Q&A [WTA] 1.5HP air con, Recommendations
MegaCanonF
Apr 17 2023, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Apr 17 2023, 02:04 PM) if u are replacing 1.5hp aircon in open living room like mine, dont need to get inverter type because open living room the air con wont stop blow also. if non inverter aircon, china brand can get below 1k, japan brand in 1.5k or so. i am using haier, gooding and at less than 1k price. what is inverter benefit?
darkterror15
Apr 17 2023, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Apr 17 2023, 02:20 PM) what is inverter benefit? temperature reached then it will reduce compressor load. non inverter type u either have the compressor on or off, no inbetween.
premier239
Apr 17 2023, 03:08 PM

Find those 5-star inverter basic unit, those premium features are pretty unnecessary
mushigen
Apr 17 2023, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(narf03 @ Apr 17 2023, 01:56 PM) invertor aircon only useful if you let it run for long period How long is long period? Even for 1-2 hours, non-I causes temperature fluctuations as the compressor cuts in and out. Inv airconds will slow down the compressor speed so the temperature is better regulated. QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Apr 17 2023, 02:20 PM) what is inverter benefit?
ray148
Apr 17 2023, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Apr 17 2023, 02:20 PM) what is inverter benefit? It uses sensor to control the operation. Normal AC operate in an on-off interval. Basically if you tend to use AC for a long period of time ---- like 4-5 hours minimum, go inverter. If not, normal is better and cheaper for you. This post has been edited by ray148: Apr 17 2023, 03:16 PM
cnks
Apr 17 2023, 03:15 PM

i have Sharp and Daikin, both 1.5HP and inverter. I actually prefer the Sharp
akidos
Apr 17 2023, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(newbie @ Apr 17 2023, 01:17 PM) Hi am looking to purchase a 1.5HP air con to replace my old one ( about 10 years old). Air con repairman said no point in repairing any longer, not efficient. It has been repaired several times over the past 3 years. Any recommendations on brands or must have features other than an inverter? Been out of this for so long and really have no idea what are the good and reliable brands out there now, or what is commonly accepted as must have features. Budget 2K ( incl installation ) - is that possible? Thanks Where is this application ? is this in your bedroom or living room ? how often and how long do you use this ? do you have a ceiling fan in your room ?
SUSceo684
Apr 17 2023, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Apr 17 2023, 02:20 PM) what is inverter benefit? Fixed speed bicycle vs a bike with a nice gearbox. Faster cooling upon fresh start. Power saving when already achieved target temp.
miaopurr
Apr 17 2023, 03:28 PM
i have two 1.5hp units. 1 daikin, another mitsubishi heavy industries. the daikin temperature much cooler than mitsubishi. i bought daikin with wifi function. one disadvantage or that daikin' its remote control lacking timer function. u want to use timer function, u need to use its app. the app used to be free but now u need to pay for annual subscription.
TiramisuCoffee
Apr 17 2023, 03:29 PM
Isu is x wat brand… isu here is if can find installer… kena tunggu ohhh… esp summers here…hot 🥵
Pain4UrsinZ
Apr 17 2023, 03:33 PM
No, no banggla M40 d, local b40 workmanship mahal
TiramisuCoffee
Apr 17 2023, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Apr 17 2023, 03:33 PM) No, no banggla M40 d, local b40 workmanship mahal Installers mostly paki / bangala… willing 2 climb up n down … This post has been edited by TiramisuCoffee: Apr 17 2023, 03:45 PM
azbro
Apr 17 2023, 04:08 PM
I using Daikin all the way
But wanna try Panasonic.
Bought 1 Inverter Pana unit during Lazada Birthday sale. Very gooding price
But after fix brady alloying high pitch sound for the outdoor compressor. Seriously can't live with it. Lucky it's for my kids room and the compressor is high up.
Regret getting the Panasonic, will stick to Daikin even thou the smallish compressor the fans spin quite loud. Better than high pitch noise from the Panasonic.
In my case, yes you can go wrong with the Panasonic.
This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 17 2023, 04:14 PM
SUSceo684
Apr 17 2023, 04:14 PM
Hitachi inverter silent ODU only got wind noise when operating But it is not the cheapest lah
WaCKy-Angel
Apr 17 2023, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(newbie @ Apr 17 2023, 12:17 PM) Hi am looking to purchase a 1.5HP air con to replace my old one ( about 10 years old). Air con repairman said no point in repairing any longer, not efficient. It has been repaired several times over the past 3 years. Any recommendations on brands or must have features other than an inverter? Been out of this for so long and really have no idea what are the good and reliable brands out there now, or what is commonly accepted as must have features. Budget 2K ( incl installation ) - is that possible? Thanks want cheap can consider Haier, Midea, GREE, Hisense, Hitachi. Whether rosak or not really depend luck, and installer expertise. This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Apr 17 2023, 04:15 PM
vyseus
Apr 17 2023, 04:18 PM

Panasonic inverter, so far best efficiency and perform really good~
rcracer
Apr 17 2023, 04:21 PM
Off brand works better
Gree, Koolman
okyjace
Apr 17 2023, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(newbie @ Apr 17 2023, 01:17 PM) Hi am looking to purchase a 1.5HP air con to replace my old one ( about 10 years old). Air con repairman said no point in repairing any longer, not efficient. It has been repaired several times over the past 3 years. Any recommendations on brands or must have features other than an inverter? Been out of this for so long and really have no idea what are the good and reliable brands out there now, or what is commonly accepted as must have features. Budget 2K ( incl installation ) - is that possible? Thanks Was in your same situation and replaced old bedroom unit with the Panasonic XPU 1.0HP three months ago from megacool via online platform. More often than not, use it throughout the night. Was pleasantly surprised to find recent electricity bill has gone down slightly. Besides that, less noisy compared to old unit. In hindsight, probably should have changed earlier.
Gratitude2022
Apr 17 2023, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(okyjace @ Apr 17 2023, 04:23 PM) Was in your same situation and replaced old bedroom unit with the Panasonic XPU 1.0HP three months ago from megacool via online platform. More often than not, use it throughout the night. Was pleasantly surprised to find recent electricity bill has gone down slightly. Besides that, less noisy compared to old unit. In hindsight, probably should have changed earlier. Megacool service good or not?
narf03
Apr 17 2023, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 17 2023, 03:12 PM) How long is long period? Even for 1-2 hours, non-I causes temperature fluctuations as the compressor cuts in and out. Inv airconds will slow down the compressor speed so the temperature is better regulated. long enough for the aircon to reach the set temperature some ppl turn aircon on, when cool enough, they turn it off, they use human sensor instead of the aircon sensor.