Three Malaysians heading to Harvard

abc2005
post Dec 25 2023, 07:32 PM

UNIVERSE is my CATALOGUE
2,079 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 25 2023, 05:20 PM)
Just read that one of the girls , Ho Shu Xin was REJECTED by matriculation program in Malaysia

Lmfao what a blessing in disguise for her!
if she was admitted to matrics and happened to have a forum with PMX, same thing will repeat aka kena sound don't kacau status quo.

koaydarren
post Dec 25 2023, 07:42 PM

Mr D
430 posts

We got UITM graduates, it's okay!
hksgmy
post Dec 25 2023, 07:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(koaydarren @ Dec 25 2023, 07:42 PM)
We got UITM graduates, it's okay!
Se-pu? Se-puuuuuuuuuuuuuukiCHINjiPENGmakLIMranKUANjiaoYEW
Saya anak Malaysia
post Dec 25 2023, 08:04 PM

50 posts

after grad balik contribute to economy
hksgmy
post Dec 25 2023, 08:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Saya anak Malaysia @ Dec 25 2023, 08:04 PM)
after grad balik contribute to economy
May or may not.

They may not be welcomed back… scared of having the boat rocked.
gashout
post Dec 25 2023, 08:20 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Apr 3 2023, 01:03 PM)
The three Malaysians accepted into Harvard College (from left) Ho Shu Xin, Pua E Rick and Sydny Lum.
PETALING JAYA: Three Malaysians have been selected to attend Harvard College, the undergraduate school of Harvard University, for the class of 2027.

They are Ho Shu Xin from Ipoh, and Pua E Rick and Sydny Lum from Kuala Lumpur.

The college received a total of 56,937 applications with a 3.4% acceptance rate.

Ho intends to major in Educational Psychology, Pua will be pursuing studies in Biological Sciences while Lum plans to major in Economics.

congrats to the three who worked hard. their life changes forever.

never listen to anyone who says education/ certificates isn't important.
SUSifourtos
post Dec 25 2023, 08:25 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(bengm2019 @ Apr 3 2023, 02:25 PM)
Congrats, after you graduate, Singapore welcomes you.... Your whole future is in singapore....
mark my words.

sg not looking good in future
too many time bomb

u reallythink sg can sustain 10-15m population?

food? water?? land??

the way out is seizing more land
chromatino_hex
post Dec 25 2023, 08:26 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 25 2023, 08:20 PM)
congrats to the three who worked hard. their life changes forever.

never listen to anyone who says education/ certificates isn't important.
havent even graduated yet and you say their life changed forever dy? they literally just started their freshman year this year.

This post has been edited by chromatino_hex: Dec 25 2023, 08:26 PM
gashout
post Dec 25 2023, 08:28 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ Dec 25 2023, 08:26 PM)
havent even graduated yet and you say their life changed forever dy? they literally just started their freshman year this year.
when you get a good start, you already win half way.

they have the capacity to finish their courses of course.

why look at the 1% possibility when 99% they will make it.

RT8081
post Dec 25 2023, 11:14 PM

355 posts

Congrats 👏
v2rozu
post Dec 25 2023, 11:23 PM

Legit. See their face also can tell they’re proper qualified.
supsupsui
post Dec 25 2023, 11:29 PM

77 posts

PH 1 yr can produce 3 Harvard students.

done plotek.

billylks
post Dec 25 2023, 11:41 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(chromatino_hex @ Dec 25 2023, 08:26 PM)
Let's face it, their futures have already been paved. It will be a challenging and exciting life.

When I first came to KL to study at university Malaya, everything was so new and foreign. And those 3 will be flying to US, to study at one of the top world uni, and everything will be more foreign liao. Unless of course they anak orang kaya, been to US many times.

I wish them the best. Study smart not study hard yo.

This post has been edited by billylks: Dec 25 2023, 11:42 PM
nabielz
post Dec 25 2023, 11:42 PM

cbr_akra
903 posts

None of malay lol
red streak
post Dec 25 2023, 11:44 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

How to boycott Harvard?! mad.gif
kllonely1
post Dec 25 2023, 11:53 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Apr 3 2023, 01:03 PM)
The three Malaysians accepted into Harvard College (from left) Ho Shu Xin, Pua E Rick and Sydny Lum.
PETALING JAYA: Three Malaysians have been selected to attend Harvard College, the undergraduate school of Harvard University, for the class of 2027.

They are Ho Shu Xin from Ipoh, and Pua E Rick and Sydny Lum from Kuala Lumpur.

The college received a total of 56,937 applications with a 3.4% acceptance rate.

The three Malaysians were among the 14.5% of international students from across 102 countries selected to attend Harvard College out of a total of 1,942 students admitted.

Both Ho and Pua are currently A-Levels students at Kolej Yayasan UEM while Lum is an A-Level student at Garden International School (GIS).

Ho intends to major in Educational Psychology, Pua will be pursuing studies in Biological Sciences while Lum plans to major in Economics.

In Malaysia, there are currently fewer than 10 alumni of Harvard College.

Harvard College’s financial aid policy

This year marks the second consecutive year that Harvard College has expanded its financial aid policy for low- and middle-income families.

The cost to attend Harvard College will be free for families with annual incomes falling below US$85,000 (about RM375,000), an increase from last year’s threshold of US$75,000. Nearly 25% of Harvard College students come from families earning below this threshold.

Since launching the Harvard Financial Aid Initiative in 2005, the university has awarded more than US$3 billion in support, and its annual aid budget has risen by more than 200%, from the initial US$80 million to US$246 million in 2023.

The college has also waived standardised testing requirements for the third year running.

Nadiah Wan, an alumni interviewer for Harvard College and Harvard Club of Malaysia president, said the college’s admissions is “need-blind and financial aid is 100% need-based”.

“This means that students are admitted solely based on their ability and character regardless of socio-economic background and financial ability to pay. If a student is admitted, Harvard is committed to ensuring that they can afford to attend.

“This gives an opportunity for talented students across the globe, including Malaysia, to access its world-class research and education system,” she said in a statement.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ing-to-harvard/
tapi ini belum ada lambo lagi,
yang satu itu belum graduate dah ada lambo
Wedchar2912
post Dec 25 2023, 11:59 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Dec 25 2023, 11:44 PM)
How to boycott Harvard?! mad.gif
we can start by boycotting intel processors and apple products... tongue.gif
brkli
post Dec 26 2023, 12:05 AM

592 posts

3 pendatang.
neutronproton
post Dec 26 2023, 12:12 AM

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Dec 25 2023, 08:25 PM)
mark my words.

sg not looking good in future
too many time bomb

u reallythink sg can sustain 10-15m population?

food? water?? land??

the way out is seizing more land
why mark an idiot's word?
if sg ever sinks, they would have invaded msia.

netmatrix
post Dec 26 2023, 12:35 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

After grad won't be back in MY anyway. Most of my customer kids from poor to rich, once they score high and can study overseas, won't come back.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0527sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:02 AM