Bike Suggestion For Daily Highway Commuting

iambryan1234
post Dec 20 2022, 08:09 PM

15 posts

Do you intend to upgrade to bigger bikes later down the line?

If yes, Used NS200/Duke 200
If not, FZ150 can be your end game bike.

Spare parts for all 3 bikes can be easily found, considering the FZ's popularity most places would still have stockpiles of spare parts.

If you do not mind thief magnet, early LC135 can consider also

One thing you need to be aware is that at this price range, you're not getting ABS.

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Dec 20 2022, 08:40 PM
iambryan1234
post Dec 21 2022, 10:02 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Dec 20 2022, 09:03 PM)
Nice to hear that. Which FZ150 model did you bought? Did you buy used or new?
Any issues you encountered so far?

As for the makan minyak issue, I heard it can be solved by changing the piston ring. But I'm not sure.
Woah. Nice info man. Seems like FZ150 is very reliable then.
Yup, currently in a tight budget, so have to forego ABS for now.
I think upgrading to a bigger bikes will be later down the road. Not in the immediate future.
Take FZ if your budget is really tight. It will still serve as a good training bike for 1 or 2 years before you get bored of it. Smaller tyres and sprocket set, only 1 bottle of oil needed so maintenance is cheaper than the 200cc bikes

As people here said FZ engine is bulletproof proven design of Yamaha but you will run into minor issues here and there

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Dec 21 2022, 10:04 AM
iambryan1234
post Dec 21 2022, 10:28 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Dec 21 2022, 10:08 AM)
Bro… minimum get an ABS equipped bike.  At least it will give u some capability for safety versus zero capability. It’s 2022.
His budget is below 4k. Even if he tops up to 5k he's not going to get even a curry bike with ABS. Earlier Dukes and Pulsars were sold w/o ABS, Honda RSX still costs 8k+ to buy
iambryan1234
post Jan 5 2023, 10:37 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jan 5 2023, 12:27 AM)
Woohoo!

Thanks for reply guys! Appreciate it.

Finally pulled the trigger and bought a used 2016 FZ150i. Externally, the bike still looking good considering it's been 6 years of wear and tear. The mileage is a bit on the high side, around 61k km. I did a test ride before buying and it seems fine, although can hear a bit of "kasar" ness sounds. I haven't test speeding more than 80 km/h yet.

The seller recommended me to change the sprocket and chain to a heavy-duty one. Is it necessary? And what other things to look for and change?
Is your sprocket sharp or dull? If yes to either one, change both sprocket and chain

Check tyre wear as well

Then check your battery voltage, bring it to a mechanic if you have to.

If you feel the engine is rough, you might want to bring it to a mechanic and see if it needs a top overhaul. At 61k km, this is most likely a necessity but shouldn't break a hole in your wallet. You will be looking at a full overhaul in 40k more kms though

iambryan1234
post Jan 7 2023, 01:15 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 5 2023, 06:42 PM)
For future reference.. just in case want to top up cc but maintain the bike

57mm x 58.7mm = 150cc (Saiz Block STANDARD Yamaha FZ150i)
60mm x 58.7mm = 166cc
61mm x 58.7mm = 172cc
62mm x 58.7mm = 177cc
63mm x 58.7mm = 183cc
64mm x 58.7mm = 189cc
65mm x 58.7mm = 195cc
66mm x 58.7mm = 201cc
67mm x 58.7mm = 207cc
68mm x 58.7mm = 213cc
69mm x 58.7mm = 219cc
70mm x 58.7mm = 226cc
How much to bore up though rofl