Singapore PR Application on May 2023, Already 12 months

gnc88
post Feb 9 2024, 07:31 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Feb 9 2024, 01:16 AM)
Just sharing that my PR was recently approved. Letter was dated 6 Feb 2024. I applied on 3 Jul 2023 so I guess it took me around 7 months.
Congrats! rclxms.gif

To those k/ in Sg who balik kampung, drive safe! Causeway dah start jam.
gnc88
post Feb 29 2024, 08:17 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Feb 29 2024, 07:57 AM)
Facing the same conundrum. Without extended family in SG, it’s quite surreal to pack up your bags and return.
Honestly, I see little need to pack up and return. Just balik kampung every long weekend or take a flight (if you are in the East, like me), whenever possible. With Sgd so strong, can always ‘sponsor’ them go holiday with you once a while.

True that sometimes during long holidays you feel quite ‘down’ when you are here and they are there cause need balik awal for work, but after a couple of days, you’re back into your Sg working rhythm. To be honest, after living for >15 years, I still miss CNY without fireworks 🧨 😆
gnc88
post Mar 5 2024, 09:19 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Mar 5 2024, 08:22 AM)
Ah yes. One thing is that Singapore is unrelenting in its pursuit for new engines of growth and not afraid to cut out non-performing sectors or companies.
Even JTC rental nowadays are based on 'revenue'. If you're in a sector that don't expect to generate high revenue, likelihood of lease renewal is low. So nowadays, it's not about if you can afford to pay lease. It's about how your business will make Sg look in the books.

This post has been edited by gnc88: Mar 5 2024, 09:20 AM
gnc88
post Mar 5 2024, 01:26 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Mar 5 2024, 11:56 AM)
May I know the soucr of this news?
Because many companies que on the waiting list?
From a vendor who intends to renew their lease. However, was tasked to provide their forecasted revenue for lease renewal consideration. As such, vendor considers moving ops to MY.
gnc88
post Mar 6 2024, 03:40 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Mar 6 2024, 07:28 AM)
Oh that’s right, you’re working in Singapore too! And did I recall correctly that you have kids that are already SCs?

Apologies in advance if I mistook you for someone else!
Yup u're right biggrin.gif
No apologies required.

gnc88
post Mar 6 2024, 07:55 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Mar 6 2024, 05:52 PM)
Oh, good then... I'm not senile (yet). Can I ask then, with kids being SCs, what's holding you back from trading in your Malaysian IC for a Singaporean pink one? Or have you already?
biggrin.gif Changed to pink a while back, soon after ABSD was introduced.
gnc88
post Mar 21 2024, 12:48 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Mar 21 2024, 12:33 PM)
Sry ya tumpang tred

How much should we ask if we decide go back msia
Let say earning 4k SGD
Can't be RM14K what...

Or just follow back msia market.. if market is RM8K
then really hard for ppl to go back home country
You will be benchmarked against MY peers unless you are under expat package. However, being a MY citizen, no way will company give you expat package. Suggest you checkout online salary sites and try quoting the upper tier scale on the basis that having worked in Sg, you bring something more to the table than those never ventured out.
gnc88
post Mar 21 2024, 12:56 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Mar 19 2024, 11:34 PM)
Yes .. rental is crazy now .. I think I have spent around 100k on rental .. I have contributed to about 33% of a bto
Many will say don’t marry Sg girl. But on hindsight, when I started work, pay wasn’t great but I get to stay at my wife’s (then gf) family home. That helped me save on rent n build up savings/CPF to acquire my home. In short, don’t simply dismiss Sg girls are all one kind.
gnc88
post Mar 21 2024, 12:56 PM

145 posts

-delete-

This post has been edited by gnc88: Mar 21 2024, 12:57 PM
gnc88
post Mar 21 2024, 09:44 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Mar 21 2024, 02:52 PM)
Actually bro, we have nothing left in Malaysia apart from the RM550,000 in our Maybank Taman Perling account. I’ve hung on for as long as I have to my IC and passport simply out of sentimentality….

But, with early retirement in Australia planned for within the next 1 to 2 years, this may not be a bad time to finally throw in the towel and swap the blue for a pink one.
Unless you foresee staying in My > 30 days straight, just swap. Your Mrs already swap. Moreover, You don’t gain any benefit at immigration clearance since you need to wait for her if you enter Malaysia 😆

gnc88
post May 9 2024, 01:39 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 9 2024, 01:12 PM)
Pigeon hole today, freehold landed detached property in the future.
Said by Forrest Li. https://mothership.sg/2024/04/wife-sea-founder-gcb/

Now they both own GCBs
gnc88
post May 15 2024, 09:51 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 15 2024, 09:35 PM)
I do feel it and that’s why I’m thinking hard on my next step to ensure that I have the right to return to Singapore in the future.
Just convert. Don't need think so much. tongue.gif Be same as wife.

Today also Lawrence Wong Day 1 as PM. Singapore General election is due to be held no later than 23 November 2025. You never know what new measures are put in when folks everyday complain about foreign talent matter.
gnc88
post May 18 2024, 09:19 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 08:56 AM)
Having permanent residency (PR) can make your job more secure. Many companies, especially in the manufacturing and maintenance sectors, prefer to hire employees with PR.

Whole-heartedly agree on this. We outsourced our IFM and every few years, ops run tenders to select new provider. So some good folks that were with us for many years, didn't move from old firm to new firm due to pass issues.

Of course we, as client, made noise but otherwise, there's not much we can do. So I do agree, the firms management do come up with lots of excuses. But end of the day, we were committed that maintenance performance is upheld. So... dry.gif

This post has been edited by gnc88: May 18 2024, 09:20 AM
gnc88
post Jun 12 2024, 01:15 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 12 2024, 11:22 AM)
It wasn’t an easy decision, and I don’t mind telling you now that behind the scenes, I’ve written letters to appeal to keep my freehold landed property to SLA and even the Ministry of Law, but the law was very clear, with no room for negotiations as my property was bought after they enacted the ownership law on landed houses.
I had a run in with home ownership issue when 1st matrimonial home was enbloc., which force us to to buy a replacement unit. However, as wife's name was linked to a HDB shophouse + living quarters, the living quarters were deemed a residential unit. Thus, any replacement unit was deemed to be 2nd residential prop. Thus ABSD will apply. Lots of back and forth with taxman but eventually, we managed to change the living quarters classification to commercial but with many caveats, such as cannot be rented out for residential purposes, must fulfill SCDF requirement, cannot apply for residential conversion in X years... Had to also give notice to our tenants that they can't stay there anymore since it's now a commercial unit.
gnc88
post Jun 12 2024, 01:39 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 12 2024, 01:19 PM)
I’m luckier than you then. We actually have a couple of shophouses (HDB types) with the 2nd floor being let out for residential use, but we were classified as commercial from the word go. The argument my lawyers put forth was that the shophouses were purchased without the use of CPF, ie, bought as a wholly commercial entity, and thus should be treated as such. We do not get residential rates on the property taxes - we pay commercial rates, but because of this classification, I was free to buy (with permission) our freehold landed property and keep the rest of our shophouses.
Wah.. you're definitely luckier as getting a commercial tenant for upper unit is tough. Took us a while but eventually managed to find one that's willing to rent both upper & lower units. rclxub.gif

gnc88
post Jun 12 2024, 01:54 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 12 2024, 01:42 PM)
It’s pretty stupid … if your shophouse is anything like the ones we own, then you’ll know there isn’t a front entrance to the 2nd floor and the back entrance is the one that faces where they throw the trash and the trash collection is… how to let out to commercial entities that can only access the space via a back entrance!?
Yup, the exact same setup. The back entrance is both the entrance for upper unit and back door of lower unit bangwall.gif
gnc88
post Jun 14 2024, 03:54 PM

145 posts

Since got PR, take it further... go be a RC or NC member. I joined as NC member when I still had my PR. Help built relationship when you decide to have family here. Improve chances to join popular schools. Since then I've moved on to be CDC District Councilor. Those who serve long long time.. get pangkat like PBM (Datuk equivalent) / BBM (Tan Sri equivalent). If you want rub shoulders with who's who in government, then this is the path you need to choose. For me, I'm more of sleeping member already since my kids have entered their school of choice. I'm just staying around as an observer and once a while, get free tix for NDPs etc. tongue.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gnc88: Jun 14 2024, 03:59 PM
gnc88
post Jul 1 2024, 09:02 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 1 2024, 08:17 AM)
I agree, there are a lot of attractions that Singapore has to offer. Botanic Gardens, Gardens by the Bay, the treetops walk at MacPherson, the Ridges walk at Henderson, Pulau Ubin, the southern Islands, Sentosa, MBS, Sembawang Hot Springs, even Jewel at Changi, the back lanes and alleys along Arab Street, Lorong Haji, Prinsep Street ... so on and so forth.

But, unfortunately, you cannot escape or avoid the fact that Singapore is a very small island, and it's geared up for money, work, success ... and all the rest is secondary. Good place to make some money, carve out a career and be successful professionally and financially, but what are you going to do after that?

In your case, you've already mapped out your eventual return to Malaysia.

Many Singaporeans are jealous of the fact that Malaysians have that "backdoor" to retirement where the perception is the houses are bigger, the land is bigger, the air is fresher.
SG is small. Not being an outdoorsy person, I'm left with going shopping or perhaps drive to Ikea Tampines. biggrin.gif

Talking about returning to MY, they changed rule again for MM2H. Doubt it matters to you or those of us not intending to retire back in MY.

gnc88
post Jul 8 2024, 03:54 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(sjovie05 @ Jul 8 2024, 03:43 PM)
Updates:

PR application turned 4 lines on 1st July 2024.
Received email notification on 7th July that there had been changes to PR application status.
Logged into ICA and PR application changed to Approved!

Noticed that the PR IPA is dated 4th July, which means PR status is actually approved 4 days after 4 lines appeared.

The email from ICA actually gave me a heart attack as it only mentioned changes in status, without stating success or fail. The reason for that is my EP was cancelled on 7th, as i will be issued a new EP on 8th. For a moment I thought my PR application was rejected immediately because my EP was cancelled. That few minutes to login into ICA website I was feeling so anxious.
Congrats! thumbup.gif
gnc88
post Jul 16 2024, 09:54 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 15 2024, 07:47 PM)
Congratulations!!! Welcome to the club ... but alas, it's a club I'm leaving soon.
Hope you leave on time to get to vote biggrin.gif

0.0445sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:04 AM