Vacuum recommendation

TSPuteih
post May 1 2023, 11:37 PM, updated 3y ago

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Hello all,
I'm looking to upgrade my vacuum cleaner, and I need some recommendations. With 5.5 sale is incoming, I'm planning to buy the new vacuum in Lazada. The current vacuum cleaner that I have is Electrolux ZUF4306DEL, but parts started to wear and tear (I used it since 2019).

Most of the vacuums review that I read, the brands are not available in Malaysia. But I am most intrigued with the new Electrolux UtimateHome 900, with the mop attachment. But the cleaning station is out of stock so I'm guessing there's no point for me buying it until the station is available.

Some features that I would like to have on the new vacuum are (in order):
-No problem in vacuuming hair
-Can vacuum carpet effectively
-Can mop
-Plus point if it's cordless so I can vacuum my car as well
-Plus point if can self clean or needs not so much maintenance
-I don't want robot vacuum because I don't think it's good enough to clean the nooks and crooks in my house.

Some questions that I have:
- Are steam mops like Karcher's good enough? I want to use some cleaning solution as well when mopping.
- And are other lesser name brands (with cheaper price) a better choice compared to the likes of Electrolux? Would they lasts as long as well?
- Would it be better if I buy the vacuum overseas (kirim to a friend) for the brands that are not available in Malaysia?

The current vacuum has served me well, so I'll just post some pros and cons below in case anyone wants to read it:

This post has been edited by Puteih: May 2 2023, 03:13 AM
K555
post May 2 2023, 12:01 AM

155 posts

take this
for vacuum + mop

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lE1_7o1mkl8

or else, if u plan to vaccuum car then mop + vacuum model not suitable for u... for just vacuum, get dyson V15, lighter n powderful
xHj09
post May 2 2023, 12:10 AM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

if no budget, morse is good enough
Gen000
post May 2 2023, 12:22 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(K555 @ May 2 2023, 12:01 AM)
take this
for vacuum + mop

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lE1_7o1mkl8

or else, if u plan to vaccuum car then mop + vacuum model not suitable for u... for just vacuum, get dyson V15, lighter n powderful
trust me don't get this type 2in1 ...
expensive mistake
K555
post May 2 2023, 12:26 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(Gen000 @ May 2 2023, 12:22 AM)
trust me don't get this type 2in1 ...
expensive mistake
mind to share your experience?
n what brand n model you bought?
Gen000
post May 2 2023, 12:32 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(K555 @ May 2 2023, 12:26 AM)
mind to share your experience?
n what brand n model you bought?
this tineco brand, model can't recal price i think around 1.7k.

con:
1. heavy, u can't use it like other coreless vacum (wall, corner ...)
2.weak suction.
3. poor battery life.
4. a lot bug or design flaw.
5. Technical not mature. (some time leak, sometime can't suct, sometime jam).

pro:
1. when it work in right place.
TSPuteih
post May 2 2023, 02:08 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(Gen000 @ May 2 2023, 12:32 AM)

con:
2.weak suction.
3. poor battery life.

pro:
May I know what are you using now? Preferably I don’t want a lot of vacuums for different usage, but I understand there’s no one vacuum that can do all. I’m going to explore a little bit more on other brands.
kamfoo
post May 2 2023, 03:08 AM

847 posts

dyson is a good choice
TSPuteih
post May 2 2023, 03:12 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 2 2023, 03:08 AM)
dyson is a good choice
The latest Dyson costs about 4.8k (with HEPA filter), and that’s close to 2k more than the Electrolux vacuum that I’m eyeing on.

So far what I think I’ve gathered is, you can either have a vacuum+mop or vacuum+carpet. I’m leaning towards vacuum+carpet and can buy mop as another device.
ftan
post May 2 2023, 06:02 AM

2,532 posts

I have the following machine cleaners.
1. Electrolux bagless wired vacuum at $499 >5 years back. Found it too cumbersome to use and suction power was so so. I had a soft spot for this brand as my parent’s time used their stuff and lasted a long time.

2. Karcher stream cleaner sc4 bought $1099 during mco. This was before their steam mop was launched. Used it for a while but the handle would get hot and sometimes get a bit of steam on myself which was uncomfortable. So use with caution. I think it’s good for fabric cleaning such as mattress, sofas, carpets and curtains. Or for cleaning toilets. Too messy for regular cleaning.

3. Dyson v12 >$3k last year. The best so far out of my machine cleaners. I used it almost daily. Quite light, with power on button, good suction and cordless. I do less mopping after using the Dyson.

If you are looking at Dyson, you can look at previous models which are cheaper such as the v8 absolute or v11 absolute.

Hope this helps.
eidrag
post May 2 2023, 08:16 AM

242 posts

I bought dreame t20, got mop attachment but better you just mop normally or buy those stick with replaceable/throwaway paper towel.
Can vacuum carpet (deep cleaning usually use almost all battery, and charge take few hours. Normal cleaning carpet maybe a bit lower than hard floor, hardfloor normal runtime 30m, got eco setting for daily use can almost 1h)
Hair tangle less and easy to remove. Easy maintainance. Some part can hand wash, so far no replace anything yet.

Cheaper version would be xiaomi g10, 1k only nowadays. Can say rival dysons. Cons would be expensive parts and less oem. If you only have hardfloor or hard to reach area, maybe fluffy brush better
Chatgpt
post May 2 2023, 09:40 AM

14 posts

Kessler Vaccuum best option!
yushin
post May 2 2023, 09:53 AM

3,329 posts

How about a vacuum robot + handheld vacuum?
The robot handles general cleaning while handheld vacuum do the specific place/ tight space cleaning.

The new Makita DCL284 handheld vacuume has good suction (18kpa) and you can use the 18v battery for other powertools if you are in to DIY.
TSPuteih
post May 2 2023, 10:14 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 2 2023, 09:53 AM)
How about a vacuum robot + handheld vacuum?
The robot handles general cleaning while handheld vacuum do the specific place/ tight space cleaning.

The new Makita DCL284 handheld vacuume has good suction (18kpa) and you can use the 18v battery for other powertools if you are in to DIY.
Preferably not vacuum robot because I have uneven surface between dining and kitchen area (like a 1inch+). Scared the robot won't be able to climb back up after "falling down" laugh.gif

Is Makita a good brand? I'm looking for a reliable machine that can lasts long.
TSPuteih
post May 2 2023, 10:16 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

QUOTE(eidrag @ May 2 2023, 08:16 AM)
I bought dreame t20, got mop attachment but better you just mop normally or buy those stick with replaceable/throwaway paper towel.
Can vacuum carpet (deep cleaning usually use almost all battery, and charge take few hours. Normal cleaning carpet maybe a bit lower than hard floor, hardfloor normal runtime 30m, got eco setting for daily use can almost 1h)
Hair tangle less and easy to remove. Easy maintainance. Some part can hand wash, so far no replace anything yet.

Cheaper version would be xiaomi g10, 1k only nowadays. Can say rival dysons. Cons would be expensive parts and less oem. If you only have hardfloor or hard to reach area, maybe fluffy brush better
Why would you recommend separately? Is it because it does not perform up to your expectation?
K555
post May 2 2023, 10:20 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(Gen000 @ May 2 2023, 12:32 AM)

con:
2.weak suction.
3. poor battery life.

pro:
oh...im using Tineco S12 Plus.
so far so good. no complaint. suction is good with 2 x battery.
i know the S10 or S11 not that great....i bought S12 Plus with it just launched.
yushin
post May 2 2023, 10:42 AM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ May 2 2023, 10:14 AM)
Preferably not vacuum robot because I have uneven surface between dining and kitchen area (like a 1inch+). Scared the robot won't be able to climb back up after "falling down"  laugh.gif

Is Makita a good brand? I'm looking for a reliable machine that can lasts long.
Makita is a powertool brand thats make contruction and woodworking tools. 100+ year Japanese company already. Same like Bosch.
My living room and kitchen also has a 1 inch height gap. So I make a ramp for the vacuume to climp using my DIY tools and some wood.
eidrag
post May 2 2023, 10:45 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ May 2 2023, 10:16 AM)
Why would you recommend separately? Is it because it does not perform up to your expectation?
more manageable size, for cordless vacuum 1k-ish you can get great vacuum, but my experience with those combine mop they don't do great job or replacement pad expensive. Other commenter also mentioned karcher steam mop, that one is good but cord. So my suggestion still cordless vacuum + corded steam mop, good balance of cost and ease of use.
Syie9^_^
post May 2 2023, 10:51 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

tineco anyone?
a_dot_el
post May 2 2023, 10:59 AM

194 posts

Cordless : Only Dyson can make it
Cord: Anything from reputable brand, preferably get those Cyclone type as the suction power will still be high until dust bin is full. Also, save a lot of changing bags.
iambloodymuch
post May 2 2023, 11:08 AM

235 posts

always dyson

get the older version also can do

i had mine for 4 years and still run like a champ
TSPuteih
post May 2 2023, 01:39 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

I just came back from a mall, and tested the weights of the vacuums displayed. Only Dyson feels quite light, the rest feels quite heavy.

I was leaning towards Samsung Jet 90 but just got to know it was discontinued since last year. Bespoke looks nice but quite heavy, and need to replace the bags. Battery also quite expensive.

Electrolux UltimateHome older model feels sturdier, and with it became heavier as well. Too bad the sales rep there didn't really entertain me much, maybe he see me not potential customer.

Maybe I'll get the Dyson v12 absolute and a karcher mop. Mop doesn't need to be cordless because I'll always use it at home (with power supply).

Will continue searching for more after work
Virlution
post May 3 2023, 07:54 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ May 2 2023, 03:12 AM)
The latest Dyson costs about 4.8k (with HEPA filter), and that’s close to 2k more than the Electrolux vacuum that I’m eyeing on.

So far what I think I’ve gathered is, you can either have a vacuum+mop or vacuum+carpet. I’m leaning towards vacuum+carpet and can buy mop as another device.

I suggest that you source for a simple floor stand type. Nowadays most Dyson are the cordless and they are not as robust as the floor standers.

They are cheaper, they are robust and they last very long. They have hepa and keeps the dust sealed. My old one is 15 years and still going strong. Before I bought the Dyson, I have a eletrolux one as well.

Too see what is the big hoo haa about the dyson, I cleaned a room with the eletrolux, then proceed to clean the room again with the Dyson and couldnt believe the amount of dust I can still pick up with the dyson. The eletrolux was leaking dust all over as it didnt seal as it doesnt have a hepa filter, I used it to clean my car and after while I give it away.

The cordless type, well.... I am not a fan of it as it doesnt last long and cost too much to repair, especially the batteries.

hihihehe
post May 3 2023, 10:14 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ May 2 2023, 01:39 PM)
I just came back from a mall, and tested the weights of the vacuums displayed. Only Dyson feels quite light, the rest feels quite heavy.

I was leaning towards Samsung Jet 90 but just got to know it was discontinued since last year. Bespoke looks nice but quite heavy, and need to replace the bags. Battery also quite expensive.

Electrolux UltimateHome older model feels sturdier, and with it became heavier as well. Too bad the sales rep there didn't really entertain me much, maybe he see me not potential customer.

Maybe I'll get the Dyson v12 absolute and a karcher mop. Mop doesn't need to be cordless because I'll always use it at home (with power supply).

Will continue searching for more after work
Lazada is having sales in 2 days so maybe u can get from there. Way cheaper than normal price
blanket84
post May 3 2023, 10:24 AM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 3 2023, 07:54 AM)

I suggest that you source for a simple floor stand type. Nowadays most Dyson are the cordless and they are not as robust as the floor standers.

They are cheaper, they are robust and they last very long. They have hepa and keeps the dust sealed. My old one is 15 years and still going strong. Before I bought the Dyson, I have a eletrolux one as well.

Too see what is the big hoo haa about the dyson, I cleaned a room with the eletrolux, then proceed to clean the room again with the Dyson and couldnt believe the amount of dust I can still pick up with the dyson. The eletrolux was leaking dust all over as it didnt seal as it doesnt have a hepa filter, I used it to clean my car and after while I give it away.

The cordless type, well.... I am not a fan of it as it doesnt last long and cost too much to repair, especially the batteries.
I was planning to buy Dyson handheld after owning 1 upright and 1 canister Dyson. To my surprise, most of handheld Dyson do not have HEPA filter. Only the latest model V15 has HEPA filter and it is RM4,799 compared to my DC24 which I bought for RM1.8k and DC52 which I bought for RM3.5k, both comes with HEPA filter. Not sure if the handheld is overpriced or our currency has gone down the drain since I bought DC52.
Virlution
post May 3 2023, 10:38 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 3 2023, 10:24 AM)
I was planning to buy Dyson handheld after owning 1 upright and 1 canister Dyson. To my surprise, most of handheld Dyson do not have HEPA filter. Only the latest model V15 has HEPA filter and it is RM4,799 compared to my DC24 which I bought for RM1.8k and DC52 which I bought for RM3.5k, both comes with HEPA filter. Not sure if the handheld is overpriced or our currency has gone down the drain since I bought DC52.
if you read online reviews, there are so much complain with the newer models... even the newer DC52 people complain as it is not as robust as the older ones. Your DC24 probably is still sucking strongly....

only problem is plastic will degrade over time and become brittle, one knock can crack the parts rendering it useless if it cannot be glue back together
blanket84
post May 3 2023, 10:45 AM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 3 2023, 10:38 AM)
if you read online reviews, there are so much complain with the newer models... even the newer DC52 people complain as it is not as robust as the older ones. Your DC24 probably is still sucking strongly....

only problem is plastic will degrade over time and become brittle, one knock can crack the parts rendering it useless if it cannot be glue back together
In term of suction, DC52 is still more powerful than DC24. I have no problem with my DC52 after 7 years, except for, like you mentioned, the plastic parts that is coming apart. So far getting the replacement part is a breeze as there are plenty of seller online from the UK. I don't use the DC24 often since it is using motorized brush bar, which I had replaced 3 times over 11 years of ownership (2x during warranty of 5 years, and once out of warranty).

Newer dyson only comes with 2 years warranty, probably they themselves aren't confident with the reliability of their newer model.
Virlution
post May 3 2023, 10:49 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ May 3 2023, 10:45 AM)
In term of suction, DC52 is still more powerful than DC24. I have no problem with my DC52 after 7 years, except for, like you mentioned, the plastic parts that is coming apart. So far getting the replacement part is a breeze as there are plenty of seller online from the UK. I don't use the DC24 often since it is using motorized brush bar, which I had replaced 3 times over 11 years of ownership (2x during warranty of 5 years, and once out of warranty).

Newer dyson only comes with 2 years warranty, probably they themselves aren't confident with the reliability of their newer model.
the motorized brush bar can be turned off, but usually you need to maintenance on it, clean the hair stuck to it, etc... great for carpeted area.

I took it apart once to grease it. I also got the free accessories pack and toolkit which is great to clean under the bed or hard to reach area.
blanket84
post May 3 2023, 10:53 AM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 3 2023, 10:49 AM)
the motorized brush bar can be turned off, but usually you need to maintenance on it, clean the hair stuck to it, etc... great for carpeted area.

I took it apart once to grease it. I also got the free accessories pack and toolkit which is great to clean under the bed or hard to reach area.
Yeah. Can be turned off. But what makes my DC24 superior over DC52 is the motorized brushbar. Without the brushbar running, the DC52 wins everytime.

You're right about the maintenance, especially the greasing part. Probably the reason my brushbar often failed because I never greased them. I only clear the tangled hair.
jack2
post Jul 21 2024, 06:44 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Any recommendation for bagged vacuum cleaner with biggest capacity?

0.0214sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:56 PM