forgot this thread exists lol.... so wanna share my ride early sept. 2x versys 1000 and 1x z900.... the z900 dude's butt suffered... but he survived...
Went on a mission to collect all 3 certificates endorsed by the Tourism Authority of Thailand in 1 ride. Rode all the way to Chiang Mai to start our collection process and worked our way south for each cert. Totalling roughly 6.5k km travelled including other spots like the gorgeous Doi Chang which we skipped golden triangle for...totally worth it. Averaging about 7hrs ride a day with the longest being 11 hours. And 1 day rest in Hua Hin on the way back.
1/ Mae Hong Son full loop (4088 curves actually for full loop-theres also a cert for this so we got both 1864 and 4088 certs)
2/ Umphang Death Highway - 1219 curves and this was definitely the hardest route with alot of very tight switchbacks that goes straight into very steep up n downhills. Didnt help that it was raining the entire time. Also, 1 way in, 1 way out. So ull have to go through this road twice!
3/ Betong 100 corners - nice roads with nice views n corners but too many interruptions along the route as there were many settlements along the way as well as traffic.
heres the itinerary, route, hotels and hotel costs (couple of hotels pay at the hotel so its left blank). fuel was about RM1.5k
[attachmentid=11505181]
Notes:
1/ we left on friday after work to help cover some distance in advance n stayed over in alor setar.
2/ we entered via ban prakob border..first time for us. they did not give us the vehicle customs declarations forms. n we forgot about it too
3/ we exited via betong, the customs officer was upset we didnt have our customs forms. said the bikes are in the system but technically did not enter thailand. he said luckily nothing happened to us otherwise it could be a jailable offense. so he let us pass...it would be as if our bikes didnt enter thailand.
4/ somewhere between Hua Hin and Tak (not sure exactly where), we were riding through what looked like massive padi fields. this road is very long n straight. if u are ever on this road, there are a number of cross sections that u will go thru on the road. though it may seem like its your right of way, its NOT. make sure u slow down and stop if u have to. we almost t-boned a car at 120kmh... luckily the car had the foresight to slow, stop n let us pass.... n i saw on the road the line was for us to stop, not the car.
Wah. This one god level. Definitely need a better bike to do this rather than a sport bike. Great one!