What time to pay to avoid credit card charge

TSNeohJing
post Feb 13 2023, 11:20 AM, updated 3y ago

75 posts

Use Credit card to buy Apple Mac online for Rm6k smthg: on 8 Feb 2023 but the thing not yet arrive.

Want to ask about credit card charge, do i need to pay before 10 Feb 2023?

Statement date: 21 Jan 2023
Payment due date: 10 Feb 2023
acbc
post Feb 13 2023, 11:21 AM

9,051 posts

Pay before the due date of course.
NoNameSoldier
post Feb 13 2023, 11:22 AM

284 posts

the MYR 6k something to pay in your upcoming statement, 21 Feb due by 10 March
PeeEl
post Feb 13 2023, 11:42 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Feb 13 2023, 11:20 AM)
Use Credit card to buy Apple Mac online for Rm6k smthg: on 8 Feb 2023 but the thing not yet arrive.

Why is this even a question?

Using your information above, if the amount is in that statement, you just adhere to the deadlines therein. Period.

It does not matter whether you received the item charged for or it is damaged or you have a dispute over it. That’s to do with the merchant, nothing to do with the credit card company/bank.
FarEast92
post Feb 13 2023, 11:55 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Feb 13 2023, 11:22 AM)
the MYR 6k something to pay in your upcoming statement, 21 Feb due by 10 March
this.
any transaction after statement date will be in next statement. Sometimes, transaction close to the statement date will also be in next statement.
1mr3tard3d
post Feb 13 2023, 12:25 PM

1,145 posts

you are only required to settle the 'statement balance' - all transactions posted by statement date
so it's unlikely that your 8 Feb transaction will be posted by 21 Jan lol.gif

you may settle the 'outstanding balance', inclusive of the 8 Feb purchase, but you will not be charged if you only pay the statement balance by 10 Feb
TSNeohJing
post Feb 13 2023, 01:33 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(1mr3tard3d @ Feb 13 2023, 12:25 PM)
you are only required to settle the 'statement balance' - all transactions posted by statement date
so it's unlikely that your 8 Feb transaction will be posted by 21 Jan :lol2:

you may settle the 'outstanding balance', inclusive of the 8 Feb purchase, but you will not be charged if you only pay the statement balance by 10 Feb
So, really need to settle the Rm6k to avoid charges? Because the payment due date is 10 Feb 2023.
So fast need to pay to avoid charges?
emino
post Feb 13 2023, 01:35 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

I calibrate my credit card bills to all arrive before gaji. Gaji masuk je terus bayar full for the month.
zinze36
post Feb 13 2023, 01:36 PM

262 posts

if the 6k transaction appears in your Statement date: 21 Jan 2023
then yes
kens88`
post Feb 13 2023, 01:45 PM

397 posts

statement date is 21 Jan 2023. So you need to pay for all transaction before that date on 10th Feb 2023.

When you buy on 8 Feb, this transaction should appear on the following statement e.g. 21 Feb 2023

Anyway, your statement cannot see? Just pay the outstanding on your statement is good enough.
TSNeohJing
post Feb 13 2023, 01:50 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kens88` @ Feb 13 2023, 01:45 PM)
statement date is 21 Jan 2023. So you need to pay for all transaction before that date on 10th Feb 2023.

When you buy on 8 Feb, this transaction should appear on the following statement e.g. 21 Feb 2023

Anyway, your statement cannot see? Just pay the outstanding on your statement is good enough.
But today is 13 Feb already, kena charge ody?
Oh u meant tis 8 Feb transaction should appear in next statement?

Emm… i m still blur how credit card charges.
Anyone can explain an example pls
PoisonSoul
post Feb 13 2023, 01:57 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Feb 13 2023, 01:50 PM)

Statement Date: That PDF email comes to your email inbox, indicating that's your monthly usage with X bank's CC.
Payment Date: XX/XX/XX is the F I N A L day to make payment to X bank before they charge you charges.

Throw Apple or ANY MERCHANT out of the question. Item on your hand or not, X bank does not care.
Your statement shows Apple already charged you RM6,000 right? Pay it off. Why? Refer the above sentence.

Pay before 10th Feb 2023 (to be safe), you pay RM6,000 nett. No extra charges what so ever.
Pay after 10th Feb 2023, bear the finance charges from 15-18% depending on your CC and bank.
TSNeohJing
post Feb 13 2023, 02:17 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Feb 13 2023, 01:57 PM)
Statement Date: That PDF email comes to your email inbox, indicating that's your monthly usage with X bank's CC.
Payment Date: XX/XX/XX is the F I N A L day to make payment to X bank before they charge you charges.

Throw Apple or ANY MERCHANT out of the question. Item on your hand or not, X bank does not care.
Your statement shows Apple already charged you RM6,000 right? Pay it off. Why? Refer the above sentence.

Pay before 10th Feb 2023 (to be safe), you pay RM6,000 nett. No extra charges what so ever.
Pay after 10th Feb 2023, bear the finance charges from 15-18% depending on your CC and bank.
But my statement balace showing Rm0.
Outstanding balance is Rm6k.
The 10 Feb due date is refer to the statement balance or outstanding balance

1mr3tard3d
post Feb 13 2023, 02:29 PM

1,145 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Feb 13 2023, 01:33 PM)
So, really need to settle the Rm6k to avoid charges? Because the payment due date is 10 Feb 2023.
So fast need to pay to avoid charges?
no

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Feb 13 2023, 02:17 PM)
statement balance,
kens88`
post Feb 13 2023, 03:43 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Feb 13 2023, 01:50 PM)

When your statement comes out, pay statement balance before due date.

The statement balance refer to transaction done before cutoff date, in your case is 21st Jan.

Your 6k will be charged into next month statement, and will be refered to as outstanding balance, which will need to be paid at next statement date.
talexeh
post Feb 13 2023, 08:02 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,102 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Feb 13 2023, 02:17 PM)
Refer to this helpful post to get better idea.

You bought the Mac on 8-FEB. Your statement is on every 21st so this means that this transaction will go into the 21-FEB statement. Therefore, you only need to make the payback before 10-MAR. Don't wait until the last minute of course.
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 22 2021, 09:06 PM)
it's about the POSTING DATE

you should be able to see the posting date for your 4-Mar transaction.
This post has been edited by talexeh: Feb 13 2023, 08:06 PM
cassian948
post Feb 13 2023, 08:11 PM

931 posts

There's no need to complicated things.

Just pay according to the statement that you received.

If your statement usually on the 21st day of the month, usually by the next day the statement should already emailed to you for payment.

The 20 days (22nd-until-10th) is a grace period by the bank for you to pay according to the what the bank had sent to you.

If the statement date is 21st, the last transaction to be included in the statement is those performed on the 21st.

Transactions made on 22nd (or on 8th the next month) will be reflected on the next statement.

TL;DR-

Transactions made on 8 February 2023, will appear on 21 February 2023 statement, which due payment before 10 March 2023.

This post has been edited by cassian948: Feb 13 2023, 08:16 PM
TSNeohJing
post Feb 13 2023, 09:42 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 13 2023, 08:11 PM)
There's no need to complicated things.

Just pay according to the statement that you received.

If your statement usually on the 21st day of the month, usually by the next day the statement should already emailed to you for payment.

The 20 days (22nd-until-10th) is a grace period by the bank for you to pay according to the what the bank had sent to you.

If the statement date is 21st, the last transaction to be included in the statement is those performed on the 21st.

Transactions made on 22nd (or on 8th the next month) will be reflected on the next statement.

TL;DR-

Transactions made on 8 February 2023, will appear on 21 February 2023 statement, which due payment before 10 March 2023.
Ok so no need to pay so fast yet right.

fantasy1989
post Feb 13 2023, 10:25 PM

4,707 posts

Pay 100% before 10 March 2023
hye
post Feb 19 2023, 11:13 PM

White Tiger
3,397 posts

Unauthorised thread. Further discussion can be taken here

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4281854