6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

"Rohingya should be allowed to work in Malaysia"

SUSMaybachS600
post Apr 5 2023, 05:10 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Apr 5 2023, 04:45 PM)
PETALING JAYA: Recent instances of hostility against Rohingya refugees have prompted an activist and an assemblyman to exhort the government to allow them to work for their living.

Migrant rights activist Adrian Pereira and Melaka assemblyman Noor Helmy Abdul Halem told FMT they believed the refugees would not resort to running illegal businesses if they were allowed to seek gainful employment.

As refugees, the Rohingya are not allowed to work, have no access to government services such as healthcare and education, and cannot own property or open bank accounts.

Pereira said the antagonism against the Rohingya stemmed from the notion that they were economically displacing Malaysians and was misguided.

“They’re already here, setting up their businesses to survive,” he said. “Malaysians should be more empathetic as the Rohingya are not eroding into their economic pie.

“To survive, this community has had to pick up entrepreneurship very fast. That has nothing to do with Malaysians as their products and services cater to the needs of their own community.

“In actuality, there are enough resources for everyone to share.”

Noor Helmy, an Umno member and the assemblyman for Duyong, said the Rohingya needed to work, “but by our own rules”.

“Existing laws do not allow them to work or run businesses, but if they can’t do either, how are they supposed to survive?” he said.

He said the Rohingya should be required to register with Malaysian authorities and not solely with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

“This is so we have their records and will be able not only to take action but legally control them. Currently, we don’t even know if they swap their refugee cards among themselves because we lack the data.”

Noor Helmy and Pereira were commenting on videos on social media showing an upward trend in locals confronting the Rohingya, often in a hostile manner.

Recently, Pereira chastised Klang MP V Ganabatirau, calling him racist and xenophobic for urging the home ministry to take action against Rohingya traders operating stalls at the Meru market in Klang.

Ganabatirau, a member of DAP, rejected the accusation, saying he was only relating the concerns of his constituents when he raised the matter in the Dewan Rakyat.

Ganabatirau’s predecessor, Charles Santiago, said there should be some space for Rohingya to earn their living although priority should be given to Malaysians.

“They have no support when they come to Malaysia,” he said. “They have left everything behind. It’s really a question of understanding that they’re refugees and therefore their livelihoods should not be taken away from them.”

I suggest let those Rohingyas stay in those guys houses.
leftycall9
post Apr 5 2023, 05:13 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

Letak kat rumah dua ekor nie. Surely their fortunes can feed more and more of these pests.
Satan Fallen One
post Apr 5 2023, 05:13 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(keong_boy @ Apr 5 2023, 05:07 PM)
I don't get it, we allowed them into our country, but don't allow them to work? Are we planning to send them back or allow them to stay? If it's the later, then let them work laaa
Because they compete with locals for employment opportunity.

Since their living is partially sponsored by the government, they can accept job for much lower pay that is impossible for locals to live on.
s1nn3r
post Apr 5 2023, 05:14 PM

Humility makes us real
759 posts

I wonder why locals always fight for palestine but not rohinya, is not both same faith?

so many fighting for palestine... yet Rohinya not many
DarkNite
post Apr 5 2023, 05:14 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(MRaef @ Apr 5 2023, 05:07 PM)
These activist, politicians said this now, but in 10-20 years these Rohingyas will demand the same treatment as C,I and M.

Their population are increasing year by year.

Why do you think their country of origin die-die want to kick them out of the country?
Problem is they are already here & breeding.
Now mushrooms many kampongs in Malaysia.
projectnew
post Apr 5 2023, 05:15 PM

185 posts

Rohingya very hamsap and they breed irresponsibly.. later hamsap with local
DarkNite
post Apr 5 2023, 05:16 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(s1nn3r @ Apr 5 2023, 05:14 PM)
I wonder why locals always fight for palestine but not rohinya, is not both same faith?

so many fighting for palestine... yet Rohinya not many
Err.... you dunno out of the many Tabung, only one or two reaches Palestine? whistling.gif
Roman Catholic
post Apr 5 2023, 05:17 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Apr 5 2023, 05:13 PM)
Letak kat rumah dua ekor nie. Surely their fortunes can feed more and more of these pests.
You are too kind 2 ekor je ? The expenses of the entire Rohinya community must be borne between the 3 political stooges.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 5 2023, 05:18 PM
askingquestion
post Apr 5 2023, 05:17 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Apr 5 2023, 05:08 PM)
nope send them back to Myanmar, there are a lot of jobs there
Send them back, but who will pay for the cost?

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Apr 5 2023, 04:57 PM)
anyone can book a flight ticket to malaysia, claim refugee status and do business, imagine if we can do that in japan, australia, if we can earn some money, we essentially can live there forever
The issue is they are already stuck here.

Imagine if you are stuck in a country, you don't have money and you can't get a legal job. What are you gonna do? Illegal jobs or worse, stealing and scamming people.

I am not some kinda pro-Rohingya guy, but not letting them work will create all sorts of problems to us too. I also want them gone, but who is going to pay? Myanmar definitely is not and these people are poor.
Stirmling
post Apr 5 2023, 05:18 PM

291 posts

send them back lah
here also not enough jobs for locals
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 5 2023, 05:19 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

Again, I demand the Parliament to authorise our maritime forces to sink any illegal encroaching vessels without need for authorisation nor be accountable, be it Bangladeshis', Chinese', Indonesian's, Phillipine's, Vietnamese', ...

We owe it to our children to ptrotect this land from aliens, be it from the space or from the seas..

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Apr 5 2023, 05:19 PM
Roman Catholic
post Apr 5 2023, 05:19 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(askingquestion @ Apr 5 2023, 05:17 PM)

Imagine if you are stuck in a country, you don't have money and you can't get a legal job. What are you gonna do? Illegal jobs or worse, stealing and scamming people.

I am not some kinda pro-Rohingya guy, but not letting them work will create all sorts of problems to us too. I also want them gone, but who is going to pay? Myanmar definitely is not and these people are poor.
Perlu ke tanya who pay costs ? Surely la those who asked them to come must bear the full costs until the Rohingya expatriates are expatriated back.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 5 2023, 05:20 PM
Sha91
post Apr 5 2023, 05:21 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(Satan Fallen One @ Apr 5 2023, 05:13 PM)
Because they compete with locals for employment opportunity.

Since their living is partially sponsored by the government, they can accept job for much lower pay that is impossible for locals to live on.
They need not to compete because locals do not want the job anyway. Locals working at Pasar Selayang, really?

Government sponsored? Malaysian government? Sponsor? Haha. No. It is the NGOs assist, of course not entirely. Maybe in terms of health and education. They work illegally anyway to survive.

This post has been edited by Sha91: Apr 5 2023, 05:21 PM
askingquestion
post Apr 5 2023, 05:23 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 5 2023, 05:19 PM)
Perlu ke tanya who pay costs ? Surely la those who asked them to come must bear the full costs until the Rohingya expatriates are expatriated back.
Good luck getting those politicians to pay.

You might as well wish for a billion dollars and a harem of beautiful sex slaves while you are at it.
D10yrspain
post Apr 5 2023, 05:24 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(keong_boy @ Apr 5 2023, 05:07 PM)
I don't get it, we allowed them into our country, but don't allow them to work? Are we planning to send them back or allow them to stay? If it's the later, then let them work laaa
The unhcr card just for temporary stay. Stay je not for working or ride motor or ride car. Malaysia just a transit country to them. But some of them stay over 40 yrs oredi, gov no movement, yg sebelah kwailo2 semua buat tak tahu tutup mata.
U want them stay here u kenot just allow the bapa and ibu, semua sekampung mesti curi2 datang sini. They got informer, Msia is such a good country to stay and relatives oredi settle down for years buat apa nak balik? Sure they will send greetings to all sekampung kat Myanmar ask them come over.
Also got illegal way to get unhcr card and ic
This country apa pun boleh, got money....not a problem.

Better we don't say anything if not sure people will say we all also not from Msia masa dulu.
Diam2 je la, wait for their breeding speed.

This nothing new, masa Mamak kuti dulu dah start benda ni lol

This post has been edited by D10yrspain: Apr 5 2023, 05:26 PM
Roman Catholic

3,520 posts

QUOTE(askingquestion @ Apr 5 2023, 05:23 PM)
Good luck getting those politicians to pay.

You might as well wish for a billion dollars and a harem of beautiful sex slaves while you are at it.
If it's good luck, no wonder our politicians are allowed to be bodoh most of the time.
Chisinlouz

849 posts

How about him hire them all first then only talk
dogbert_chew
post Apr 5 2023, 05:25 PM

1,565 posts

Isn't there any jobs Malaysian don't want to do that they can pick up?

Not suggesting permanently but currently this is a problem.
leftycall9
post Apr 5 2023, 05:25 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

QUOTE(askingquestion @ Apr 5 2023, 05:17 PM)

Imagine if you are in a country, you don't have money and you can't get a legal job. What are you gonna do? Illegal jobs or worse, stealing and scamming people.

Stuck apanya? They sendiri paid money to come here illegally apa kejadah stuck? Can afford to come but can't afford to go back home?
Rohingyas usually pay almost 8 million kyat (about U.S.$2,800) per person before they begin their journey to Malaysia from Rakhine, and some end up being abandoned by brokers along the way, he said.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5370132
ecrl
post Apr 5 2023, 05:27 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 5 2023, 05:14 PM)
Problem is they are already here & breeding.
Now mushrooms many kampongs in Malaysia.
True true.. this is main concern.
My kampung, few rohingya families staying in..

They are young and productive, make babies every years. Eldest kids is 10 years old.
Now in nakal age and enter my house compound.
Raving river behind my house, steal neighbour yield.

What happen in 5 next years you think? I dont feel safe anymore.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:14 PM