tested the weights of the vacuums displayed. Only Dyson feels quite light, the rest feels quite heavy.

I was leaning towards Samsung Jet 90 but just got to know it was discontinued since last year. Bespoke looks nice but quite heavy, and need to replace the bags. Battery also quite expensive.

Electrolux UltimateHome older model feels sturdier, and with it became heavier as well. Too bad the sales rep there didn't really entertain me much, maybe he see me not potential customer.

Maybe I'll get the Dyson v12 absolute and a karcher mop. Mop doesn't need to be cordless because I'll always use it at home (with power supply).

Will continue searching for more after work
Virlution
post May 3 2023, 07:54 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ May 2 2023, 03:12 AM)
The latest Dyson costs about 4.8k (with HEPA filter), and that’s close to 2k more than the Electrolux vacuum that I’m eyeing on.

So far what I think I’ve gathered is, you can either have a vacuum+mop or vacuum+carpet. I’m leaning towards vacuum+carpet and can buy mop as another device.

I suggest that you source for a simple floor stand type. Nowadays most Dyson are the cordless and they are not as robust as the floor standers.

They are cheaper, they are robust and they last very long. They have hepa and keeps the dust sealed. My old one is 15 years and still going strong. Before I bought the Dyson, I have a eletrolux one as well.

Too see what is the big hoo haa about the dyson, I cleaned a room with the eletrolux, then proceed to clean the room again with the Dyson and couldnt believe the amount of dust I can still pick up with the dyson. The eletrolux was leaking dust all over as it didnt seal as it doesnt have a hepa filter, I used it to clean my car and after while I give it away.

The cordless type, well.... I am not a fan of it as it doesnt last long and cost too much to repair, especially the batteries.

hihihehe
post May 3 2023, 10:14 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ May 2 2023, 01:39 PM)
I just came back from a mall, and tested the weights of the vacuums displayed. Only Dyson feels quite light, the rest feels quite heavy.

I was leaning towards Samsung Jet 90 but just got to know it was discontinued since last year. Bespoke looks nice but quite heavy, and need to replace the bags. Battery also quite expensive.

Electrolux UltimateHome older model feels sturdier, and with it became heavier as well. Too bad the sales rep there didn't really entertain me much, maybe he see me not potential customer.

Maybe I'll get the Dyson v12 absolute and a karcher mop. Mop doesn't need to be cordless because I'll always use it at home (with power supply).

Will continue searching for more after work
Lazada is having sales in 2 days so maybe u can get from there. Way cheaper than normal price
blanket84
post May 3 2023, 10:24 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 3 2023, 07:54 AM)

I suggest that you source for a simple floor stand type. Nowadays most Dyson are the cordless and they are not as robust as the floor standers.

They are cheaper, they are robust and they last very long. They have hepa and keeps the dust sealed. My old one is 15 years and still going strong. Before I bought the Dyson, I have a eletrolux one as well.

Too see what is the big hoo haa about the dyson, I cleaned a room with the eletrolux, then proceed to clean the room again with the Dyson and couldnt believe the amount of dust I can still pick up with the dyson. The eletrolux was leaking dust all over as it didnt seal as it doesnt have a hepa filter, I used it to clean my car and after while I give it away.

The cordless type, well.... I am not a fan of it as it doesnt last long and cost too much to repair, especially the batteries.
I was planning to buy Dyson handheld after owning 1 upright and 1 canister Dyson. To my surprise, most of handheld Dyson do not have HEPA filter. Only the latest model V15 has HEPA filter and it is RM4,799 compared to my DC24 which I bought for RM1.8k and DC52 which I bought for RM3.5k, both comes with HEPA filter. Not sure if the handheld is overpriced or our currency has gone down the drain since I bought DC52.
Virlution
post May 3 2023, 10:38 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 3 2023, 10:24 AM)
I was planning to buy Dyson handheld after owning 1 upright and 1 canister Dyson. To my surprise, most of handheld Dyson do not have HEPA filter. Only the latest model V15 has HEPA filter and it is RM4,799 compared to my DC24 which I bought for RM1.8k and DC52 which I bought for RM3.5k, both comes with HEPA filter. Not sure if the handheld is overpriced or our currency has gone down the drain since I bought DC52.
if you read online reviews, there are so much complain with the newer models... even the newer DC52 people complain as it is not as robust as the older ones. Your DC24 probably is still sucking strongly....

only problem is plastic will degrade over time and become brittle, one knock can crack the parts rendering it useless if it cannot be glue back together
blanket84
post May 3 2023, 10:45 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 3 2023, 10:38 AM)
if you read online reviews, there are so much complain with the newer models... even the newer DC52 people complain as it is not as robust as the older ones. Your DC24 probably is still sucking strongly....

only problem is plastic will degrade over time and become brittle, one knock can crack the parts rendering it useless if it cannot be glue back together
In term of suction, DC52 is still more powerful than DC24. I have no problem with my DC52 after 7 years, except for, like you mentioned, the plastic parts that is coming apart. So far getting the replacement part is a breeze as there are plenty of seller online from the UK. I don't use the DC24 often since it is using motorized brush bar, which I had replaced 3 times over 11 years of ownership (2x during warranty of 5 years, and once out of warranty).

Newer dyson only comes with 2 years warranty, probably they themselves aren't confident with the reliability of their newer model.
Virlution
post May 3 2023, 10:49 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 3 2023, 10:45 AM)
In term of suction, DC52 is still more powerful than DC24. I have no problem with my DC52 after 7 years, except for, like you mentioned, the plastic parts that is coming apart. So far getting the replacement part is a breeze as there are plenty of seller online from the UK. I don't use the DC24 often since it is using motorized brush bar, which I had replaced 3 times over 11 years of ownership (2x during warranty of 5 years, and once out of warranty).

Newer dyson only comes with 2 years warranty, probably they themselves aren't confident with the reliability of their newer model.
the motorized brush bar can be turned off, but usually you need to maintenance on it, clean the hair stuck to it, etc... great for carpeted area.

I took it apart once to grease it. I also got the free accessories pack and toolkit which is great to clean under the bed or hard to reach area.
blanket84
post May 3 2023, 10:53 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 3 2023, 10:49 AM)
the motorized brush bar can be turned off, but usually you need to maintenance on it, clean the hair stuck to it, etc... great for carpeted area.

I took it apart once to grease it. I also got the free accessories pack and toolkit which is great to clean under the bed or hard to reach area.
Yeah. Can be turned off. But what makes my DC24 superior over DC52 is the motorized brushbar. Without the brushbar running, the DC52 wins everytime.

You're right about the maintenance, especially the greasing part. Probably the reason my brushbar often failed because I never greased them. I only clear the tangled hair.
jack2
post Jul 21 2024, 06:44 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Any recommendation for bagged vacuum cleaner with biggest capacity?

0.0164sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:37 PM