Singapore PR Application on May 2023, Already 12 months

keelim
post Feb 29 2024, 07:57 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(CrazyPizza @ Feb 29 2024, 01:04 AM)
EP, yea i have done my calculations, 35-40 should be a safe time with min 1 mil sgd. dont deposit in bank tho, make sure u invest ur savings in safe yet high returns places like snp500, berkshire etc.
i guess 10 years of working in sg is equivalent to 30-40 years of work in malaysia.
Facing the same conundrum. Without extended family in SG, it’s quite surreal to pack up your bags and return.
keelim
post Mar 1 2024, 08:51 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(CrazyPizza @ Feb 29 2024, 06:06 PM)
Set up a plan, what do u want in life? Life is so short, do u want to work till you r old? Do u want to retire early and travel around the world maybe. Plan out your life for the next 15 years including your finances etc

For me its not because of family, i just realise theres more to life than work, i do the bare minimum at my work now and go back earlier or on time. I feel suffocated in sg with the hdb view, taking public transport with the crowd and ocassional people who dont shower, the crowded malls, the shitty food, the rude people. sg really just not a place to live
Not so much for myself. I have enough to retire with my spouse. The consideration changes when you have young ones. Don’t find any place where the 2nd generation has to work harder than their 1st gen economic migrants.
keelim
post Jun 30 2024, 09:18 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 30 2024, 02:44 PM)
It's our human nature, especially Chinese, we would tend to capitalise whatever we could. But, in the end we would blame others for our own actions.

It's the same in Sg, the young ones always complaining about their current government because they always feel oppressed. In fact, they don't know they are actually living a better life compared to us Malaysians[B]. At times, I wish that my country would turn into a better one, I would move back to contribute. At current state, I doubt we will progress. No doubt, I am an opportunist too. So, I do feel ashamed at times. At the same time, I feel I'm underappreciated by my own country, which puts me in dilemma. I hate my country yet I love country of origin.
The blanket statement is far from the truth. It is the only country I find the first generation migrant has a better quality of living compare to the second generation. A lot of Malaysians start developing confirmation bias after a period of time in SG and look for reasons to root themselves. And one convenient way is to under appreciate Malaysia.
keelim
post Jun 30 2024, 09:55 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 30 2024, 09:48 PM)
I don't understand. How could you say that the quality of life for people in Singapore during the 1960s or 1980s was better than for those in the 2000s generation?
In Singapore, public transport, safety, education, and the economy have consistently improved compared to earlier times.
I wasn’t referring to the inter generational migrant but any economic migrant.
keelim
post Jun 30 2024, 09:57 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 30 2024, 09:35 PM)
Only if you work your way through merit. Usually the pioneer generation. Subsequent would complain, if they cant make it to the top. In malaysia, merit brings you no where. I would say singapore is only for working, not a place to stay. I have spent half of my working days in malaysia, likewise the other half in singapore. So, I understood well in terms of opportunities for my job in Sg. It may be different for others. So, I would agree to your point to certain extend.

No doubt Malaysia is a good place for simple life, with own transport, bigger house. Singapore is boring, only a place to work, not much activities especially on weekends, living in a small house, take public transports, etc. Perhaps to me, I am a minimalist, so I'm fine with those limitations, but in return I have more spending power.
I don’t think you have to pick a side but if you find you are cornered to, particularly for economic reason, consciously or unconsciously, then is better to take a pause and think what went wrong in the planning.
keelim
post Sep 24 2024, 11:30 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 24 2024, 11:01 PM)
Guys...

If me and my kids apply for PR. For some reason we surrender our PR before serving NS. What will happen to my kids? I have got version:

1. Kids can never set foot in Singapore else will be jail
2. Kids can sill visit Singapore but cannot work in SG
If you are in such dilemma, SG really isn’t for you.
keelim
post Sep 25 2024, 12:17 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 24 2024, 11:37 PM)
Issue is not that I don't want them to serve NS. in fact I thibk it is good for them. Problem is, job security and other social issue.
Yes in a dilemma. But so far different people giving me different answer.
I just want to know the options.
Put it simply,

“Option” in SG comes at a premium. Huge premium.

Don’t try to game the system. It is as fool proof as it can get unless you can afford the premium.

If you need to secure the premium with job security, it is likely a very real risk. Usually, the solution is the inevitable…

keelim
post Sep 25 2024, 07:50 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 25 2024, 06:23 AM)
Thing is nobody can really give me a direct answer. I have asked both pr and citizen but different people tell me different thing.

I am not trying to gain an upper hand. Before I apply for PR I need to know what's are the pro and cons before I make a decision as it will impact 2 generations.
You have to accept it is not binary, hence, no conclusive answer.

Perhaps ask yourselves / family, why do you want to apply PRs for your children?
keelim
post Sep 26 2024, 08:02 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(bengang15 @ Sep 26 2024, 07:28 AM)
Thabks for your insight. Let's see how it goes.
Not job security for my kids.  They would do fine. Its the parents job security. Imagine lost job so have to go back malaysia probably. Kids have to serve 2 years of NS which in a way they will lose up to Malaysian that does not need to serve. But that said I was told they do get sgd1000 /month for serving NS. something to consider.
I don’t think you can have the cake and it - and I mean it literally and figuratively. I kinda jump into conclusion when you brought up 1k in your post. Even if you apply without your kids, I think the chances for approval is probably low.

Don’t be a contrarian. Follow the system and abide. The conclusion is not clear for a reason because it can be applied both ways.

0.0216sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:11 PM