6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Three Malaysians heading to Harvard

netflix2019
post Dec 26 2023, 10:15 AM

418 posts

KYUEM hard to masuk? tuition fee berapa?
archief
post Dec 26 2023, 10:24 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 25 2023, 08:28 PM)
when you get a good start, you already win half way.

they have the capacity to finish their courses of course.

why look at the 1% possibility when 99% they will make it.
chromatino_hex

this i agree. my parents worked hard to send me to a top business school in uk, all i needed to do is to graduate, dont even need distinction.
b4 graduate sudah dapat a job in SG, just because of my degree aje.
king99
post Dec 26 2023, 10:25 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Saya anak Malaysia @ Dec 25 2023, 08:04 PM)
after grad balik contribute to economy
Then accused of trying to dominate economy ?

Natsukashii
post Dec 26 2023, 10:36 AM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(RGRaj @ Dec 25 2023, 05:35 PM)
But in the USA, they shud watch out for anti Asian BLMs.
The thing is.. racism is almost everywhere but where you rather be.

A racist country but economy drowning or a racist country but economy strong?

Secondly, BLM thing.. you see in the US, there are also plenty of whites will join for BLM protest

There are a lot of people from the group of majority (white) will support BLM

In here, despite the bumi privilege and advantage, it's the bumi still feel the most tertindas/terancam

Don't ask why I'm still here then, I'm poor and no skill. lol.gif

This post has been edited by Natsukashii: Dec 26 2023, 10:37 AM
limeuu
post Dec 26 2023, 10:38 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Dec 26 2023, 10:15 AM)
KYUEM hard to masuk? tuition fee berapa?
Selection is not based on where you study. Although some colleges are "better" (more familiar) with the requirements of top universities and can prepare you better.

Practically all applicants are straight A students, so they all have the same result. They need to differentiate themselves in other ways.
netflix2019
post Dec 26 2023, 10:57 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 26 2023, 10:38 AM)
Selection is not based on where you study. Although some colleges are "better" (more familiar) with the requirements of top universities and can prepare you better.

Practically all applicants are straight A students, so they all have the same result. They need to differentiate themselves in other ways.
i prefer to send my kids there not because of Harvard potential connection. I find it interesting because of the location and full boarding system. Prefer to have my kids stay in hostel away from KL.
SUSifourtos
post Dec 26 2023, 11:00 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(thkent91 @ Dec 26 2023, 09:17 AM)
At least their policy is based on meritocracy and usually practice surplus policy, which a typical Malay on the street can't even understand this methodology and the rational behind.

Malaysia lose 9 street
this is not a comparison statement.

If Malaysian Malas, Bodoh
So Singapore can solve its problem??

Metirocracy is Good, but it cant solve ANY problem.
delphine.88
post Dec 26 2023, 11:12 AM

143 posts

Garden international school.
Low and middle income.
Hmm
thkent91
post Dec 26 2023, 11:16 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Dec 26 2023, 11:00 AM)
this is not a comparison statement.

If Malaysian Malas, Bodoh
So Singapore can solve its problem??
Metirocracy is Good, but it cant solve ANY problem.
Meritocracy is Good, but it cant solve ALL problem. I fixed that for you

Why Sg cannot solve flooding issue? Just do reclaim land with higher level of soil

Why Sg cannot solve population issue? They already restrict 3rd country foreign worker to have temporary working permit only. Once you retire, out you go

The only thing that Sg can't solve is power and food for now. They are trying hard on vertical farming and solar... Not necessary will succeed but at least they are making effort

sparketh
post Dec 26 2023, 11:18 AM

233 posts

U do know for kids of VVIP Harvard does have a separate intake where the cost is much higher and its used to curry favours. Its not based on merits like these kids unless their parents is linked.
delphine.88
post Dec 26 2023, 11:19 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Dec 25 2023, 08:25 PM)
mark my words.

sg not looking good in future
too many time bomb

u reallythink sg can sustain 10-15m population?

food? water?? land??

the way out is seizing more land
Why would they want to grow to 10-15m population?
Just retain as it is and capture the brightest minds from worldwide.
Singapore will only be more expensive to live in moving forward

QUOTE(billylks @ Dec 25 2023, 11:41 PM)
Let's face it, their futures have already been paved. It will be a challenging and exciting life.

When I first came to KL to study at university Malaya, everything was so new and foreign. And those 3 will be flying to US, to study at one of the top world uni, and everything will be more foreign liao. Unless of course they anak orang kaya, been to US many times.

I wish them the best. Study smart not study hard yo.
Pfft.. UM has nothing to shout about
SUSifourtos
post Dec 26 2023, 11:27 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(thkent91 @ Dec 26 2023, 11:16 AM)
Meritocracy is Good, but it cant solve ALL problem. I fixed that for you

Why Sg cannot solve flooding issue? Just do reclaim land with higher level of soil

Why Sg cannot solve population issue? They already restrict 3rd country foreign worker to have temporary working permit only. Once you retire, out you go

The only thing that Sg can't solve is power and food for now. They are trying hard on vertical farming and solar... Not necessary will succeed but at least they are making effort
For Power, Singapore already invest/Build Generator in Vietnam, and channeling back the electricity thought ASEAN Grid network.

Lets see Japan, and Even China.
The problem behind population = Aging.

Once the Miracle of Japan, also cannot recovered from Aging Population
Now is China's Turn to solve Aging Population.

I can confidently tell you, SG is far more welcoming any productive person into its country, then its old retired citizen who withdraw CPF and burden to country's medical system.
they might be planning solution with its neighbouring states for "Ultimate Solution".

But their main problem is still the growing Aging Population. Thats the No.1 Problem.
SUSifourtos
post Dec 26 2023, 11:30 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Dec 26 2023, 11:19 AM)
Why would they want to grow to 10-15m population?
Just retain as it is and capture the brightest minds from worldwide.
Singapore will only be more expensive to live in moving forward
A typical Fine Product of Failed Malaysia Education System.

Population Growth always a Positive thing to Any Country.
for SG, quite different the case.

with Longer life expectancy coming years, People live longer.
the population growing but the "Retired Group" Bcome bigger and bigger.

How you going to stop the number growth?

Kill Old People?
Prevent new born baby???

hksgmy
post Dec 26 2023, 11:33 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Why are we talking about Singapore again? Singapore lives rent free in so many Malaysian minds. We’re celebrating our 3 Harvard inductees.

Leave Singapore to do its own thing. Sink or swim, succeed or fail, rich or poor, it’s not our problem, not our responsibility and not our concern.

Because we can’t change how and what other countries do to try to attract our talents, we should worry about what we are able do to help retain them instead.

RGRaj
post Dec 26 2023, 11:33 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Dec 26 2023, 10:36 AM)

Secondly, BLM thing.. you see in the US, there are also plenty of whites will join for BLM protest

In here, despite the bumi privilege and advantage, it's the bumi still feel the most tertindas/terancam

Don't ask why I'm still here then, I'm poor and no skill.  :lol2:
Racism is not institutionalized in the US, unlike here. There everybody are equal citizens under the constituition.
billylks
post Dec 26 2023, 11:37 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Dec 26 2023, 11:19 AM)
It was a big deal when you were from a very hulu kampung and had to take a flight to KL alone 30 years ago.
p4n6
post Dec 26 2023, 11:39 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Dec 26 2023, 10:36 AM)

Don't ask why I'm still here then, I'm poor and no skill.  :lol2:
Malaysia practices constitutional racism unlike other countries … in MY if you are a racist, form a party and be a leader, people support you. But others like US/UK, people will condemn you …

kcal
post Dec 26 2023, 11:40 AM

90 posts

i am sure these bright students dont waste time opening propaganda tered to glorify hamas and even waste time to defend the telurless telorists
kcal
post Dec 26 2023, 11:41 AM

90 posts

the sydny girl before go US have to change the spelling of her name
hksgmy
post Dec 26 2023, 11:42 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Dec 26 2023, 11:37 AM)
It was a big deal when you were from a very hulu kampung and had to take a flight to KL alone 30 years ago.
Yes. I know what you mean bro. When I got that Colombo Plan scholarship to Australia, my whole kampung lined up to give me angpows and a proper sending off. 30-35 years ago things were so different.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0210sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:32 AM