MacOS X Mac OS X Leopard 10.5, 26th October - It's now out of the cage!

TSlailaikatong
post Oct 16 2007, 09:06 PM, updated 19y ago

601 posts

It's official! October 26th is the launch date... Anyone placing pre-orders??

Prices
Single License: RM509
Family Pack: RM799

Press Release

Recently bought a mac??
Macs purchased between 1st October and 29th December 2007 that does not ship with 10.5 qualify for the Leopard Up-to-Date Program, but you'll have to pay RM39... Download the application form here!

Links
Mac OS X Leopard Official Website

This post has been edited by lailaikatong: Oct 27 2007, 02:28 PM
kwekeugene
post Oct 16 2007, 09:19 PM

1,479 posts

So.... who wants to share a family pack tongue.gif ?
MoNnY
post Oct 16 2007, 09:23 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

thats a good idea...
ah_heng
post Oct 16 2007, 09:28 PM

505 posts

Apparently it works under the same household wink.gif

Anyone know if they are going to launch a new Macbook as well?? wink.gif
Carinmanfong
post Oct 16 2007, 09:42 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Oct 16 2007, 09:06 PM)
It's official! October 26th is the launch date... Anyone placing pre-orders?? Prices around the world are the same with Tiger, so i suppose the Malaysian retail price would remain at RM579 (single license) and RM899 (family pack)...

Press Release

Recently bought a mac??
Macs purchased between 1st October and 29th December 2007 that does not ship with 10.5 qualify for the Leopard Up-to-Date Program, but you'll have to pay a small fee... smile.gif

Links
Mac OS X Leopard Official Website
this is great! I think everyone has been waited for a very longggg time..
Does Malaysia entitled for the offers where we can upgrade to leopard with a small fee if we purchase within 1st- 29 oct? unsure.gif

Balok
post Oct 16 2007, 09:53 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

10 days left smile.gif

Carinmanfong
post Oct 16 2007, 10:41 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Oct 16 2007, 09:53 PM)
10 days left smile.gif
I wonder how they going to clear the mac with mac os x tiger? is there going to be promos running? hmm.gif
ZhaoYun
post Oct 16 2007, 11:05 PM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Oct 16 2007, 09:42 PM)
this is great! I think everyone has been waited for a very longggg time..
Does Malaysia entitled for the offers where we can upgrade to leopard with a small fee if we purchase within 1st- 29 oct?  unsure.gif
This is what I am interested also. Just bought my 24" Alu iMac at 5th of Oct..and if it does apply in Malaysia, then I am eligible for a an upgrade, at a minimal price.

Will call Apple Malaysia and post back.
siawgu
post Oct 16 2007, 11:33 PM

996 posts

I interested to get one... when it arrived...
munky
post Oct 16 2007, 11:35 PM

1,971 posts

probably i'll wait until december or until a good offer comes up hehe. No money atm and there's no problem with tiger biggrin.gif
-Banana-
post Oct 16 2007, 11:48 PM

79 posts

finally after this long wait The leopard have come out From his cage.
Good I going to get the macbook wooT thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
kazasho
post Oct 17 2007, 12:07 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

well i fell like they wont make new macbooks by the end of the year

next year is a good prospect to have new macbooks

stringfellow
post Oct 17 2007, 12:14 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

No Macbook refresh? Money burning in the pocket, but if Leopard doesnt come hand in hand with a new Macbook refresh, im gonna be a bit miffed, since im waiting for Leaopard's release before getting a Macbook.
ah_heng
post Oct 17 2007, 12:23 AM

505 posts

Really hope that either they clear the current range of macbooks with Leopard or come out a new range now.. hehehehe.... hand itchy...
ZhaoYun
post Oct 17 2007, 12:23 AM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ Oct 16 2007, 11:05 PM)
This is what I am interested also. Just bought my 24" Alu iMac at 5th of Oct..and if it does apply in Malaysia, then I am eligible for a an upgrade, at a minimal price.

Will call Apple Malaysia and post back.
I think the program is only for US and Canada customer.

Read here :-
UpToDate Program

Cello
post Oct 17 2007, 01:39 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

It's a sad thing that the Mac OS X Leopard Up-to-Date Program are only for Americans and Canadians.. sad.gif
OKLY
post Oct 17 2007, 01:45 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Just being curious, how many of you Mac users actually use an anti virus program under Mac OS ?
Cello
post Oct 17 2007, 01:48 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Oct 17 2007, 01:45 AM)
Just being curious, how many of you Mac users actually use an anti virus program under Mac OS ?
Off topic? Well, I usually don't. I think we usually don't too. tongue.gif
fyire
post Oct 17 2007, 02:31 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Oct 17 2007, 01:45 AM)
I find that those who use anti virus apps under OS X r usually those who had just switched over from Windows. Partly due to it being a habit, and also partly not wanting to copy files that may have been infected over to Windows running either under Parallels or Boot camp. But most of them would tend to stop using the AV after a while, as they start to use Windows less and less, and spend more time on OS X.
Frenly
post Oct 17 2007, 08:24 AM

381 posts

i think leopard will reach the shore early of next month

Carinmanfong
post Oct 17 2007, 08:45 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ Oct 17 2007, 12:23 AM)
I think the program is only for US and Canada customer.

Read here :-
UpToDate Program
Hey mac lovers,
i found this online. it is eligible in malaysia also where you need to fill up the form and pay RM39 for the upgrade.

Link:
http://www.asia.apple.com/macosx/uptodate/

*Please read the T&C carefully from the link:-
-This offer is not valid in conjunction with any other Mac OS offer from Apple.
-This program entitles the purchaser of a qualifying Macintosh computer purchased between 1 October 2007 and 29 December 2007, to upgrade to Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard.

dawn152
post Oct 17 2007, 11:20 AM

419 posts

great! been itching to buy a macbook pro...since only have to pay rm39 for the uptodate , maybe i could buy it now....
neekun
post Oct 17 2007, 12:14 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Oct 16 2007, 09:19 PM)
So.... who wants to share a family pack tongue.gif ?
Questions:

1. If buy family pack how many sets of installation CD will be given?
2. How bout in terms of online registration, will it be complicated?

Been searching on the nwt and so far cannot find asnwers smile.gif

nando
post Oct 17 2007, 01:02 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(dawn152 @ Oct 17 2007, 11:20 AM)
great! been itching to buy a macbook pro...since only have to pay rm39 for the uptodate , maybe i could buy it now....
i have the same itch and am thinking like you

..but wonder if the trouble of installing an OS two times (Tiger and then Leopard) is worth scratching the itch?

comments anyone?
Cello
post Oct 17 2007, 02:06 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Oct 17 2007, 01:02 PM)
..but wonder if the trouble of installing an OS two times (Tiger and then Leopard) is worth scratching the itch?

comments anyone?
Hmmm...that sounds troblesome. But we just have to pay extra for the upgrade (not owning two retail OS). Which is troblesome, costs some bucks. So no, I don't want to.

I'm planning to get an iMac soon, so I have to patient to wait till December or something. biggrin.gif
jarydyap
post Oct 17 2007, 02:41 PM

75 posts

Wow : http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/300.html

All new features..
Frenly
post Oct 17 2007, 03:12 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Oct 17 2007, 08:45 AM)
Hey mac lovers,
    i found this online. it is eligible in malaysia also where you need to fill up the form and pay RM39 for the upgrade.

Link:

-This program entitles the purchaser of a qualifying Macintosh computer purchased between 1 October 2007 and 29 December 2007, to upgrade to Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard.
yeah i was told during my last visit to mac centre last week. There is a macbook pro left on the shop but i didnt buy it because i m waiting for the MAcbook pro with Leopard install
hopefully i can get mine new macbook pro next month

morgan
post Oct 17 2007, 03:32 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 17 2007, 08:24 AM)
i think leopard will reach the shore early of next month
That's right, agreed with you there or it will release on da same day in worldwide smile.gif
Cello
post Oct 17 2007, 05:06 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 17 2007, 03:32 PM)
That's right, agreed with you there or it will release on da same day in worldwide smile.gif
Hmmm...I think 26th October at 6pm is the time where only the US release? Then the next following days are other countries? And then all the worldwide shipping?

I don't except it to release on exact 26th when I'm not in US.

My faith about release dates for our country it's one week late, so it's early next month too.
ZhaoYun
post Oct 17 2007, 05:37 PM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Oct 17 2007, 08:45 AM)
Hey mac lovers,

Link:

Carin is right. I just called AppleMalaysia and the support agent told me, once the Leopard is launched, call AppleMalaysia Hotline 1800803638, and talk to the Customer Relation Officer. They will guide you from there.

Save your breath if you want to talk to Apple Reseller. The staffs either look blur and tell me a straight "No".
djspinnet
post Oct 17 2007, 06:21 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Oct 17 2007, 01:02 PM)
i have the same itch and am thinking like you

comments anyone?
Huh, why would you need to install Tiger and Leopard?

A new mac comes preinstalled with Tiger. Just install Leopard once when you get it.

Or you could just wait a couple more weeks and save yourself that hassle.
ifer
post Oct 17 2007, 08:14 PM

4,637 posts

hands itchy liao like other forummers here...
macbookpro here i come... in another month's time hopefully
nando
post Oct 17 2007, 08:14 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(djspinnet @ Oct 17 2007, 06:21 PM)
Huh, why would you need to install Tiger and Leopard?

A new mac comes preinstalled with Tiger. Just install Leopard once when you get it.

Or you could just wait a couple more weeks and save yourself that hassle.
i mean installing applications twice due to the change in OS. smile.gif
prasys
post Oct 17 2007, 08:31 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

This is what I did when Tiger was launched

Keep the original Panther partition. Installed Tiger on FireWire..Tested it out (fore few months and it was all okay , set)..Liked it..I backup'ed my home folder. Wiped the HDD and then installed it
kwekeugene
post Oct 17 2007, 09:22 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 17 2007, 12:14 PM)
Questions:

1. If buy family pack how many sets of installation CD will be given?
2. How bout in terms of online registration, will it be complicated?

Been searching on the nwt and so far cannot find asnwers smile.gif
1. There will be only ONE installation DVD.
2. Online registration should be straight forward since that the term "household" is quite subjective. I read from Apple's website that even when you live in the same apartment block, you are considered living in the "household".

The only setback is obviously the one DVD limitation, unless we duplicate the DVD.... tongue.gif
djspinnet
post Oct 17 2007, 10:06 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Oct 17 2007, 08:14 PM)
i mean installing applications twice due to the change in OS.  smile.gif
Well installing apps is just a matter of drag n drop.

Personally, I backup my entire home folder nightly, and I also backup my Applications folder. The last time I had to reinstall Tiger due to a logic board failure, all I did was to copy everything back and I have all my apps and my settings and preferences for those apps and all back in one go.

Obviously there are a couple of apps which are less straightforward, but for the most part, it's that simple.

Seriously though, I still think it's more worthwhile to just wait.
Frenly
post Oct 18 2007, 08:10 AM

381 posts

Yeah, i am definately watiing for Leopard Pre Install on the new macbook pro. So i guess it will arrive after apple msia clear their old stock.
the disadvantages is u only have Leopard install and u can't revert back to Tiger.
Either u buy now with Tiger Pre install and then apple apply for free upgrade for leopard with RM 70 (not sure the amount of money need to pay for postage)

nando
post Oct 18 2007, 12:30 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(djspinnet @ Oct 17 2007, 10:06 PM)
Well installing apps is just a matter of drag n drop.

Personally, I backup my entire home folder nightly, and I also backup my Applications folder. The last time I had to reinstall Tiger due to a logic board failure, all I did was to copy everything back and I have all my apps and my settings and preferences for those apps and all back in one go.

Obviously there are a couple of apps which are less straightforward, but for the most part, it's that simple.

Seriously though, I still think it's more worthwhile to just wait.
I agree, more worthwhile to tunggu...
to me, more work should mean spend less money...
but in this case, spend additional money for upgrade and then have to do all the installation again...haiya...

it all depends on how itchy....fortunately, my current powerbook is still doing well, although the hard disk space is reducing day by day...keep on telling myself..this will be my last 1-2 months with my baby i bought in 2004...This powerbook has served me well...
all these will reduce the itch la...hahaha

BTW, can you provide step by step how did you restore from you backup after the logic board problem? i presume that at that time, you already reinstall the Tiger OS. Then, you just drag home + application folder from your back up drive to replace the home and application folder in your computer?

Wonder if these drag and drop for applications/library/key/ it will work that easily for Leopard-Tiger as compared to Panther-Tiger

thanks!

This post has been edited by nando: Oct 18 2007, 12:32 PM
djspinnet
post Oct 18 2007, 01:02 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Oct 18 2007, 12:30 PM)
BTW, can you provide step by step how did you restore from you backup after the logic board problem? i presume that at that time, you already reinstall the Tiger OS. Then, you just drag home + application folder from your back up drive to replace the home and application folder in your computer?

Wonder if these drag and drop for applications/library/key/ it will work that easily for Leopard-Tiger as compared to Panther-Tiger

thanks!
Well, the applications bit, the most important part is actually the Application Support folders that has all your app preferences and license keys stored in it. They are kept in two places:

/Users/<your user>/Library/Application Support/

/Libarry/Application Support/

Basically, since I backup my entire /Users/<my username>/ folder, the above user library folder gets backed up as well. Most of the user installed applications store their preferences and support files there, although not all. Back up those two.

Also if you have installed screensavers, check these few too:

/Library/Screen Savers/
/Library/Preference Panes/
/Library/QuickTime/ <- for QT plugins
/Library/Spotlight/ <-- for spotlight plugins

I backed up all my data to a HFS+ formatted external disk, so permissions and etc are all preserved the way it should, and I do my daily backups via rsync.

For Applications, I just copy over the apps that I often use into a separate folder in my backup disk. I only copy applications that are non-bundled with all Macs into it (meaning, I leave out stuff like Address Book, iCal, etc).

Obviously this won't work for ALL applications, stuff like Adobe Photoshop or something just won't work like that. But most OS X apps do, and that saves you a lot of hassle of opening .dmg files one after another to copy them back in one by one.

Apps are backward compatible, so don't worry about that. The only thing that's new for Leopard-only apps are applications that make use of the new frameworks and features that are new to Leopard.
nando
post Oct 18 2007, 03:54 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(djspinnet @ Oct 18 2007, 01:02 PM)
Well, the applications bit, the most important part is actually the Application Support folders that has all your app preferences and license keys stored in it. They are kept in two places:

/Users/<your user>/Library/Application Support/

/Libarry/Application Support/

Basically, since I backup my entire /Users/<my username>/ folder, the above user library folder gets backed up as well. Most of the user installed applications store their preferences and support files there, although not all. Back up those two.

Also if you have installed screensavers, check these few too:

/Library/Screen Savers/
/Library/Preference Panes/
/Library/QuickTime/ <- for QT plugins
/Library/Spotlight/ <-- for spotlight plugins

I backed up all my data to a HFS+ formatted external disk, so permissions and etc are all preserved the way it should, and I do my daily backups via rsync.

For Applications, I just copy over the apps that I often use into a separate folder in my backup disk. I only copy applications that are non-bundled with all Macs into it (meaning, I leave out stuff like Address Book, iCal, etc).

Obviously this won't work for ALL applications, stuff like Adobe Photoshop or something just won't work like that. But most OS X apps do, and that saves you a lot of hassle of opening .dmg files one after another to copy them back in one by one.

Apps are backward compatible, so don't worry about that. The only thing that's new for Leopard-only apps are applications that make use of the new frameworks and features that are new to Leopard.
Thanks mate! thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
morgan
post Oct 18 2007, 03:55 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

Check Apple.com.sg. they are releasing the leopard OSX on the same day as US
|Keantan|
post Oct 18 2007, 04:04 PM

407 posts

MacCity apparently is releasing OSX Leopard in Malaysia at same day as USA as well, I reserved my copy of Leopard, iLife 08 and iWork 08 thumbup.gif
1zR4eL
post Oct 18 2007, 05:27 PM

1,852 posts

QUOTE(|Keantan| @ Oct 18 2007, 04:04 PM)
MacCity apparently is releasing OSX Leopard in Malaysia at same day as USA as well, I reserved my copy of Leopard, iLife 08 and iWork 08 thumbup.gif
thanks for the info maybe i should book one also

ImSIEBEL
post Oct 18 2007, 07:10 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

preorder it 2 weeks ago..cant wait brows.gif
Cello
post Oct 18 2007, 09:27 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Cool! Then it's possible for me to get my new Mac on 26th!
Frenly
post Oct 19 2007, 09:40 AM

381 posts

if i get the mac on the 26th will be install with Leopard? Hmm..but first at all must think of their macbook pro stock

Cello
post Oct 19 2007, 10:04 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 19 2007, 09:40 AM)
if i get the mac on the 26th will be install with Leopard? Hmm..but first at all must think of their macbook pro stock
Hopefully but I think they will clear the Tiger stocks starting from that day. wink.gif

If not, I'll buy it on 28th with my family, which is Sunday (the busy day in shopping malls). rclxm9.gif
nando
post Oct 19 2007, 10:07 AM

1,650 posts

doubt it. u may need a week or two before the cat reaches Malaysia stores..
Balok
post Oct 19 2007, 12:27 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

its 111!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
neekun
post Oct 19 2007, 02:15 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

Hmmm...btw any sign of free Leopard tshirt for those purchasing Leopard on the launch day in Malaysia??
BridgestoneRE711
post Oct 19 2007, 02:17 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

they no need to clear stock . they just need to install the leopard .
morgan
post Oct 19 2007, 07:16 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Oct 19 2007, 02:17 PM)
they no need to clear stock . they just need to install the leopard .
They might need to send back to disti for replacement. That's all.

Added on October 19, 2007, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 19 2007, 02:15 PM)
Hmmm...btw any sign of free Leopard tshirt for those purchasing Leopard on the launch day in Malaysia??
Hmmm, If there's an official launch event be held or something. possibly have it then.

This post has been edited by morgan: Oct 19 2007, 07:17 PM
sugarboi
post Oct 19 2007, 10:13 PM

350 posts

I bought my Macbook in June. So does that mean I have to pay the full RM 600 for it or is there some kind of upgrade scheme?
1zR4eL
post Oct 19 2007, 10:33 PM

1,852 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Oct 19 2007, 10:13 PM)
I bought my Macbook in June. So does that mean I have to pay the full RM 600 for it or is there some kind of upgrade scheme?
apparently no, so you have to fork out rm600 for leopard
psyeo
post Oct 20 2007, 04:50 PM

2,605 posts

just placed my preorder for leopard with education discount...179NZD...i remember it was 169NZD the day before...so fast increase 10NZD...haha I have just use tiger for about 1 and half months...hope that i can transfer all my application to leopard
munky
post Oct 20 2007, 04:56 PM

1,971 posts

guys, leopard from aussie is the same with leopard from malaysia right ? i mean, i can install any mac OS from any country right ? im thinking of asking my fren in aussie to buy the leopard from there if it's cheaper
Frenly
post Oct 20 2007, 05:37 PM

381 posts

yeah, is the same except u get a leopard from the zoo smile.gif
Cello
post Oct 22 2007, 01:26 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Leopard arrives Friday, October 26.
The world premiere of Leopard, the biggest upgrade to Mac OS X, is October 26. And on that big day, the Apple Retail Store is the place to be. Join us from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. and be the first to experience the world's most advanced operating system. And if you're one of the first 500 guests, you'll go home with a special edition Leopard T-shirt. See you there.

Taken from http://www.apple.com/retail/

I'm dreaming that it will happen in Malaysia. Windows have it, I want Mac too! sad.gif
Frenly
post Oct 22 2007, 09:30 AM

381 posts

4 more days to go !!!!

morgan
post Oct 22 2007, 11:16 AM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 22 2007, 09:30 AM)
4 more days to go !!!!
Yes, but i dont think the FOC leopard shirt will be happened in malaysia, perhaps you can grab it from ebay later. smile.gif
Frenly
post Oct 22 2007, 12:11 PM

381 posts

im thinking whether or not going to lowyat on the 26th to get the macbook pro ..dunno whether they have new stock on that day

kwekeugene
post Oct 22 2007, 03:39 PM

1,479 posts

Hard to say. Why don't you give the store a call?
hairol83
post Oct 22 2007, 05:59 PM

344 posts

i personally dun think that MBP on that day will preloaded with Leopard.
after all, it still come with Tiger
and if u want to buy it, i'll suggest wait at least 1 mont after leopard released.

correct if i'm wrong!
shoguniphicus
post Oct 22 2007, 07:46 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 20 2007, 04:50 PM)
just placed my preorder for leopard with education discount...179NZD...i remember it was 169NZD the day before...so fast increase 10NZD...haha I have just use tiger for about 1 and half months...hope that i can transfer all my application to leopard
Actually, if i am right. Installing leopard is just breeze.
The installation is just putting the dvd inside while you are using tiger and press install.
and there you go. it works just like an update. after an hour or two. and there you go. with all your documents inside and your application and settings there. The only difference is that you are now using leopard.

Of course you might want to backup your tiger with all your apps. Just use CCC, to clone to other hard disk.

*in the ads, it's said that even grade student can do it.
cRazYee
post Oct 22 2007, 09:49 PM

2,642 posts

guys, who ever bought machine from 1st oct, u can get Mac OS X with RM 39 only

for my company, we do it this way:
for the machine which is not preloaded with Mac OS X leapord, we will minus RM 39 from the machine price. Then we will give u a copy of PDF application form.
All u needed to do is print it out and fill in every detials include your credit card number.
then u can fax to apple singapore to redeem the OEM OS.
they will send it to your home.

Updated with u guys,
all 12 outlet in malaysia (include CG, Machine.........) will launch Mac OS X leapard internationally.
our store will close at 5pm on friday, then reopen at 6pm.
at that time, all the machine will be running with 10.5.1 OS.

Added on October 22, 2007, 9:53 pm
it depand of stocks.
So if it isnt, the price will minus RM 39 then u redeem from apple singapore by faxing to information to term, and they will charge u RM 39 from your credit card.

but u actually own 2 OS by this way!
cool rite!

Let's say macbook pro, RM 7499

RM 7499 - RM 39(becuase not Mac OS 10.5 preloaded) + RM 39 (Charge from Apple in order for them to send u the copy to your home) = RM7499

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 22 2007, 09:53 PM
dawn152
post Oct 23 2007, 01:39 AM

419 posts

me too. anyone can confirm if machines midvalley will have it on friday as well? tq
Frenly
post Oct 23 2007, 08:45 AM

381 posts

Hmmm...then i will be heading down to mac stall this coming friday after work. but anyone can confirm whether they have stock for macbook pro
can anyone provide us the contact number for mac in lowyat or mid valley?
SUSj3rry
post Oct 23 2007, 01:22 PM

..one man, one machine
841 posts

how much is the leapard will cost ? cause my macbook purchased early year.
Frenly
post Oct 23 2007, 03:05 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(dawn152 @ Oct 23 2007, 01:39 AM)
me too. anyone can confirm if machines midvalley will have it on friday as well? tq
call them just now no stock at the moment.....stock only come in next week
by the way, if you want to get one u can pay rm 200 to reserve for macbook pro

morgan
post Oct 23 2007, 03:29 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 23 2007, 03:05 PM)
call them just now no stock at the moment.....stock only come in next week
by the way, if you want to get one u can pay rm 200 to reserve for macbook pro
MBP still suffer from worldwide constraint. You need to wait longer period
Frenly
post Oct 23 2007, 03:33 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 23 2007, 03:29 PM)
MBP still suffer from worldwide constraint. You need to wait longer period
anyone have lowyat mac centre phone no?

morgan
post Oct 23 2007, 03:46 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 23 2007, 03:33 PM)
anyone have lowyat mac centre phone no?
Sorry, I dont, perhaps machine could have the stock for you.
Cello
post Oct 23 2007, 04:25 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

FOR LOW YAT PLAZA:

Mac Studio Sdn Bhd (536484-W) can be reached at :
G6, Ground Floor,
Plaza Low Yatt,
Jalan Bukit Bintang,
55100 Kuala Lumpur,
Wilayah Persekutuan.
Tel: (603) 2145 5799 / 2145 4799
Fax: (603) 2144 6799
E-mail: info@macstudio.com.my

FOR MIDVALLEY MEGAMALL:

Machines
S-046 & S-047, Mid Valley Megamall,
Lingkaran Syed Putra,
59200 Kuala Lumpur,
Malaysia.
Tel: 603 2282 3996
Fax: 603 2282 3997

============================

Selling from 6pm 26 Oct 2007 (Pre-book now!)
Available at all Machines outlets
Mid Valley Megamall . Suria KLCC . Sunway Pyramid
Price RM509 (RM799 Family Pack 5 licenses)
Get your free* Mac OS X Leopard if you have purchased your Mac after 1st Oct 2007. *handling & shipping charge of RM39 apply.
Selling Price - RM 509
Taken from: http://www.machines.com.my/product_leopard.php

Yesterday I went to MacStudio in Low Yat Plaza, I've asked when will they release Leopard. The guy told me it's on 26th. But if we are buying Mac on that day, it will comes with Tiger. They will have Leopard OS installed on the Mac for the new stock that will come on that day.

I wanted to get an iMac, the guy said the iMac with Tiger still left around 10 stocks, if the 10 stocks finish selling, then it will start selling with Leopard. As for MacBook Pro and others, you guys need to give a call to the stores.
Frenly
post Oct 23 2007, 06:46 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Oct 23 2007, 04:25 PM)
FOR LOW YAT PLAZA:

G6, Ground Floor,
Plaza Low Yatt,
Jalan Bukit Bintang,
55100 Kuala Lumpur,
Wilayah Persekutuan.
FOR MIDVALLEY MEGAMALL:

Machines
Lingkaran Syed Putra,
59200 Kuala Lumpur,
Malaysia.

Get your free* Mac OS X Leopard if you have purchased your Mac after 1st Oct 2007. *handling & shipping charge of RM39 apply.
Selling Price - RM 509

Yesterday I went to MacStudio in Low Yat Plaza, I've asked when will they release Leopard. The guy told me it's on 26th. But if we are buying Mac on that day, it will comes with Tiger. They will have Leopard OS installed on the Mac for the new stock that will come on that day.

I wanted to get an iMac, the guy said the iMac with Tiger still left around 10 stocks, if the 10 stocks finish selling, then it will start selling with Leopard. As for MacBook Pro and others, you guys need to give a call to the stores.
call them just now told me they have stock for mackbook pro. Already reserve 1 unit from them but it is install with Tiger n need to sent a form to mac to get the Leopard

Cello
post Oct 23 2007, 07:00 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 23 2007, 06:46 PM)
call them just now told me they have stock for mackbook pro. Already reserve 1 unit from them but it is install with Tiger n need to sent a form to mac to get the Leopard
So, update us on 26th. icon_rolleyes.gif

For those who wants the Leopard retail, it's available at Machines at 6PM on 26th of October 2007. (refer to my previous post).

www.applemalaysia.com.my has the Leopard release date countdown, so it's really arriving on 26th. cool.gif

Frenly
post Oct 23 2007, 07:32 PM

381 posts

Ok

Yeah, but dunno whether it is pre-install with tiger or leopard smile.gif

QUOTE(Cello @ Oct 23 2007, 07:00 PM)
So, update us on 26th. icon_rolleyes.gif

For those who wants the Leopard retail, it's available at Machines at 6PM on 26th of October 2007. (refer to my previous post).

www.applemalaysia.com.my has the Leopard release date countdown, so it's really arriving on 26th. cool.gif
Cello
post Oct 23 2007, 07:37 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 23 2007, 07:32 PM)
Ok

Yeah, but dunno whether it is pre-install with tiger or leopard smile.gif
The retail confirmed to be available on 26th.

The current Macs are with Tiger and the Macs with Leopard will be arriving on 26th too. So, it obviously they need to clear the old stocks Mac that with Tiger.

That's what I mean.

Or maybe some stores will offer you a different offer.

A staff in MacStudio told me if I get my Mac today with Tiger, he will give me a burned DVD of the Leopard upgrade for me for free. So..think again if you're interested with the "burned DVD".
Frenly
post Oct 23 2007, 08:39 PM

381 posts

this is what he told me also ..a burn dvd for me at the moment until i place my order for leopard for rm 39

Cello
post Oct 23 2007, 09:04 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 23 2007, 08:39 PM)
this is what he told me also ..a burn dvd for me at the moment until i place my order for leopard for rm 39
Ohhh...but he offers me free instead. blink.gif
cRazYee
post Oct 24 2007, 12:48 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Oct 23 2007, 04:25 PM)
FOR LOW YAT PLAZA:

G6, Ground Floor,
Plaza Low Yatt,
Jalan Bukit Bintang,
55100 Kuala Lumpur,
Wilayah Persekutuan.
FOR MIDVALLEY MEGAMALL:

Machines
Lingkaran Syed Putra,
59200 Kuala Lumpur,
Malaysia.

Selling Price - RM 509

no worried, u can fax your detial to apple singapore to redeem Mac os x leapard.

Cello
post Oct 24 2007, 01:11 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 24 2007, 12:48 AM)
no worried, u can fax your detial to apple singapore to redeem Mac os x leapard.
Not for me, I want my new iMac with retail Leopard on it. I have patient. flex.gif
cRazYee
post Oct 24 2007, 01:14 AM

2,642 posts

then just wait for it. next arriving store will have it.

Frenly
post Oct 24 2007, 08:13 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Oct 23 2007, 09:04 PM)
Ohhh...but he offers me free instead. blink.gif
yeah free at the moment until u apply a cd from mac sg

dantwt
post Oct 24 2007, 08:35 AM

OverD
1,308 posts

2 more days to the new leopard!~ cant wait...
Cello
post Oct 24 2007, 10:03 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 24 2007, 08:13 AM)
yeah free at the moment until u apply a cd from mac sg
Until I apply a CD from Mac Singapore?

Not "until", I already got the upgrade burned DVD for it (IF). So why I need to apply since I get it free from that guy? Afterall, still need to pay RM39.

Why Mac/Apple Singapore? There is official form for Malaysia.

Well, no point to pay RM39 for it's only remaining two days. laugh.gif Unless your "nafsu" can't go further. tongue.gif

QUOTE(dantwt @ Oct 24 2007, 08:35 AM)
2 more days to the new leopard!~ cant wait...
2 more days, 7 hours, 57 minutes and 9 seconds to ago. cool.gif
Frenly
post Oct 24 2007, 10:44 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Oct 24 2007, 10:03 AM)
Until I apply a CD from Mac Singapore?

Not "until", I already got the upgrade burned DVD for it (IF). So why I need to apply since I get it free from that guy? Afterall, still need to pay RM39.

Why Mac/Apple Singapore? There is official form for Malaysia.

Well, no point to pay RM39 for it's only remaining two days. laugh.gif Unless your "nafsu" can't go further. tongue.gif
2 more days, 7 hours, 57 minutes and 9 seconds to ago.  cool.gif
burned DVD still consider pirated for me ...heheh ..y not pay RM 39 for an original CD IF your new mac is still install with Tiger OS (when u purchaed on the 26th)

According to them need to sent the form to sg to get the original CD

im still thinking whether want to get it by today or on the 26th
i scared that the stock will be out on that day

cRazYee
post Oct 24 2007, 12:40 PM

2,642 posts

why extra rm39?

the reseller should minus RM39 for the original price
then u pay RM39 back to apple
jefwee
post Oct 24 2007, 12:50 PM

26 posts

Hi, anyone knows what is the promotion or if there is any promotion for the leopard launch?
Frenly
post Oct 24 2007, 03:15 PM

381 posts

i dont think so they will have promotion during the launch
Cello
post Oct 24 2007, 08:39 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 24 2007, 10:44 AM)
burned DVD still consider pirated for me ...heheh ..y not pay RM 39 for an original CD IF your new mac is still install with Tiger OS (when u purchaed on the 26th)

According to them need to sent the form to sg to get the original CD

im still thinking whether want to get it by today or on the 26th
i scared that the stock will be out on that day
Yes, that's why I don't want that DVD he offer. tongue.gif

Well true, but RM39 still consider a lot to me.

Hmmm..I saw the Malaysian form on the official Apple site, so I thought it is available officialy for Malaysian. I wonder why still need to involve with Singapore. shakehead.gif I think it's because piracy rate? Afraid the Apple Malaysian staff leak it before 26th? I do not like that.

BE PATIENT GUYS, still left: 1 day, 21 hours, 20 minutes and 40 seconds.
Frenly
post Oct 24 2007, 08:58 PM

381 posts

haaha too bad got my first ever macbook pro today....
Cello
post Oct 24 2007, 09:02 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 24 2007, 08:58 PM)
Awwww...

Then congratulations for your purchase. rclxms.gif Welcome to the family. smile.gif

Going to get the Leopard upgrade DVD (original) soon for RM39?

Why get today? Cannot keep holding on is it? laugh.gif
gleejs
post Oct 24 2007, 09:23 PM

QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 24 2007, 08:58 PM)
Congratulations. So did U get a good deal?

Added on October 24, 2007, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 23 2007, 06:46 PM)
BTW do U know the telephone number for epicentre@pavilion?

This post has been edited by gleejs: Oct 24 2007, 09:27 PM
Frenly
post Oct 24 2007, 09:45 PM

381 posts

err..okei lah ...7499 with some freebies
ah_heng
post Oct 24 2007, 09:55 PM

505 posts

Any chance anyone know any good promo for MB or MBP, even if it's with Tiger?? smile.gif)) Can't wait myself to get the Leopard as well as my very first MAC!!!
Cello
post Oct 24 2007, 10:01 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Oct 24 2007, 09:55 PM)
Any chance anyone know any good promo for MB or MBP, even if it's with Tiger?? smile.gif)) Can't wait myself to get the Leopard as well as my very first MAC!!!
Should be...maybe. brows.gif
kokyun
post Oct 24 2007, 11:10 PM

770 posts

Found some great info

Special Report: Preparing for Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) Installation -- Avoiding issues before and after updating

http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20071023091749337

http://lifehacker.com/software/mac-os-x/pr...pard-312786.php

This post has been edited by kokyun: Oct 24 2007, 11:10 PM
pukarix
post Oct 25 2007, 06:51 AM

1,053 posts

presenting...leopard... rclxms.gif

i gotta say..spaces is really useful...

This post has been edited by pukarix: Oct 25 2007, 06:52 AM
psyeo
post Oct 25 2007, 07:01 AM

2,605 posts

woot...my online order from apple NZ site shows shipped...but probably only receive it some time next week i guess..raarrr exam period
pukarix
post Oct 25 2007, 07:12 AM

1,053 posts

upgrading needs only around 15 minutes...i m not sure how long it takes if u do a clean install...
Frenly
post Oct 25 2007, 01:34 PM

381 posts

where do u get the CD?
Cello
post Oct 25 2007, 01:56 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Oct 25 2007, 06:51 AM)
presenting...leopard... rclxms.gif

i gotta say..spaces is really useful...
Full version upgrade? Where you got that?? blink.gif

Gosh, hate digital content leak. mad.gif

I saw my post in that Leopard screenshot! Yay! rclxms.gif
siawgu
post Oct 25 2007, 02:05 PM

996 posts

I think better wait till tomolo.. preparing the cage for leopard.. tongue.gif
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 02:08 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Oct 25 2007, 02:05 PM)
I think better wait till tomolo.. preparing the cage for leopard.. tongue.gif
lol, no you dont need a cage but net. well, it's official launching. Machine preloaded leopard only arrive next mth.
siawgu
post Oct 25 2007, 02:13 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 25 2007, 02:08 PM)
lol, no you dont need a cage but net. well, it's official launching. Machine preloaded leopard only arrive next mth.
Yes were right.. all preparing net and some guns when the releasing the leopard to the wild.. hehe and remember to masuk to your cage (mac) when caught one.. tongue.gif
Cello
post Oct 25 2007, 02:26 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 25 2007, 02:08 PM)
well, it's official launching. Machine preloaded leopard only arrive next mth.
You mean the Mac computers preloaded with Leopard will only arrive next month? You sure? Where you got the news from?
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 02:41 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Oct 25 2007, 02:26 PM)
You mean the Mac computers preloaded with Leopard will only arrive next month? You sure? Where you got the news from?
Mac leopard preloaded will be ready by next weekend according to my vendor.
pspfan
post Oct 25 2007, 02:46 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 25 2007, 02:41 PM)
Mac leopard preloaded will be ready by next weekend according to my vendor.
my mb n mbp waiting for the new "animal"...
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 02:48 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Oct 25 2007, 02:46 PM)
my mb n mbp waiting for the new "animal"...
Eh bro, you also mbp user? smile.gif
pspfan
post Oct 25 2007, 03:16 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 25 2007, 02:48 PM)
Eh bro, you also mbp user? smile.gif
yep.. the mbp is for home use.. work n travel mb smile.gif
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 03:21 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Oct 25 2007, 03:16 PM)
yep.. the mbp is for home use.. work n travel mb smile.gif
Damn, you're so loaded! smile.gif Macbook mini... brows.gif
pukarix
post Oct 25 2007, 03:38 PM

1,053 posts

used the up-to-date mac program..i am in europe..needed to pay 8euros for that...was fortunate to get d CD early i guess... smile.gif
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 03:42 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Oct 25 2007, 03:38 PM)
used the up-to-date mac program..i am in europe..needed to pay 8euros for that...was fortunate to get d CD early i guess... smile.gif
Where bout are you in europe? smile.gif 8euro equivalent to RM39 as well. smile.gif
Frenly
post Oct 25 2007, 03:55 PM

381 posts

icic...u got the cd before leopard lauching cool....will be heading down to lowyat tomorrow after work to update my mac to leopard...
i m still learning how to use mac ...mac newbie here..

pspfan
post Oct 25 2007, 04:06 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 25 2007, 03:21 PM)
Damn, you're so loaded! smile.gif Macbook mini... brows.gif
not loaded bro, company property smile.gif
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 04:08 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Oct 25 2007, 04:06 PM)
not loaded bro, company property smile.gif
I see, I'd already got bunch or mac order on hand. everybody just wanna catch the LEOPARD ON TIME!
friends
post Oct 25 2007, 04:17 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

can someone measure the MacBook box size for me ?
i might go down KL MACHINE to get one... then bring back to my hometown.

u know lar... take bus.... troublesome. need to know how big the box is 1st.
thanks...
pspfan
post Oct 25 2007, 04:32 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Oct 25 2007, 04:17 PM)

thanks...
its around 15 by 15 inches. the box comes with a handle
razuryza
post Oct 25 2007, 04:58 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

so..if tomoro leopard is out..so..will the new machines loaded with leopard? thinking on buying macbook asap...so..will get leopard or not?
friends
post Oct 25 2007, 05:01 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Oct 25 2007, 04:32 PM)
wow... it's quite small indeed.
go by bus with empty hand, back with MacBook 15"X15" box...
i think shouldn't be any problem then....

it's smaller than I thought rclxms.gif
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 05:01 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Oct 25 2007, 04:32 PM)
Yes, if dont get to carry the factory sealed box it's much more smaller, easy to carry tho. but careful, hanging the box around way to bus home, not recommended at all.
friends
post Oct 25 2007, 05:24 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(morgan @ Oct 25 2007, 05:01 PM)
Yes, if dont get to carry the factory sealed box it's much more smaller, easy to carry tho. but careful, hanging the box around way to bus home, not recommended at all.
15" X 15" is not the size of the box when purchase ? pls clarify this...
and, hanging the box aroudn way home ? how to say hanging it ? and why not recommended so ?

This post has been edited by friends: Oct 25 2007, 05:34 PM
psyeo
post Oct 25 2007, 07:26 PM

2,605 posts

you see, there is this thing call snatch thief roaming around. i think 15" X 15" is the box u'll get off retail store, what he means i guess is the box where the factory use to put the 15" X 15" box into it for extra protection for shipping.. the 15" X 15" box comes with a handle, i guess that is what he means
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 07:29 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 25 2007, 07:26 PM)
you see, there is this thing call snatch thief roaming around. i think 15" X 15" is the box u'll get off retail store, what he means i guess is the box where the factory use to put the 15" X 15" box into it for extra protection for shipping.. the 15" X 15" box comes with a handle, i guess that is what he means
yes friends, psyeo has answered the doubts. just to make sure you have something to cover the box cuz it even attracts crowd's attention! thef thef smile.gif
2ack
post Oct 25 2007, 08:30 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 24 2007, 01:14 AM)
then just wait for it. next arriving store will have it.

can i upgrade 2 leapord if i wan da promotion price?coz i bought it on 27th of september.three days after da promotion.please be considerable..i really2 nid dat leapord.
sugarboi
post Oct 25 2007, 09:29 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Oct 25 2007, 04:17 PM)

thanks...
When you buy that time, bargain with the fellow and see if he can give you a sleeve for free anot. Put the mac in the sleeve and put it in your bag pack. Put the charger and all in a plastic bag and dump it in the back pack also. Arrange it nicely so that it looks flat. Remove the foam and all and then put the box in a bigger plastic bag. That way at the bus station you wont look 'tempting'. Guard the bag with your life and you should reach home safely with it. thumbup.gif
pspfan
post Oct 25 2007, 09:32 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Oct 25 2007, 09:29 PM)
When you buy that time, bargain with the fellow and see if he can give you a sleeve for free anot. Put the mac in the sleeve and put it in your bag pack. Put the charger and all in a plastic bag and dump it in the back pack also. Arrange it nicely so that it looks flat. Remove the foam and all and then put the box in a bigger plastic bag. That way at the bus station you wont look 'tempting'. Guard the bag with your life and you should reach home safely with it.  thumbup.gif
while u're in kl get the moshi codex case for ur mac book as well smile.gif
- m i n g
post Oct 25 2007, 09:58 PM

36 posts

20 hours left!
morgan
post Oct 25 2007, 11:06 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(- m i n g @ Oct 25 2007, 09:58 PM)
20 hours left!
I can feel the que now. 10 9...8..7..
Cello
post Oct 26 2007, 02:37 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Darn! Mac with Leopard preloaded will arrive next week..guess I need the upgrade. sad.gif
2ack
post Oct 26 2007, 02:45 AM

38 posts

can i upgrade 2 leapord if i wan da promotion price?coz i bought it on 27th of september.three days after da promotion.please be considerable..i really2 nid dat leapord
stringfellow
post Oct 26 2007, 04:45 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Who are you pleading to be considerable? blink.gif

If you got your Mac AFTER the announcement of the OS release, then you are eligible for the Up-To-Date program, where you are able to get the Leopard (correct spelling btw, not Leapord, sounds lik a WoW peon name character) at a discounted price .

Apple Malaysia tagged it as October 1st as the start of the eligibility of the Up-To-Date program, for the discounted or what you call the "promotion price". Looks like you missed the boat by 4 days, buddy.

Pleading in this thread wont do any good, nobody from Apple Malaysia is reading this now. Reality's hard to swallow sometimes, but hey, somebody's gotta tell you this, since this is the second time you posted the same plea, and nobody answered you the first time.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 26 2007, 04:47 AM
MC_Amig0
post Oct 26 2007, 08:41 AM

456 posts

it's today rite? leopard lauching...

leopard says goodbye to vista smile.gif
xaw5126
post Oct 26 2007, 10:58 AM

3,488 posts

thank you stringfellow.
if you wanna do any pleading, call Apple Malaysia 03 27111888.

even as resellers, we don't get any DVDs to pass out to customers.
psyeo
post Oct 26 2007, 11:45 AM

2,605 posts

woohoo, i just received my leopard osx....backing up now
Frenly
post Oct 26 2007, 11:54 AM

381 posts

wow very fast .... i m going down tonight
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 26 2007, 12:14 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 26 2007, 11:45 AM)
woohoo, i just received my leopard osx....backing up now
lucky that you're in NZ... hehe.. i'm goin to the apple reseller on campus at 6pm today to collect my copy, still way ahead of the launch in USA...lol

zio
post Oct 26 2007, 12:14 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Released today. Went to MAc shop at Cineleisure ystd. They had some DHL package there that said Wild Animal Inside.

Then ada leopard sound LOL
morgan
post Oct 26 2007, 12:16 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Oct 26 2007, 12:14 PM)
Released today. Went to MAc shop at Cineleisure ystd. They had some DHL package there that said Wild Animal Inside.

Then ada leopard sound LOL
Wow, now everybody wait for 6pm? smile.gif RARWWRWWWW!
psyeo
post Oct 26 2007, 02:01 PM

2,605 posts

crap, so much for the excitement....i think my leopard dvd is faulty.....my mbp wont recognise it and keep on ejecting it.....callin apple now:(
stringfellow
post Oct 26 2007, 03:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Machines KLCC had the DHL box setup for ages already. Their coundown counter are on an iMac.

No worries, jeyadev. The guy's pleading at the wrong people , it's not like we are on a case-by-case basis here. It pays to be patient, and wait. Now im still thinking if i should be patient further and wait to see if that rumbling about ultrathin MacBook is true or not. Otherwise, count me in the Mac camp by next month!
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 26 2007, 03:52 PM

601 posts

10mins until i'll be able to pickup my copy!! haha...

reading up threads on mactalk.com.au now about ppl who've already installed... I'm considering a clean install but some users are facing problems with Adobe CS3 after doing a clean install, but those who did an upgrade were fine.... Most probably I'll do an upgrade and clean install again once an update is released by adobe smile.gif
dawn152
post Oct 26 2007, 04:03 PM

419 posts

instead of getting leopard today, i'm getting a macbook pro....so much for being patient all these months...oh well, i'll be getting the leopard cd sometime next week, a bit anti climatic but what can you do....hehe
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 26 2007, 04:48 PM

601 posts

Picked it up! Backed up my disk last night, now gonna proceed with installation... Seems like I gotta do an upgrade for now, until compatibility issues are resolved...

This post has been edited by lailaikatong: Oct 26 2007, 04:51 PM
siawgu
post Oct 26 2007, 06:00 PM

996 posts

it's the time !!
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 26 2007, 07:48 PM

601 posts

Finished the upgrade process smile.gif

Adobe CS3 is working, thankfully! iTunes crashed twice, I don't know what the reason is... But now it's ok... Finder crashed once... Last.fm scrobber does not work at all.... Everything else seems OK so far... Love quicklook & coverflow in finder.... Spaces works really well, even better than VirtueDesktops (which I uninstalled last night... huhu) .... Sharing over networks is much easier! Gonna explore more of the new features tonight smile.gif
civic98
post Oct 26 2007, 08:04 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Oct 26 2007, 07:48 PM)
Finished the upgrade process smile.gif

Adobe CS3 is working, thankfully! iTunes crashed twice, I don't know what the reason is... But now it's ok... Finder crashed once... Last.fm scrobber does not work at all.... Everything else seems OK so far... Love quicklook & coverflow in finder.... Spaces works really well, even better than VirtueDesktops (which I uninstalled last night... huhu) .... Sharing over networks is much easier! Gonna explore more of the new features tonight smile.gif
Congrates, think I will wait for all the app support first. Btw, notice that you got the family pack, wanna share? brows.gif
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 26 2007, 08:12 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Oct 26 2007, 08:04 PM)
Congrates, think I will wait for all the app support first. Btw, notice that you got the family pack, wanna share?  brows.gif
Unfortunately, the other licenses are being reserved for my "siblings" (read:friends) who are on Tiger... I'm sure you can find more "family members" in here who are willing to share the love... wink.gif
allornothing
post Oct 26 2007, 08:12 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

It is time rclxms.gif I'm sure Apple stores are packed with hungry Leopard waiting people. Will get an iMac with Leopard, should be next week.
neekun
post Oct 26 2007, 08:43 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

Horay, just got my big cat from Machines @ Sunway Pyramid! Will be installing it later!

For those who bought at Machines, if you are the first 50, remember to ask for the member card. The sales stuff at Machines Sunway sucks, they totall don't know / or pretend don't know, only when i pointed them to the small signboard in front of the store and the guy actually went out and have a look then walked back says "yes, you can get a free member card", beh tahan!
psyeo
post Oct 26 2007, 09:14 PM

2,605 posts

sigh~ i guess i can only try leopard next week....they're going to send someone to collect the faulty leopard dvd from me next week and then replace me with another 1 sad.gif bad quality control.....n i notice that my disc doesnt contain anything else except bootcamp driver....
dawn152
post Oct 26 2007, 09:17 PM

419 posts

aww... that's too bad. it must drive you crazy not being able to test it out....
^aMnESiA^
post Oct 26 2007, 09:25 PM

218 posts

how much is the family pack ah?
ah_heng
post Oct 26 2007, 09:34 PM

505 posts

jealous!!!!!! aarrggghhhh.. and i still haven't got my MACBOOK YET!!!! quick.. someone come up with MB offer!!! hehehhehe
prasys
post Oct 26 2007, 10:02 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I am waiting for the hackint0sh release

I've ordered for the original one. Single license pack , for my real macs !. They said i'll get it this Wednesday or so (went to Bangsar Apple Centre)
lamely_named
post Oct 26 2007, 10:15 PM

I got younger. ROLLZ.
1,931 posts

is it possible to share files/folder between two leopard computers on a small home network that restrict a third leopard computer from accessing their shared files/folders on the same network?

on a user account basis?

meaning user1 shares a folder to user2 but user3 will not be able to access the folder.

user1, user2 and user3 are users accounts on 3 different machine, connected using a simple router.

no server in between.

ifer
post Oct 26 2007, 10:23 PM

4,637 posts

why some softwares crashed?
is it normal?
is this what we call bugs?
|Keantan|
post Oct 26 2007, 10:40 PM

407 posts

Using my Leopard now..
For some reason my Software update doesn't work..
Says cannot locate file on apple server.

Anyone else experiencing the same problem?

other than that everything is great thumbup.gif

played with the ipod touch... racun me to want iPhone brows.gif
samus_ng
post Oct 26 2007, 11:22 PM

258 posts

One question on Leopard. Let's say I bought a copy of leopard, and I installed it on my iMac, everything works fine. Now I wanna install Leopard on my Mac Mini, must I buy another copy or can I install it on my Mac Mini using the same disc? Thanks.
wiraone
post Oct 26 2007, 11:41 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Damn .. where can I get this Leopard thingy? smile.gif In stock???
stringfellow
post Oct 26 2007, 11:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The day Leopard is reduced just to a "Leopard thingy" is the day i ...........ahhhhh, forget it.

Added on October 26, 2007, 11:49 pmPardon the double post, went through a dead zone on DiGi EDGE just now.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 26 2007, 11:54 PM
cRazYee
post Oct 27 2007, 12:06 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Oct 26 2007, 11:41 PM)
Damn .. where can I get this Leopard thingy? smile.gif In stock???
nth to be damn

u can purchase it at any apple reseller store!
RM 509

today, it's dman piss off!!!!!
why?
we unable to get the OS in time, i mean the OS pack!
the shipment was out from singapore at 9am of 26 oct.
reach KL at around lateafternoon....

our man only able to get the stock at 4 something pm and rush all the way back from KL to penang, somemore traffic was freaky jam....
i also dunno wat time he reached...

allvin
post Oct 27 2007, 12:09 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 26 2007, 11:02 PM)

same boat there. biggrin.gif laugh.gif

Anyway, i still waiting for next revision of MB.. Guess hav to wait till Jan/Feb 08
civic98
post Oct 27 2007, 12:09 AM

1,255 posts

Hmm.. Maybe should wait till it really stabilize, I'm quite worried about the transition and possible incompatibility with existing applications. Maybe should wait for Steve to do what he did with the iPhone: "Oops sorry, we are giving 30% discount for Leopard"

Haha... Dream on!!
Frenly
post Oct 27 2007, 12:46 AM

381 posts

upgrade from tiger to leopard today
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 27 2007, 12:57 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(lamely_named @ Oct 26 2007, 10:15 PM)
is it possible to share files/folder between two leopard computers on a small home network that restrict a third leopard computer from accessing their shared files/folders on the same network?

on a user account basis?

meaning user1 shares a folder to user2 but user3 will not be able to access the folder.

user1, user2 and user3 are users accounts on 3 different machine, connected using a simple router.

no server in between.
I can't exactly test this, but it should be possible... Refer to my post at another thread: Link... I should think that the method to do whatever you wanna do is similar...

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 26 2007, 10:23 PM)
why some softwares crashed?
is it normal?
is this what we call bugs?
It's normal to have incompatibilities & crashes whenever there's a major OS upgrade... Despite conducting beta testing to iron out these problems, the "golden master" build that's sold to the general public is bound to still have problems, because beta testers couldn't have possibly tested every app in every single real-life situation... With that being said, I think everyone who decides to become early adopters should play a role by clicking the 'report' button whenever there's a crash/bug, instead of just ignoring it... If you don't wanna go through the trouble, wait until 10.5.1 or sumthing smile.gif

QUOTE(|Keantan| @ Oct 26 2007, 10:40 PM)
Using my Leopard now..
For some reason my Software update doesn't work..
Says cannot locate file on apple server.

Anyone else experiencing the same problem?
I think everyone is facing this same problem, it's been reported on a number of forums... It's a server-side issue, which I hope would be resolved asap!
OmniAtlas
post Oct 27 2007, 01:06 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 27 2007, 12:06 AM)
nth to be damn

u can purchase it at any apple reseller store!
RM 509

thats....just too expensive. Any educational discounts available?

OKLY
post Oct 27 2007, 01:11 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Expensive it is but compared to Windows Vista ? laugh.gif
MoNnY
post Oct 27 2007, 01:20 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 26 2007, 11:48 PM)
The day Leopard is reduced just to a "Leopard thingy" is the day i ...........ahhhhh, forget it.

Added on October 26, 2007, 11:49 pmPardon the double post, went through a dead zone on DiGi EDGE just now.
relax.. lol...

vista ? whats vista ?
i think it got scared off by the big cats from Apple

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Oct 27 2007, 01:20 AM
SUSMike3300
post Oct 27 2007, 01:20 AM

6,866 posts

Tiger was the best OS released by Apple, it pawns many OS out there especially Vista. The successor, Leopard hits every right spot on everything you need in an OS.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Oct 27 2007, 01:21 AM
samus_ng
post Oct 27 2007, 08:15 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Oct 26 2007, 11:22 PM)
One question on Leopard. Let's say I bought a copy of leopard, and I installed it on my iMac, everything works fine. Now I wanna install Leopard on my Mac Mini, must I buy another copy or can I install it on my Mac Mini using the same disc? Thanks.
Guys please I need you to answer my question sad.gif I'm already gonna get Leopard in like about a few hours but I must know whether I can install it on 2 Macs, PLEASE!
siawgu
post Oct 27 2007, 08:28 AM

996 posts

I think this OS is more cheaper than Vista. Vista got alot of version but Leopard only got one version the ultimate one.. hehe
Leopard really worth than Vista as I can say.. the best OS i ever use (Tiger) till now.. just can't wait for leopard later..
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 27 2007, 08:51 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Oct 27 2007, 08:15 AM)
Guys please I need you to answer my question sad.gif I'm already gonna get Leopard in like about a few hours but I must know whether I can install it on 2 Macs, PLEASE!
Technically, yup it's possible...

|Keantan|
post Oct 27 2007, 08:59 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Oct 27 2007, 12:57 AM)
I think everyone is facing this same problem, it's been reported on a number of forums... It's a server-side issue, which I hope would be resolved asap!
Thanks for telling me smile.gif That makes me feel a lot better knowing that it wasn't a corrupted installation on my part..

All seems to be going great on day 2 of leopard.
samus_ng
post Oct 27 2007, 11:29 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Oct 27 2007, 08:51 AM)
Technically, yup it's possible...
Ok thanks finally someone answers my stupid question laugh.gif
MoNnY
post Oct 27 2007, 11:39 AM

4,423 posts

wait, i thought it was single licence ? then u cant...
unless u got family pack only can install on multiple Macs...
QiW
post Oct 27 2007, 11:43 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 26 2007, 10:02 PM)

I've ordered for the original one. Single license pack , for my real macs !. They said i'll get it this Wednesday or so (went to Bangsar Apple Centre)
hackintosh release is already out on the net .. go download it !!!! tongue.gif
ps .. it can only be installed on SATA drives .. IDEs cannot .. so i couldnt install coz my SATA drive slots fully taken up for the time being .. hehehehe
TSlailaikatong
post Oct 27 2007, 11:54 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Oct 27 2007, 11:39 AM)
wait, i thought it was single licence ? then u cant...
unless u got family pack only can install on multiple Macs...
technically, not legally wink.gif
wei
post Oct 27 2007, 11:58 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

This thread is hilarious, thanks guys, i enjoy reading it.
c2v4l
post Oct 27 2007, 12:09 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(samus_ng @ Oct 27 2007, 08:15 AM)
get the family pack. i think you need to add 100 more or so. you can use up to 5 computers.
OKLY
post Oct 27 2007, 01:41 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(c2v4l @ Oct 27 2007, 12:09 PM)
get the family pack. i think you need to add 100 more or so. you can use up to 5 computers.
As far as I know I saw the price for single is RM509 and the family pack was around RM900+. I might be wrong though, hope someone can confirm this.
wei
post Oct 27 2007, 01:45 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

http://cgcomputers.com/apple_software.htm
Family pack RM799

Family pack is for those that living together.
siawgu
post Oct 27 2007, 02:06 PM

996 posts

Just got mine...

I like the new finder... icon_rolleyes.gif
OKLY
post Oct 27 2007, 02:16 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Yea is RM799 for the family pack. Explored the Leopard in EpiCentre just now, cool operating system I must say.
kevler
post Oct 27 2007, 02:29 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Oct 27 2007, 01:45 PM)
http://cgcomputers.com/apple_software.htm
Family pack RM799

Family pack is for those that living together.
how they able to determine whether we alll living together-gether ? wink.gif
Takashilee
post Oct 27 2007, 02:32 PM

19 posts

Love the time machine. Cool. The best is the boot camp. Can use both Mac and Windows. Nice...
OmniAtlas
post Oct 27 2007, 05:46 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Oct 27 2007, 02:29 PM)
how they able to determine whether we alll living together-gether ? wink.gif
How many in a family pack? Anyone wanna split 500 is just insane!
1zR4eL
post Oct 27 2007, 06:06 PM

1,852 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Oct 27 2007, 05:46 PM)
How many in a family pack? Anyone wanna split 500 is just insane!
if i not mistaken for family pack u can have 5 license, but its only for that same home
76radius
post Oct 27 2007, 06:25 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(1zR4eL @ Oct 27 2007, 07:06 PM)
if i not mistaken for family pack u can have 5 license, but its only for that same home
I just bought Leopard yesterday from Machines KLCC, I have MBP and iMac, isn't funny if i buy family package instead of using the same installer for my own MBP and iMac? Any comment? Anyway, I don't condone piracy here brows.gif
ifer
post Oct 27 2007, 06:39 PM

4,637 posts

went to machine KLCC just now. saw leopard.

beh tahan...
MacDaNife
post Oct 27 2007, 09:23 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I've always bought the retail version of MacOS and installed that single copy on to my various Macs.

I know I shouldn't but at least I bought the one copy instead of being a total pirate....
nando
post Oct 27 2007, 10:02 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Oct 27 2007, 09:23 PM)
I've always bought the retail version of MacOS and installed that single copy on to my various Macs.

I know I shouldn't but at least I bought the one copy instead of being a total pirate....
you're Jack Sparrow then? a good natured pirate but pirate nevertheless?
heheh..how's your E90 coming along?

just one question on Time Machine...it can back up large files? things like the Iphoto mail file, Entourage User identity, etc?
xaw5126
post Oct 27 2007, 10:40 PM

3,488 posts

yes, nando. Time Machine isn't limited by the size of the file.

stringfellow
post Oct 27 2007, 10:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tomorrow: Hardware. Software? 3-10 working days! cry.gif doh.gif

*Goes into foetal position , curled up in the corner of the bed, crying himself to sleep.*
Tehy
post Oct 27 2007, 11:08 PM

25 posts

I can't wait to get Leopard! This looks so cool! I just hope it works like it should smile.gif
kwekeugene
post Oct 27 2007, 11:18 PM

1,479 posts

The term "household" is rather subjective. Even Apple.com defines the term as "same apartment, or students in same campus".
nando
post Oct 27 2007, 11:32 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Oct 27 2007, 10:40 PM)
yes, nando. Time Machine isn't limited by the size of the file.
thankss..bro..if u're using Entourage, the mother of all file is the User Identity file....
if Time Machine will back it up nicely and properly, it will be superb....
so if i ask Time Machine to open Entourage as of 15th October..it will really show the calendar, emails, notes, whatever....as of 15th October...
can anyone confirm this?
kksleo
post Oct 28 2007, 02:56 AM

45 posts

Finally, Leopard arrived! I can't wait to try this.

Planning to get myself a MBP, any idea when is the next batch pre-installed Leopard MBP arriving?

Or, get the MBP right now, pay RM 39 to get a free Leopard from Apple Spura. How long does it take to get the Leopard? Furthermore, how to send them RM 39? Bankdraft?

How?
psyeo
post Oct 28 2007, 11:55 AM

2,605 posts

LOL...finally I'm installling leopard now...it is the most stupid fix ever....is the same way as how i treat my old PS2 =.=
OmniAtlas
post Oct 28 2007, 12:06 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Oct 27 2007, 11:18 PM)
The term "household" is rather subjective. Even Apple.com defines the term as "same apartment, or students in same campus".
So how many CDs come in the family pack? If I was going to split the OS down I would like to have a copy; apples not being very friendly with the edu discount -- I was hoping for $69+ (some schools are selling it to their students for $10.00!!)

TSlailaikatong
post Oct 28 2007, 12:20 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Oct 28 2007, 12:06 PM)
So how many CDs come in the family pack? If I was going to split the OS down I would like to have a copy; apples not being very friendly with the edu discount -- I was hoping for $69+ (some schools are selling it to their students for $10.00!!)
Just 1 installer DVD
firedauz
post Oct 28 2007, 01:10 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

The launch in Brunei here was yesterday thumbup.gif
Went there and tested the Space program, was pretty cool rclxm9.gif

The price here is BND$3+++.
(around RM$15++).
hairol83
post Oct 28 2007, 03:04 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Oct 28 2007, 01:10 PM)
The launch in Brunei here was yesterday thumbup.gif
Went there and tested the Space program, was pretty cool rclxm9.gif

The price here is BND$3+++.
(around RM$15++).
a copy of leopard in brunei
around thousand five hundred plus2??? shakehead.gif
gleejs
post Oct 28 2007, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(civic98 @ Oct 27 2007, 12:09 AM)
Hmm.. Maybe should wait till it really stabilize, I'm quite worried about the transition and possible incompatibility with existing applications. Maybe should wait for Steve to do what he did with the iPhone: "Oops sorry, we are giving 30% discount for Leopard"

Haha... Dream on!!
So how long you have to wait for the OS upgrade?

Added on October 28, 2007, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(Frenly @ Oct 27 2007, 12:46 AM)
upgrade from tiger to leopard today
So how long does the upgrade takes?

This post has been edited by gleejs: Oct 28 2007, 03:31 PM
ifer
post Oct 28 2007, 03:57 PM

4,637 posts

lolx.
one blur blur sales girl at machine KLCC told me there wont be a per loaded leopard for MBP EVER!!!

coz i was asking when will the MBP pre loaded with leopard will be coming out... coz i dowan to buy now and sendiri install and stuffs
friends
post Oct 28 2007, 05:04 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Oct 25 2007, 09:29 PM)
When you buy that time, bargain with the fellow and see if he can give you a sleeve for free anot. Put the mac in the sleeve and put it in your bag pack. Put the charger and all in a plastic bag and dump it in the back pack also. Arrange it nicely so that it looks flat. Remove the foam and all and then put the box in a bigger plastic bag. That way at the bus station you wont look 'tempting'. Guard the bag with your life and you should reach home safely with it.  thumbup.gif
Great ideas.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif If i have to go KL to get it, that's probably I have to do... cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif
yes.. indeed it is too temptating.... and also arouse ppl's eyes too...

Added on October 28, 2007, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Oct 26 2007, 04:48 PM)
Picked it up! Backed up my disk last night, now gonna proceed with installation... Seems like I gotta do an upgrade for now, until compatibility issues are resolved...
u purchased a FAMILY PACK ?
sharing with others ? hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by friends: Oct 28 2007, 05:11 PM
siawgu
post Oct 28 2007, 05:31 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(gleejs @ Oct 28 2007, 03:16 PM)
So how long you have to wait for the OS upgrade?

Added on October 28, 2007, 3:31 pm
So how long does the upgrade takes?
The upgrade process took about 1 hour ++ for me.. depend on your optical drive..
76radius
post Oct 28 2007, 05:35 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Oct 28 2007, 06:31 PM)
The upgrade process took about 1 hour ++ for me.. depend on your optical drive..
Mine, for clean installation it just takes about 1/2 hour for my MBP as I didn't install the printer's driver and languages
psyeo
post Oct 28 2007, 05:50 PM

2,605 posts

Solution for Leopard DVD not recognize while insert into my MBP normally =.=

Woohoo Leopard...still need to place it that way inorder to read from the leopard DVD to install some other stuff..... sweat.gif
seems like there is quite alot of ppl facing this problem as well with the poor quality Leopard DVD
friends
post Oct 28 2007, 06:04 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 28 2007, 05:50 PM)
Solution for Leopard DVD not recognize while insert into my MBP normally =.= 

Woohoo Leopard...still need to place it that way inorder to read from the leopard DVD to install some other stuff..... sweat.gif
seems like there is quite alot of ppl facing this problem as well with the poor quality Leopard DVD
wow... what a really WEIRD "solution" to your DVD doh.gif rclxms.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
tinkerbel
post Oct 28 2007, 07:46 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ifer,
I'm quite sure she's got her information wrong! *grins* blush.gif
siawgu
post Oct 28 2007, 08:43 PM

996 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Oct 28 2007, 06:04 PM)
wow... what a really WEIRD "solution" to your DVD    doh.gif  rclxms.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I think that macbook pro need some nice pose then can install the leopard.. brows.gif
kevler
post Oct 28 2007, 10:32 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 28 2007, 05:50 PM)

are u ok aa bro ? simply jumble up your machine like that ..huhu hmm.gif , u wanna test gravity ? yawn.gif

dont feel so excited ...later it will harm u ooo nod.gif , trust me

This post has been edited by kevler: Oct 28 2007, 10:32 PM
psyeo
post Oct 28 2007, 10:36 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Oct 28 2007, 10:32 PM)
are u ok aa bro ? simply jumble up your machine like that ..huhu hmm.gif , u wanna test gravity ?  yawn.gif
dont feel so excited ...later it will harm u ooo  nod.gif , trust me
Well i choose not to do that as well if i had a choice....blame Apple for the lousy dvd quality that they use....made in Singapore somemore...

haha, apparently, the DVD is too thin, thus the laser head cant read it unless you make the dvd closer to it......this is the solution found by one of the person who post in the Apple support forum.....

Leopard likes odd position tongue.gif

This post has been edited by psyeo: Oct 29 2007, 03:36 AM
MoNnY
post Oct 28 2007, 10:55 PM

4,423 posts

what the hell ??
LOL
i thought u were making a pose with leopard...

Cello
post Oct 28 2007, 11:07 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Mac with Leopard are started shipping today as I saw it at Apple.com.

I didn't get my iMac today, out of stock. sad.gif I have to wait for seven days more.
sugarboi
post Oct 28 2007, 11:13 PM

350 posts

I got a question. The DVD which you get through the upgrade program is the same as the RM509 DVD rite?
So if I go into the shop and say I want the upgrade DVD instead of buying the RM 509 one, will that work? Or must I show them a receipt or something?
Cello
post Oct 28 2007, 11:18 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Oct 28 2007, 11:13 PM)
I got a question. The DVD which you get through the upgrade program is the same as the RM509 DVD rite?
So if I go into the shop and say I want the upgrade DVD instead of buying the RM 509 one, will that work? Or must I show them a receipt or something?
No, the upgrade DVD we get is for upgrade only from previous OS X versions.

sugarboi
post Oct 28 2007, 11:21 PM

350 posts

Upgrade DVD? So if in the future I want to reformat my Mac, I'm screwed la rite?

Cello
post Oct 28 2007, 11:32 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Oct 28 2007, 11:21 PM)
Upgrade DVD? So if in the future I want to reformat my Mac, I'm screwed la rite?
Not really, you just have to install Tiger first (if you have the Mac OS X Tiger Retail/Full Version) and then use the Leopard DVD upgrade.
sugarboi
post Oct 28 2007, 11:40 PM

350 posts

Apparently you need to enclose your receipt for that upgrade program. Oh well, back to the drawing board.
Cello
post Oct 28 2007, 11:42 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Oct 28 2007, 11:40 PM)
Apparently you need to enclose your receipt for that upgrade program. Oh well, back to the drawing board.
Well yes, you need to show the receipt obviously..
sugarboi
post Oct 28 2007, 11:49 PM

350 posts

For a split second I thought I didn't have to. Lapse in judgment. tongue.gif
Peanutz
post Oct 29 2007, 03:30 AM

423 posts

I just saw the guided tour video of Leopard from Apple's site.

Omg, makes me want to get a Mac so badly now sad.gif
sugarboi
post Oct 29 2007, 08:41 AM

350 posts

Welcome to the dark side then. thumbup.gif
jaxon4sure
post Oct 29 2007, 11:57 AM

33 posts

Wanna ask wether the leopard dvd need serial to install or not? Or its just upgrade?
Peanutz
post Oct 29 2007, 12:37 PM

423 posts

I saw from the video that you just need to pop in the Leopard dvd and it will auto install for you while retaining all your stuff in the HD.

Should just be an upgrade.
fyire
post Oct 29 2007, 12:39 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Peanutz @ Oct 29 2007, 12:37 PM)
I saw from the video that you just need to pop in the Leopard dvd and it will auto install for you while retaining all your stuff in the HD.

Should just be an upgrade.
you've got that option to do an upgrade, but I would prefer to do a clean reinstall. Every single upgrade of OS X that I've encountered before tends to have a horrible slowdown for some reason, where the clean reinstall does not have.
Cello
post Oct 29 2007, 01:07 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(Peanutz @ Oct 29 2007, 03:30 AM)

Be patient and save some bucks for it. smile.gif

"Patient will gives what you deserve"
Balok
post Oct 29 2007, 03:20 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i have some question

1.do the time machine requires an external hard disk?

2.how long can a 100GB External Hard Disk will run if you use it on january?
(only if it require External Hard Disk drive is needed)
petrofsky77
post Oct 29 2007, 03:43 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

Wow, I have just installed Leopard last Friday and I must say that it is da BOMB! One of the greatest OS X to be developed by Apple yet ... 300+ new features, and I've only discovered like 10 of them ... more to be discovered it seems ... smile.gif Oh, and to demystify some questions posted earlier ...

1. If you buy a MB/MBP now, you'll only get Tiger pre-installed. The guy at Machines@Mid Valley told me that they will give you a coupon where once Leopard came pre-installed with Mac hardwares, you can claim a copy of the Install DVD provided that you purchase a Mac after Leopard has been launched.

2. Time Machine does not necessarily need an external HDD, but it would be best to use Time Machine with one since the backups are much more safer from damage if it is not part of the machine.

3. There is no serial numbers that you have to key in during the installation, but you are encouraged to perform a first time registration with the Apple server once Leopard has been successfully installed (requires an internet connection).

4. The OS X 10.5 Install DVD is BOTH an upgrade and a clean install disc, so you choose whether you want to upgrade from Tiger or erase everything and start over from scratch. Personally, I would perform a clean install every time a major release is available. Minimizes problems with performance later on.
Ferrari_83
post Oct 29 2007, 04:04 PM

279 posts

I did the upgrade from tiger to leopard.. AND it slowed down the whole system (Macbook).

I plan to do clean install. if i did clean install will it affect my boot camp beta. Since i only touch mac partition not xp partition. Anyone smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ferrari_83: Oct 29 2007, 04:10 PM
Balok
post Oct 29 2007, 04:20 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Oct 29 2007, 03:43 PM)
Wow, I have just installed Leopard last Friday and I must say that it is da BOMB! One of the greatest OS X to be developed by Apple yet ... 300+ new features, and I've only discovered like 10 of them ... more to be discovered it seems ... smile.gif Oh, and to demystify some questions posted earlier ...

1. If you buy a MB/MBP now, you'll only get Tiger pre-installed. The guy at Machines@Mid Valley told me that they will give you a coupon where once Leopard came pre-installed with Mac hardwares, you can claim a copy of the Install DVD provided that you purchase a Mac after Leopard has been launched.

2. Time Machine does not necessarily need an external HDD, but it would be best to use Time Machine with one since the backups are much more safer from damage if it is not part of the machine.

3. There is no serial numbers that you have to key in during the installation, but you are encouraged to perform a first time registration with the Apple server once Leopard has been successfully installed (requires an internet connection).

4. The OS X 10.5 Install DVD is BOTH an upgrade and a clean install disc, so you choose whether you want to upgrade from Tiger or erase everything and start over from scratch. Personally, I would perform a clean install every time a major release is available. Minimizes problems with performance later on.
so when do the MB/MBP will be Leopard pre-installed?
and do the Imac or Mac Mini will be Leopard pre-install or Tiger?
petrofsky77
post Oct 29 2007, 04:22 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari_83 @ Oct 29 2007, 04:04 PM)
I did the upgrade from tiger to leopard.. AND it slowed down the whole system (Macbook).

I plan to do clean install. if i did clean install will it affect my boot camp beta. Since i only touch mac partition not xp partition. Anyone smile.gif
Theoratically, if you have more than 1 partition inside your Mac HDD, then you shouldn't have any problems doing a clean install of the OS X, but since I'm not that familiar with the whole BootCamp thingy (I bought a Mac because i wanted to use a Mac!), I would be guessing that erasing the main partition that hosts your previous release might have an impact on bootcamp partition as well becoz the MBR header info is kept inside the main OS X partition. But this is just a theory, go ahead and experiment with it. Tell us your results. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Balok @ Oct 29 2007, 04:20 PM)
so when do the  MB/MBP will be Leopard pre-installed?
and do the Imac or Mac Mini will be Leopard pre-install or Tiger?
According to the person in-charge, might be another month or so, but not exceeding 3 months.

This post has been edited by petrofsky77: Oct 29 2007, 04:26 PM
Crusader
post Oct 29 2007, 05:50 PM

783 posts

Sorry, noob question alert...

Just upgraded to Leopard from Tiger and now I can't do the right click with my mouse. I'm using a razor mouse which have not problem with Tiger.

No more right click for leopard?
petrofsky77
post Oct 29 2007, 05:57 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Oct 29 2007, 05:50 PM)

Just upgraded to Leopard from Tiger and now I can't do the right click with my mouse. I'm using a razor mouse which have not problem with Tiger.

Wut the heck is a Razor Mouse? Does it shave your 'stache and click the desktop at the same time??? laugh.gif tongue.gif But seriously, i've used my chow-kia Mobile Gear 2 button mouse on Leopard and right click is still there, fortunately ... icon_rolleyes.gif

Peanutz
post Oct 29 2007, 06:09 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Oct 29 2007, 05:50 PM)

Razer la friend.

Just reinstall the driver for the mouse. Should be fine then.
Crusader
post Oct 29 2007, 06:27 PM

783 posts

ok ok... it's Razer. Don't know why I keep making the spelling mistake. blush.gif

Anyway, thanks for the reply.
kksleo
post Oct 29 2007, 08:11 PM

45 posts

How long have to wait for the next batch pre-installed Leopard MBP? Do you get the coupond to redeem a free copy of DVD when it arrived? Buy now or wait?

SEP910
post Oct 29 2007, 08:34 PM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

QUOTE(Peanutz @ Oct 29 2007, 03:30 AM)

Ha ha ha same here, although I own a macbook pro.I still cannot "tahan" when look at iMac 24"....
Dunno when can get.... wink.gif
Crusader
post Oct 29 2007, 08:50 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Oct 29 2007, 08:34 PM)
Ha ha ha same here, although I own a macbook pro.I still cannot "tahan" when look at iMac 24"....
Dunno when can get.... wink.gif
Well, I have the iMac 24" and want a Macbook Pro badly... Need to wait for bonus to get a macbook pro... sad.gif
ah_heng
post Oct 29 2007, 08:59 PM

505 posts

Price price price. what's the MB price now!!! promo promo promo.. when is MB promo coming out!! wink.gif
razom
post Oct 29 2007, 09:13 PM

143 posts

I got my first generation MacBook. Dont know whether can upgrade to Leopard OSX or not. I got Apple Softwareuser posted image

Added on October 29, 2007, 9:14 pmCan anybody instruct me ?

This post has been edited by razom: Oct 29 2007, 09:14 PM

hellfried
post Oct 29 2007, 09:32 PM

436 posts

just wondering if my G4 ibook (with 1G RAM) which is 2 years old be able to handle leopard?
shaznizzle
post Oct 29 2007, 09:53 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

Went to KLCC Machine, they said, any computer bought from now on will get Leopard disk for free!!! They only charge RM32 for delivery.
razom
post Oct 29 2007, 10:02 PM

143 posts

Can anybody instruct me ?
I need help from you all.
I got my MB since last year June and i got a voucher as shown above.
Do I have any special rates for the new Leopard OSX?
OKLY
post Oct 29 2007, 10:03 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(razom @ Oct 29 2007, 10:02 PM)
Can anybody instruct me ?
I need help from you all.
I got my MB since last year June and i got a voucher as shown above.
Do I have any special rates for the new Leopard OSX?
No, your coupon isn't for the Leopard and moreover you bought your MacBook last year.
NSkyline
post Oct 29 2007, 11:17 PM

207 posts

guys i'm planning to get macbook @RM4199.....spoke to a guy from mac city at amcorp mall...said that OS leopard may not be fully use in this spec....is it true just because is 80gb and 2.0ghz??? he recommend me the RM4999 which is 120gb and 2.16ghz??? need you guys advice.....dont want to regret....
cRazYee
post Oct 30 2007, 02:35 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Oct 29 2007, 09:53 PM)
Went to KLCC Machine, they said, any computer bought from now on will get Leopard disk for free!!! They only charge RM32 for delivery.
free then charge?

wired!

Added on October 30, 2007, 2:37 am
QUOTE(NSkyline @ Oct 29 2007, 11:17 PM)
guys i'm planning to get macbook @RM4199.....spoke to a guy from mac city at amcorp mall...said that OS leopard may not be fully use in this spec....is it true just because is 80gb and 2.0ghz??? he recommend me the RM4999 which is 120gb and 2.16ghz??? need you guys advice.....dont want to regret....
our store cacat macbook 1.83Ghz 512Mb of ram also can use
wat say u?

Added on October 30, 2007, 2:39 am

if u dont want to use external hdd for time machine
then u have to do partition on you hardisk....
no recommand for macbook user

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 30 2007, 02:39 AM
dragna
post Oct 30 2007, 03:20 AM

5,252 posts

Ala.. he just trying to push his products out.. don't worry la.. 1.83Ghz machine also will do fine just add in additional 1Gb and you ae good to go. flex.gif
torreto
post Oct 30 2007, 04:10 AM

659 posts

why it is not recommend for macbook to make a partition for using the time machine ?
shoguniphicus
post Oct 30 2007, 06:18 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Oct 30 2007, 04:10 AM)
why it is not recommend for macbook to make a partition for using the time machine ?
It's because even you have 320GB (let's say you upgrade or something), and let's assume your main partition is 200GB, and your other partition is 120GB. so, in order to make a good restore using Time Machine, you will need a partition that is almost as big as your boot drive which is 200GB in order to make a good restore. (assuming that you filled up 160GB of your boot drive)

So, in reality, your macbook can store up to 160GB, and i doubt anyone would be that idiotic to make 80GB as restore and having only 80GB for book drive, for me, it's not even enough to store my photos, videos and musics that i always want to keep it convenient inside my macbook.

But this is not the case with Imac and Mac Pro where you can have TB inside. and having partitioned it for time machine would seems wiser.

Added on October 30, 2007, 6:26 am
The fella is desperate for bonus is it?
Even Apple states the minimum specs for Leopard, the min proc speed is around 900mhz. We are talking about intel macbook here, and the minimum is supposed to refer to old G4 PPC.
but if you have the extra cash to spend. why not just squeeze out a couple of, let's say 800 bucks for an addition of 40GB and 0.16Ghz. haha! every GB counts, because now i am a bit regreting not to get a bigger drive. 120GB is merely enough for me. and for best performance, it's recommended that your boot drive has to be at least 33% free.

Let's calculate something here, let's say you want the 80GB, and that leaves you only actual 53.6GB for all your musics, movies, pictures and most of all apps! Apps for mac consumes lots of space compared to other OS (observed with several apps across different OS) Because if you consume more than 67% of your boot drive space, your mac will run slower and slower. Unless you dont mind.

53.6Gb minus the OS and ilife, essential apps = around 40GB. Plus games? even Ipod classic has bigger drive than the macbook. quite pathetic.

*shout! oi apple, cant you just upgrade the drive size a bit more? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shoguniphicus: Oct 30 2007, 06:34 AM
lil twist
post Oct 30 2007, 09:14 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

i heard that the latest OS got a lot of bugs, and blue screen... is it true??? unsure.gif
supermassive
post Oct 30 2007, 11:39 AM

46 posts

Hi everyone, wanna ask a question as my english isnt that good. I'm curious in the 2nd page of the update form the part where they state

QTY : ( ) x Rm395 = ( )

i tot it was Rm 39 for up to date order, but how come Rm395?

http://www.applemalaysia.com.my/macosx/upt...c_OS_UTD_my.pdf

anyone send the form alreayd ? thanks hope you guys could help me
kokyun
post Oct 30 2007, 11:39 AM

770 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ Oct 30 2007, 09:14 AM)
i heard that the latest OS got a lot of bugs, and blue screen... is it true??? unsure.gif
it's true if you have APE installed on your mac,
http://unsanity.com/haxies/ape/
so what you need to go is to uninstall it before you install leopard on your mac,
if you still face the BSOD on your mac, then choose archive and install as a second options
read them from digg
shaznizzle
post Oct 30 2007, 12:05 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

So lets say... you successfully installed leopard all running smoothly... is it safe than to install APE??? anyone tried this yet?

Is it even necessary to install APE coz Leopard is a powerful OS u know..

How much memory you need to work with Time Machine??? 200GB???

This post has been edited by shaznizzle: Oct 30 2007, 12:18 PM
dawn152
post Oct 30 2007, 12:12 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(supermassive @ Oct 30 2007, 11:39 AM)
Hi everyone, wanna ask a question as my english isnt that good. I'm curious in the 2nd page of the update form the part where they state

QTY : (    )  x  Rm395  = (                      )

yeah, i would like to know too...
NSkyline
post Oct 30 2007, 12:53 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Oct 30 2007, 06:18 AM)
It's because even you have 320GB (let's say you upgrade or something), and let's assume your main partition is 200GB, and your other partition is 120GB. so, in order to make a good restore using Time Machine, you will need a partition that is almost as big as your boot drive which is 200GB in order to make a good restore. (assuming that you filled up 160GB of your boot drive)

So, in reality, your macbook can store up to 160GB, and i doubt anyone would be that idiotic to make 80GB as restore and having only 80GB for book drive, for me, it's not even enough to store my photos, videos and musics that i always want to keep it convenient inside my macbook.

But this is not the case with Imac and Mac Pro where you can have TB inside. and having partitioned it for time machine would seems wiser.

Added on October 30, 2007, 6:26 am

The fella is desperate for bonus is it?
Even Apple states the minimum specs for Leopard, the min proc speed is around 900mhz. We are talking about intel macbook here, and the minimum is supposed to refer to old G4 PPC.
but if you have the extra cash to spend. why not just squeeze out a couple of, let's say 800 bucks for an addition of 40GB and 0.16Ghz. haha! every GB counts, because now i am a bit regreting not to get a bigger drive. 120GB is merely enough for me. and for best performance, it's recommended that your boot drive has to be at least 33% free.

Let's calculate something here, let's say you want the 80GB, and that leaves you only actual 53.6GB for all your musics, movies, pictures and most of all apps! Apps for mac consumes lots of space compared to other OS (observed with several apps across different OS) Because if you consume more than 67% of your boot drive space, your mac will run slower and slower. Unless you dont mind.

53.6Gb minus the OS and ilife, essential apps = around 40GB. Plus games? even Ipod classic has bigger drive than the macbook. quite pathetic.

*shout! oi apple, cant you just upgrade the drive size a bit more? biggrin.gif
So meaning that it shouldnt have any problem.....but chances are that i may experiences lack of space on the hdd and eventually can slow down the mac......cause i also plan to install either windows xp or vista.......for my bootcamp........
allvin
post Oct 30 2007, 01:29 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ Oct 30 2007, 10:14 AM)
Believe it or not, Leopard sold to the public is Build 9a581 seed privately to developers. And that why hack version manage to release on the same day (26th) rolleyes.gif
shoguniphicus
post Oct 30 2007, 01:32 PM

428 posts

QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Oct 30 2007, 12:05 PM)
So lets say... you successfully installed leopard all running smoothly... is it safe than to install APE??? anyone tried this yet?

Is it even necessary to install APE coz Leopard is a powerful OS u know..

How much memory you need to work with Time Machine??? 200GB???
The unsanity thing is for eye candy, it is for those peeps that love customization.
Time machine will work whatever size you have, it will let you know if your backup drive is too low in space.
psyeo
post Oct 30 2007, 05:01 PM

2,605 posts

Invisible effect hehe biggrin.gif

thx to leopard new back drop feature in photo booth and ichat

This post has been edited by psyeo: Oct 30 2007, 05:02 PM
kksleo
post Oct 30 2007, 05:45 PM

45 posts

Have called Machines MV. They didn't mention about the coupon at all. Trying to ask them, they say no, no such thing, but you can get a free copy of Leopard by paying the RM 39 postage fees, and wait for 1 weeks or more. Have to wait one week is really painful, coz buy a new mac now but without new OS.

Cello
post Oct 30 2007, 07:40 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

In that case, you should contact Apple Malaysia about it. We here can't help you.

QUOTE(kksleo @ Oct 30 2007, 05:45 PM)
Have called Machines MV. They didn't mention about the coupon at all. Trying to ask them, they say no, no such thing, but you can get a free copy of Leopard by paying the RM 39 postage fees, and wait for 1 weeks or more. Have to wait one week is really painful, coz buy a new mac now but without new OS.
Free copy of Leopard? I do not think so that the RM39 offer is , the RM39 offer is for upgrade only.

Yet again, the coupon have nothing to do with Leopard. Read it properly. wink.gif
afosz
post Oct 30 2007, 08:03 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Can Mac OSX 10.5 be installed using AMD processor? I see processor requirement is either PowerPC or Intel. When I see Intel, I was hoping it can run under AMD as well. So can it?
smudger14
post Oct 30 2007, 09:21 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Oct 30 2007, 08:03 PM)
Can Mac OSX 10.5 be installed using AMD processor? I see processor requirement is either PowerPC or Intel. When I see Intel, I was hoping it can run under AMD as well. So can it?
installing os x leopard requires intel mac or power pc. since amd is not on any mac machines, means u can't unless u do the 'ehem' way to install leopard on normal pc.
xandman
post Oct 30 2007, 09:51 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

guys i m lost right now...
i upgraded my tiger last 2 days...
i was wondering is there a way for me to install the ilife that came with my system on leopard?
i m not sure if this is possible...anyway i m juz asking here...
no budget yet to get ilife08...
thanks.
prasys
post Oct 30 2007, 10:35 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Wow Leopard on Hackintosh rocks. To be honest with you...Its pretty good on my Hackintosh. I am now thinking of cloning my mac mini's HDD (which has Leopard installed) and put it on my iBook
allvin
post Oct 30 2007, 10:43 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 30 2007, 11:35 PM)
Wow Leopard on Hackintosh rocks. To be honest with you...Its pretty good on my Hackintosh. I am now thinking of cloning my mac mini's HDD (which has Leopard installed) and put it on my iBook
good to heard that. I lazy to dl prepatch version. Wait for the installer version biggrin.gif
ifer
post Oct 30 2007, 11:09 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Oct 29 2007, 12:39 PM)
you've got that option to do an upgrade, but I would prefer to do a clean reinstall. Every single upgrade of OS X that I've encountered before tends to have a horrible slowdown for some reason, where the clean reinstall does not have.
does that mean the rm 39 disc has an option of doing install, instead of upgrade only?
coz some forummers mentioned that it can only do upgrade.
and some forummers said after upgrade got problem...
-Jonathan-
post Oct 30 2007, 11:45 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

Its a tragedy that i had to get my macbook on early september, only to know that the leopard release date was confirmed to be late october. No regrets, but i really hope that apple will be lenient with clients like us, though if they are lenient with us, others will fork in their "suggestions".
stringfellow
post Oct 31 2007, 12:58 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Typing this on my new Macbook, the stocks already in with Drop-In Leopard DVDs. Dont have to mess with sending tha t PDF form and do the waiting game for the disc to arrive.
kksleo
post Oct 31 2007, 01:01 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 31 2007, 12:58 AM)
Typing this on my new Macbook, the stocks already in with Drop-In Leopard DVDs. Dont have to mess with sending tha t PDF form and do the waiting game for the disc to arrive.
Where you purchase your Macbook and have Drop-in Leopard DVDs?
kazasho
post Oct 31 2007, 01:13 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

can i buy the leopard dvd n install to my ibook g4?
shoguniphicus
post Oct 31 2007, 02:07 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Oct 30 2007, 09:51 PM)
guys i m lost right now...
i upgraded my tiger last 2 days...
i was wondering is there a way for me to install the ilife that came with my system on leopard?
i m not sure if this is possible...anyway i m juz asking here...
no budget yet to get ilife08...
thanks.
look for your tiger install disc 2. if i am not mistaken, it's inside there somewhere. i mean for the ilife06.

Added on October 31, 2007, 2:15 am
QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 30 2007, 11:09 PM)
does that mean  the rm 39 disc has an option of doing install, instead of upgrade only?
coz some forummers mentioned that it can only do upgrade.
and some forummers said after upgrade got problem...
That leopard disc is for everything from clean install to upgrade.
Imagine a new customer decide to reformat his mac one day after two months from using leopard.
Would he need a new dvd? i dont think apple would make all the trouble to only give upgrade disc for now.

it's obviously a normal OSX disc, without the bundled software (not sure about bundled software)

Apple did recommend archive and install and clean install for mediocre users.

and they did provide steps to manually fix your way through.

Added on October 31, 2007, 2:19 am
QUOTE(kazasho @ Oct 31 2007, 01:13 AM)
can i buy the leopard dvd n install to my ibook g4?
IBook G4 shouldnt be a problem. that would also depends what processor speed you have. if it's lower than 900mhz. It's not recommended though. Though it's on the lowest end of the specs for leopard to run on.

Added on October 31, 2007, 2:26 amurm. correct a bit. G4 should run leopard just fine.

This post has been edited by shoguniphicus: Oct 31 2007, 02:26 AM
stringfellow
post Oct 31 2007, 04:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

To those in doubt about the Leopard Dop-In DVD already dropping in. Thousand apologies for the crappy details as well, but you can see it marked "CPU Drop-In DVD".
MacDaNife
post Oct 31 2007, 07:31 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Oct 30 2007, 11:45 PM)
Its a tragedy that i had to get my macbook on early september, only to know that the leopard release date was confirmed to be late october. No regrets, but i really hope that apple will be lenient with clients like us, though if they are lenient with us, others will fork in their "suggestions".
They've never been in the past.

There's no reason to think they'll change this time either.

You could always hold out on upgrading if you're the eternal optimist.

But I'd pony-up on the upgrade price if I were you.
psyeo
post Oct 31 2007, 02:01 PM

2,605 posts

just received a new copy of Leopard DVD as a replacement for my not so perfect copy of Leopard....

Apple support says that they will collect my faulty DVD before sending me a new one..

but now they hvnt collect my faulty copy and already send me a new copy. I got 2 leopard now biggrin.gif and the my mbp can read the new copy without any problem or having to tilt my whole mbp at all, unlike the old copy which i thought is completely useless till i found the wierd solution.

Thank you Apple and hopefully i get to keep the old copy as well biggrin.gif
-Jonathan-
post Oct 31 2007, 02:24 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Oct 31 2007, 07:31 AM)
They've never been in the past.

There's no reason to think they'll change this time either.

You could always hold out on upgrading if you're the eternal optimist.

But I'd pony-up on the upgrade price if I were you.
I really don't see a point paying $129 for the new leopard at the moment. I wasn't one of the few enthusiasts that were inclining themselves to hit the sack everyday dreaming about leopard.

But i really wouldn't mind paying that $10 for upgrade if it was applicable to customers that purchased their notebooks a month earlier...i bought mine exactly on the 11th september, a good 21 days earlier than the qualifying date
psyeo
post Oct 31 2007, 03:51 PM

2,605 posts

i guess by that time you bought, there is already news about leopard release at the end of the year.....and it will be never ending if customer says that they just bought their hardware 1 month, 2 months or even as far as 1 year (saw someone asking that on this thread as well) and hope for $10 upgrade. and guess what will happen if they are going to be lenient to their customers?

When i place order for my mbp at the end of August, I already decided that I will buy leopard later at the normal retail price. and I even receive my MBP in mid-September (less than a month of Leopard release date.)

All I want to say is, ultimately consumers are the one who always make the final decision.

This post has been edited by psyeo: Oct 31 2007, 03:56 PM
Balok
post Oct 31 2007, 04:19 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

one question,

whats next after leopard?

Mac OS X 10.6 or Mac OS X 11?
kazasho
post Oct 31 2007, 07:40 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Oct 31 2007, 04:19 PM)
one question,

whats next after leopard?

Mac OS X 10.6 or Mac OS X 11?
Mac OS X Windows

codename - kitten
Balok
post Oct 31 2007, 07:45 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Oct 31 2007, 07:40 PM)
Mac OS X Windows

codename - kitten
you mean this kitten? smile.gif
http://www.geekculture.com/joyoftech/joyimages/556.png
shoguniphicus
post Oct 31 2007, 08:17 PM

428 posts

The next big thing from Apple, will be codename in the family of Bears.
Grizzly! (forgot which version d)

but it sounded a bit, urm.. beasty?
;p
-Jonathan-
post Oct 31 2007, 08:26 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 31 2007, 03:51 PM)
i guess by that time you bought, there is already news about leopard release at the end of the year.....and it will be never ending if customer says that they just bought their hardware 1 month, 2 months or even as far as 1 year (saw someone asking that on this thread as well) and hope for $10 upgrade. and guess what will happen if they are going to be lenient to their customers?

When i place order for my mbp at the end of August, I already decided that I will buy leopard later at the normal retail price. and I even receive my MBP in mid-September (less than a month of Leopard release date.)

All I want to say is, ultimately consumers are the one who always make the final decision.
I know, thats why in co-relation, i did mention earlier that they won't be able to think of customers like me because it will be a never-ending situation. Tiger is doing well for my system, but it'll be good to have a copy of leopard. Wishful thinking, i had to mac up immediately because i couldnt do much with my previous PC. No complains but it will be great if by any chance i will be able to get the upgrade as well whistling.gif
stringfellow
post Oct 31 2007, 10:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I face the very same dilemma before buying this Macbook im typing on, only my dilemma's hardware-based.

My case would be, i need a replacement for my sold Vaio UX, and pronto. I see in Jonathan's case, you sound like you need one pretty soon too, otherwise you would have waited for solid news on Leopard's release. Apple has been pretty generous already to provide the Up-To-Date Program for the Leopard, and this has been traditionally the case for Tiger as well. If anyone would have looked into it, we all know history repeats itself, and in this case too as well. So no point pining and asking Apple to be nice enough to provide free Leopard for buyers xx days before, since the dissatisfaction will never end. I myself want a hardware guarantee that this Macbook i just for myself will not be superseded by the rumored new Macbook refresh coming this November, but hey, guess what? Im not waiting for another week just to hope that this rumor come true and i get the most recent refresh. So, what do i do? Get one and be happy with it, and in the Leopard's case, you have to draw the line somewhere. How much earlier can a purchase get before you are cut off the Up-To-Date Program? To me, Apple made the right decision, they announce Leopard, and you get one for every purchase made by then. It is only right to do so. IF you anything more, more whinings and pinings will happen to no end.

Hell, i myself would beat myself on the head, if i made my purchase and missed the Leopard boat. But i only have myself to blame if i do so for not planning my purchase well. And if i need the Macbook now and possibly miss the Leopard discounts , would it even matter then? Can you delay the inevitable? If you could , you wouldnt be pining for this, would you? And i if you couldnt, you would have already accepted the fact that you will have to give this boat a miss, and come to terms with it.

Me? Im gonna ignore all Macrumors.com, Appleinsider.com, Macslice.com, and Thinksecret.com articles or forum entries since the news of the new MAcbook refresh could come any moment now. But am i regretting this Macbook purchase? No way! I have come to terms that i will have my Macbook superseded in what may be less than two weeks, but if you play the waiting game, when will it end?
friends
post Oct 31 2007, 10:46 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 31 2007, 10:35 PM)
I face the very same dilemma before buying this Macbook im typing on, only my dilemma's hardware-based.

My case would be, i need a replacement for my sold Vaio UX, and pronto. I see in Jonathan's case, you sound like you need one pretty soon too, otherwise you would have waited for solid news on Leopard's release. Apple has been pretty generous already to provide the Up-To-Date Program for the Leopard, and this has been traditionally the case for Tiger as well. If anyone would have looked into it, we all know history repeats itself, and in this case too as well. So no point pining and asking Apple to be nice enough to provide free Leopard for buyers xx days before, since the dissatisfaction will never end. I myself want a hardware guarantee that this Macbook i just for myself will not be superseded by the rumored new Macbook refresh coming this November, but hey, guess what? Im not waiting for another week just to hope that this rumor come true and i get the most recent refresh. So, what do i do? Get one and be happy with it, and in the Leopard's case, you have to draw the line somewhere. How much earlier can a purchase get before you are cut off the Up-To-Date Program? To me, Apple made the right decision, they announce Leopard, and you get one for every purchase made by then. It is only right to do so. IF you anything more, more whinings and pinings will happen to no end.

Hell, i myself would beat myself on the head, if i made my purchase and missed the Leopard boat. But i only have myself to blame if i do so for not planning my purchase well. And if i need the Macbook now and possibly miss the Leopard discounts , would it even matter then? Can you delay the inevitable? If you could , you wouldnt be pining for this, would you? And i if you couldnt, you would have already accepted the fact that you will have to give this boat a miss, and come to terms with it.

Me? Im gonna ignore all Macrumors.com, Appleinsider.com, Macslice.com, and Thinksecret.com articles or forum entries since the news of the new MAcbook refresh could come any moment now. But am i regretting this Macbook purchase? No way! I have come to terms that i will have my Macbook superseded in what may be less than two weeks, but if you play the waiting game, when will it end?
yea... it's true, if u really need it now, then buy then ! don't wait for the HOT coming new hardware upgrade of MB / MBP.
It would be never-ending story by then....
Buy when u need it.... then it would be the wise choice !

Cello
post Oct 31 2007, 11:33 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 31 2007, 04:25 AM)
[*img]http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/9540/31102007047ni2.jpg[/img]
To those in doubt about the Leopard Dop-In DVD already dropping in. Thousand apologies for the crappy details as well, but you can see it marked "CPU Drop-In DVD".
Is that means you got the new MacBook with Leopard pre-loaded it?

If yes, then I am happy. smile.gif I can get my iMac this coming Sunday with Leopard on it, actually it is last Sunday. Got some problem with the payment but that is worth it as I can get my iMac with Leopard. rclxms.gif
-Jonathan-
post Nov 1 2007, 04:58 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 31 2007, 10:35 PM)

I didn't know my intonation previously sounded like i was whining all about it. I did mention specifically i had no regrets, simply pointing to the fact that i didn't guessed well in this waiting game. I've made my purchase, and i had to make that purchase. Simply going back and ranting about it wasn't about to get me anywhere. I was actually trying out my luck with one of the customer care member in Apple Brisbane before i posted in here, i know they had to draw a line, but i really didn't know when the confirmation date was made on leopard. I remember clearly when i made my purchase, the cut-off deadline wasn't that apparent yet. My lecturer and I are doing OS architecture on the current leopard, if its really that impressive and stable, i might be able to see if i can make my lecturer get the uni to pony-up a few copies for their beloved research student
stringfellow
post Nov 1 2007, 09:35 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

LIke i said, it goes by history. Apple announces, the date starts from there. It was like that for Tiger as well. I was not there when Tiger first launches, and when that Up-To-Date Program happened for Tiger's launch, but it happened the same way back then as it was for Leopard now. So, it is a matter of waiting for Apple to announce Leopard's availability and then you will be safe, and be included in that Program.

It's no guessing game really, the indicator was to wait for Apple to anounce it.. You either have simply not the luxury of waiting for it, or are not made aware of this fact fom past experience.

If you do get included by preferential criteia on this, be assured that others will follow suit on your example, and it will never end. Same case with mine, and i swallowed the bitter end of that fact, and moved on. And seems like you have too, judging from your move to get your Universoty to cough up the copies.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 1 2007, 09:39 AM
dawn152
post Nov 1 2007, 11:58 AM

419 posts

i understand how u feel jonathan...i've purchased items in the past slightly before price reduction, item refreshed etc...it sure drove me crazy...

This post has been edited by dawn152: Nov 1 2007, 12:03 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 1 2007, 12:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

God, there's so many typos on that previous post of mine, it's embarassing!

My post also only reflect my own sad case as well, so if you think im bashing you, im also bashing myself.

On one end, it is good that Apple is taking progress forward with these constant refreshes, be it hardware or software-wise, but on the other hand, it's killer on the pockets of their end user. Not to mention the constant wait for the supposed next refresh, or opportunities missed due to purchases made beyond dates of uncertainties.
-Jonathan-
post Nov 1 2007, 05:05 PM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

The waiting game will never end. So i thought, its just an OS, might as well just grab it when tiger was still stable and doing fine.
So far, leopard is doing fine with all the abuse my friends are putting it through, doesn't seemed buggy. The graphics are indeed eye-candy. What impresses us the most is the use of time machine, its a very innovative and easy way for system restore.I'll be anticipating the first patch to come out soon. I am getting a MBP anytime next year, so i just hope that nothing's changed much in leopard. Tiger was revolutionary, leopard was an enhancement to the revolution.
stringfellow
post Nov 1 2007, 09:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Problem with Time Machine is that it needs its own space, formatted to its liking. I planned earlier on using it on the WD MyBook i have, but with this requirement, I need to either find another storage medium to store my 300+ Gb vacation videos so that i can format it to use with Time Machine, or get another one. Both prospective arent that feasible at the moment.

Anybody knows how much space is needed and how far back in time with that space can you go back in time? Or does everything depends on how much you want to backup at a particular time?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 1 2007, 09:43 PM
supermassive
post Nov 2 2007, 11:11 AM

46 posts

Apple Malaysia said its Typo Error and just cancel the "5" at the Rm395

Crusader
post Nov 2 2007, 12:43 PM

783 posts

Got my Imac on Sep (damn) which not entitled to get RM39 offer for leopard). Upgraded it last week with leopard (cost me RM509).

Just bought a MBP yesterday and ordered the Leopard for RM39. My question is, can I install my new MBP with the leopard that I bought last week for my imac instead of waiting for Apple to send the new one from S'pore?

kwekeugene
post Nov 2 2007, 01:38 PM

1,479 posts

Legally, no. The Leopard you bought only applies for ONE Mac. If you do install on the MBP, it's somewhat piracy.

But, who will know eh tongue.gif
munky
post Nov 2 2007, 02:07 PM

1,971 posts

But since he already paid the RM39 for the upgrade i think it's legal. Coz it's just a different disc. Correct me if im wrong
Crusader
post Nov 2 2007, 02:19 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Nov 2 2007, 02:07 PM)
But since he already paid the RM39 for the upgrade i think it's legal. Coz it's just a different disc. Correct me if im wrong
Sorry, I'm totally new for apple stuff. Wondering whether there'll be problem when register my leopard online. I can't remember if the leopard need to register online during my imac installation.

Thanks for info, folks. notworthy.gif
Frenly
post Nov 2 2007, 02:29 PM

381 posts

For those who got their apple b4 the launching leopard, did you manage to get your CD from MAC SG?

i already fax the form to them but havent received yet

QUOTE(Crusader @ Nov 2 2007, 02:19 PM)
Sorry, I'm totally new for apple stuff. Wondering whether there'll be problem when register my leopard online. I can't remember if the leopard need to register online during my imac installation.

Thanks for info, folks.  notworthy.gif
h_bib
post Nov 2 2007, 02:34 PM

Gadgets Freak
847 posts

Cycom just offered RM470 stock clearance....free leopard t-shirt summore
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2007, 06:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Legally, it is not. But the thing is, there are outlets that preloads their current Macbook stocks with Leopard but did not register it, and sell it to the customer. Their rationale is that once you have submitted the form either by fax or mail, and receive your CPU Drop-In DVD, you can register with that serial instead. Illegal for that period of time, until you get your Drop-In DVD.
allornothing
post Nov 2 2007, 06:29 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

Any idea when hardwares with Leopard preloaded arrives? I'm waiting or the iMac.
stringfellow
post Nov 2 2007, 06:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

A wild guess, but it should be here when the Macbook Santa Rosa arrives here. The one i got only had the DVD dropped in, it is not preinstalled.
Cello
post Nov 2 2007, 06:49 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Anyone receive the Up-To-Date Program DVD yet?
zijian
post Nov 3 2007, 04:34 AM

33 posts

Yeah, i got it today, airmail from Singapore! So excited, use me almost one and a half hours to install. But everything is worth the wait.

This post has been edited by zijian: Nov 3 2007, 04:35 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jensen_tidus
post Nov 3 2007, 08:03 AM

360 posts

Juz upgraded to leopard...
i got a problem hope someone could give me a hand with...

my hsemates using win xp in MSHOME workgroup

i tried to change my workgroup as well to MSHOME, but they cant see me only i see them, i tried the apple help menu, so far no luck...

anyone can help ?

thax in advance...

Cello
post Nov 3 2007, 08:44 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(zijian @ Nov 3 2007, 04:34 AM)
Yeah, i got it today, airmail from Singapore! So excited, use me almost one and a half hours to install. But everything is worth the wait.
Awww...cool. cool2.gif

Alright, it is written "Upgrade DVD" there. I wanted the "CPU Drop-In DVD" one. Getting my iMac this coming Sunday with Tiger and then have to fill up a form. sad.gif

Can anyone tell me which Apple Store does have iMac preloaded with Leopard?

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Nov 3 2007, 08:03 AM)

i tried to change my workgroup as well to MSHOME, but they cant see me only i see them, i tried the apple help menu, so far no luck...

anyone can help ?

thax in advance...
Contact Apple help line? Only if you have purchase your Mac less than a year ago.
stringfellow
post Nov 3 2007, 11:17 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Is there any particular differences whether it is a "CPU Drop-in DVD" or an "Upgrade DVD"?
jensen_tidus
post Nov 3 2007, 11:35 AM

360 posts

The issue fixed once i create myself a location for internet... n share files using SMB under sharing files option...
thax for helping...

QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ Nov 3 2007, 08:03 AM)

anyone can help ?

thax in advance...
munky
post Nov 3 2007, 01:46 PM

1,971 posts

ive a question. If we make a clean install, then ilife 08 will be deleted, no ?

IF that's the case, does that mean we have to fork out more money to buy ilife08 ?
TSlailaikatong
post Nov 3 2007, 01:54 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Nov 3 2007, 01:46 PM)

IF that's the case, does that mean we have to fork out more money to buy ilife08 ?
You don't have to fork out additional money for iLife... You can find the installer for iLife in the DVD that you got when u bought your mac...

zijian
post Nov 3 2007, 01:56 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Nov 3 2007, 01:46 PM)

If you bought the mac recently, you will have 2 installation disc, just put in first disc and install bundle software only, choose for iLife, then it will prompt you for second disc for installation. So, you can have your iLife back!
munky
post Nov 3 2007, 02:29 PM

1,971 posts

IINM the ilife in the cd is ilife06, coz i think macstudio used their own cd to upgrade to ilife08. Should i ask them ?
allornothing
post Nov 3 2007, 03:37 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 2 2007, 06:32 PM)
A wild guess, but it should be here when the Macbook Santa Rosa arrives here. The one i got only had the DVD dropped in, it is not preinstalled.
I shall wait tongue.gif
MacDaNife
post Nov 4 2007, 01:41 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Finally had some time free to go buy Leopard....

Bought a retail version from FreshGear at Digital Mall in Sec 14 PJ. No T-shirt but got a free screen protector for my iPhone. (Now if they gave away a free iPhone THAT would be the deal to-die-for).

Whilst my prior OS installs have always been clean installs; for some reason I just can't be bothered to do so this time. Have instead simply installed Leopard over Tiger on my MacPro. I've a cloned version of Tiger on a second hard-drive on the MacPro so reverting to state prior to Leopard upgrade won't be a problem.

So far everything seems to work fine. Microsoft should learn from Apple on how to roll-out a operating system upgrade. My absolutely regret buying Vista. Leopard however was money well spent.
kremlin
post Nov 4 2007, 11:50 PM

925 posts

Wow, everyone is so gian about Leopard.. check out this review:-
http://www.knocksomesense.com

Bought mine on 26th Oct 9pm .. and yeah, took more an hour to install.

vandetta
post Nov 6 2007, 04:47 PM

658 posts

Got the Leopard and took me around 30 minutes to install. Love everything, except the finder - the sidebar icon too small for me and it's not look as simple as previous OS. But it detect shared computer instantly and there's folder for downloads, mean that I don't have to create new and set the downloads to put in there as previous OS version. Oh yes, the widgets creator also cool, I can read ESPNsoccernet news headlines without need to open the browser biggrin.gif iWork works well without update but iLife '08 works only after software update.

I have some question, in previous OS, if I do software update I can choose to install and keep package, Leopard also same but after restart when I search for the folder of the update, could not manage to find it. Before this it's in Packages folder. No more folder with that name. Or is there new place they put the update?
munky
post Nov 22 2007, 11:11 PM

1,971 posts

guys, what are the cons if i upgrade from tiger to leopard instead of a clean install ?
kokyun
post Nov 22 2007, 11:32 PM

770 posts

same here,
if i make an archive and install, can i import all my setting and applications back to leopard without reinstall it?
does anyone try to install through upgrade option ?
what's the use of archive and install beside save a copy of apps and docs ?
hanzanep
post Nov 23 2007, 09:02 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Nov 3 2007, 08:44 AM)
Awww...cool. cool2.gif

Alright, it is written "Upgrade DVD" there. I wanted the "CPU Drop-In DVD" one. Getting my iMac this coming Sunday with Tiger and then have to fill up a form. sad.gif

Can anyone tell me which Apple Store does have iMac preloaded with Leopard?
Contact Apple help line? Only if you have purchase your Mac less than a year ago.
I've already asked the apple premium reseller. They said the mac with preinstalled with leopeard will coming this december 07. Better check it out at PIKOM PC Fair. laugh.gif
darkimp
post Nov 23 2007, 09:33 AM

363 posts

have anyone of you encounter the driver problem for third party mouse. i had problem with my razer pro|click. Got solution?
Crusader
post Nov 23 2007, 10:40 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(darkimp @ Nov 23 2007, 09:33 AM)
have anyone of you encounter the driver problem for third party mouse. i had problem with my razer pro|click. Got solution?
I had problems with my razer pro|click on my iMac too. I suspect it was due to the razer driver.
I tried the mouse on my MBP (without razer driver), everything is fine except can't use those side button.

Just remove the razer driver or wait for razer to come up with the new driver for leopard.
munky
post Nov 24 2007, 02:07 AM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Nov 22 2007, 11:11 PM)
guys, what are the cons if i upgrade from tiger to leopard instead of a clean install ?
anyone ?
hairol83
post Nov 24 2007, 02:03 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Nov 24 2007, 02:07 AM)
anyone ?
i think it should be better for you to do the fresh install..
because u can fully utilized every each function in the Leopard. (correct me if i'm wrong)

you can upgrade,
but just for reminder,
maybe the problem that u are facing in Tiger will brought forward after u finishing the leopard installation

for those who doesnt want to re-install the apps that oredi in the Tiger..
just go ahead..upgrade it from Tiger to Leopard..

ifer
post Nov 24 2007, 07:09 PM

4,637 posts

i read more people got problem later on with upgrade than with install...
so i think you should jump on the bandwagon and do a clean install
munky
post Nov 27 2007, 12:04 AM

1,971 posts

ok did a clean install just now.

Is it normal that the dashboard isnt as smooth as it should be ? the animation when i open/close it isnt smooth. Same goes to the dock when i roll over the mouse. It doesnt move smoothly either
hiroshi
post Dec 14 2007, 11:00 AM

1,424 posts

Symantec has introduced Norton AntiVirus 11 for Mac, featuring support for Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,140457-pg,1/article.html
honght
post Jan 1 2008, 11:53 PM

259 posts

GOSH
I just installed Leopard 5 minutes ago.
I only got one problem.
Where can I get a higher resolution for that Aurora wallpaper ?
I love the picture but I hate the BLUR effect. DAMN
ah_heng
post Jan 24 2008, 07:58 PM

505 posts

Not sure if I am on the right thread but need some confirmation fr all the sifu here.

I'm using iphoto 08. One thing I notice is whenever I create a new event, it will "duplicate" itself in terms of the storage size. Meaning, in the iphoto library, it will consume the storage space, and at the same time the physical size for the photo itself. For my photo storage in iphoto, the library size itself is around 40GB!!!

Is there any alternative to iphoto?

pmsoo
post Feb 12 2008, 11:47 AM

374 posts

Im thinking of getting a leopard with Imac with an intention of apple remote desktop from my mbp. Is it possible?

My mbp screen may be smaller than an imac but my imac is very far from my bed. Yes, my vision is getting worse, cant see subtitles from far anymore. It is mainly to view movies and pictures only.

My mbp runs on 10.4.11
abel
post May 16 2008, 12:48 PM

571 posts

Leapord found running slow under my Mac Mini (Intel Duo Core) with 2GB RAM

leopard i only like the Time Machine really help me to backup everything smile.gif
TechnoDude94
post May 16 2008, 01:10 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(abel @ May 16 2008, 12:48 PM)
Leapord found running slow under my Mac Mini (Intel Duo Core) with 2GB RAM

leopard i only like the Time Machine really help me to backup everything smile.gif
May I know that exact specs of your Mac Mini, could be background processes. Check in "Activity Monitor". Also, remember to check your login items.
ps360
post May 20 2008, 09:42 AM

137 posts

Guys. Need some help. Got a new 24" iMac last week. Everything works fine. Then this morning, when I switched on the unit. Everything on the desktops, including dock icons and menu on the top are not responding to clicks. Strangely, the Download window is open and I can navigate items in there via the keyboard (tab, spacebard and arrow keys). When I move over the icons on the dock, they still animate - but just does nothing when clicked. I've tried restarting the unit several times (force quiting, as the Apple icon where the Shut Down function is located is also not accessible) Appreciate some help and advice. Thanks.

Note: I've searched apple's website and found that u can simultaneously press Command-Option-Esc to force quit - but now, its not an application thats frozen but the entire desktop.
sonnettech-asia
post May 20 2008, 09:48 AM

602 posts

insert the OSX cd and press down the C key to start and see if it works. then go to the next step
ps360
post May 20 2008, 09:51 AM

137 posts

Alrighty. Thanks. Will try that later when I get home. Appreciate it.

This post has been edited by ps360: May 20 2008, 10:03 AM
TechnoDude94
post May 20 2008, 05:37 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ May 20 2008, 09:48 AM)
insert the OSX cd and press down the C key to start and see if it works. then go to the next step
May I know what does it do? Is it like a Mac OS X Check cause "C" stands for something like check.

QUOTE(ps360 @ May 20 2008, 09:51 AM)
Alrighty. Thanks. Will try that later when I get home. Appreciate it.
All the best. Since it's so new, you can send it back to where you bought it from .
wilson88
post May 21 2008, 02:46 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ May 20 2008, 05:37 PM)
May I know what does it do? Is it like a Mac OS X Check cause "C" stands for something like check.
All the best. Since it's so new, you can send it back to where you bought it from .
By pressing the "C" button on the keyboard will boot with optical drive.

You still can press "option", it is the same like how you boot into Window using Bootcamp. Just that press "C" will straight boot without optical drive.
TechnoDude94
post May 21 2008, 05:26 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ May 21 2008, 02:46 PM)
By pressing the "C" button on the keyboard will boot with optical drive.

You still can press "option", it is the same like how you boot into Window using Bootcamp. Just that press "C" will straight boot without optical drive.
Oh yea, I forgot. Last time when I installed the Mac OS X Leopard I also had to press "C". blush.gif

0.1213sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:29 AM