Southplace 2 Residences - Tropicana Metropark, * New Residences at Subang Jaya *

Simply_Ed
post Dec 22 2023, 02:06 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(IronManz @ Nov 13 2023, 04:31 PM)
Went to check out the fish in Metropark's lake today.
Saw red carp and some humongous catfish:
Hi IronManz, I've been following Metropark for a while and wanted to purchase a property there. Been eyeing the new developments such as SP2 and Alira/Amika.

I've seen you pretty active in the property forums and eventually bought SP2. Is this going to be for your own stay or as an investment?

After surveying, I found that there are some pros and cons to TMP,

Pros
1. self-sustaining township once commercial shops are up
2. Close vicinity to SJCC future TOD, Sunway Pyramid, SS15 shops, USJ Taipan
3. Connectivity via Federal, NPE, Glenmarie, Kesas highways
4. 9.2 acre park + pet friendly

Cons
1. Traffic on federal at peak hours and only one entry in. With more service apartments coming up + BRDB project along federal, foresee that there will be even worse traffic going in and out of TMP.
2. Surrounding area HTC + Hi-tech factories + shoplots are quite empty around the area. Required 10 to 15 minutes to SS15, Taipan shoplots for food.

Why did you personally buy this place out of the rest? Like Teja, Aurora, Lot 15, etc etc with better connectivity and vicinity to ammenities.
Simply_Ed
post Dec 22 2023, 02:07 PM

52 posts

double post

This post has been edited by Simply_Ed: Dec 22 2023, 02:07 PM
Simply_Ed
post Jul 19 2024, 12:33 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(IronManz @ Dec 30 2023, 05:01 AM)
Hi Ed, sorry for late response, not been checking here recently, festive season and many days leave, mostly travelling

It's for own stay, still 4 years to go, so can plan properly before moving, that's also the reason I didn't go for property ready for VP but went for recently launched ones

I have a friend staying at TMP and he says the traffic going for and coming back from work is quite (relative to other nearby areas) smooth.  Eventually TMP will also have exit points near the Sri KDU.
The completed projects and the 2 upcoming ones next to them are along the edge of TMP that's near htc, but it's not near for SP1 and especially SP2, which is why I went for the latter.  I think the nearby shops will eventually buck up once the 4 new TMP projects have VPed.

I was looking only at new launches, freehold, established developer, prime location (SJ) and good neighbourhood, as well as the urban park really is a factor.  Similar ones with a bit of park that I checked out were W City, Alora, Flora, Serenade, but considering the above points we went for SP2.  The ones you mentioned are quite standalone projects and not by nature so I didn't really look at them

I agree with the plus points you mentioned. Certainly the commercial aspect will be vibrant when the SP1 and SP2 shoppes are open, as the focus is on F&B (Malaysian culture).  Some more, on your point 4, can leverage on that to 'pet date' : https://www.facebook.com/reel/704923118420732

I look forward to seeing you in our SP2 owners' community
Hey ironmanz,

Sorry for the really late reply! Wanted to reply but overlooked for a while. After surveying the location and everything, my wife and I decided on subsale afterall and bought Paloma facing the central park instead so we'll be future neighbours!

Any idea what the future proposals are next to Southplace 2?

Just realised Amika has 24 retails shops as well. By 2027, the place should be more happening.

Also BRDB scheduled to start building and complete their phase 1C by 2029 and they also have 2 office phases in their phase 1.

Whereabouts are you staying now that got you interested in moving to TMP?
Simply_Ed
post Jul 31 2024, 09:26 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(WaterfishFarmer @ Jul 31 2024, 08:03 AM)
As an owner of SP2, here’s my unbiased opinions and speaking from an ownstay perspective since most of the owners here are non-investors. Personally really drawn to the location of the township, not the most happening place in SJ but just a stone throw away from PJ where I’m currently staying. The township itself is not fully developed yet, with only a Central Park, an international school and with a grocer & some retail shops opening soon.

The project has retails at the bottom, it is both pros and cons depending if you value convenience or privacy. But there’s no doubt that the success of this development is high correlated to the success of the retail shops. Facilities wise pretty standard, nothing much to shout about, I guess there’s a sky gym but that’s about it.

Layout wise is pretty inclusive, 1-4 rooms catering for families of all typical sizes. Gotten myself a 3 bedder unit, love the small design detail where the second bedroom has a direct access to the common bathroom, making it sort of like a junior master bedroom with an en-suite.

Here are some pros and cons that I identified after studying for a long time.

Pros:
- Freehold
- Low density (553 units over 4.4 acres, ~125 units/acre)
- Pet friendly development
- Easy flyover access to Federal Highway
- Inner less congested road access to Taipan, Damen, etc.
- Self sustaining township (park, school, retail, grocer, etc)
- More privacy & lesser congestion due to lower traffic area

Cons:
- 19 units per floor served by 4+1 lifts, might not be sufficient
- High maintenance fees due to low density (44 cents)
- No speed ramp, spiral car park system
- No proper guard house, not visitor friendly (guest need to walk down to the residence lobby to register themselves)
- No nearby public transportation (except KTM Batu Tiga)
- Nearby light industrial area & warehouses (lorries pass by from time to time)
- Nearby HTC and substation but still a distance away
- No nearby cheap food/grocer options, future retails and grocer are more upmarket

TLDR, this township is poised to be a more “upmarket ownstay product” with a lower density as compared to other townships. Whether they are able to achieve that, we don’t know. But if you are like me that can tolerate all the cons I have listed and interested to know more, feel free to drop a msg and I can share the referral fees and the contact of the developer staff. Cheers.
Hello sir, I recently bought Paloma subsale and had the same idea as you towards the place in terms of the Pros. Been following the development of the place through the forum. What do you think in terms of capital appreciation of the space if the retail does well? And do you think the retail will do well?

I went to spoke to the sales staff last few weeks and apparently they've sold of 2 plot of lands next to SP2 and the show unit plot. They're going to move in to SP1 shops early next year. Also BRDB is starting their sales gallery. Personally I think if all goes well, in the future there will be 2 towers of office space in BRDB's plot and the shoppes will be thriving from the catchment. Amika will have some retail units below as well completing 2027 with SP2.
Simply_Ed
post Aug 1 2024, 01:04 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(WaterfishFarmer @ Jul 31 2024, 08:03 PM)
First of all, congrats sir on your home purchase, mind to share what it’s like living in metropark? In my honest opinion, I do not have too much faith in the retails for doing extremely well and able to draw crowd from far away places.

Reasons:
1. The retails are not managed by the developer thus no control in tenant mix.
2. Even if the developer were to manage Shoppes 1 & 2, they recently sold off their so called “most successful mall” in KD (at a loss mind you), signalling they lack confidence in managing malls (can look at 3 Damansara as reference)
3. Them selling off land in their own namesake township shows a lack of confidence in their ability to bring up the township

You can call me pessimistic but I don’t like to sugar coat things. To me, as long as the retails are able to satisfy the basic needs of the residence, that’s good enough for me.

Do I see it thriving and bustling to a point that it drives huge capital appreciation? Even with the catchment area from Federal Avenue, I personally do not think so in the near future. But don’t get me wrong, I am eager to see how things turn out and it definitely complements the township/ nearby area well in which it provides the missing commercial elements. What I can say is hope for the best, prepare for the worst. Just my 2 cents.
Thank you! I haven't actually moved in yet. Currently in the process of renovation. I too share the same sentiment that there won't be much capital appreciation if any haha. So far, quite excited to move in. The close proximity to Subang Jaya, SS15 area, empire mall in one direction and USJ Taipan has been quite convenient during the times we've been there. But during some of the mornings at about 8/9, there's some traffic getting out onto the Federal Highway so it's better for people with flexible work hours/ remote work.

1. Apparently the leasing is done by Tropicana but the problems still persists as ultimately is dependent on the shop owners to decide to rent out to a given tenant. From what I gathered from the agent at the sales gallery, they mentioned deals with Coffee Bean and McDonalds to take up slots in SP1 fell through because owners were asking for a higher rental than what was offered so there's that.

2. Tropicana doesn't really have a good track record of managing malls sweat.gif but am hoping they will at least get it to a level like the shops below Tropicana Avenue. They have a good selection of F&B. Right now only Mercato, Hattitude, Health Land Pharma, Swimology, Anytime Fitness and MyNews are tenanting SP1 although there seems to be quite a fair number of other F&B inquiring even some mamaks. It's similar for me, if there's some good f&b there and easy access to groceries then I'll be happy.

3. Also seems like these areas that were zoned out for commercial that have been taken up by other developers will soon to be more service apartments. Since it's walking distance to the Shoppes, hopefully the extra catchment will allow the SP1 & 2 to thrive.

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 1 2024, 01:24 AM)
The only capital gain is if you bought at auction or motivated seller. All initial buyers still bleeding.
Yea I was actually reading the Tropicana Metropark thread from the start. It hasn't been the best for Paloma/Pandora as a lot of them are seeing drawdowns of 15 to 20+ % from their nett purchase. It was worse for Paloma as the developer was selling unsold units at a hefty discount. Can't imagine the earlier buyers having to service the interest of their SNP purchase price from the additional 10% to 15% rebates that were given. Although that said, the rental for the area has gone up quite abit since. According to the property agents, fully furnish units are getting around 2100 to 2300 for Pandora and 2300 to 2500+ for Paloma and Paisley.

Can't believe that at some point Tropicana even marketed that they were going to move the Batu Tiga KTM closer to Tropicana Metropark.

Simply_Ed
post Aug 26 2025, 12:45 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ChrisNoob @ Aug 26 2025, 05:27 AM)

Can visit their sales gallery, this is current confirmed tenants, either already up & running or currently renovating. Sushi place and mamak rumored to open as well. Otherwise based on current shops that are opened, only Red Cawan as only standalone restaurant (The General fine dining is closed indefinitely apparently), Mercato seem to have decent amount of visitors and its Uncle Jack & Euro Deli has daily patrons too, while Anytime Fitness is pretty packed most weekday evenings.
The quality of the photo can't really see that well some of the names of the shops.

There's going to be another clinic besides RS clinic? And also what's the name of the japanese place opposite red cawan?

And can't make out the other new shops at L2 besides the circular fabric.
Simply_Ed
post Aug 26 2025, 12:47 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(IronManz @ Aug 25 2025, 01:16 PM)
I think the potential shops are waiting to see how’s the customer base like. Do the Metropark residents frequent the shops there?
Any sharings from Metropark residents?

Heard from my friend R that a sushi place will open soon, now renovating.
I usually go to Mercato for last minute groceries and eat at Euro Deli + Red Cawan from time to time. Problem is there's not enough F&B selections currently and no drinks shop so very limited choices. With Alira and Southplace up, there's also more people at the park now in the evenings.

0.0217sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:46 AM