Professional Engineer (Ir.) ?

TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 12:56 PM

603 posts

Errrrr actually PE is through BEM regardless. IEM is to facilitate the process of becoming PE much easier. Think iem like driving school to getting ur driving license. JPJ (like BEM) only issue the license.

Iem helps to arrange for PI, set course to fulfill the course requirement etc. They also arrange seminar/talks/site visit to collect cpd points to maintain ur PE. U can obtain cpd without joining but it be much harder and expensive for non member.
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 02:21 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Mar 9 2023, 01:01 PM)
actually nobody uses the title Ir in front of their name unless theyre one of those professor datuk dr Ir those kind of ppl

whats the point of getting it btw

i see my uncle has it , but he is in management, so whats the point of being an Ir...
IR still means ur uncle did the projects, have technical experience, went through courses, sat for PI and passes. Basically more credible than someone claiming datuk know how to design piping system. If I'm the client I will choose ur uncle over some randos with mere PM title.

Also after I got IR, I get like tons of pipu viewing my LinkedIn profile that I force to disable notification.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Mar 9 2023, 02:22 PM
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 02:28 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 9 2023, 01:38 PM)
I have it. I am in senior management.
It is a recognition of engineering ability. So in meeting clients and authorities, your ideas and comments carry some weight.  biggrin.gif
This. It really helps to shut some idiots who make random nonsense comments on engineering matters.
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 02:45 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Mar 9 2023, 01:41 PM)

In marehsia got people get charged for screwups meh
Never seen before.

Got, just u don't know about it. Unless it's high profile, companies don't share lawsuit with even their employees.
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 02:46 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Mar 9 2023, 02:30 PM)
Engineer just glorified boiler technician
I guess a boiler technician design ur house, piping and electrical wiring.
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 04:48 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Mar 9 2023, 03:33 PM)
just because you have the qualification doesn't mean you are capable. some are just very good at studying.

even i don't need an IR to see something that doesn't make sense/practical.
Errrr..... Getting IR u need at least 3 years experience, site job, knowledge how to handle project and random technical questions will be asked to judge ur capability and have to write a project essay.

Even if u have 3 years exp, u will still fail so normally suggest 5 to 10 years when comfortable before u go for interview since if u fail there is grace period u cannot take the exam again. U cannot just sit for exam when u "feel" like it or just by "studying".
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 05:10 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Mar 9 2023, 05:07 PM)
Even doing master and getting PhD needs to go through the same thing, doesn't mean that the said person is competent.

I am in construction industry, while I don't deal with IR directly, but I loled when I see drama ensues in CCM.

So there's a fair share of incompetent IR, but also those that have dual,triple degree/master in other industries as well.

Doctors is the same as well, study for so many years, go through Housemanship, and you still can misdiagnose patient sickness, heck some just nod head yeah you are sick, do you need MC?
I didn't say getting IR makes u immune to criticsm. Otherwise I make fun of Datuk and Tan Seri for what?

I'm just saying there's more than just "studying".

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Mar 9 2023, 05:11 PM
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 08:10 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(hellothere131495 @ Mar 9 2023, 06:13 PM)
How you got it as a lecturer? Isn't industrial experience (1 year) is needed, and the other 2 years can be teaching or engineer? You got work as engineer before, or straight away become lecturer during your time as a mentee?
Different industry different criteria. I don't think electronic division has high criteria like minimum site work or soemthing.
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 08:16 PM

603 posts

Btw Ir do have its uses. Cause u cannot officially claim as "engineer" by law in malaysia (if I remember correctly during PE explanation talk so correct me) to do any engineering work. Example if u as non engineer want to set up construction company and able to operate u need at least one IR to do the design approval and such. U cannot just hire bunch of grads to do engineering work.

There are exception (though suppose to be illegal) like O&g industries.
TrialGone
post Mar 9 2023, 08:19 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Mar 9 2023, 08:18 PM)
this reminds me of the ktard who boasts of his injineering firm but ownself dont even have a degree
Pretty sure that is illegal if doesn't go through IR.

0.0132sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:48 PM