Ask them how much they want to give😗😗😗😗. They headhunt you, then they should give quotation about your payment.
This post has been edited by Epci: Nov 18 2022, 08:13 PM
Independent Contractor - How much more salary?
Nov 18 2022, 08:12 PM
125 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
Ask them how much they want to give😗😗😗😗. They headhunt you, then they should give quotation about your payment.
This post has been edited by Epci: Nov 18 2022, 08:13 PM |
Nov 18 2022, 08:38 PM
1,129 posts Joined: Feb 2021 |
Nov 18 2022, 08:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
162 posts Joined: Mar 2020 |
20k. Let them nego
Nov 18 2022, 08:58 PM
Nov 18 2022, 09:18 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Apr 2014 From: Shah Alam, Selangor |
QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Nov 18 2022, 01:18 PM) Unfortunately you have to see who the poster is before you spend time replying, because some no knowledge will post like they do. Good luck with your offer! Lembu Goreng liked this post
Nov 19 2022, 12:07 AM
125 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
Nov 19 2022, 01:37 AM
998 posts Joined: May 2014 |
if one already reach retirement ages, he/ she should be quite hard to find good jobs elsewhere as employer prefer young and energetic with lower paid….limited bargaining power I guess. Unless with specialise skills that hard to find in manpower market.
This post has been edited by bcombat: Nov 19 2022, 01:39 AM |
Nov 19 2022, 04:17 AM
647 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
You should never ask for equivalent or lesser than a permanent staff (including of statutory deductions) because of the risk that comes along with it for a contract staff. The recommendation earlier asking you to ask for double seems like a right choice.
Ask for double doesn’t necessarily means you will get it but negotiation should always start high for a candidate because employer will only pull it down in the negotiation phase. You need to prepare more bullet point to justify yourself on the ask: ie: - lack of long term stability - establish yourself as valuable skill set that they can’t find elsewhere (in this case being a local and have the skill set they are looking for) - helping the company to save cost by not having to establish a local company Another way is to agree for a contractual project basis, as in invoice them on per project basis (renewable 1 year project in your case) rather than as a contract staff. This way you can even open your own company and invoice them and incur more tax savings. An enterprise entity can claim cost of business, you can charge your cost of equipment, transportation etc to lower taxes. You should treat independent contractor as an entity of its own instead of as an employee of the said company. The negotiation is a company to company process, not as an employee to employer. This post has been edited by LovelyPotato: Nov 19 2022, 12:24 PM |
Nov 19 2022, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(Epci @ Nov 19 2022, 12:07 AM) Thanks, but I think asking double a bit too much for my caseQUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 19 2022, 01:37 AM) if one already reach retirement ages, he/ she should be quite hard to find good jobs elsewhere as employer prefer young and energetic with lower paid….limited bargaining power I guess. Unless with specialise skills that hard to find in manpower market. i'm 43, so a little old for the tech industry but I was approached due to my unique experience.QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Nov 19 2022, 04:17 AM) You should never ask for equivalent or lesser than a permanent staff (including of statutory definitions) because of the risk that comes along with it for a contract staff. The recommendation earlier asking you to ask for double seems like a right choice. I wont be asking double (too much) or the same as my last drawn salary (too little for contract). Ask for double doesn’t necessarily means you will get it but negotiation should always start high for a candidate because employer will only pull it down in the negotiation phase. You need to prepare more bullet point to justify yourself on the ask: ie: - lack of long term stability - establish yourself as valuable skill set that they can’t find elsewhere (in this case being a local and have the skill set they are looking for) - helping the company to save cost by not having to establish a local company Another way is to agree for a contractual project basis, as in invoice them on per project basis (renewable 1 year project in your case) rather than as a contract staff. This way you can even open your own company and invoice them and incur more tax savings. An enterprise entity can claim cost of business, you can charge your cost of equipment, transportation etc to lower taxes. You should treat independent contractor as an entity of its own instead of as an employee of the said company. The negotiation is a company to company process, not as an employee to employer. Honestly wondering if anyone here has transitioned from permanent role to contract role, and what is the difference/addition that I need to take into account. |
Nov 19 2022, 10:00 AM
979 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
If 10k and contractor ask for 13k
That 3k is your epf then u self contribute |
Nov 20 2022, 01:09 PM
Nov 20 2022, 01:16 PM
Nov 20 2022, 01:59 PM
998 posts Joined: May 2014 |
this thread should move to kopitiam
Nov 20 2022, 03:01 PM
13,214 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
match the same. if reduce pay
then reduce job scope. be fair enough |
Nov 26 2022, 09:27 PM