N95 8gb vs Iphone 8gb, which one to choose...

missgeek
post Oct 18 2007, 03:21 PM

318 posts

For me, N95 8GB wins hands down. brows.gif If what attract you to a phone is its specs and what it can do, N95 8GB of course much better. iPhone is cool of course but for the price you pay, I would rather buy iTouch because it's the same only. Difference is, iPhone can text, call and take pics (camera also not that good). Both also cannot MMS. Both also can use wifi. tongue.gif

Here is a good article on iPhone or N95. Smartphone or Featurephone? The person who wrote this is only using N95-3, US version of current N95. We know N95 8GB is better.
I like the summary:
I am asked frequently which is better and that's a really hard call because it really comes down to how you think you might use the device moving forward. The iPhone's strength is that it offers an easy way to do more than most people have ever considered on a handset. Advanced users may soon see past the UI beauty and yearn for more power and there's only one way to go there. I'm hoping that Nokia is paying enough attention (as I believe they are) and makes a few adjustments through either the beta labs or just directly in future firmware to the browsing experience which is the only current weakness in the N95-3.

Anyway, if you get iPhone now you need to hack etc and that is a risky thing with no warranty. I read in hardwarezone forum Spore (I think) that hacking your iPhone could 'fry' the phone totally. Very dangerous liow. Also, hacking iPhone currently is a constant thing because with each new firmware u need to hack again.

Even if you wait till 2008 for a 'legal' iPhone, most probably it won't be a freesim phone. Most probably it'll be under a mobile operator simlock. If all mobile operators in Malaysia carry iPhone oklah, but if only one specific operator, so siow, haha. Altho I think it will go with one operator only, that is the case in US and UK too.

EVEN if you are willing to wait until 2008 and accept the simlock iPhone with Maxis for example... S60 just announce that they are working on S60 touch UI! These technologies will be available for all S60 device manufacturers during 2008. So I am very sure by Q3 or Q4 2008, Nokia will come up N95 Touchscreen. Maybe they call it N96 or whatever. So, if both will be available in 2008, might as well you go for Nokia Touchscreen instead of iPhone!

More info on S60 Touchscreen UI Announcement: S60 Podcast

I hope this info will help you guys to choose smile.gif But at the end of the day, you buy what u prefer la hor. smile.gif If me, I definitely go for N95 8GB or any other S60 phones because it is really a smartphone lor! thumbup.gif

0.0164sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:46 AM