Bike Suggestion For Daily Highway Commuting

TSHarfan
post Dec 19 2022, 02:06 AM, updated 3y ago

210 posts

Hi guys!

I will be commuting from Shah Alam to KL for work starting next year and planning to buy a motorcycle to avoid the massive traffic. The route will be 30km one-way (60km daily). 80% will be on highway with dedicated bike lanes (Federal & Kesas). 20% will be in town riding.

So far, I have narrowed down to buying a used FZ150 or Nouvo LC 135 due to my tight budget of <RM4k and the fact that I didnt really like kapcai looks. FZ150 will be the more practical choice, but Nouvo LC provides good underneath storage space without having to install top box. My questions:

1. Since both bikes have stopped production, is spare parts/accessories easy to find?
2. Which bike is better in terms of comfort & power for highway riding?
3. Any other bike suggestions that fits my budget of around <RM4k? Kapcai suggestion are welcomed.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Harfan: Dec 19 2022, 02:33 AM
zarakiken
post Dec 19 2022, 04:16 AM

58 posts

I think FZ is ok and parts availability is a lot I think... seen a lot of them on the road. one of my relative got one second for 7k... he body is light but a lot of power...

Maybe you can look at NS200 from modenas? 2ndhand is around 4k to 6k depends on condition and year...
harryleesbr
post Dec 19 2022, 09:55 AM

I own 1. It was suppose to be a transition bike to a larger capacity while taking my L but it grew on me.

FZ is more than ok and parts availability is great. Just have to be careful, shopee you can find everything you need and there some famous shops and mechanics that still servicing it. Fuel consumption is very good. The down side is that this damn bike is highly modifiable and affordable too.

Once you stabilize it i.e. change those wear and tear parts it works fantastically. It is a very enjoyable bike. I get like 400+km on a full tank (12L) if you ride at a reasonable speed. Put in HDEO and it smooth all the way.

Just be prepare a few thousand for spare parts(you can change when it is needed) and possible overhaul (~RM2k) situations, you be fine.

Make sure you check oil levels. I do a 1k change of oil + filter so I do not have worry about it.

As some units makan minyak. Top overhaul (~RM600) if you want to avoid that.

FZ150i is inherently noise due to sometime loose clutch casing and at times the top head setup. I will recommend that you check and search FB for groups and find a decent mechanic that is near you before/after you get the bike for a check up prior to using it daily.

Personal sellers ranges from 2 to 5k depending on the year and condition.

This post has been edited by harryleesbr: Dec 19 2022, 10:02 AM
ajaibman
post Dec 20 2022, 01:45 PM

233 posts

Take the FZ, Anita Yusof (google her) already went around the world with that bike..
iambryan1234
post Dec 20 2022, 08:09 PM

15 posts

Do you intend to upgrade to bigger bikes later down the line?

If yes, Used NS200/Duke 200
If not, FZ150 can be your end game bike.

Spare parts for all 3 bikes can be easily found, considering the FZ's popularity most places would still have stockpiles of spare parts.

If you do not mind thief magnet, early LC135 can consider also

One thing you need to be aware is that at this price range, you're not getting ABS.

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Dec 20 2022, 08:40 PM
TSHarfan
post Dec 20 2022, 09:03 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Dec 19 2022, 09:55 AM)
I own 1. It was suppose to be a transition bike to a larger capacity while taking my L but it grew on me.

FZ is more than ok and parts availability is great. Just have to be careful, shopee you can find everything you need and there some famous shops and mechanics that still servicing it. Fuel consumption is very good. The down side is that this damn bike is highly modifiable and affordable too.

Once you stabilize it i.e. change those wear and tear parts it works fantastically. It is a very enjoyable bike. I get like 400+km on a full tank (12L) if you ride at a reasonable speed. Put in HDEO and it smooth all the way.

Just be prepare a few thousand for spare parts(you can change when it is needed) and possible overhaul (~RM2k) situations, you be fine.

Make sure you check oil levels. I do a 1k change of oil + filter so I do not have worry about it.

As some units makan minyak. Top overhaul (~RM600) if you want to avoid that.

FZ150i is inherently noise due to sometime loose clutch casing and at times the top head setup. I will recommend that you check and search FB for groups and find a decent mechanic that is near you before/after you get the bike for a check up prior to using it daily. 

Personal sellers ranges from 2 to 5k depending on the year and condition.
Nice to hear that. Which FZ150 model did you bought? Did you buy used or new?
Any issues you encountered so far?

As for the makan minyak issue, I heard it can be solved by changing the piston ring. But I'm not sure.

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Dec 20 2022, 01:45 PM)
Take the FZ, Anita Yusof (google her) already went around the world with that bike..
Woah. Nice info man. Seems like FZ150 is very reliable then.

QUOTE(iambryan1234 @ Dec 20 2022, 08:09 PM)
Do you intend to upgrade to bigger bikes later down the line?

If yes, Used NS200/Duke 200
If not, FZ150 can be your end game bike.

Spare parts for all 3 bikes can be easily found, considering the FZ's popularity most places would still have stockpiles of spare parts.

If you do not mind thief magnet, early LC135 can consider also

One thing you need to be aware is that at this price range, you're not getting ABS.
Yup, currently in a tight budget, so have to forego ABS for now.
I think upgrading to a bigger bikes will be later down the road. Not in the immediate future.

harryleesbr
post Dec 20 2022, 11:47 PM

No more new in the market. Last batch was 2018. I got a 2014 v2.

I am picky. Being a hobbying mechanic, short of a overhaul, i practically changed a lot of stuff which I was not happy about.

FZ engines are practically bullet proof. I did a top head change as it gotten pretty scratched up. Probably last owner never check engine oil. Engine keep shutting down on me when I go downslope or at traffic lights.

Like I mentioned, if you are not mechanically sound, please sent it to a mechanic to check through it,
Hint,
a. change oil filter + engine oil
b. change coolant + check water pump
c. change brake fluid. check the pads as well.
d. Remember your RPM and practise it.

The rest of wear and tear items like chain, sprockets etc, ride first feel and listen to "funny" sounds if any and act on it.
Like this you do not burn a hole in your pocket.

Just remember to change oil at regular intervals, watch for leaks and sayang it like your gf/wife/partner.. you be fine. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Harfan @ Dec 20 2022, 09:03 PM)

As for the makan minyak issue, I heard it can be solved by changing the piston ring. But I'm not sure.
I think upgrading to a bigger bikes will be later down the road. Not in the immediate future.
harryleesbr
post Dec 20 2022, 11:50 PM

p.s. FB there are tonnes of comments. Search for FZ150i problems etc. you bound to get a list or something. On the other hand, even more good comments, nice mods and racun stuff. hahahaha.. have fun!
iambryan1234
post Dec 21 2022, 10:02 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Dec 20 2022, 09:03 PM)

Take FZ if your budget is really tight. It will still serve as a good training bike for 1 or 2 years before you get bored of it. Smaller tyres and sprocket set, only 1 bottle of oil needed so maintenance is cheaper than the 200cc bikes

As people here said FZ engine is bulletproof proven design of Yamaha but you will run into minor issues here and there

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Dec 21 2022, 10:04 AM
sparketh
post Dec 21 2022, 10:08 AM

233 posts

Bro… minimum get an ABS equipped bike. At least it will give u some capability for safety versus zero capability. It’s 2022.

QUOTE(Harfan @ Dec 19 2022, 02:06 AM)
Hi guys!

I will be commuting from Shah Alam to KL for work starting next year and planning to buy a motorcycle to avoid the massive traffic. The route will be 30km one-way (60km daily). 80% will be on highway with dedicated bike lanes (Federal & Kesas). 20% will be in town riding.

So far, I have narrowed down to buying a used FZ150 or Nouvo LC 135 due to my tight budget of <RM4k and the fact that I didnt really like kapcai looks. FZ150 will be the more practical choice, but Nouvo LC provides good underneath storage space without having to install top box. My questions:

1. Since both bikes have stopped production, is spare parts/accessories easy to find?
3. Any other bike suggestions that fits my budget of around <RM4k? Kapcai suggestion are welcomed.

Thanks!
iambryan1234
post Dec 21 2022, 10:28 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Dec 21 2022, 10:08 AM)
Bro… minimum get an ABS equipped bike.  At least it will give u some capability for safety versus zero capability. It’s 2022.
His budget is below 4k. Even if he tops up to 5k he's not going to get even a curry bike with ABS. Earlier Dukes and Pulsars were sold w/o ABS, Honda RSX still costs 8k+ to buy
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 21 2022, 11:31 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Dec 19 2022, 02:06 AM)
Hi guys!

Thanks!
I am on the practical side of things, I will pick Nouvo LC135.

It's a scooter, it has storage under seat that you also like, it's thrifty to run.

LC135 passes by my radar as first bike to rough out.
At that time, not many on market used.
It is very thrifty on fuel, but fuel tank is not big.
So every 2-3 days you have to fuel up.

Servicing scooter is much simpler than kapzhai that's chain driven.
Change lube, change gear oil every 2nd time you change lube,
service CVT every 5000km (open up, clean dust, close it)
replace CVT belt every 20,000km
No worry about cleaning chain, jam clutch / gear etc.

It's also twist and go.
So you can concentrate more on your riding and traffic condition without trying to recall which gear you are in and have to down / up shift.

It's a scooter, so you have foot rest. Running through puddle of water won't get your shoe wet.

Cost saved for not having to install top box.

Lastly, when it's time, selling LC is also very easy.
It's reason why I hardly see any advertised when I was searching for my first bike.

**Disclaimer:
I have a thing for scooter because I am lazy and practical, so I can be bias biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by WH4CockcooBird: Dec 21 2022, 11:39 AM
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 21 2022, 11:34 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(iambryan1234 @ Dec 21 2022, 10:28 AM)
His budget is below 4k. Even if he tops up to 5k he's not going to get even a curry bike with ABS. Earlier Dukes and Pulsars were sold w/o ABS,  Honda RSX still costs 8k+ to buy
Well said.

Feature comes with cost.
When cost is a constrain, you fall back to basic need.
In TS case, it's a cheap functional bike to run 30km each way each day.
TSHarfan
post Jan 5 2023, 12:27 AM

210 posts

Woohoo!

Thanks for reply guys! Appreciate it.

Finally pulled the trigger and bought a used 2016 FZ150i. Externally, the bike still looking good considering it's been 6 years of wear and tear. The mileage is a bit on the high side, around 61k km. I did a test ride before buying and it seems fine, although can hear a bit of "kasar" ness sounds. I haven't test speeding more than 80 km/h yet.

The seller recommended me to change the sprocket and chain to a heavy-duty one. Is it necessary? And what other things to look for and change?
iambryan1234
post Jan 5 2023, 10:37 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jan 5 2023, 12:27 AM)
Woohoo!

Thanks for reply guys! Appreciate it.

Finally pulled the trigger and bought a used 2016 FZ150i. Externally, the bike still looking good considering it's been 6 years of wear and tear. The mileage is a bit on the high side, around 61k km. I did a test ride before buying and it seems fine, although can hear a bit of "kasar" ness sounds. I haven't test speeding more than 80 km/h yet.

The seller recommended me to change the sprocket and chain to a heavy-duty one. Is it necessary? And what other things to look for and change?
Is your sprocket sharp or dull? If yes to either one, change both sprocket and chain

Check tyre wear as well

Then check your battery voltage, bring it to a mechanic if you have to.

If you feel the engine is rough, you might want to bring it to a mechanic and see if it needs a top overhaul. At 61k km, this is most likely a necessity but shouldn't break a hole in your wallet. You will be looking at a full overhaul in 40k more kms though

xnobys
post Jan 5 2023, 11:52 AM

See me, Feel me, Hear me, You just ruined me...
1,220 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jan 5 2023, 12:27 AM)
For peace of mind, definitely change all the liquids/oil in the bike. Doesn't matter if the previous owner said they have just changed them.

1. engine oil
2. oil filter
3. brake fluid
4. radiator coolant

Check the following if they require replacement:

1. brake pads
2. spark plugs
3. air filter
4. headlights (high and low beams)
5. signals (front and back)
ajaibman
post Jan 5 2023, 06:42 PM

233 posts

For future reference.. just in case want to top up cc but maintain the bike

57mm x 58.7mm = 150cc (Saiz Block STANDARD Yamaha FZ150i)
60mm x 58.7mm = 166cc
61mm x 58.7mm = 172cc
62mm x 58.7mm = 177cc
63mm x 58.7mm = 183cc
64mm x 58.7mm = 189cc
65mm x 58.7mm = 195cc
66mm x 58.7mm = 201cc
67mm x 58.7mm = 207cc
68mm x 58.7mm = 213cc
69mm x 58.7mm = 219cc
70mm x 58.7mm = 226cc
alexei
post Jan 6 2023, 09:48 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 5 2023, 06:42 PM)

60mm x 58.7mm = 166cc
61mm x 58.7mm = 172cc
62mm x 58.7mm = 177cc
63mm x 58.7mm = 183cc
64mm x 58.7mm = 189cc
65mm x 58.7mm = 195cc
66mm x 58.7mm = 201cc
67mm x 58.7mm = 207cc
68mm x 58.7mm = 213cc
69mm x 58.7mm = 219cc
70mm x 58.7mm = 226cc
at the cost of reliability, reducing exponentially biggrin.gif
harryleesbr
post Jan 6 2023, 10:01 AM

racun ni...

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 5 2023, 06:42 PM)

60mm x 58.7mm = 166cc
61mm x 58.7mm = 172cc
62mm x 58.7mm = 177cc
63mm x 58.7mm = 183cc
64mm x 58.7mm = 189cc
65mm x 58.7mm = 195cc
66mm x 58.7mm = 201cc
67mm x 58.7mm = 207cc
68mm x 58.7mm = 213cc
69mm x 58.7mm = 219cc
70mm x 58.7mm = 226cc
ajaibman
post Jan 6 2023, 10:35 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 6 2023, 09:48 AM)
at the cost of reliability, reducing exponentially  biggrin.gif
Tell it to those Mat Rempit Ysuku tribes.. and I believe their opinion will be different. (50km throttle lock 190kmh brows.gif)

0.0230sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:54 PM