Build own house

TSnick_linz
post Mar 23 2023, 12:32 PM, updated 3y ago

78 posts

Hi guys. I'm planning to buy a piece of empty land in Selangor and want to build a new house from scratch. Budget for house building (exclude land) is RM 800k.

Anyone has been through the process or knows what would b the steps to do this?

Any ideas is 800k is enough to build from scratch? My idea is a minimalist industrial type of design. 2-3 storey house (2k to 4k sqf) probably looks like a square box without much fancy interiors. Means no fancy feature walls that kinda thing.

Or anyone has any recommendations on contractors / architects who can help me handle this process end to end?

ArchId
post Mar 23 2023, 04:08 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(nick_linz @ Mar 23 2023, 12:32 PM)
Hi guys. I'm planning to buy a piece of empty land in Selangor and want to build a new house from scratch. Budget for house building (exclude land) is RM 800k.

Any ideas is 800k is enough to build from scratch? My idea is a minimalist industrial type of design. 2-3 storey house (2k to 4k sqf) probably looks like a square box without much fancy interiors. Means no fancy feature walls that kinda thing.

Or anyone has any recommendations on contractors / architects who can help me handle this process end to end?
the budget is enough for a 2 or 3 storey house.. but if you need to set aside some $$$$$ for the authority submissions ya...if you want to do a proper way lah.
but you need to start with these

1) Land area-plot size... this can determine your approve built up area after deducting all the setback... best way to buy a land that have already included a proper infrastructure thus Kebenaran merancang (KM) can be avoided.

2) To make sure the plot of land being gazetted as residential not agricultural, industrial.... will got problem with town planner to change land tittle

3) the rest on the design, space planning... can always go to any suitable consultant or design/built contractors.....

cheers mate
Izwan
www.archidstudio.com

This post has been edited by ArchId: Mar 23 2023, 04:09 PM
ar188
post Mar 23 2023, 09:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(nick_linz @ Mar 23 2023, 12:32 PM)

container design probably suit your style. but not every one can pull it off properly like the western designs. maybe end up look like some abandon container yard design. biggrin.gif
Minolta
post Mar 23 2023, 09:32 PM

2,292 posts

Every so often there will be similar posts here asking this same thing. I remember one just a few months ago. Can search previous posts for answers

0.0169sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:31 AM